DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an energy storage device,” and “a control device” in claims 1-3.
The “energy storage device” is sufficiently described in the specification as a battery (see paragraph 43).
The “control device” is sufficiently described in the specification as a microcomputer (see paragraphs 25, 46).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2018/0244130 A1) and in view of Sixta (WO 2022/194314 A1) and further in view of Hirabayashi (US 2015/0099443 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Lee teaches a vehicle (vehicle, see abstract and paragraph 40), comprising; an engine (engine, paragraph 33); an air conditioner (air conditioner of the vehicle, see paragraph 40) configured to perform air conditioning in a vehicle cabin (air conditioner controlling vehicle indoor temperature, see paragraph 74); and a control device (at least control unit 35) configured to, when a remote air conditioning request is received from user equipment (user terminal such as a smartphone, see fig. 2 and paragraphs 37-38) with a system of the vehicle stopped (remote air conditioning request for a parked/stopped/off vehicle, see figs. 2, 5 and paragraph 20), turn on a remote air conditioning request signal after starting the system (air conditioning control signal at S3 after start-up of vehicle at S1, see fig. 5), and execute remote air conditioning on a condition that a recognized shift that is a recognized shift position is a parking position (drive air conditioner at step S7 after determining that the vehicle is parked, see paragraph 20 and fig. 5), the remote air conditioning being air conditioning in which the air conditioner is operated with the engine in operation (air conditioning operating with vehicle engine started, see figs. 5, 1 and paragraph 14), wherein the control device is configured to, when the recognized shift is not the parking position, suspend prohibition of the remote air conditioning when an elapsed time since starting of the system is less than a predetermined time (air conditioning continued during neutral mode, see paragraphs 20, 48 and 66), and determine prohibition of the remote air conditioning when the elapsed time is equal to or more than the predetermined time (air conditioning performed for a set time period since the start-up time, see paragraphs 21, 40, 59 and 64).
However, Lee does not explicitly teach a generator configured to generate electricity using power from the engine; and an energy storage battery connected, together with the generator and the air conditioner, to a power line.
Sixta discloses a vehicle (see abstract and page 6, paragraph 1) including an automatic vehicle control system (see fig. 1 and abstract), an engine (vehicle engine, page 6, paragraph 1); an energy storage battery (battery, page 6, paragraph 1) connected, together with the generator and the air conditioner, to a power line (battery 2, air conditioner and fan 4 are connected to power lines, see fig. 2 and page 6, paragraph 1, page 4, paragraph 4); and a control device (control unit 5) configured to receive a remote air conditioning operation signal (see fig. 1); start a timer when the vehicle is in the active state with engine operational (see vehicle active mode with engine operational, page 6, paragraph 3); and turn of the air conditioner and/or fan after the elapsed time, since the start of the vehicle active state, passes the limit time (see fan off after time crossing the limit time, fig. 1 and page 28, paragraph 7 – page 29, paragraph 2).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vehicle air conditioning system of Lee by providing a battery as the energy storage device that is connected to the power lines along with the air conditioning fan based on the teachings of Sixta in order to allow an additional power source that could power the low voltage control and auxiliary circuitry without using the engine power. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to reprogrammed the controller of Lee to begin the start time from the start of the system/engine and determining prohibition of remote air conditioning by ending all or some of the air conditioning function (such as fan) at the end of a predetermined time from the start time based on the teachings of Sixta for the advantage of conserving power by keeping track of the exact time for which power has been consumed.
Lee also does not explicitly teach a generator configured to generate electricity using power from the engine and the generator connected to a power line.
However, Hirabayashi teaches a vehicle (see abstract) including an engine (see paragraph 46); a generator (MG1 MG2) configured to generate electricity using power from the engine (see paragraph 46); and an energy storage battery (360) connected, together with the generator (MG1, MG2) and the air conditioner, to a power line (generator and/or battery power transmitted to wheels and air conditioner, see paragraph 46).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vehicle and the air conditioning system of Lee by providing a generator configured to generate electricity using power from the engine; and an energy storage battery connected, together with the generator and the air conditioner, to a power line based on the teachings of Hirabayashi in order to allow an additional power source that is powered by the engine and that stores electric power for pre-air conditioning, automatic air conditioning, battery charging and for some operations transmitting power to the wheels of the vehicle (see paragraphs 5-8 and 46, Hirabayashi).
In regards to claim 2, Lee as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that control device (35) is configured to, when the system is started (see fig. 5), start predetermined control for detecting the shift position (control unit 35 determines the gear state of parking/not parking, see paragraph 48) and set the recognized shift to a non-parking position that is an initial value (control unit 35 determines and sets that gear is not in the parking mode, see paragraph 48 and fig. 5, for later control operations), and when the predetermined control is completed, set the recognized shift to a detected shift position (control unit 35 determines and sets the detected parking/non-parking shift position for the start of the air conditioning control operation at S3, fig. 5).
In regards to claim 3, Lee as modified teaches the limitations of claim 2 and further discloses that the predetermined time is set to a time longer than a time required for the predetermined control (air conditioning control operation start to end includes the time period for air conditioner to reach set value, see fig. 9, while predetermined control for detecting shift position takes initial stage of the start-up and air conditioning control, therefore the time of operation of the air conditioner is longer than the predetermined control time, see fig. 5). In Sixta teaches determining sleep/active modes of the vehicle, which indicate parking status of the vehicle (page 6, paragraph 3), where determination of the sleep mode or active mode requires less time than operating the air conditioner/fan for a set amount of time (see fig. 1; page 4, paragraph 5; page 6, paragraph 3; and claim 18).
Conclusion
/MERAJ A SHAIKH/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JOEL M ATTEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763