DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. Acknowledgment is made of Applicant’s submission of information disclosure statement (IDS) on July 15, 2026 after the mailing date of the previous office action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
3. Acknowledgment is made of Applicant’s submission of amendment with remarks/arguments, dated July 15, 2026. Claims 1-12 and 14-17 have been amended; claims 18-20 have been canceled.
Upon entering the amendment, claims 1-17 remain pending. This communication is considered fully responsive and sets forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5. Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, it recites as follows:
The presence of the language “second messages that carry the first condition” is not supported by Applicant’s specification. The specification describes a single second message as in paragraphs [0006-0011], but with no description related to multiple second messages. Accordingly, this language is found to encompass new matter.
Claims 8 and 14 are rejected for the same reason.
Claims 2-7, 9-13, and 15-17 are rejected by virtue of dependency on claim 1, 8 or 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
7. Claims 1-17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Regarding claim 1, it recites as follows:
The terms “second messages” and “third messages” present in the claim. Apparently, no “first messages” appears anywhere in the claim or specification. This raises a question about why the messages are called “second” and “third.”
Consequently, claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for not particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as the invention.
Same rejection applies to claims 8 and 14.
Claims 2-7, 9-13, and 15-17 are rejected by virtue of dependency on claim 1, 8 or 14.
Claim Re ejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 1, 4, 7, 8, 10, 11, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin et al. (US 2021/0235336) in view of Choudhury (US 2020/0145787).
Regarding claim 1, Martin et al. teach the method for implementing a sensing service, comprising:
determining, by a first network device, a first condition (paragraph [0040] lines 1-16; Examiner’s Notes: network access node 204 illustrated in FIG. 5 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a first network device;”
in fact, network access node 204 determining a condition, e.g., RRC connected in step S1, as illustrated in FIG. 5, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “determining, by a first network device, a first condition” in the instant application),
wherein the first condition indicates a condition that a target terminal used for performing sensing measurement needs to meet (paragraph [0045] lines 1-14; Examiner’s Notes: terminal device 208 illustrated in FIG. 5 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a target terminal;”
in fact, the RRC connected condition indicating terminal device 208 meeting sensing measurements, as illustrated in FIG. 5, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the first condition indicates a condition that a target terminal used for performing sensing measurement needs to meet” in the instant application);
sending, by the first network device to terminals, second messages that carry the first condition (paragraph [0045] lines 1-14; Examiner’s Notes: message(s) transmitted in step S2 in FIG. 5 of the prior art teaches the limitation of “second messages;”
in fact, network access node 204 transmitting, to terminal device 208, a message(s) carrying the condition, e.g., RRC connected, as illustrated in step S2 in FIG. 5 of the prior art teaches the limitation of “sending, by the first network device to a terminal, second messages that carry the first condition” in the instant application).
Martin et al. teach the method without explicitly teaching receiving, by the first network device, third messages from the terminals.
Choudhury et al. from the same or similar field of endeavor teach implementing fairness of the method, receiving, by the first network device, third messages from the terminals (paragraph [0202] lines 1-19; Examiner’s Notes: base station 914a receiving messages from WTRUs, e.g., 902a and 902b, as depicted in FIG. 9A in the prior art teaches the limitation of “receiving, by the first network device, third messages from the terminals” in the instant application),
determining the target terminal from the terminals based on the third messages (paragraphs [0006] lines 1-16 & [0123] lines 1-26; Examiner’s Notes: sensing/determining a target mobile device/WTRU from WTRUs, e.g., 902a and 902b, as depicted in FIG. 9A, based on the messages received in the prior art teaches the limitation of “determining the target terminal from the terminals based on the third messages” in the instant application),
wherein the terminals meet the first condition (paragraph [0006] lines 1-16; Examiner’s Notes: the condition, e.g., signal level, related to WTRUs 902a and 902b, as depicted in FIG. 9A in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the terminals meet the first condition” in the instant application),
each third message comprises indication information indicating whether a terminal supports or expects to perform the sensing measurement (paragraph [0202] lines 1-19; Examiner’s Notes: each wireless message indicating the condition, e.g., signal level, related to each WTRU, regards to sensing/measurement, as illustrated in FIG. 9A in the prior art teaches the limitation of “each third message comprises indication information indicating whether a terminal supports or expects to perform the sensing measurement” in the instant application).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in art to implement the method of Choudhury et al. in the system of Martin et al.
