Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Regarding the 35 USC 102 rejection, Examiner has fully considered Applicant’s arguments and amendments.
Regarding Applicant’s assertion of “Applicant respectfully traverses the Office's position in this regard. This paragraph does not disclose sensing attributes of a log pile. Indeed, the only reference to "piles" is [0003] of the Background section in which it is simply noted that harvested logs may be gathered into piles. The reference to a "number of trees" or a "number of logs" merely describes that the attributes of multiple individual logs may be acquired. This corresponds to what is specified in the first sensing step of the amended claims in which attributes of individual logs are sensed.,” Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s assertion. Examiner notes primarily that paragraph [0003] of Putkonen teaches the harvester can deposit the logs into one or more piles. As can be seen in at least paragraph [0015] of Putkonen, the attribute data can concern one plant or a plurality of plants or one part of one plant or parts of one plant or parts of one plant or parts of a plurality of plants, wherein the attribute data can be assigned to each tree or to each log, or one attribute can be used for a number of logs from one tree or a number of trees. Therefore, Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s assertion.
Regarding Applicant’s assertion of “Second, also based on the above-quoted passages of the Office Action, Applicant understands the Office to acknowledge that the second sensing step is performed by a different machine than that of the first sensing step. The Putkonen reference does not disclose multiple separate sensing steps performed by the same machine (e.g., forest harvester). Applicant understands the Office to acknowledge this in the cited passages reference to: "[0006] teaches the forwarder can be provided with a scale integrated into its arm in order to sense the weight of the logs loaded into the loading space, wherein the weight data can be recorded together with the number of logs, wherein [0003] teaches the forwarder drives to a location adjacent a road and deposits logs into single or multiple piles that are sorted according to the intended use of the logs." Applicant has also reviewed [0032] and [0037] referenced by the Office to confirm that these paragraphs also refer to the "forwarder 30" as opposed to the "harvester 10.",” Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s assertion. As can be seen in at least [0018-0019] of Putkonen, the reference discloses collecting attribute data both during the harvesting and after the harvesting of the plant material by the harvester. Therefore, Examiner respectfully asserts that the harvester is capable of gathering attribute data both during and after the harvesting of the trees.
Accordingly, the present claims are rejected under 35 USC 102.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13, 15-16, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Putkonen et al. (US 20170075354 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Putkonen anticipates a method of monitoring harvested logs comprising the steps of (Fig. 6):
applying a forest harvester adapted to harvest trees to produce logs that are deposited in log piles by the forest harvester (Fig. 5 and [0034] teach a harvester that harvests logs on a worksite in a forest, wherein the harvester can fell trees, delimb and cut them into logs of a desired size, wherein [0036] teaches the harvester can fell all trees and cover the entire harvest area, wherein [0003] teaches the harvester can deposit the logs into one or more piles that are sorted according to defined parameters like intended use of the logs; see also: [0030-0032]),
the forest harvester including control electronics and one or more sensors adapted to sense one or more log pile attributes that concern and identify a pile of logs as a whole (Fig. 5 and [0034] teach a harvester that harvests logs on a worksite in a forest, wherein the harvester can fell trees, delimb and cut them into logs of a desired size, wherein the harvester can sense attributes using the harvested material attribute sensor, wherein [0036] teaches the harvester can fell all trees and cover the entire harvest area, wherein [0003] teaches the harvester can deposit the logs into one or more piles that are sorted according to defined parameters like intended use of the logs, wherein [0032] teaches the harvester includes electronics comprising a data processor, a location determining receiver, one or more sensors for collecting one or more harvested material attributes, and more; see also: [0030-0031]),
each log pile attribute representing a property of each log pile (Fig. 5 and [0034] teach a harvester that harvests logs on a worksite in a forest, wherein the harvester can fell trees, delimb and cut them into logs of a desired size, wherein the harvester can sense attributes using the harvested material attribute sensor, wherein attribute data can concern the number of logs, their size, weight, color, type, and more, wherein the detected properties can be helpful for identification later, wherein [0015] teaches the attribute data can concern one plant or a plurality of plants or one part of one plant or parts of one plant or parts of one plant or parts of a plurality of plants, wherein the attribute data can be assigned to each tree or to each log, or one attribute can be used for a number of logs from one tree or a number of trees, wherein [0003] teaches the forwarder drives to a location adjacent a road and deposits logs into single or multiple piles that are sorted according to the intended use of the logs; see also: [0037]), and
each log pile including at least two logs (Fig. 5 and [0034] teach a harvester that harvests logs on a worksite in a forest, wherein the harvester can fell trees, delimb and cut them into logs of a desired size, wherein the harvester can sense attributes using the harvested material attribute sensor, wherein attribute data can concern the number of logs, their size, weight, color, type, and more, wherein the detected properties can be helpful for identification later, wherein [0015] teaches the attribute data can concern one plant or a plurality of plants or one part of one plant or parts of one plant or parts of one plant or parts of a plurality of plants, wherein the attribute data can be assigned to each tree or to each log, or one attribute can be used for a number of logs from one tree or a number of trees, wherein [0003] teaches the forwarder drives to a location adjacent a road and deposits logs into single or multiple piles that are sorted according to the intended use of the logs; see also: [0037]);
