DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 22-31 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the response filed on 25 May 2026 of Invention I, directed to Claims 12-21.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Since this application is a DIV of Application No. 16/300,361, now U.S. Patent No. 12,029,896, the Specification should have a first paragraph stating details of the parent application.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 16 recites “said medical thread” in Line 3. This should be amended to “said medical thread structure” to maintain consistency for this term in the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Williams ‘911 (US Publication No. 2014/0031911).
Regarding Claim 12, 13, and 14, Williams ‘911 discloses a medical thread structure, comprising:
a plurality of filaments (56, 58, Figs. 3-4, 6, 7; 82, 84, 86, 88, Figs. 5; Paragraph 0034, 0038, 0047, 0053, Claim 1) interlocked so as to form an interlocked thread electrode lead (50, Figs. 3A-B; 70, Figs. 4A-B; 80, Figs. 5A-B; 90, Figs. 6A-B; 95, Figs. 7A-B; Paragraph 0005, 0024, 0027, 0030) having distal and proximal ends, wherein at least one of said plurality of filaments has a conductive core (64, Figs. 3-7; Paragraph 0034, 0036, 0038, 0047, 0053, Claim 1) exposed at a first location along a longitudinal extent of said interlocked thread (exposed sections allows for connections between electrodes 30, 32, 34, 36, 38, 40, 42, 44; Fig. 2, Paragraph 0027-0031), wherein said conductive core exposed at said first location serves as an electrode contact (connections at distal end to electrodes 30, 32, 34, 36, 38, 40, 42, 44; Fig. 2; Paragraph 0027-0031; Claims 13-14), and wherein at least one conductor connects a connection terminal to said electrode contact (“each of the electrodes 30, 32, 34, 36, 38, 40, 42 and 44 is electrically coupled to a respective conductor within its associated lead bodies…The respective conductors may couple to circuitry, such as a therapy module or a sensing module, of IMD 22 via connections in connector block 32 and one or more feedthroughs (not shown). The electrical conductors transmit therapy from the therapy module within IMD 22 to one or more electrodes 30, 32, 34, 36, 38, 40, 42 and 44 and transmit sensed electrical signals from one or more electrodes 38, 40, 42 and 44 to the sensing module within IMD 22. The conductors within leads 24, 26, and 28 may be coiled conductors also have a conductive core and, in some instances, an insulation layer surrounding the conductive core”, Paragraph 0030);
and wherein said at least one of said plurality of filaments has the conductive core exposed at a second location (connections at proximal end to contacts in connection block 32, Fig. 2) along said longitudinal extent of said interlocked thread, wherein said exposed core at said second location serves as a connection terminal (contacts at proximal end in connector block 32/feedthrough, Fig. 2; “The respective conductors may couple to circuitry, such as a therapy module or a sensing module, of IMD 22 via connections in connector block 32 and one or more feedthroughs (not shown). The electrical conductors transmit therapy from the therapy module within IMD 22 to one or more electrodes 30, 32, 34, 36, 38, 40, 42 and 44 and transmit sensed electrical signals from one or more electrodes 38, 40, 42 and 44 to the sensing module within IMD 22. The conductors within leads 24, 26, and 28 may be coiled conductors also have a conductive core and, in some instances, an insulation layer surrounding the conductive core”, Paragraph 0030”);
and wherein a functional material (insulation 52, 66, Figs. 3-7; Paragraph 0028, 0036-0038, 0040, 0042, 0045, 0054) at least partially incorporated between said plurality of filaments (56, 58, Figs. 3-4, 6, 7; 82, 84, 86, 88, Figs. 5; Paragraph 0034, 0038, 0047, 0053, Claim 1), wherein said functional material (52, 66, Figs. 3-7) is configured to form insulation areas within said interlocked thread electrode lead (within body and between threads, Paragraph 0028, 0036-0038, 0042, 0045, 0054), and
wherein said functional material is configured to insulate said at least portion of said interlocked thread electrode lead upon application of heat onto said interlocked thread electrode lead (heating to cause reflow to form insulative jacket, Paragraph 0007, 0045, 0054; 106, Fig. 8), thus causing melting of said functional material into a single continuous structure (lead body total structure, 50, Figs. 3A-B; 70, Figs. 4A-B; 80, Figs. 5A-B; 90, Figs. 6A-B; 95, Figs. 7A-B; Paragraph 0005, 0024, 0027, 0030, 0055).