The motivation for implementing receiving, by the first network device, third messages from the terminals, is to further enhance the mechanism for the wireless communications system, wherein the base station and the WTRUs implement a radio technology such as Evolved UMTS Terrestrial Radio Access (E-UTRA), which establish the air interfaces using Long Term Evolution (LTE), LTE-Advanced (LTE-A) and LTE-Advanced Pro (LTE-A Pro) (paragraph [0206] lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 4, Martin et al. further teach the method, wherein the first condition comprises at least one of the following:
a terminal supports a specified sensing ability;
a terminal is in a specified connection status;
a terminal is in a specified moving state;
a terminal is a sensing measurement unit;
a terminal is in a sensing area; or
a signal of a serving cell of a terminal meets a specified condition (paragraph [0040] lines 1-16; Examiner’s Notes: terminal device 208 in RRC connected condition as illustrated in FIG. 5 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a terminal is in a specified connection status;”
in fact, terminal device 208 in RRC connected condition as illustrated in FIG. 5 in the prior art teaches this claim limitation in the instant application).
Regarding claim 7, Martin et al. further teach the method, wherein the first network device is a radio access network device; or
a form of a second message comprises at least one of the following: a system message; or
a paging message (paragraph [0040] lines 1-16; Examiner’s Notes: network access node 204 as illustrated in FIG. 5 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “the first network device is a radio access network device;”
in fact, network access node 204 as illustrated in FIG. 5 in the prior art teaches this claim limitation in the instant application).
Regarding claim 8, Martin et al. teach the method for implementing a sensing service, comprising:
determining, by a second network device, a first condition based on an obtained first message (paragraphs [0031] lines 1-21 & [0040] lines 1-16; Examiner’s Notes: network access node 205 illustrated in FIG. 5 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a second network device;”
in fact, network access node 205 determining a condition, e.g., RRC connected, based on information/message obtained/received as illustrated in FIG. 5, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “determining, by a second network device, a first condition based on an obtained first message” in the instant application),
wherein the first message is used to request to perform sensing measurement (paragraph [0045] lines 1-14; Examiner’s Notes: the information/message regards to the sensing measurement in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the first message is used to request to perform sensing measurement” in the instant application),
the first message is a non-terminal associated message (paragraph [0031] lines 1-21; Examiner’s Notes: the information/message obtained/received from a neighboring network access node in the prior art teaches the limitation of “the first message is a non-terminal associated message” in the instant application), and
the first condition indicates a condition that a target terminal used for performing the sensing measurement needs to meet (paragraph [0045] lines 1-14; Examiner’s Notes: terminal device 208 illustrated in FIG. 5 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a target terminal;”
in fact, the RRC connected condition indicating terminal device 208 meeting sensing measurements, as illustrated in FIG. 5, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “the first condition indicates a condition that a target terminal used for performing the sensing measurement needs to meet” in the instant application);
sending, by the second network device to terminals via a first network device corresponding to the sensing measurement, second messages that carry the first condition (paragraph [0045] lines 1-14; Examiner’s Notes: network access node 204 illustrated in FIG. 5 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a first network device;”
a message(s) transmitted in step S2 in FIG. 5 of the prior art teaches the limitation of “second messages;”
in fact, network access node 205 transmitting, to terminal device 208 via network access node 204, a message(s) carrying the condition, e.g., RRC connected, as illustrated in step S2 in FIG. 5 of the prior art teaches the limitation of “sending, by the second network device to terminals via a first network device corresponding to the sensing measurement, a second message that carries the first condition” in the instant application); and
Martin et al. teach the method without explicitly teaching receiving, by the second network device, third messages from the terminals.
