DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the applicant's amendment submitted on 12/08/2025. In virtue of this amendment:
Claims 1-36 were previously canceled;
Claims 37-64 are canceled;
Claims 65-80 are newly added; and thus
Claims 65-80 are pending;
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejection to claims 39-46, 49-56 and 63-64 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph
The rejection to claims 37-56 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph is moot in view of cancellation of corresponding claims.
Double Patenting
The rejection to claim 37 under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claim 1 of prior U.S. Patent No. 11,638,340B2 is moot in view of cancellation of corresponding claims.
The rejection to claim 57 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claim 18 of prior U.S. Patent No. 11,997,769B2 is moot in view of cancellation of corresponding claims.
The rejection to claim 39 and 49 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 and 20 of U.S. Patent No. U.S. Patent No. 11,638,340 is moot in view of cancellation of corresponding claims.
The rejection to claim 47 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,997,769B2 is moot in view of cancellation of corresponding claims.
The rejection to claim 58-64 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,997,769B2 in view of the prior art rejection is moot in view of cancellation of corresponding claims.
Claims 65 and 80 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 9 and 1, respectively of U.S. Patent No. 11,064,583B2 in view of the prior art rejection below. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Instant Application
U.S. Patent 11,064,583B2
Claim 65. A lighting system comprising:
a plurality of light-emitting elements each emitting light having a distinct spectral power distribution;
one or more driver circuits coupled to the light-emitting elements; and
at least one controller configured such that, in response to a single dimming input,(a) total lumen output of the lighting system decreases, and(b) an IES TM-30-15 gamut index (Rg) of emitted light increases relative to its value at full lumen output.
9. A light emitting device comprising:
at least 2 LED emitters;
at least one internal controller;
a plurality of driver circuits configured to independently drive the plurality of LED emitters via the at least one internal controller;
programming logic configured to increase the lumen output of at least one emitter while simultaneously decreasing the lumen output of at least one other emitter, such that total color gamut increases while total lumen output of the light emitting device decreases; and wherein
the light emitting device is further configured to linearly increase an IES TM-30-15 gamut index (Rg) as lumen output decreases.
Claim 80. A method of operating a lighting system comprising a plurality of light-emitting elements each emitting light having a distinct spectral power distribution, the method comprising:
receiving a single dimming input;
decreasing total lumen output of the lighting system in response to the input; and
concurrently increasing the IES TM-30-15 gamut index (Rg) relative to its value at full lumen output.
Claim 1. A method of increasing the color gamut of a multi-emitter light emitting device when dimming, comprising:
independently driving each emitter in the device; increasing the lumen output of at least one emitter while simultaneously decreasing the lumen output of at least one other emitter, such that
total color gamut increases while total lumen output of the light emitting device decreases; and linearly increasing an IES TM-30-15 gamut index (Rg) as lumen output decreases
Claims 65 and 80 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 17 and 1, respectively of U.S. Patent No. 11,638,340B2 in view of the prior art rejection below. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Instant Application
U.S. Patent 11,638,340B2
Claim 65. A lighting system comprising:
a plurality of light-emitting elements each emitting light having a distinct spectral power distribution;
one or more driver circuits coupled to the light-emitting elements; and
at least one controller configured such that, in response to a single dimming input,(a) total lumen output of the lighting system decreases, and(b) an IES TM-30-15 gamut index (Rg) of emitted light increases relative to its value at full lumen output.
Claim 17. A light emitting device comprising:
at least 2 LED emitters;
at least one internal controller;
a plurality of driver circuits configured to independently drive the plurality of LED emitters via the at least one internal controller; and
programming logic configured to increase the lumen output of at least one emitter while simultaneously decreasing the lumen output of at least one other emitter, such that total color gamut of objects illuminated by the light emitting device increases while total lumen output of the light emitting device decreases.
Claim 80. A method of operating a lighting system comprising a plurality of light-emitting elements each emitting light having a distinct spectral power distribution, the method comprising:
receiving a single dimming input;
decreasing total lumen output of the lighting system in response to the input; and
concurrently increasing the IES TM-30-15 gamut index (Rg) relative to its value at full lumen output.
Claim 1. A method of increasing the color gamut of objects illuminated by a multi-emitter light emitting device when dimming, comprising:
independently driving each emitter in the device; and increasing the lumen output of at least one emitter while simultaneously decreasing the lumen output of at least one other emitter, such
that total color gamut increases while total lumen output of the light emitting device decreases.