driving the forest harvester to locations in a worksite (Fig. 5 and [0030] teach driving the forestry harvester into a forest and controlling the harvester to grab a tree, cut a tree off the ground, lay the tree down into a controlled manner, and more, as well as in [0034] teaches the harvester drives to a worksite in a forest and can estimate the location of the log in order to store the location information, as well as in [0036] teaches the collected plant location and attribute data is stored in the storage device, wherein [0006] teaches the forwarder can be provided with a scale integrated into its arm in order to sense the weight of the logs loaded into the loading space, wherein the weight data can be recorded together with the number of logs, wherein [0003] teaches the forwarder drives to a location adjacent a road and deposits logs into single or multiple piles that are sorted according to the intended use of the logs; see also: [0032]),
each location relating to one or more log piles to be produced, each log pile including logs representing a species and a timber assortment (Fig. 5 and [0030] teach driving the forestry harvester into a forest and controlling the harvester to grab a tree, cut a tree off the ground, lay the tree down into a controlled manner, and more, as well as in [0034] teaches the harvester drives to a worksite in a forest and can estimate the location of the log in order to store the location information, as well as in [0036] teaches the collected plant location and attribute data is stored in the storage device, wherein [0006] teaches the forwarder can be provided with a scale integrated into its arm in order to sense the weight of the logs loaded into the loading space, wherein the weight data can be recorded together with the number of logs, wherein [0003] teaches the forwarder drives to a location adjacent a road and deposits logs into single or multiple piles that are sorted according to the intended use of the logs; see also: [0032]);
harvesting trees and producing logs that are deposited in the one or more log piles (Fig. 5 and [0030] teach driving the forestry harvester into a forest and controlling the harvester to grab a tree, cut a tree off the ground, lay the tree down into a controlled manner, and more, as well as in [0034] teaches the harvester drives to a worksite in a forest and can estimate the location of the log in order to store the location information, as well as in [0036] teaches the collected plant location and attribute data is stored in the storage device, wherein [0006] teaches the forwarder can be provided with a scale integrated into its arm in order to sense the weight of the logs loaded into the loading space, wherein the weight data can be recorded together with the number of logs, wherein [0003] teaches the forwarder drives to a location adjacent a road and deposits logs into single or multiple piles that are sorted according to the intended use of the logs; see also: [0032]);
in a first sensing step performed by the forest harvester during the harvesting of the trees ([0018-0019] teach collecting plant location and attribute data suited for later identification of the respective material during the harvesting and after the harvesting of the plant material on the worksite, wherein the harvesting vehicle can sense attribute data, wherein [0015] teaches the attribute data can concern one plant or a plurality of plants or one part of one plant or parts of one plant or parts of one plant or parts of a plurality of plants, wherein the attribute data can be assigned to each tree or to each log, or one attribute can be used for a number of logs from one tree or a number of trees, wherein [0034] teaches sensing attribute data during tree harvesting by a harvester, and wherein [0003] teaches the harvester can deposit the felled, delimbed, and cut logs into one or more piles; see also: [0014, 0041]),
sensing, with help of one or more sensors, one or more harvested material attributes that describe one or more characteristics or qualities of each produced log included in each log pile (Fig. 5 and [0030] teach driving the forestry harvester into a forest and controlling the harvester to grab a tree, cut a tree off the ground, lay the tree down into a controlled manner, and more, wherein Abstract teaches collecting plant location and attribute data with respect to plant material during and/or after harvesting the plant material, wherein the plant location and attribute data can be provided on a collecting vehicle adapted to collect the harvested plant material, as well as in [0012] teaches the plant location and attribute data are collected during harvesting in order to determine the location of the plant material to be subsequently collected by a collecting vehicle, wherein the attribute data is collected or sensed, wherein the attribute data can be sensed by the appropriate sensor, wherein the attribute data is suitable for a later identification, wherein [0014] teaches the attribute can be the number, size, weight, color, type ingredients of the plant material and identification of an electronically readable marker provided during harvesting on the plant material, wherein the attribute data can be collected during harvesting, wherein [0015] teaches the attribute data can relate to one plant or each tree or log, as well as in [0034] teaches the harvester drives to a worksite in a forest and can estimate the location of the log in order to store the location information, wherein the harvester can store the location data together with attribute data sensed by the harvested material attribute sensor, wherein the attribute data can concern the number of logs, their size, weight, color, type of species of tree, and more, wherein the detected properties of the tree sensed by the material attribute sensor can be useful for later identification of the tree, as well as in [0036] teaches the collected plant location and attribute data is stored in the storage device, wherein [0006] teaches the forwarder can be provided with a scale integrated into its arm in order to sense the weight of the logs loaded into the loading space, wherein the weight data can be recorded together with the number of logs, wherein [0003] teaches the forwarder drives to a location adjacent a road and deposits logs into single or multiple piles that are sorted according to the intended use of the logs; see also: [0019, 0032]),