Choudhury et al. from the same or similar field of endeavor teach implementing fairness of the method, receiving, by the first network device, third messages from the terminals via the first network device (paragraph [0202] lines 1-19; Examiner’s Notes: base station 914a receiving messages from WTRUs, e.g., 902a and 902b, as depicted in FIG. 9A in the prior art teaches the limitation of “receiving, by the first network device, third messages from the terminals” in the instant application),
determining the target terminal from the terminals based on the third messages (paragraphs [0006] lines 1-16 & [0123] lines 1-26; Examiner’s Notes: sensing/determining a target mobile device/WTRU from WTRUs, e.g., 902a and 902b, as depicted in FIG. 9A, based on the messages received in the prior art teaches the limitation of “determining the target terminal from the terminals based on the third messages” in the instant application),
wherein the terminals meet the first condition (paragraph [0006] lines 1-16; Examiner’s Notes: the condition, e.g., signal level, related to WTRUs 902a and 902b, as depicted in FIG. 9A in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the terminals meet the first condition” in the instant application),
each third message comprises indication information indicating whether a terminal supports or expects to perform the sensing measurement (paragraph [0202] lines 1-19; Examiner’s Notes: each wireless message indicating the condition, e.g., signal level, related to each WTRU, regards to sensing/measurement, as illustrated in FIG. 9A in the prior art teaches the limitation of “each third message comprises indication information indicating whether a terminal supports or expects to perform the sensing measurement” in the instant application).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in art to implement the method of Choudhury et al. in the system of Martin et al.
The motivation for implementing receiving, by the first network device, third messages from the terminals, is to further enhance the mechanism for the wireless communications system, wherein the base station and the WTRUs implement a radio technology such as Evolved UMTS Terrestrial Radio Access (E-UTRA), which establish the air interfaces using Long Term Evolution (LTE), LTE-Advanced (LTE-A) and LTE-Advanced Pro (LTE-A Pro) (paragraph [0206] lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 10, Martin et al. further teach the method, wherein the first condition comprises at least one of the following:
a terminal supports a specified sensing ability;
a terminal is in a specified connection status;
a terminal is in a specified moving state;
a terminal is a sensing measurement unit;
a terminal is in a sensing area; or a signal of a serving cell of the terminal meets a specified condition (paragraph [0040] lines 1-16; Examiner’s Notes: terminal device 208 in RRC connected condition as illustrated in FIG. 5 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “the terminal is in a specified connection status;”
in fact, terminal device 208 in RRC connected condition as illustrated in FIG. 5 in the prior art teaches this claim limitation in the instant application).
