Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,514,442. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each claims a structural material comprising sheathing layers and insulation layers.
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, 14-15, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brooks, III, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0136247.
Brooks discloses structural insulation comprising a first upper member, an insulation member and a second lower member, wherein the first and second members sandwich the insulation member and wherein the first and second members are made from a fiber board material having a thickness of less than three sixteenths of an inches. See paragraph 0012. The fibers making up the fibrous layers can be ceramic, glass, hemp, carbon, mineral wool or polymeric. See paragraph 0021. The insulation material can comprise a foam material such as expanded polystyrene or can be polyisocyanurate or polyurethane foam. See paragraph 0023. The layers can either be combined by adhesive or the interior layer can be foamed in place. See paragraph 0024. The sheathing layers can be external layers. The sheathing layers are necessarily engineered since they are formed. The sheathing layers would necessarily form a barrier to weather. Since the sheathing layers can include fiberglass, one of the sheathing layers would meet the limitations of the third layer in claim 15.
Claim(s) 2-3, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brooks, III, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0136247.
Brooks discloses structural insulation comprising a first upper member, an insulation member and a second lower member, wherein the first and second members sandwich the insulation member and wherein the first and second members are made from a fiber board material having a thickness of less than three sixteenths of an inches. See paragraph 0012. The fibers making up the fibrous layers can be ceramic, glass, hemp, carbon, mineral wool or polymeric. See paragraph 0021. The insulation material can comprise a foam material such as expanded polystyrene or can be polyisocyanurate or polyurethane foam. See paragraph 0023. The layers can either be combined by adhesive or the interior layer can be foamed in place. See paragraph 0024. The sheathing layers can be external layers. The sheathing layers are necessarily engineered since they are formed. The sheathing layers would necessarily form a barrier to weather. Since the sheathing layers can include fiberglass, one of the sheathing layers would meet the limitations of the third layer in claim 15.
With regard to claims 2 and 3, while Brooks discloses the claimed thickness of the sheathing layers, it does not clearly teach that the layers have either the identical or different thicknesses. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected the relative thicknesses of each of the sheathing layers, depending on how the layers would be disposed in a structure and what properties were desired in the final product.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brooks in view of Alderman, U.S. Patent No. 5,626,936.
Brooks discloses a building material as set forth above.
Brooks differs from the claimed invention because it does not disclose incorporating a phase change material.
However, Alderman discloses insulation systems for use as building materials which incorporate phase change materials. See col. 7, lines 1-50.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have incorporated phase change materials into the insulation layer of Brooks in order to provide additional insulating properties to the structure.
Claim(s) 9-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brooks in view of Baldwin et al, U.S. Patent No. 11,298,915.
Brooks discloses a structure as set forth above.
Brooks differs from the claimed invention because it does not clearly teach providing multiple insulation or sheathing layers.
However, Baldwin teaches a structural sheathing board having a polystyrene core layer and including facer layers which have multiple layers applied to each face. See col. 1, line 55 – col. 2, line 17. The facer layers can include a fiberboard layer or layers as well as a polymeric film or metallized or metal foil layer. See col. 3, line 42- col, 4, line 37.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have employed multiple insulation and/or sheathing layers including outer facing layers formed from films, fabrics and foils as taught by Baldwin in order to provide a structure having the desired properties of strength, insulation, permeability and weather proofness.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. MacAulay, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2004/0014382 discloses an insulation board comprising a polystyrene or other foam insulating layer, fiber board outer layers, and various facer layers. MacAulay differs from the claimed invention because it does not disclose the thickness of the fiber board layers.
/ELIZABETH M IMANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789