the harvested material attributes comprising attributes of individual logs including one or more of: a log size, a log diameter, a log length, a log species ([0018-0019] teach collecting plant location and attribute data suited for later identification of the respective material during the harvesting and after the harvesting of the plant material on the worksite, wherein the harvesting vehicle can sense attribute data, wherein [0015] teaches the attribute data can concern one plant or a plurality of plants or one part of one plant or parts of one plant or parts of one plant or parts of a plurality of plants, wherein the attribute data can be assigned to each tree or to each log, or one attribute can be used for a number of logs from one tree or a number of trees, wherein [0034] teaches sensing attribute data during tree harvesting by a harvester, wherein the attribute data sensed includes the size of the logs, the length of the logs, the diameter of the logs, and the type of tree including species, and wherein [0003] teaches the harvester can deposit the felled, delimbed, and cut logs into one or more piles; see also: [0014, 0041]);
in a second sensing step distinct from the first sensing step and performed by the forest harvester after completion of the harvesting of the trees for each log pile ([0018-0019] teach collecting plant location and attribute data suited for later identification of the respective material during the harvesting and after the harvesting of the plant material on the worksite, wherein the harvesting vehicle can sense attribute data, wherein [0015] teaches the attribute data can concern one plant or a plurality of plants or one part of one plant or parts of one plant or parts of one plant or parts of a plurality of plants, wherein the attribute data can be assigned to each tree or to each log, or one attribute can be used for a number of logs from one tree or a number of trees, wherein [0034] teaches sensing attribute data during tree harvesting by a harvester, and wherein [0003] teaches the harvester can deposit the felled, delimbed, and cut logs into one or more piles; see also: [0014, 0041]),
sensing, for each log pile and with help of the one or more sensors, one or more log pile attributes that concern and identify each log pile as a whole ([0018-0019] teach collecting plant location and attribute data suited for later identification of the respective material during the harvesting and after the harvesting of the plant material on the worksite, wherein the harvesting vehicle can sense attribute data, wherein [0015] teaches the attribute data can concern one plant or a plurality of plants or one part of one plant or parts of one plant or parts of one plant or parts of a plurality of plants, wherein the attribute data can be assigned to each tree or to each log, or one attribute can be used for a number of logs from one tree or a number of trees, wherein [0034] teaches sensing attribute data during tree harvesting by a harvester, and wherein [0003] teaches the harvester can deposit the felled, delimbed, and cut logs into one or more piles; see also: [0014, 0041]),
including one or more of: a log pile log count, a log pile log diameter distribution ([0018-0019] teach collecting plant location and attribute data suited for later identification of the respective material during the harvesting and after the harvesting of the plant material on the worksite, wherein the harvesting vehicle can sense attribute data, wherein [0015] teaches the attribute data can concern one plant or a plurality of plants or one part of one plant or parts of one plant or parts of one plant or parts of a plurality of plants, wherein the attribute data can be assigned to each tree or to each log, or one attribute can be used for a number of logs from one tree or a number of trees, wherein [0034] teaches sensing attribute data during tree harvesting by a harvester, wherein the attribute data sensed includes the size of the logs, the length of the logs, the diameter of the logs, and the type of tree including species, and wherein [0003] teaches the harvester can deposit the felled, delimbed, and cut logs into one or more piles; see also: [0014, 0041]); and
either of: (i) storing or processing the sensed one or more harvested material attributes and the sensed one or more log pile attributes in the forest harvester (Fig. 5 and [0030] teach driving the forestry harvester into a forest and controlling the harvester to grab a tree, cut a tree off the ground, lay the tree down into a controlled manner, and more, as well as in [0034] teaches the harvester drives to a worksite in a forest and can estimate the location of the log in order to store the location information, wherein the harvester can store the location data together with attribute data sensed by the harvested material attribute sensor, wherein the attribute data can concern the number of logs, their size, weight, color, type of species of tree, and more, wherein the detected properties of the tree sensed by the material attribute sensor can be useful for later identification of the tree, as well as in [0036] teaches the collected plant location and attribute data is stored in the storage device, wherein [0006] teaches the forwarder can be provided with a scale integrated into its arm in order to sense the weight of the logs loaded into the loading space, wherein the weight data can be recorded together with the number of logs, wherein [0003] teaches the forwarder drives to a location adjacent a road and deposits logs into single or multiple piles that are sorted according to the intended use of the logs, wherein Abstract teaches collecting plant location and attribute data with respect to plant material during and/or after harvesting the plant material, wherein the plant location and attribute data can be provided on a collecting vehicle adapted to collect the harvested plant material, as well as in [0012] teaches the plant location and attribute data are collected during harvesting in order to determine the location of the plant material to be subsequently collected by a collecting vehicle, wherein the attribute data is collected or sensed, wherein the attribute data can be sensed by the appropriate sensor, wherein the attribute data is suitable for a later identification, wherein [0014] teaches the attribute can be the number, size, weight, color, type ingredients of the plant material and identification of an electronically readable marker provided during harvesting on the plant material, wherein the attribute data can be collected during harvesting, wherein [0015] teaches the attribute data can relate to each tree and a number of trees or logs; see also: [0032]).