Regarding claim 11, Martin et al. further teach the method, wherein the sending, by a second network device to the terminal via a first network device corresponding to the sensing measurement, a second message that carries the first condition comprises:
determining, by the second network device based on the first message, the first network device corresponding to the sensing measurement (paragraph [0045] lines 1-14; Examiner’s Notes: network access node 205 determining network access node 204 corresponding the sensing measurement based on the information/message obtained, as illustrated in FIG. 5 of the prior art teaches the limitation of “determining, by the second network device based on the first message, the first network device corresponding to the sensing measurement” in the instant application); and
sending, to the first network device, the second message that carries the first condition (paragraph [0040] lines 1-16; Examiner’s Notes: transmitting, to network access node 204, the message indicating the condition, e.g., RRC connected, in step S6, as illustrated in FIG. 5, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “sending, to the first network device, the second message that carries the first condition” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 13, Martin et al. further teach the method, wherein the second network device is a core network device (paragraph [0040] lines 1-16; Examiner’s Notes: network access node 205 as illustrated in FIG. 5 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “the second network device is a core network device” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 14, Martin et al. teach the network side device, being a first network device (paragraphs [0038] lines 1-10 & [0040] lines 1-16; Examiner’s Notes: network access node 204 illustrated in both FIG. 4 and FIG. 5 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a first network device” in the instant application), comprising
a processor (paragraph [0038] lines 1-10; Examiner’s Notes: processor circuitry 204B in network access node 204 illustrated in FIG. 4 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a processor” in the instant application) and
a memory (paragraph [0038] lines 1-10; Examiner’s Notes: network access node 204 illustrated in FIG. 4 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a first network device” in the instant; a memory in the first network device is anticipated under 35 U.S.C. 102 based on the teaching of “a first network device.” In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255 n.4, 195 USPQ 430, 433 n.4 (CCPA 1977)), wherein the memory stores a program or instructions executable on the processor, and the program or the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the first network device to perform:
determining, by a first network device, a first condition (paragraph [0040] lines 1-16; Examiner’s Notes: network access node 204 illustrated in FIG. 5 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a first network device;”
in fact, network access node 204 determining a condition, e.g., RRC connected in step S1, as illustrated in FIG. 5, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “determining, by a first network device, a first condition” in the instant application),
wherein the first condition indicates a condition that a target terminal used for performing sensing measurement needs to meet (paragraph [0045] lines 1-14; Examiner’s Notes: terminal device 208 illustrated in FIG. 5 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a target terminal;”
in fact, the RRC connected condition indicating terminal device 208 meeting sensing measurements, as illustrated in FIG. 5, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the first condition indicates a condition that a target terminal used for performing sensing measurement needs to meet” in the instant application);
sending, to a terminal, a second message that carries the first condition (paragraph [0045] lines 1-14; Examiner’s Notes: a message transmitted in step S2 in FIG. 5 of the prior art teaches the limitation of “a second message;”
in fact, network access node 204 transmitting, to terminal device 208, a message carrying the condition, e.g., RRC connected, as illustrated in step S2 in FIG. 5 of the prior art teaches the limitation of “sending, to a terminal, a second message that carries the first condition” in the instant application); and
Martin et al. teach the network side device without explicitly teaching receiving, by the first network device, third messages from the terminals.
Choudhury et al. from the same or similar field of endeavor teach implementing fairness of the method, receiving, by the first network device, third messages from the terminals (paragraph [0202] lines 1-19; Examiner’s Notes: base station 914a receiving messages from WTRUs, e.g., 902a and 902b, as depicted in FIG. 9A in the prior art teaches the limitation of “receiving, by the first network device, third messages from the terminals” in the instant application),
determining the target terminal from the terminals based on the third messages (paragraphs [0006] lines 1-16 & [0123] lines 1-26; Examiner’s Notes: sensing/determining a target mobile device/WTRU from WTRUs, e.g., 902a and 902b, as depicted in FIG. 9A, based on the messages received in the prior art teaches the limitation of “determining the target terminal from the terminals based on the third messages” in the instant application),
wherein the terminals meet the first condition (paragraph [0006] lines 1-16; Examiner’s Notes: the condition, e.g., signal level, related to WTRUs 902a and 902b, as depicted in FIG. 9A in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the terminals meet the first condition” in the instant application),
each third message comprises indication information indicating whether a terminal supports or expects to perform the sensing measurement (paragraph [0202] lines 1-19; Examiner’s Notes: each wireless message indicating the condition, e.g., signal level, related to each WTRU, regards to sensing/measurement, as illustrated in FIG. 9A in the prior art teaches the limitation of “each third message comprises indication information indicating whether a terminal supports or expects to perform the sensing measurement” in the instant application).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in art to implement the method of Choudhury et al. in the system of Martin et al.
