DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the applicant’s filing on July 22, 2026. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Amendment and Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to 35 USC 112 (f) interpretation has been fully considered but they are persuasive. Thus, the currently claims will not be interpreted under 112 (f).
Applicant's arguments with respect to 35 USC 103 rejections of said previous office action has been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Accordingly said rejection is further as expounded upon below.
Applicant argues:
Applicant does not understand the Prendergast reference to teach "automatically determining, in the control electronics, a relative or absolute difference between the measured rotational speed of the engine and a predetermined guideline for the rotational speed of the engine," as recited in claim 1.
Examiner responds:
Prendergast discloses a power control system for a forestry machine may include an engine control module and a pump control module. The engine control module may be configured to control an engine speed of an engine of the forestry machine. The engine speed may be limited in accordance with a maximum engine speed (Abstract). Prendergast also discloses automatically determining, in the control electronics, a relative or absolute difference between the measured rotational speed of the engine and a predetermined guideline for the rotational speed of the engine ([0014] Power control systems and methods for forestry machines according to the present disclosure are configured to automatically activate a power increase without requiring the operator to activate a separate button or switch. [0028-0030], , to trigger the power increase, the pump control module 208 outputs a signal to the engine control module 212 indicating a request for the power increase and the engine control module 212 increases the maximum engine speed accordingly. In other words, during the power increase, the engine control module 212 allows the engine 224 to reach a higher maximum engine speed and power output (e.g., a maximum engine speed increase of 100-500 rpm and a power output increase of 10-50 horsepower).).
Applicant argues:
Applicant respectfully submits that the cited rejections may rely on impermissible hindsight. As set forth in MPEP § 2142.
Examiner responds:
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
The Examiner believes that all the arguments of the Applicant have been properly addressed and explained. Thus, the rejections of all of the claims are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11, 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prendergast et al. US2022/0312694 (“Prendergast”) in view of Pellymonter US2010/0071520 (“Pellymonter”).
Regarding claim(s) 1, 18. Prendergast discloses a method for controlling a forest harvester, wherein the forest harvester includes: a wheeled frame; an IC engine; an articulated boom supported on the frame; a harvester head suspended from the end of the boom and for processing tree stems of felled trees; and control electronics including an engine control unit (Fig. 1-3, Abstract, A power control system for a forestry machine may include an engine control module and a pump control module. The engine control module may be configured to control an engine speed of an engine of the forestry machine.), an electronic control unit for controlling operations carried out by the harvester head, and
a processing power control system with predetermined power levels, each power level offering a specific level of power delivered by the engine during the operations ([0014] Power control systems and methods for forestry machines according to the present disclosure are configured to automatically activate a power increase without requiring the operator to activate a separate button or switch. For example, the power increase may be activated in response to one or more selected functions (i.e., one of a subset of all possible functions performed by the machine, which may be referred to herein as “high pressure functions”) being activated and a pressure (e.g., a pressure of a pump associated with the task being performed) reaching a predetermined setpoint or threshold.); and
wherein the method comprises: applying one of the predetermined power levels when carrying out an operation relating to one of the tree stems and being performed by the harvested head and resulting to a changing load on the engine ([0019-0021] The power increase may be activated in response to a selected one of the actuators 128 being activated and a pressure (e.g., a hydraulic pressure of a pump associated with the task being performed) reaching a predetermined setpoint or threshold.);
measuring, when carrying out the operation, rotational speed of the engine with the help of one or more sensors that collect data indicative of the rotational speed of the engine and are operatively connected to the control electronics ([0019-0020] Selected ones of the actuators 128 (i.e., a predetermined subset of all of the actuators 128) are configured to activate a power increase (e.g., an engine speed and associated hydraulic pressure increase) without requiring the operator to activate a separate actuator as described below in more detail. The selected ones of the actuators 128 may correspond to predetermined forestry functions or attachments that may potentially require a power increase to complete associated tasks (i.e., high pressure functions).);
automatically determining, in the control electronics, a relative or absolute difference between the measured rotational speed of the engine and a predetermined guideline for the rotational speed of the engine, the guideline defining a preferred rotational speed or a range of preferred rotational speeds for the operation that is being carried out ([0028-0030], , to trigger the power increase, the pump control module 208 outputs a signal to the engine control module 212 indicating a request for the power increase and the engine control module 212 increases the maximum engine speed accordingly. In other words, during the power increase, the engine control module 212 allows the engine 224 to reach a higher maximum engine speed and power output (e.g., a maximum engine speed increase of 100-500 rpm and a power output increase of 10-50 horsepower). The pump control module 208 further increases a maximum pump pressure of one or more of the pumps 236 (e.g., by 100-500 psi).); and
Prendergast does not explicitly disclose:
automatically notifying by the control electronics an operator of the forest harvester that the determined difference either follows the guideline or deviates from the guideline.