Regarding claim 15, Putkonen anticipates all the limitations of claim 13 above.
Putkonen further anticipates wherein the method further comprises: storing or processing an inventory in the forest harvester (Fig. 5 and [0030] teach driving the forestry harvester into a forest and controlling the harvester to grab a tree, cut a tree off the ground, lay the tree down into a controlled manner, and more, as well as in [0034] teaches the harvester drives to a worksite in a forest and can estimate the location of the log in order to store the location information, wherein the harvester can store the location data together with attribute data sensed by the harvested material attribute sensor, wherein the attribute data can concern the number of logs, their size, weight, color, type of species of tree, and more, wherein the detected properties of the tree sensed by the material attribute sensor can be useful for later identification of the tree, as well as in [0036] teaches the collected plant location and attribute data is stored in the storage device, wherein [0006] teaches the forwarder can be provided with a scale integrated into its arm in order to sense the weight of the logs loaded into the loading space, wherein the weight data can be recorded together with the number of logs, wherein [0003] teaches the forwarder drives to a location adjacent a road and deposits logs into single or multiple piles that are sorted according to the intended use of the logs; see also: [0032]),
the inventory including individual log piles and one or more log pile attributes that concern and identify the individual log piles stored in the inventory (Fig. 5 and [0030] teach driving the forestry harvester into a forest and controlling the harvester to grab a tree, cut a tree off the ground, lay the tree down into a controlled manner, and more, as well as in [0034] teaches the harvester drives to a worksite in a forest and can estimate the location of the log in order to store the location information, wherein the harvester can store the location data together with attribute data sensed by the harvested material attribute sensor, wherein the attribute data can concern the number of logs, their size, weight, color, type of species of tree, and more, wherein the detected properties of the tree sensed by the material attribute sensor can be useful for later identification of the tree, as well as in [0036] teaches the collected plant location and attribute data is stored in the storage device, wherein [0006] teaches the forwarder can be provided with a scale integrated into its arm in order to sense the weight of the logs loaded into the loading space, wherein the weight data can be recorded together with the number of logs, wherein [0003] teaches the forwarder drives to a location adjacent a road and deposits logs into single or multiple piles that are sorted according to the intended use of the logs; see also: [0032]); and
supplementing, for each log pile in the inventory, the one or more log pile attributes with the one or more harvested material attributes of the logs included in each log pile (Fig. 5 and [0030] teach driving the forestry harvester into a forest and controlling the harvester to grab a tree, cut a tree off the ground, lay the tree down into a controlled manner, and more, wherein [0015] teaches the attribute data can concern one plant or a plurality of plants or one part of one plant or parts of one plant or parts of one plant or parts of a plurality of plants, wherein the attribute data can be assigned to each tree or to each log, or one attribute can be used for a number of logs from one tree or a number of trees, wherein [0034] teaches sensing attribute data during tree harvesting by a harvester, wherein the attribute data sensed includes the size of the logs, the length of the logs, the diameter of the logs, and the type of tree including species, as well as in [0034] teaches the harvester drives to a worksite in a forest and can estimate the location of the log in order to store the location information, wherein the harvester can store the location data together with attribute data sensed by the harvested material attribute sensor, wherein the attribute data can concern the number of logs, their size, weight, color, type of species of tree, and more, wherein the detected properties of the tree sensed by the material attribute sensor can be useful for later identification of the tree, as well as in [0036] teaches the collected plant location and attribute data is stored in the storage device, wherein [0006] teaches the forwarder can be provided with a scale integrated into its arm in order to sense the weight of the logs loaded into the loading space, wherein the weight data can be recorded together with the number of logs, wherein [0003] teaches the forwarder drives to a location adjacent a road and deposits logs into single or multiple piles that are sorted according to the intended use of the logs; see also: [0032]).