The motivation for implementing receiving, by the first network device, third messages from the terminals, is to further enhance the mechanism for the wireless communications system, wherein the base station and the WTRUs implement a radio technology such as Evolved UMTS Terrestrial Radio Access (E-UTRA), which establish the air interfaces using Long Term Evolution (LTE), LTE-Advanced (LTE-A) and LTE-Advanced Pro (LTE-A Pro) (paragraph [0206] lines 1-6).
10. Claims 2, 3, 5, 9, 12, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin et al. (US 2021/0235336) in view of Choudhury (US 2020/0145787) as applied to claim 1, 8 or 14, and further in view of Cui et al. (US 2023/0276210).
Regarding claim 2, Martin et al. and Choudhury teach the method without explicitly teaching receiving, by the first network device, a first message sent by a sensing server.
Cui et al. from the same or similar field of endeavor teach implementing fairness of the method, receiving, by the first network device, a first message sent by a sensing server (paragraph [0056] lines 1-33; Examiner’s Notes: sensing electronic device depicted in FIG. 2 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a sensing server;”
in fact, V2X server receiving a message from a sensing electronic device, as shown in step S25 in FIG. 2, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “receiving, by the first network device, a first message sent by a sensing server” in the instant application),
wherein the first message is used to request to perform the sensing measurement (paragraph [0056] lines 1-23; Examiner’s Notes: the message, in step S25, regards to the request for the sensing measurement in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the first message is used to request to perform the sensing measurement” in the instant application), and
the first message is a non-terminal associated message (paragraph [0056] lines 23-33; Examiner’s Notes: transmitting the message from the sensing electronic device to the V2V server, as shown in step S25 in FIG. 2 of the prior art teaches the limitation of “the first message is a non-terminal associated message” in the instant application); and
determining, by the first network device, the first condition based on the first message (paragraph [0056] lines 23-33; Examiner’s Notes: V2X server determining the fusion sensing information/condition based on the message received in step S25 in FIG. 2 of the prior art teaches the limitation of “determining, by the first network device, the first condition based on the first message” in the instant application).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in art to implement the method of Cui et al. in the system of Martin et al. and Choudhury.
The motivation for implementing receiving, by the first network device, a first message sent by a sensing server, is to further enhance the mechanism for the electronic device for wireless communications, wherein the electronic device is configured to obtain, in a manner of an active request or a passive response, situation sensing information of a surrounding situation of the electronic device sensed by the sensing electronic device.
Regarding claim 3, Cui et al. further teach the method, wherein the first message comprises at least one of the following: a method of the sensing measurement; a measured value of the sensing measurement; a sensing area of the sensing measurement; a target quantity of terminals needed for the sensing measurement; reporting times of the sensing measurement; a report type of the sensing measurement; or all or a part of the first condition; or
the third message further comprises at least one of the following: a geographical location of the terminal; a signal measurement result of a serving cell corresponding to the terminal; a power level of the terminal; or a sensing ability supported by the terminal (paragraph [0142] lines 1-16; Examiner’s Notes: the method performed by the measurement sensor 907 as illustrated in FIG. 23 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a method of the sensing measurement;”
in fact, the message regards to the method performed by the measurement sensor 907 as illustrated in FIG. 23 in the prior art teaches this claim limitation in the instant application).
Regarding claim 5, Martin et al. and Choudhury teach the method without explicitly teaching the second message further comprises sensing task information of the sensing measurement.
Cui et al. from the same or similar field of endeavor teach implementing fairness of the method, wherein the second message further comprises information about a first proportion, wherein the information about the first proportion indicates a proportion of terminals that meet the first condition and that send the third message or a proportion of terminals that meet the first condition and that do not send the third message; or
the second message further comprises sensing task information of the sensing measurement (paragraph [0056] lines 1-33; Examiner’s Notes: the message regards to the sensing information/measurement in the prior art teaches the limitation of “the second message further comprises sensing task information of the sensing measurement” in the instant application), wherein the sensing task information comprises at least one of the following: a sensing type; sensing duration; or an estimated amount of reported data (paragraph [0142] lines 1-16; Examiner’s Notes: the geomagnetic sensor in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a sensing type;” in fact, the sensing information indicating the geomagnetic sensor in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the sensing task information comprises at least one of the following: a sensing type; sensing duration; or an estimated amount of reported data” in the instant application;
consequently, the cited art teaches this claim limitation).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in art to implement the method of Cui et al. in the system of Martin et al. and Choudhury
The motivation for implementing the second message further comprises sensing task information of the sensing measurement, is to further enhance the mechanism for the electronic device for wireless communications, wherein the electronic device is configured to obtain, in a manner of an active request or a passive response, situation sensing information of a surrounding situation of the electronic device sensed by the sensing electronic device.