Claims 65 is are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,997,769B2 in view of the prior art rejection below. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 11,997,769B2
Claim 65. A lighting system comprising:
a plurality of light-emitting elements each emitting light having a distinct spectral power distribution;
one or more driver circuits coupled to the light-emitting elements; and
at least one controller configured such that, in response to a single dimming input,(a) total lumen output of the lighting system decreases, and(b) an IES TM-30-15 gamut index (Rg) of emitted light increases relative to its value at full lumen output.
Claim 1. A light emitting device comprising:
at least first and second LED emitters;
at least one controller;
at least one driver circuit connected to the first and second LED emitters, configured to independently drive the at first and second LED emitters via the at least one controller; and
programming logic executing on the at least one controller, configured to increase the lumen output of the first emitter while simultaneously decreasing the lumen output of the second emitter, such that total color gamut of the light emitting device increases while total lumen output of the light emitting device decreases.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 65-70, 76 and 80 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US2008/0164823A1 hereinafter “Huang”
Regarding claim 65, Huang discloses a lighting system comprising:
a plurality of light-emitting elements each emitting light having a distinct spectral power distribution (¶19L1-20: a light source configuring at least one WLED and at least one multicolored LED);
one or more driver circuits (¶19L1-20: a driving control system) coupled to the light-emitting elements (as shown in Fig.1A for example); and
at least one controller (¶8L34-37: a data processing system for automatically control of the driving control system according to the control parameter) configured such that, in response to a single dimming input (¶8L31-33: user manual control comprises input setting a second setting value of NTSC value),
(a) total lumen output of the lighting system decreases (¶21L9-12: decreasing the light radiation flux of at least one WLEDs) (Note: since only flux of WLED is decreased, the total output is decreased), and
(b) an IES TM-30-15 gamut index (Rg) of emitted light increases relative to its value at full lumen output. (¶21L8-12: adjusting color gamut of the lighting structure by decreasing the light radiation flux of the at least one WLEDs to increase color gamut)
Regarding claim 66, Huang discloses the lighting system of claim 65, wherein the at least one controller comprises
a single logical controller (¶8L34-37: a data processing system for automatically control of the driving control system according to the control parameter) that responds to a single user-initiated control action (¶8L31-33: user manual control comprises input setting a second setting value of NTSC value) to simultaneously adjust lumen output and IES TM-30-15 gamut index. (¶21L8-12: adjusting color gamut of the lighting structure by decreasing the light radiation flux of the at least one WLEDs to increase color gamut)
Regarding claim 67, Huang discloses the lighting system of claim 65, wherein multiple user interfaces are operably coupled to the controller, each configured to generate the same single dimming input that causes simultaneous adjustment of total lumen output and IES TM-30-15 gamut index.
Regarding claim 68, Huang discloses the lighting system of claim 65, wherein
the controller executes a stored mapping or algorithm defining IES TM-30-15 gamut index (Rg) as a function of total lumen output such that Rg increases monotonically as total lumen output decreases. (¶23L1-11: driving control system comprises a memory for memorizing the setting value and data processing system contorl the LEDs according to the setting value)
Regarding claim 69, Huang discloses the lighting system of claim 68, wherein
the stored mapping is implemented as a lookup table defining drive-current ratios among the light-emitting elements for each lumen output level. (¶6L13-18: high color gamut display, it is to decrease electrical driving value of WLED, wherein the electrical driving value comprises voltage and/or current.)
Regarding claim 70, Huang discloses the lighting system of claim 65, wherein
the system lacks any user control for color saturation, vividness, vibrancy, or gamut adjustment independent of the single dimming input. (¶8L31-33: user manual control comprises input setting a second setting value of NTSC value)
Regarding claim 76, Huang discloses the lighting system of claim 65, wherein
the controller adjusts drive currents such that all but one of the plurality of light-emitting element's outputs vary monotonically with the dimming input. (¶6L13-18: high color gamut display, it is to decrease electrical driving value of WLED, wherein the electrical driving value comprises voltage and/or current.)