Regarding claim 16, Putkonen anticipates an arrangement for monitoring harvested logs (Figs. 1-4; see also: [0011-0020]), comprising:
a forwarder adapted to collect and transport logs (Fig. 4 and [0031] teach the forwarder can sense the load of the arm with the collected logs as it is collecting logs in order to sense the weight increments when logs are loaded into the loading space, wherein [0037] teaches operation of the forwarder when collecting the logs that have been harvested, and wherein [0003] teaches the forwarder drives to a location adjacent a road and deposits logs into single or multiple piles that are sorted according to the intended use of the logs; see also: [0042-0045]),
wherein the forwarder includes control electronics and one or more sensors adapted to sense one or more log pile attributes that concern and identify a pile of logs as a whole (Fig. 4 and [0033] teach the forwarder includes electronics that comprise a data processor, a location determining receiver, a storage device, and one or more sensors for collecting one or more harvested material attributes, wherein [0031] teaches the forwarder can sense the load of the arm with the collected logs as it is collecting logs in order to sense the weight increments when logs are loaded into the loading space, wherein [0033] teaches the forwarder includes a sensor for collecting one or more harvested material attributes, wherein [0006] teaches the forwarder can be provided with a scale integrated into its arm in order to sense the weight of the logs loaded into the loading space, wherein the weight data can be recorded together with the number of logs, wherein [0003] teaches the forwarder drives to a location adjacent a road and deposits logs into single or multiple piles that are sorted according to the intended use of the logs; see also: [0037]),
each log pile attribute representing a property of each log pile ([0031] teaches the forwarder can sense the load of the arm with the collected logs as it is collecting logs in order to sense the weight increments when logs are loaded into the loading space, wherein [0033] teaches the forwarder includes a sensor for collecting one or more harvested material attributes, wherein [0015] teaches the attribute data can concern one plant or a plurality of plants or one part of one plant or parts of one plant or parts of one plant or parts of a plurality of plants, wherein the attribute data can be assigned to each tree or to each log, or one attribute can be used for a number of logs from one tree or a number of trees, wherein [0006] teaches the forwarder can be provided with a scale integrated into its arm in order to sense the weight of the logs loaded into the loading space, wherein the weight data can be recorded together with the number of logs, wherein [0003] teaches the forwarder drives to a location adjacent a road and deposits logs into single or multiple piles that are sorted according to the intended use of the logs; see also: [0037]), and
each log pile including at least two logs ([0031] teaches the forwarder can sense the load of the arm with the collected logs as it is collecting logs in order to sense the weight increments when logs are loaded into the loading space, wherein [0033] teaches the forwarder includes a sensor for collecting one or more harvested material attributes, wherein [0015] teaches the attribute data can concern one plant or a plurality of plants or one part of one plant or parts of one plant or parts of one plant or parts of a plurality of plants, wherein the attribute data can be assigned to each tree or to each log, or one attribute can be used for a number of logs from one tree or a number of trees, wherein [0006] teaches the forwarder can be provided with a scale integrated into its arm in order to sense the weight of the logs loaded into the loading space, wherein the weight data can be recorded together with the number of logs, wherein [0003] teaches the forwarder drives to a location adjacent a road and deposits logs into single or multiple piles that are sorted according to the intended use of the logs; see also: [0037]);
wherein, in the forwarder, the control electronics is adapted to store or process the sensed one or more log pile attributes in the forwarder (Fig. 6 and [0037] teach the forwarder can collect logs utilizing a work plan, which can be selection of material with specific attribute data, wherein the forwarder is driven to worksites where the logs are still lying on the ground, wherein the forwarder can utilize sensors, wherein [0038] teaches the sensed attributes are compared with the attributes received in Step 512 of Fig. 5, which are the location and attributes of the logs, wherein the sensed data of the harvested material attribute sensor includes the weight, wherein [0039-0040] teach the comparison can check for the identity of the attributes of the logs, wherein the attributes include the weight, length, location, and orientation of the logs, wherein Fig. 5 and [0034] teach the sensed attributes include the number of logs, weight, color, type indicating the species of the tree, and more, wherein [0006] teaches the forwarder can be provided with a scale integrated into its arm in order to sense the weight of the logs loaded into the loading space, wherein the weight data can be recorded together with the number of logs, wherein [0003] teaches the forwarder drives to a location adjacent a road and deposits logs into single or multiple piles that are sorted according to the intended use of the logs; see also: [0041-0045]) or the control electronics is adapted to send the sensed one or more log pile attributes to a remote location (Fig. 6 and [0040-0041] teach comparing the sensed attributes to the stored attributes in order to determine whether the attributes match, wherein if the attributes match, the arm and grabber can move onto the next logs, wherein at the end of the collection operation, the information on the total collected logs and differences between expected and collected plant attributes can be submitted to the forest owner via the server by means of the wireless communication device, wherein [0042] teaches the forwarder is a collecting vehicle taking up the harvested crop, wherein [0003] teaches the forwarder drives to a location adjacent a road and deposits logs into single or multiple piles that are sorted according to the intended use of the logs; see also: [0006, 0037-0039]); and