Regarding claim 9, Cui et al. further teach the method, wherein the first message comprises at least one of the following: a method of the sensing measurement; a measured value of the sensing measurement; a sensing area of the sensing measurement; a target quantity of terminals needed for the sensing measurement; reporting times of the sensing measurement; a report type of the sensing measurement; or all or a part of the first condition; or
the third message further comprises at least one of the following: a geographical location of the terminal; a signal measurement result of a serving cell corresponding to the terminal; a power level of the terminal; or a sensing ability supported by the terminal (paragraph [0142] lines 1-16; Examiner’s Notes: the method performed by the measurement sensor 907 as illustrated in FIG. 23 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a method of the sensing measurement;”
in fact, the message regards to the method performed by the measurement sensor 907 as illustrated in FIG. 23 in the prior art teaches this claim limitation in the instant application).
Regarding claim 12, Cui et al. further teach the method, wherein the second message further comprises a cell list corresponding to the sensing measurement; or the second message further comprises information about a first proportion, wherein the information about the first proportion indicates a proportion of terminals that meet the first condition and that send the third message or a proportion of terminals that meet the first condition and that do not send the third message; or
the second message further comprises sensing task information of the sensing measurement (paragraph [0056] lines 1-33; Examiner’s Notes: the message regards to the sensing information/measurement in the prior art teaches the limitation of “the second message further comprises sensing task information of the sensing measurement” in the instant application), wherein the sensing task information comprises at least one of the following: a sensing type; sensing duration; or an estimated amount of reported data (paragraph [0142] lines 1-16; Examiner’s Notes: the geomagnetic sensor in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a sensing type;” in fact, the sensing information indicating the geomagnetic sensor in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the sensing task information comprises at least one of the following: a sensing type; sensing duration; or an estimated amount of reported data” in the instant application;
consequently, the cited art teaches this claim limitation).
Regarding claim 15, Martin et al. and Choudhury teach the network side device without explicitly teaching receiving, by the first network device, a first message sent by a sensing server.
Cui et al. from the same or similar field of endeavor teach implementing fairness of the method, receiving, by the first network device, a first message sent by a sensing server (paragraph [0056] lines 1-33; Examiner’s Notes: sensing electronic device depicted in FIG. 2 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a sensing server;”
in fact, V2X server receiving a message from a sensing electronic device, as shown in step S25 in FIG. 2, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “receiving, by the first network device, a first message sent by a sensing server” in the instant application),
wherein the first message is used to request to perform the sensing measurement (paragraph [0056] lines 1-23; Examiner’s Notes: the message, in step S25, regards to the request for the sensing measurement in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the first message is used to request to perform the sensing measurement” in the instant application), and
the first message is a non-terminal associated message (paragraph [0056] lines 23-33; Examiner’s Notes: transmitting the message from the sensing electronic device to the V2V server, as shown in step S25 in FIG. 2 of the prior art teaches the limitation of “the first message is a non-terminal associated message” in the instant application); and
determining, by the first network device, the first condition based on the first message (paragraph [0056] lines 23-33; Examiner’s Notes: V2X server determining the fusion sensing information/condition based on the message received in step S25 in FIG. 2 of the prior art teaches the limitation of “determining, by the first network device, the first condition based on the first message” in the instant application);
. wherein the first message comprises at least one of the following: a method of the sensing measurement; a measured value of the sensing measurement; a sensing area of the sensing measurement; a target quantity of terminals needed for the sensing measurement; reporting times of the sensing measurement; a report type of the sensing measurement; or all or a part of the first condition; or
the third message further comprises at least one of the following: a geographical location of the terminal; a signal measurement result of a serving cell corresponding to the terminal; a power level of the terminal; or a sensing ability supported by the terminal (paragraph [0142] lines 1-16; Examiner’s Notes: the method performed by the measurement sensor 907 as illustrated in FIG. 23 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a method of the sensing measurement;”
in fact, the message regards to the method performed by the measurement sensor 907 as illustrated in FIG. 23 in the prior art teaches this limitation in the instant application)
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in art to implement the method of Cui et al. in the system of Martin et al. and Choudhury.