Regarding Claim 15, Williams ‘911 discloses a medical thread structure further wherein at least one filament of said plurality of filaments (56, 58, Figs. 3-4, 6, 7; 82, 84, 86, 88, Figs. 5; Paragraph 0034, 0038, 0047, 0053, Claim 1) has a portion that is a coil (Abstract, Paragraph 0005-0006, 0034-0035; 102, Fig. 8).
Regarding Claim 16, Williams ‘911 discloses a medical thread structure further wherein at least one filament of said plurality of filaments (56, 58, Figs. 3-4, 6, 7; 82, 84, 86, 88, Figs. 5; Paragraph 0034, 0038, 0047, 0053, Claim 1) has a portion that is made of a plurality of loops arranged in patterns (coil/loop patterns, Abstract, Paragraph 0005-0006, 0034-0035; 102, Fig. 8) which are configured to allow expansion of said medical thread (allows for expansion/reflow, Paragraph 0007, 0045, 0054; 106, Fig. 8; allowing for flexibility of lead due to coils, Paragraph 0046, 0047, 0052, 0054).
Regarding Claim 17, Williams ‘911 discloses a medical thread structure further wherein said plurality of filaments (56, 58, Figs. 3-4, 6, 7; 82, 84, 86, 88, Figs. 5; Paragraph 0034, 0038, 0047, 0053, Claim 1) are arranged in layers (multiple layers, Paragraph 0030, 0034, 0036-0038, 0042, 0045) and said connection terminal is disposed on an inner layer (contacts at proximal end in connector block 32/feedthrough, Fig. 2; located within connector block 32/feedthrough as shown in Fig. 2 which are connected to filaments [i.e. “inner layer”]; Paragraph 0030).
Regarding Claim 18, Williams ‘911 discloses a medical thread structure further comprising a bulk of functional material (insulation 52, 66, Figs. 3-7; Paragraph 0028, 0036-0038, 0040, 0042, 0045, 0054) integrally incorporated between at least part of said plurality of filaments (56, 58, Figs. 3-4, 6, 7; 82, 84, 86, 88, Figs. 5; Paragraph 0034, 0038, 0047, 0053, Claim 1), or a tube or jacket of functional material (insulation 52, 66, Figs. 3-7; Paragraph 0028, 0036-0038, 0040, 0042, 0045, 0054) placed around said plurality of filaments (56, 58, Figs. 3-4, 6, 7; 82, 84, 86, 88, Figs. 5; Paragraph 0034, 0038, 0047, 0053, Claim 1);
wherein said functional material is configured to fill gaps in said interlocked thread electrode lead (insulation 52, 66, Figs. 3-7; Paragraph 0028, 0036-0038, 0040, 0042, 0045, 0054) and form a barrier that prevents any pressure or fluidic leakages between distal and proximal sides of the barrier (prevents air/fluid leakage to maintain dielectric/biocompatibility functionality, Paragraph 0040, 0042-0046), and
wherein said functional material is configured to form said barrier upon application of heat onto said interlocked thread electrode lead (heating to cause reflow to form insulative jacket, Paragraph 0007, 0045, 0054; 106, Fig. 8), thus causing melting of said functional material (Paragraph 0007, 0045, 0054; 106, Fig. 8).
Regarding Claim 19, Williams ‘911 discloses a medical thread structure further comprising an inner tube disposed inside (54, Figs. 3-5) said interlocked thread electrode lead (Paragraph 0032, 0034, 0040, 0044-0046).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams ‘911 (US Publication No. 2014/0031911) in view of Willaims ‘600 (US Publication No. 2004/0162600).