a forest harvester adapted to harvest trees to produce the logs that are deposited in the log piles by the forest harvester (Fig. 5 and [0034] teach a harvester that harvests logs on a worksite in a forest, wherein the harvester can fell trees, delimb and cut them into logs of a desired size, wherein [0036] teaches the harvester can fell all trees and cover the entire harvest area, wherein [0003] teaches the harvester can deposit the logs into one or more piles that are sorted according to defined parameters like intended use of the logs; see also: [0030-0032]),
wherein the forest harvester includes control electronics and one or more sensors adapted to sense (Fig. 5 and [0034] teach a harvester that harvests logs on a worksite in a forest, wherein the harvester can fell trees, delimb and cut them into logs of a desired size, wherein the harvester can sense attributes using the harvested material attribute sensor, wherein [0036] teaches the harvester can fell all trees and cover the entire harvest area, wherein [0003] teaches the harvester can deposit the logs into one or more piles that are sorted according to defined parameters like intended use of the logs, wherein [0032] teaches the harvester includes electronics comprising a data processor, a location determining receiver, one or more sensors for collecting one or more harvested material attributes, and more; see also: [0030-0031]):
during the harvesting of the trees ([0018-0019] teach collecting plant location and attribute data suited for later identification of the respective material during the harvesting and after the harvesting of the plant material on the worksite, wherein the harvesting vehicle can sense attribute data, wherein [0015] teaches the attribute data can concern one plant or a plurality of plants or one part of one plant or parts of one plant or parts of one plant or parts of a plurality of plants, wherein the attribute data can be assigned to each tree or to each log, or one attribute can be used for a number of logs from one tree or a number of trees, wherein [0034] teaches sensing attribute data during tree harvesting by a harvester, and wherein [0003] teaches the harvester can deposit the felled, delimbed, and cut logs into one or more piles; see also: [0014, 0041]),
one or more harvested material attributes that describe one or more characteristics of each produced log included in each log pile (Fig. 5 and [0030] teach driving the forestry harvester into a forest and controlling the harvester to grab a tree, cut a tree off the ground, lay the tree down into a controlled manner, and more, wherein Abstract teaches collecting plant location and attribute data with respect to plant material during and/or after harvesting the plant material, wherein the plant location and attribute data can be provided on a collecting vehicle adapted to collect the harvested plant material, as well as in [0012] teaches the plant location and attribute data are collected during harvesting in order to determine the location of the plant material to be subsequently collected by a collecting vehicle, wherein the attribute data is collected or sensed, wherein the attribute data can be sensed by the appropriate sensor, wherein the attribute data is suitable for a later identification, wherein [0014] teaches the attribute can be the number, size, weight, color, type ingredients of the plant material and identification of an electronically readable marker provided during harvesting on the plant material, wherein the attribute data can be collected during harvesting, wherein [0015] teaches the attribute data can relate to one plant or each tree or log, as well as in [0034] teaches the harvester drives to a worksite in a forest and can estimate the location of the log in order to store the location information, wherein the harvester can store the location data together with attribute data sensed by the harvested material attribute sensor, wherein the attribute data can concern the number of logs, their size, weight, color, type of species of tree, and more, wherein the detected properties of the tree sensed by the material attribute sensor can be useful for later identification of the tree, as well as in [0036] teaches the collected plant location and attribute data is stored in the storage device, wherein [0006] teaches the forwarder can be provided with a scale integrated into its arm in order to sense the weight of the logs loaded into the loading space, wherein the weight data can be recorded together with the number of logs, wherein [0003] teaches the forwarder drives to a location adjacent a road and deposits logs into single or multiple piles that are sorted according to the intended use of the logs; see also: [0019, 0032]),
the harvested material attributes comprising attributes of individual logs including one or more of: a log size, a log diameter, a log length, a log species ([0018-0019] teach collecting plant location and attribute data suited for later identification of the respective material during the harvesting and after the harvesting of the plant material on the worksite, wherein the harvesting vehicle can sense attribute data, wherein [0015] teaches the attribute data can concern one plant or a plurality of plants or one part of one plant or parts of one plant or parts of one plant or parts of a plurality of plants, wherein the attribute data can be assigned to each tree or to each log, or one attribute can be used for a number of logs from one tree or a number of trees, wherein [0034] teaches sensing attribute data during tree harvesting by a harvester, wherein the attribute data sensed includes the size of the logs, the length of the logs, the diameter of the logs, and the type of tree including species, and wherein [0003] teaches the harvester can deposit the felled, delimbed, and cut logs into one or more piles; see also: [0014, 0041]); and