Pellymonter teaches another forestry machine that automatically notifying by the control electronics an operator of the forest harvester that the determined difference either follows the guideline or deviates from the guideline (Fig. 6A-6E, [0048-0053] the controller 56 outputs a display signal commanding the display 58 to display the screen 58d in response to selection of the "Threshold" item in screen 58c. The display 58 displays the screen 58d in response to receipt of that display signal. Screen 58d contains instructions for changing the saw speed displayed (i.e., the display saw speed) and selecting the display saw speed as the speed readiness threshold. Pressing the next button 59c advances the display 58 to a prompt screen 58e of FIG. 6E. ).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method of Prendergast by incorporating the applied teaching of Pellymonter to improve human-machine interfacing and one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Regarding claim(s) 2. Prendergast in view of Pellymonter further teaches wherein the notifying step includes at least one option from the following list including: (i) informing the operator that the determined difference follows the guideline and change of the power level being applied is not required; (ii) informing the operator that the determined difference deviates from the guideline and change of the power level being applied is recommended; (iii) informing the operator that the determined difference exceeds the guideline and change of the power level being applied is recommended; and (iv) informing the operator that the determined difference is less than the guideline and change of the power level being applied is recommended (Pellymonter: [0048] Referring to FIG. 6D, the controller 56 outputs a display signal commanding the display 58 to display the screen 58d in response to selection of the "Threshold" item in screen 58c. The display 58 displays the screen 58d in response to receipt of that display signal.).
Regarding claim(s) 3, 19. Prendergast in view of Pellymonter further teaches recommending, by the control electronics after the determining step, another one of the predetermined power levels to be applied (Prendergast: [0020] For example only, as described herein, the tasks that may trigger the power increase include, but are not limited to, a main saw of the harvester head 104, feed forward and feed reverse functions (e.g., feed rollers) of the harvester head 104, and a topping saw or blade of the harvester head 104.).
Regarding claim(s) 4. Prendergast in view of Pellymonter further teaches enabling or disabling, by the operator, the control electronics to automatically select the recommended power level and change the power level that is being currently applied (Prendergast: [0020] For example only, as described herein, the tasks that may trigger the power increase include, but are not limited to, a main saw of the harvester head 104, feed forward and feed reverse functions (e.g., feed rollers) of the harvester head 104, and a topping saw or blade of the harvester head 104.).
Regarding claim(s) 5. Prendergast in view of Pellymonter further teaches selecting, by the operator, another one of the predetermined power levels to be applied and changing, by the operator, the currently applied power level with the help of the control electronics ([0020] The power increase may be activated in response to a selected one of the actuators 128 being activated and a pressure (e.g., a hydraulic pressure of a pump associated with the task being performed) reaching a predetermined setpoint or threshold.).
Regarding claim(s) 6. Prendergast in view of Pellymonter further teaches the method further comprising: applying the selected power level when repeating the carrying out of the operation ([0020] The power increase may be activated in response to a selected one of the actuators 128 being activated and a pressure (e.g., a hydraulic pressure of a pump associated with the task being performed) reaching a predetermined setpoint or threshold.).
Regarding claim(s) 7. Prendergast in view of Pellymonter further teaches wherein the operation includes holding a tree stem of a felled tree in the harvester head, feeding the tree stem through the harvester head, and stopping and crosscutting the tree stem in the harvester head ([0015]. The harvester 100 includes a harvester head 104 configured to perform multiple forestry functions. For example, the harvester 100 may include multiple attachments including, but not limited to, front gripping knives or arms configured to grasp trees, a main saw, one or more secondary saws (e.g., a topping saw or blade), delimbing arms and blades, and feed rollers configured to grasp a tree trunk and roll (i.e., rotate) in forward and reverse directions to feed the tree through the harvester head 104.).