Regarding claim 80, Huang discloses a method of operating a lighting system comprising
a plurality of light-emitting elements each emitting light having a distinct spectral power distribution (¶19L1-20: a light source configuring at least one WLED and at least one multicolored LED); the method comprising:
receiving a single dimming input (¶8L31-33: user manual control comprises input setting a second setting value of NTSC value);
decreasing total lumen output of the lighting system in response to the input (¶21L9-12: decreasing the light radiation flux of at least one WLEDs) (Note: since only flux of WLED is decreased, the total output is decreased); and
concurrently increasing the IES TM-30-15 gamut index (Rg) relative to its value at full lumen output. (¶21L8-12: adjusting color gamut of the lighting structure by decreasing the light radiation flux of the at least one WLEDs to increase color gamut)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 71-74 and 77-79 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang.
Regarding claim 71, Huang discloses the lighting system of claim 65
Huang does not explicitly disclose
the IES TM-30-15 gamut index (Rg) increases by at least ten percent (10%) relative to its value at full lumen output. .
Huang does disclose in formula (1) and formula (2) on ¶13-14 that the control chrominance coordinate can be calculated.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to configure the controller control the lights to meet the claimed requirement.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because the prior art recognizes the modification of intensity and color is easily achievable by driving the individual color light source different and this would allow the user to customize the preferred color/intensity of the final output.
Regarding claim 72, Huang discloses the lighting system of claim 65,
Huang does not explicitly disclose
the IES TM-30-15 gamut index (Rg) increases by at least twenty percent (20%) relative to its value at full lumen output.
Huang does disclose in formula (1) and formula (2) on ¶13-14 that the control chrominance coordinate can be calculated.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to configure the controller control the lights to meet the claimed requirement.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because the prior art recognizes the modification of intensity and color is easily achievable by driving the individual color light source different and this would allow the user to customize the preferred color/intensity of the final output.
Regarding claim 73, Huang discloses the lighting system of claim 65,
Huang does not explicitly disclose
the controller causes the total lumen output of the lighting system to decrease by 50% and causes the Rg to increase by at least 10%.
Huang does disclose in formula (1) and formula (2) on ¶13-14 that the control chrominance coordinate can be calculated.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to configure the controller control the lights to meet the claimed requirement.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because the prior art recognizes the modification of intensity and color is easily achievable by driving the individual color light source different and this would allow the user to customize the preferred color/intensity of the final output.
Regarding claim 74, Huang discloses the lighting system of claim 65,
Huang does not explicitly disclose
correlated color temperature varies by less than +100 kelvin over the same range of lumen output.
Huang does disclose in formula (1) and formula (2) on ¶13-14 that the control chrominance coordinate can be calculated.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to configure the controller control the lights to meet the claimed requirement.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because the prior art recognizes the modification of intensity and color is easily achievable by driving the individual color light source different and this would allow the user to customize the preferred color/intensity of the final output.
Regarding claim 75, Huang discloses the lighting system of claim 65,
Huang does not explicitly disclose
at least three of the plurality of light- emitting elements each has a full-width-half-maximum spectral bandwidth less than 50 nm.
Huang does disclose that any multicolored LED combination that are able to mix up white light can be used (¶8L1-37: any multicolored LED combination that are able to mix up white light)
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to select LEDs that meet the claimed requirement.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because the prior art recognizes the modification of intensity and color is easily achievable by driving the individual color light source different and this would allow the user to customize the preferred color/intensity of the final output.
Regarding claim 77, Huang discloses the lighting system of claim 65,
Huang does not explicitly disclose
the relationship between total lumen output and IES TM-30-15 gamut index (Rg) is proportional and monotonic across at least 80% of the dimming range.
Huang does disclose in formula (1) and formula (2) on ¶13-14 that the control chrominance coordinate can be calculated.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to configure the controller control the lights to meet the claimed requirement.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because the prior art recognizes the modification of intensity and color is easily achievable by driving the individual color light source different and this would allow the user to customize the preferred color/intensity of the final output.
Regarding claim 78, Huang discloses the lighting system of claim 65,
Huang does not explicitly disclose
the controller is configured to maintain the Duv within ±0.03 while Rg increases.
Huang does disclose in formula (1) and formula (2) on ¶13-14 that the control chrominance coordinate can be calculated.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to configure the controller control the lights to meet the claimed requirement.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because the prior art recognizes the modification of intensity and color is easily achievable by driving the individual color light source different and this would allow the user to customize the preferred color/intensity of the final output.
Regarding claim 79, Huang discloses the lighting system of claim 65,
Huang does not explicitly disclose
the lighting system is implemented as a lamp, luminaire, or lighting fixture.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to modify the backlights to meet to be used as a lamp, luminaire or lighting fixture. .
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because they are equivalent to each other.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Raymond R Chai/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2844