distinct from the sensing during the harvesting of the trees and performed after completion of the harvesting of the trees for each log pile ([0018-0019] teach collecting plant location and attribute data suited for later identification of the respective material during the harvesting and after the harvesting of the plant material on the worksite, wherein the harvesting vehicle can sense attribute data, wherein [0015] teaches the attribute data can concern one plant or a plurality of plants or one part of one plant or parts of one plant or parts of one plant or parts of a plurality of plants, wherein the attribute data can be assigned to each tree or to each log, or one attribute can be used for a number of logs from one tree or a number of trees, wherein [0034] teaches sensing attribute data during tree harvesting by a harvester, and wherein [0003] teaches the harvester can deposit the felled, delimbed, and cut logs into one or more piles; see also: [0014, 0041]), one or more log pile attributes that concern and identify each log pile as a whole ([0018-0019] teach collecting plant location and attribute data suited for later identification of the respective material during the harvesting and after the harvesting of the plant material on the worksite, wherein the harvesting vehicle can sense attribute data, wherein [0015] teaches the attribute data can concern one plant or a plurality of plants or one part of one plant or parts of one plant or parts of one plant or parts of a plurality of plants, wherein the attribute data can be assigned to each tree or to each log, or one attribute can be used for a number of logs from one tree or a number of trees, wherein [0034] teaches sensing attribute data during tree harvesting by a harvester, and wherein [0003] teaches the harvester can deposit the felled, delimbed, and cut logs into one or more piles; see also: [0014, 0041]),
including one or more of: a log pile log count, a log pile log diameter distribution ([0018-0019] teach collecting plant location and attribute data suited for later identification of the respective material during the harvesting and after the harvesting of the plant material on the worksite, wherein the harvesting vehicle can sense attribute data, wherein [0015] teaches the attribute data can concern one plant or a plurality of plants or one part of one plant or parts of one plant or parts of one plant or parts of a plurality of plants, wherein the attribute data can be assigned to each tree or to each log, or one attribute can be used for a number of logs from one tree or a number of trees, wherein [0034] teaches sensing attribute data during tree harvesting by a harvester, and wherein [0003] teaches the harvester can deposit the felled, delimbed, and cut logs into one or more piles; see also: [0014, 0041]);
wherein, in the forest harvester, the control electronics are adapted to store or process the sensed one or more harvested material attributes and the sensed one or more log pile attributes in the forest harvester (Fig. 5 and [0030] teach driving the forestry harvester into a forest and controlling the harvester to grab a tree, cut a tree off the ground, lay the tree down into a controlled manner, and more, as well as in [0034] teaches the harvester drives to a worksite in a forest and can estimate the location of the log in order to store the location information, wherein the harvester can store the location data together with attribute data sensed by the harvested material attribute sensor, wherein the attribute data can concern the number of logs, their size, weight, color, type of species of tree, and more, wherein the detected properties of the tree sensed by the material attribute sensor can be useful for later identification of the tree, as well as in [0036] teaches the collected plant location and attribute data is stored in the storage device, wherein [0006] teaches the forwarder can be provided with a scale integrated into its arm in order to sense the weight of the logs loaded into the loading space, wherein the weight data can be recorded together with the number of logs, wherein [0003] teaches the forwarder drives to a location adjacent a road and deposits logs into single or multiple piles that are sorted according to the intended use of the logs, wherein Abstract teaches collecting plant location and attribute data with respect to plant material during and/or after harvesting the plant material, wherein the plant location and attribute data can be provided on a collecting vehicle adapted to collect the harvested plant material, as well as in [0012] teaches the plant location and attribute data are collected during harvesting in order to determine the location of the plant material to be subsequently collected by a collecting vehicle, wherein the attribute data is collected or sensed, wherein the attribute data can be sensed by the appropriate sensor, wherein the attribute data is suitable for a later identification, wherein [0014] teaches the attribute can be the number, size, weight, color, type ingredients of the plant material and identification of an electronically readable marker provided during harvesting on the plant material, wherein the attribute data can be collected during harvesting, wherein [0015] teaches the attribute data can relate to each tree and a number of trees or logs; see also: [0032]
or the control electronics are adapted to send the sensed one or more harvested material attributes and the sensed one or more log pile attributes to a remote location or to the forwarder (Fig. 6 and [0040-0041] teach comparing the sensed attributes to the stored attributes in order to determine whether the attributes match, wherein if the attributes match, the arm and grabber can move onto the next logs, wherein at the end of the collection operation, the information on the total collected logs and differences between expected and collected plant attributes can be submitted to the forest owner via the server by means of the wireless communication device, wherein [0042] teaches the forwarder is a collecting vehicle taking up the harvested crop, wherein [0003] teaches the forwarder drives to a location adjacent a road and deposits logs into single or multiple piles that are sorted according to the intended use of the logs, wherein Abstract teaches collecting plant location and attribute data with respect to plant material during and/or after harvesting the plant material, wherein the plant location and attribute data can be provided on a collecting vehicle adapted to collect the harvested plant material, as well as in [0012] teaches the plant location and attribute data are collected during harvesting in order to determine the location of the plant material to be subsequently collected by a collecting vehicle, wherein the attribute data is collected or sensed, wherein the attribute data can be sensed by the appropriate sensor, wherein the attribute data is suitable for a later identification, wherein [0014] teaches the attribute can be the number, size, weight, color, type ingredients of the plant material and identification of an electronically readable marker provided during harvesting on the plant material, wherein the attribute data can be collected during harvesting, wherein [0015] teaches the attribute data can relate to each tree and a number of trees or logs; see also: [0006, 0037-0039]).
Regarding claim 18, Putkonen anticipates all the limitations of claim 16 above.