Regarding claim(s) 8. Prendergast in view of Pellymonter further teaches wherein the guideline defines one or more threshold values or an optimum range for the rotational speed for carrying out the operation ([0015] Referring now to FIGS. 1A and 1B, an example forestry machine (e.g., a harvester 100) configured to implement a power control system according to the present disclosure is shown. Although shown as a harvester, the principles of the present disclosure may also be applied to other forestry machines, such as a feller buncher, road building machines, etc. The harvester 100 includes a harvester head 104 configured to perform multiple forestry functions. For example, the harvester 100 may include multiple attachments including, but not limited to, front gripping knives or arms configured to grasp trees, a main saw, one or more secondary saws (e.g., a topping saw or blade), delimbing arms and blades, and feed rollers configured to grasp a tree trunk and roll (i.e., rotate) in forward and reverse directions to feed the tree through the harvester head 104.).
Regarding claim(s) 9. Prendergast in view of Pellymonter further teaches, wherein the guideline defines the rotational speed for the operation being carried out with respect to one or more harvested material attributes describing the tree stem ([0015] Referring now to FIGS. 1A and 1B, an example forestry machine (e.g., a harvester 100) configured to implement a power control system according to the present disclosure is shown. Although shown as a harvester, the principles of the present disclosure may also be applied to other forestry machines, such as a feller buncher, road building machines, etc. The harvester 100 includes a harvester head 104 configured to perform multiple forestry functions. For example, the harvester 100 may include multiple attachments including, but not limited to, front gripping knives or arms configured to grasp trees, a main saw, one or more secondary saws (e.g., a topping saw or blade), delimbing arms and blades, and feed rollers configured to grasp a tree trunk and roll (i.e., rotate) in forward and reverse directions to feed the tree through the harvester head 104.).
Regarding claim(s) 10. Prendergast in view of Pellymonter further teaches herein the harvested material attribute includes at least one option from the following list including: (i) diameter of the tree stem; (ii) length of the tree stem; (iii) size of the tree stem; (iv) volume of the tree stem; and (v) species of the tree stem (Pellymonter: [0059] In another embodiment, the controller 56 may be configured to select the speed readiness threshold automatically dependent upon the timber conditions. In such a case, the memory 62 may have stored therein a look-up table or other representation of threshold selection criteria that selects an appropriate speed readiness threshold in response to input of one or more timber conditions (e.g., tree diameter) by the operator via, for example, the operator input device 59 or other input device (e.g., a keypad)).
Regarding claim(s) 11. Prendergast in view of Pellymonter further teaches wherein the notifying step includes: presenting the difference or an alarm concerning the difference or both the difference and the alarm to the operator in a perceivable manner with the help of the control electronics (Pellymonter: [0037] In another embodiment, the speed readiness indicator may have a single visual indicator in the form of a light bar with a plurality of vertically arranged, horizontally elongated lights. In such a case, the controller 56 signals one or more top lights so that they illuminate a first light color, such as green to indicate that the saw speed is at or above the speed readiness threshold. The controller 56 further signals one or more bottom lights so that they illuminate a second light color, such as amber, to indicate that saw speed is below the speed readiness threshold.).
Regarding claim(s) 13. Prendergast in view of Pellymonter further teaches wherein the determining step includes: representing the measured rotational speed of the engine as a speed droop in relation to a requested speed of the engine as set by the control electronics, and representing the guideline as an optimum range of speed droop for the rotational speed for carrying out the operation (Prendergast: [0020-0022] [0023] As engine speed increases, a hydraulic flow (and, correspondingly, hydraulic power) that can be provided by the hydraulic system 220 also increases. For example, one or more pumps (e.g., a front pump, a rear pump, etc.) 236 of the hydraulic system 220 operate in accordance with the engine speed. Accordingly, if the engine control module 212 increases (e.g., conditionally and temporarily increases) the maximum engine speed, a maximum power available to the attachment 228 via the hydraulic system 220 also increases.).
