DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 27-29, 34-36, and 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bao et al., CN 113038634 (hereinafter Bao).
Regarding claims 27 and 34, Bao discloses an apparatus comprising processing circuitry configured to: monitor a wake up signal (WUS) occasion during a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) cycle of a Radio Resource Control (RRC) Idle mode or RRC Inactive mode to determine whether a WUS is received during the WUS occasion; when the WUS is received, determine whether the WUS identifies a specific user equipment (UE); when the WUS is received and identifies the specific UE, monitor an OnDuration of the DRX cycle corresponding to the WUS; and decode paging Downlink Control Information (DCI) received during the OnDuration [reproduced from translation: “In the existing communication system, in order to further improve the power-saving performance of the terminal device, a wake-up signal based on PDCCH (Wake Up Signal (WUS) is introduced, wherein The WUS may also be referred to as a downlink control information (DCI with CRC) by a PS-RNTI with a cyclic redundancy check scrambled by a temporary identifier of the power-saving wireless network (abbreviated as DCP). WUS function is to inform the terminal device in the DRX duration (onDuration) period, whether it is necessary to monitor the PDCCH, so that the terminal device can according to the WUS indication, determining whether the next DRX period starts the onDuration timer; and whether to perform PDCCH monitoring.”; and “The WUS is a Downlink Control Information (DCI), for short as DCP (DCI with CRC) by PS-RNTI; wherein the power-saving wireless network temporary identifier (i.e., PS-RNTI) is an RNTI dedicated for power-saving characteristic allocated to the terminal device by the network, and the DCI scrambled by the PS-RNTI carries the wakeup/sleep indication of the network to the terminal device. “]
Regarding claims 28 and 35, Bao discloses wherein the WUS corresponds to more than one OnDuration [reproduced from translation: “wherein the terminal device is configured with a WUS or at least two WUS, the one WUS comprises at least two indication bits, the at least two indication bits respectively to different DRX groups in the at least two DRX groups; each indication bit respectively the at least two indication bits is used for indicating whether to start the onDuration timer of the next DRX period of the DRX group corresponding to each indication bit”].
Regarding claims 29 and 36, Bao discloses wherein the WUS is encoded as a Cyclic Redundancy Check (CRC) error detection code that is scrambled by a Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RNTI) [reproduced from translation: “The WUS is a Downlink Control Information (DCI), for short as DCP (DCI with CRC) by PS-RNTI; wherein the power-saving wireless network temporary identifier (i.e., PS-RNTI) is an RNTI dedicated for power-saving characteristic allocated to the terminal device by the network, and the DCI scrambled by the PS-RNTI carries the wakeup/sleep indication of the network to the terminal device. “].
Regarding claim 41, Bao discloses an apparatus comprising processing circuitry configured to: determine whether a user equipment (UE) is to wake up for an OnDuration of a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) cycle; when the UE is to wake up, generate, for transmission to the UE, a wake up signal (WUS) during a (WUS) occasion corresponding to the OnDuration; and encode the WUS as a Cyclic Redundancy Check (CRC) error detection code that is scrambled by a Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RNTI) [reproduced from translation: “In the existing communication system, in order to further improve the power-saving performance of the terminal device, a wake-up signal based on PDCCH (Wake Up Signal (WUS) is introduced, wherein The WUS may also be referred to as a downlink control information (DCI with CRC) by a PS-RNTI with a cyclic redundancy check scrambled by a temporary identifier of the power-saving wireless network (abbreviated as DCP). WUS function is to inform the terminal device in the DRX duration (onDuration) period, whether it is necessary to monitor the PDCCH, so that the terminal device can according to the WUS indication, determining whether the next DRX period starts the onDuration timer; and whether to perform PDCCH monitoring.”].
Claim(s) 27 and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Loehr et al., US Patent Application Publication Number 2021/0084586 (hereinafter Loehr).
Regarding claims 27 and 34, Loehr discloses an apparatus comprising processing circuitry configured to: monitor a wake up signal (WUS) occasion during a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) cycle of a Radio Resource Control (RRC) Idle mode or RRC Inactive mode to determine whether a WUS is received during the WUS occasion [paragraphs 0047, 0050]; when the WUS is received, determine whether the WUS identifies a specific user equipment (UE) [paragraph 0060]; when the WUS is received and identifies the specific UE, monitor an OnDuration of the DRX cycle corresponding to the WUS [paragraph 0060]; and decode paging Downlink Control Information (DCI) received during the OnDuration [paragraph 0060].
Claim(s) 27, 34, and 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jiang et al., EP 3920599 (hereinafter Jiang).
Regarding claims 27 and 34, Jiang discloses an apparatus comprising processing circuitry configured to: monitor a wake up signal (WUS) occasion during a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) cycle of a Radio Resource Control (RRC) Idle mode or RRC Inactive mode to determine whether a WUS is received during the WUS occasion; when the WUS is received, determine whether the WUS identifies a specific user equipment (UE); when the WUS is received and identifies the specific UE, monitor an OnDuration of the DRX cycle corresponding to the WUS; and decode paging Downlink Control Information (DCI) received during the OnDuration [paragraph 0036].
Regarding claim 41, Jiang discloses an apparatus comprising processing circuitry configured to: determine whether a user equipment (UE) is to wake up for an OnDuration of a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) cycle; when the UE is to wake up, generate, for transmission to the UE, a wake up signal (WUS) during a (WUS) occasion corresponding to the OnDuration; and encode the WUS as a Cyclic Redundancy Check (CRC) error detection code that is scrambled by a Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RNTI) [paragraph 0036].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 30-33, 37-40, 42-44 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tsai et al., US Patent Application Publication Number 2025/0330910, disclose a method of physical downlink control channel monitoring and related device.
Karjalainen et al., WO 2020/141014, disclose improving operation of beam-based wireless communication network.
Wu et al., CN 111432460, disclose a physical downlink control channel monitoring method, terminal device and storage medium.
/EAW/
June 17, 2026
/ERIKA A WASHINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644