Putkonen further anticipates wherein the control electronics of the forwarder is adapted to: store an inventory including individual log piles and one or more log pile attributes that concern and identify the individual log piles stored in the inventory (Fig. 4 and [0033] teach the forwarder includes electronics that comprise a data processor, a location determining receiver, a storage device, and one or more sensors for collecting one or more harvested material attributes, wherein [0031] teaches the forwarder can sense the load of the arm with the collected logs as it is collecting logs in order to sense the weight increments when logs are loaded into the loading space, wherein [0033] teaches the forwarder includes a sensor for collecting one or more harvested material attributes, wherein [0006] teaches the forwarder can be provided with a scale integrated into its arm in order to sense the weight of the logs loaded into the loading space, wherein the weight data can be recorded together with the number of logs, wherein [0003] teaches the forwarder drives to a location adjacent a road and deposits logs into single or multiple piles that are sorted according to the intended use of the logs; see also: [0037]);
compare the one or more log pile attributes of the log pile, as sensed by the forwarder, with the one or more log pile attributes in the inventory (Fig. 6 and [0037] teach the forwarder can collect logs utilizing a work plan, which can be selection of material with specific attribute data, wherein the forwarder is driven to worksites where the logs are still lying on the ground, wherein the forwarder can utilize sensors, wherein [0038] teaches the sensed attributes are compared with the attributes received in Step 512 of Fig. 5, which are the location and attributes of the logs, wherein the sensed data of the harvested material attribute sensor includes the weight, wherein [0039-0040] teach the comparison can check for the identity of the attributes of the logs, wherein the attributes include the weight, length, location, and orientation of the logs, wherein Fig. 5 and [0034] teach the sensed attributes include the number of logs, weight, color, type indicating the species of the tree, and more, wherein [0006] teaches the forwarder can be provided with a scale integrated into its arm in order to sense the weight of the logs loaded into the loading space, wherein the weight data can be recorded together with the number of logs, wherein [0003] teaches the forwarder drives to a location adjacent a road and deposits logs into single or multiple piles that are sorted according to the intended use of the logs; see also: [0041-0045]);
identify the log pile stored in the inventory that matches the one or more log pile attributes of the log pile, as sensed by the forwarder (Fig. 6 and [0040-0041] teach comparing the sensed attributes to the stored attributes in order to determine whether the attributes match, wherein if the attributes match, the arm and grabber can move onto the next logs, wherein at the end of the collection operation, the information on the total collected logs and differences between expected and collected plant attributes can be submitted, wherein Fig. 6 and [0037] teach the forwarder can collect logs utilizing a work plan, which can be selection of material with specific attribute data, wherein the forwarder is driven to worksites where the logs are still lying on the ground, wherein the forwarder can utilize sensors, wherein [0038] teaches the sensed attributes are compared with the attributes received in Step 512 of Fig. 5, which are the location and attributes of the logs, wherein the sensed data of the harvested material attribute sensor includes the weight, wherein [0039] teaches the comparison can check for the identity of the attributes of the logs, wherein the attributes include the weight, length, location, and orientation of the logs, wherein Fig. 5 and [0034] teach the sensed attributes include the number of logs, weight, color, type indicating the species of the tree, and more, wherein [0006] teaches the forwarder can be provided with a scale integrated into its arm in order to sense the weight of the logs loaded into the loading space, wherein the weight data can be recorded together with the number of logs, wherein [0003] teaches the forwarder drives to a location adjacent a road and deposits logs into single or multiple piles that are sorted according to the intended use of the logs; see also: [0042-0045]); and
generate an output dependent on the result of the comparing or the identifying (Fig. 6 and [0040-0041] teach comparing the sensed attributes to the stored attributes in order to determine whether the attributes match, wherein if the attributes match, the arm and grabber can move onto the next logs, wherein at the end of the collection operation, the information on the total collected logs and differences between expected and collected plant attributes can be submitted to the forest owner directly or via the server, as well as in [0039] teaches the comparison device can generate an output dependent on the result of the comparison using the sensed attributes and the attributes received by step 512 of Fig. 5; see also: [0003, 0006, 0020, 0037-0038, 0042]).
Regarding claim 20, Putkonen anticipates all the limitations of claim 16 above.
Putkonen further anticipates wherein the control electronics of the forwarder is adapted to: store or process one or more harvested material attributes that describe one or more characteristics or quality of each produced log included in the log pile ([0013] teaches the location and attribute data can be included into a database representing the inventory of the site after harvesting, wherein the operation of the collecting vehicle can be controlled using this database, which can be updated during the collection and thus always be kept up to date, as well as in [0038-0040] teach the sensed data can be stored and compared, wherein Fig. 5 and [0034] teach the sensed attributes include the number of logs, weight, color, type indicating the species of the tree, and more, wherein [0040-0041] teach the sensed data includes weight, length, location, and orientation data for the logs, wherein the attributes also include the different types or species, size or weight of the logs, and more; see also: [0003, 0006, 0037]);
combine, for each log pile, the one or more log pile attributes with the one or more harvested material attributes of the logs included in the log pile ([0013] teaches the location and attribute data can be included into a database representing the inventory of the site after harvesting, wherein the operation of the collecting vehicle can be controlled using this database, which can be updated during the collection and thus always be kept up to date, as well as in [0038-0040] teach the sensed data can be stored and compared, wherein Fig. 5 and [0034] teach the sensed attributes include the number of logs, weight, color, type indicating the species of the tree, and more; see also: [0003, 0006, 0037]); and
generate an output dependent on the result of the combining (Fig. 6 and [0040-0041] teach comparing the sensed attributes to the stored attributes in order to determine whether the attributes match, wherein if the attributes match, the arm and grabber can move onto the next logs, wherein at the end of the collection operation, the information on the total collected logs and differences between expected and collected plant attributes can be submitted to the forest owner directly or via the server, as well as in [0039] teaches the comparison device can generate an output dependent on the result of the comparison using the sensed attributes and the attributes received by step 512 of Fig. 5; see also: [0003, 0006, 0020, 0037-0038, 0042]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Holmstrom et al. (A multi-objective optimization strategy for timber forwarding in cut-to-length harvesting operations, December 15, 2022) discloses sensing the assortment specific delivery piles created by the harvester
/SARA GRACE BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3625