Regarding claim(s) 14. Prendergast in view of Pellymonter further teaches recommending, by the control electronics after the determining step, another one of the predetermined power levels to be applied (Prendergast: [0014] the power increase may be activated in response to one or more selected functions (i.e., one of a subset of all possible functions performed by the machine, which may be referred to herein as “high pressure functions”) being activated and a pressure (e.g., a pressure of a pump associated with the task being performed) reaching a predetermined setpoint or threshold.).
Regarding claim(s) 15. Prendergast in view of Pellymonter further teaches enabling or disabling, by the operator, the control electronics to automatically select the recommended power level and change the power level that is being currently applied (Prendergast: [0014] Power control systems and methods for forestry machines according to the present disclosure are configured to automatically activate a power increase without requiring the operator to activate a separate button or switch.).
Regarding claim(s) 16 Prendergast in view of Pellymonter further teaches selecting, by the operator, another one of the predetermined power levels to be applied and changing, by the operator, the currently applied power level with the help of the control electronics (Prendergast: [0024] The user interface 232 outputs control signals (e.g., attachment control signals) to the attachment control module 204 in response to inputs from the operator, and the attachment control module 204 controls the attachment 228. In some examples, the attachment control module 204 may be omitted and the user interface 232 outputs the control signals directly to the pump control module 208 and/or the engine control module 212, which in turn control the attachment 228.).
Regarding claim(s) 17. Prendergast in view of Pellymonter further teaches applying the selected power level when repeating the carrying out of the operation (Prendergast: [0024] The user interface 232 outputs control signals (e.g., attachment control signals) to the attachment control module 204 in response to inputs from the operator, and the attachment control module 204 controls the attachment 228. In some examples, the attachment control module 204 may be omitted and the user interface 232 outputs the control signals directly to the pump control module 208 and/or the engine control module 212, which in turn control the attachment 228.).
Regarding claim(s) 20. Prendergast in view of Pellymonter further teaches wherein the engine comprises a rotatable driveshaft with the help of which mechanical power is transmitted (Prendergast: fig:1 [0017] Referring now to FIGS. 1B and 1C and with continued reference to FIG. 1A, the operator controls the harvester head 104 and the boom and arm assembly 112 using controls such as control sticks 124-1 and 124-2, referred to collectively as control sticks 124. For example only, the control sticks 124-1 and 124-2 correspond to left and right control sticks, respectively. Each of the control sticks 124 includes a plurality of actuators (e.g., switches and buttons), such as a rocker switch or trigger 128-1, face buttons 128-2 (on respective faces 132 of the control sticks 124), side console buttons 128-3 (on respective side consoles 136), etc., referred to collectively as actuators 128.).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prendergast et al. US2022/0312694 (“Prendergast”) in view of Pellymonter US2010/0071520 (“Pellymonter”) further in view of Erkkila et al. US2016/0123352 (“Erkkila”).
Regarding claim(s) 12. Prendergast in view of Pellymonter does not explicitly teaches:
performing the measuring step for a group of the tree stems; performing the automatic determining step for the group of tree stems; and automatically determining, in the control electronics, an average value or another representative value, for the relative or absolute differences determined for each tree stem of the group of tree stems.
Erkkila teaches another forest work unit that performing the measuring step for a group of the tree stems; performing the automatic determining step for the group of tree stems; and automatically determining, in the control electronics, an average value or another representative value, for the relative or absolute differences determined for each tree stem of the group of tree stems ([0026] FIG. 2 shows an actual measured power demand of a typical harvester-type forest work unit 1 from a primary power source 4, which is typically a diesel engine, as a function of time t[s] when handling normally-sized and average trees. The figure shows that a maximum P.sub.peak of power demand may typically be more than double as compared with an average power demand P.sub.av, and the power demand is highly varying. Conventionally, however, it has been compulsory to dimension the primary power source according to the maximum power consumption in order to ensure sufficient power also for the peak phases P.sub.peak in the power demand since too low a power compromises the efficiency of the process and the quality of the product.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the combination system and method of Prendergast in view of Pellymonter by incorporating the applied teaching of Erkkila to ensure proper operation and efficiency of the process and one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiry
/TRUC M DO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658