Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,514,442. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each claims a structural material comprising sheathing layers and insulation layers.
Claim(s) 1, 6, 9,10, 13, 14, 15-16, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Baldwin et al, U.S. Patent No. 11,298915.
Baldwin discloses a sheathing board comprising a foam core layer having a structural layer laminated to the foam core board. The foam can be polystyrene foam. See col. 3, lines 26-41. The structural layer comprises a fiberboard material which is formed from multiple layers of kraft paper. See abstract as well as col. 3, lines 27 – col. 4, line 23. The foam board can have a thickness of anywhere from 3/8 inch to 6 inches or more. See col. 3, lines 1-3. The laminated kraft paper fiberboard layer can have a thickness of 1/32 to ¼ inch. See col. 4, lines 4-6. There can be multiple structural fiberboard layers. See col. 3, lines 48-50. Baldwin teaches a structural sheathing board having a polystyrene core layer and including facer layers and structural layers which have multiple layers applied to each face. See col. 1, line 55 – col. 2, line 17. The facer and structural layers can include a fiberboard layer or layers as well as a polymeric film or metallized polymer or metal foil layer. See col. 3, line 42- col, 4, line 37. The fiberboard layers can comprise multiple laminated layers of kraft paper. See col. 4, lines 4-24. The polymeric films and the foil layers also will provide at least some degree of insulation and thus can be considered insulating layers.
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baldwin et al, U.S. Patent No. 11,298,915 in view of Brooks, III, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0136247.
Baldwin discloses a sheathing board comprising a foam core layer having a structural layer laminated to the foam core board. The foam can be polystyrene foam. See col. 3, lines 26-41. The structural layer comprises a fiberboard material which is formed from multiple layers of kraft paper. See abstract as well as col. 3, lines 27 – col. 4, line 23. The foam board can have a thickness of anywhere from 3/8 inch to 6 inches or more. See col. 3, lines 1-3. The laminated kraft paper fiberboard layer can have a thickness of 1/32 to ¼ inch. See col. 4, lines 4-6. There can be multiple structural fiberboard layers. See col. 3, lines 48-50. Baldwin teaches a structural sheathing board having a polystyrene core layer and including facer layers and structural layers which have multiple layers applied to each face. See col. 1, line 55 – col. 2, line 17. The facer and structural layers can include a fiberboard layer or layers as well as a polymeric film or metallized polymer or metal foil layer. See col. 3, line 42- col, 4, line 37. The fiberboard layers can comprise multiple laminated layers of kraft paper. See col. 4, lines 4-24. The polymeric films and the foil layers also will provide at least some degree of insulation and thus can be considered insulating layers.
Baldwin differs from the claimed invention because it does not clearly disclose a structure with a central foam layer and two outer sheathing layers, (which Baldwin calls structural layers), does not disclose particular thicknesses of the outer sheathing/structural layers, the use of polyurethane, phenolic or polyurethane insulation layers, the exact numbers of layers.
However, Brooks discloses structural insulation comprising a first upper member, an insulation member and a second lower member, wherein the first and second members sandwich the insulation member and wherein the first and second members are made from a fiber board material having a thickness of less than three sixteenths of an inches. See paragraph 0012. The fibers making up the fibrous layers can be ceramic, glass, hemp, carbon, mineral wool or polymeric. See paragraph 0021. The insulation material can comprise a foam material such as expanded polystyrene or can be polyisocyanurate or polyurethane foam. See paragraph 0023. The layers can either be combined by adhesive or the interior layer can be foamed in place. See paragraph 0024. The sheathing layers can be external layers. The sheathing layers are necessarily engineered since they are formed. The sheathing layers would necessarily form a barrier to weather. Since the sheathing layers can include fiberglass, one of the sheathing layers would meet the limitations of the third layer in claim 15.
With regard to claims 2 and 3, while Brooks discloses the claimed thickness of the sheathing layers, it does not clearly teach that the layers have either the identical or different thicknesses. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected the relative thicknesses of each of the sheathing layers, depending on how the layers would be disposed in a structure and what properties were desired in the final product.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have arranged the layers in different configurations such as a central foam layer and two outer sheathing/structural layers, to have employed other known types of foam to form the insulation layer, and to have varied layers and configurations of layers depending on the intended use of the laminated structure and how the laminated structure as a whole would be placed in a building.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baldwin in view of Brooks and further in view of Alderman, U.S. Patent No. 5,626,936.
Baldwin in view of Brooks discloses a building material as set forth above.
Baldwin differs from the claimed invention because it does not disclose incorporating a phase change material.
However, Alderman discloses insulation systems for use as building materials which incorporate phase change materials. See col. 7, lines 1-50.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have incorporated phase change materials into the insulation layer of Baldwin in order to provide additional insulating properties to the structure.
Applicant's arguments and amendments filed 6/5/26 have been fully considered and are sufficient to overcome the previous rejection. A modified rejection is set forth in view of the amended claims.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELIZABETH M IMANI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789