The motivation for implementing receiving, by the first network device, a first message sent by a sensing server, is to further enhance the mechanism for the electronic device for wireless communications, wherein the electronic device is configured to obtain, in a manner of an active request or a passive response, situation sensing information of a surrounding situation of the electronic device sensed by the sensing electronic device.
Regarding claim 16, Martin et al. teach the network side device, wherein the first condition comprises at least one of the following:
the terminal supports a specified sensing ability;
the terminal is in a specified connection status;
the terminal is in a specified moving state;
the terminal is a sensing measurement unit;
the terminal is in a sensing area; or a signal of a serving cell of the terminal meets a specified condition (paragraph [0040] lines 1-16; Examiner’s Notes: terminal device 208 in RRC connected condition as illustrated in FIG. 5 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “the terminal is in a specified connection status;”
in fact, terminal device 208 in RRC connected condition as illustrated in FIG. 5 in the prior art teaches this claim limitation in the instant application).
Martin et al. and Choudhury teach the method without explicitly teaching the second message further comprises sensing task information of the sensing measurement.
Cui et al. from the same or similar field of endeavor teach implementing fairness of the method, wherein the second message further comprises information about a first proportion, wherein the information about the first proportion indicates a proportion of terminals that meet the first condition and that send the third message or a proportion of terminals that meet the first condition and that do not send the third message; or
the second message further comprises sensing task information of the sensing measurement (paragraph [0056] lines 1-33; Examiner’s Notes: the message regards to the sensing information/measurement in the prior art teaches the limitation of “the second message further comprises sensing task information of the sensing measurement” in the instant application), wherein the sensing task information comprises at least one of the following: a sensing type; sensing duration; or an estimated amount of reported data (paragraph [0142] lines 1-16; Examiner’s Notes: the geomagnetic sensor in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a sensing type;” in fact, the sensing information indicating the geomagnetic sensor in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the sensing task information comprises at least one of the following: a sensing type; sensing duration; or an estimated amount of reported data” in the instant application;
consequently, the cited art teaches this claim limitation).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in art to implement the method of Cui et al. in the system of Martin et al. and Choudhury.
The motivation for implementing the second message further comprises sensing task information of the sensing measurement, is to further enhance the mechanism for the electronic device for wireless communications, wherein the electronic device is configured to obtain, in a manner of an active request or a passive response, situation sensing information of a surrounding situation of the electronic device sensed by the sensing electronic device.
Response to Remarks/Arguments
11. Claim 112(b) Rejection: in the Response, filed July 15, 2026, Applicants indicated not to treat the term “a non-terminal associated message,” e.g., in claims 1 and 8, as a negative limitation, as the term “non UE-associated services” presented in publications, like 3GPP TS 38.413. Therefore, the previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is withdrawn.
12. Claim 112(d) Rejection: Applicants amended the claim limitations that obviate the basis of the previous rejection. Therefore, the previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) is withdrawn.
13. Claims Art Rejections: Applicants’ amendment with arguments filed July 15, 2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
14. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WEI ZHAO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2479