Regarding Claim 20, Williams ‘911 discloses a medical thread structure further wherein the conductive core (64, Figs. 3-7; Paragraph 0034, 0036, 0038, 0047, 0053, Claim 1) is exposed at a first location along a longitudinal extent of said interlocked thread (exposed sections allows for connections between electrodes 30, 32, 34, 36, 38, 40, 42, 44; Fig. 2, Paragraph 0027-0031) or is exposed at a second location along a longitudinal extent of said interlocked thread (connections at proximal end to contacts in connection block 32, Fig. 2), but does not explicitly disclose wherein said conductive core is exposed on a circumferential surface of the interlocked thread electrode lead.
Williams ‘600 teaches a medical thread structure comprising a plurality of filaments (51, 52, Fig. 1A; 61, 62, Fig. 1B; 71, 72, 73, 74, Fig. 1C; Paragraph 0014-0016, 0021) with a conductive core (“formed from any material capable of reliably conducting electrical current after having been subjected to numerous repetitive bending and torsional stresses, examples of such materials include tantalum, MP35-N alloy, platinum, Elgiloy, and stainless steel”, Paragraph 0014) configured to form an interlocked thread electrode lead (Abstract; Claim 1; Paragraph 0001), wherein said conductive core is exposed on a circumferential surface of the interlocked thread electrode lead to form an electrode/contact (91-94, 76-78, Fig. 1C, 4; Paragraph 0020; see also Paragraphs 0014-0016 which discuss exposed core electrodes 53, 64, Figs. 1A-B).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the conductive core in the medical thread structure disclosed by Williams ‘911 to be exposed on a circumferential surface of the interlocked thread electrode lead as taught by Williams ‘600, so as to “[eliminate] as many joints as is practical in the construction of a lead [which] may improve the reliability of the lead and increase the ease of manufacturing” (Williams ‘600, Paragraph 0003) in order to provide stimulation and/or sense signals from tissue. Furthermore, exposing the conductive core on a circumferential surface would merely involve relocating the exposed section, and it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding Claim 21, Williams ‘911 discloses a medical thread structure further wherein said plurality of filaments (56, 58, Figs. 3-4, 6, 7; 82, 84, 86, 88, Figs. 5; Paragraph 0034, 0038, 0047, 0053, Claim 1) within the interlocked thread electrode lead have both vertical portions and horizontal portions (both horizontal and vertical portions, see 6, 58, Figs. 3-4, 6, 7; 82, 84, 86, 88, Figs. 5), and lock therewith (Paragraph 0005, 0024, 0027, 0030; Claim 1). However Williams ‘911 does not explicitly disclose a horizontal portion of a filament is configured to pass between vertical portions of other filaments and lock therewith.
Williams ‘600 teaches a medical thread structure comprising a plurality of filaments (51, 52, Fig. 1A; 61, 62, Fig. 1B; 71, 72, 73, 74, Fig. 1C; Paragraph 0014-0016, 0021) wherein a horizontal portion of a filament is configured to pass between vertical portions of other filaments and lock therewith (reverse winding of vertical/horizontal conductor filaments, 51, 52, Fig. 1A; 61, 62, Fig. 1B; 71, 72, 73, 74, Fig. 1C; Paragraph 0014-0020, 0023; Claim 1, 11-13).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the plurality of filaments in the medical thread structure disclosed by Williams ‘911 to have a horizontal portion of a filament is configured to pass between vertical portions of other filaments and lock therewith, as taught by Williams ‘600, so as to “[eliminate] as many joints as is practical in the construction of a lead [which] may improve the reliability of the lead and increase the ease of manufacturing” (Williams ‘600, Paragraph 0003) in order to provide stimulation and/or sense signals from tissue. Furthermore, such a modification would have involved a mere change in the form or shape of a component. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Conclusion
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/PAMELA M. BAYS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796