DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Amendment / Request for Reconsideration-After Non-Final Rejection filed on July 29, 2026 wherein claim(s) 1-2 were amended and claim(s) 9-20 previously withdrawn. The Examiner notes amendments in claims are directed to overcome rejections under 35 USC § 103. Therefore, claims 1-8 are pending and will be examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cargile (U. S. Patent US5588583A) hereinafter CARGILE.
Regarding claim 1, CARGILE teaches (see FIG. 1, FIG. 2A - FIG. 2B, FIG. 3 below) a supporting structure 10 comprising:
a bottom plate 16-19;
a foldable area (F);
a plurality of side plates 20-25 respectively disposed on all edges (FIG. 3) of the bottom plate 16-19 and forming an accommodating space 12, 13, wherein any adjacent two of the side plates 20-25 are connected to each other (FIG. 1);
at least one flip segment 34, a part of the at least one flip segment 34 being separable from the side plates 20-25 along a segmenting line (page 1, Abstract, line 3, “... die-cut ...”); and
at least one through hole C2B-01,
wherein the at least one through hole C2B-01 and the at least one flip segment 34 are disposed on the side plates 20-25;
wherein the bottom plate 16-19 is foldable along the foldable area (F), and the at least one flip segment 34 is inserted into the at least one through hole C2B-01 to fix the bottom plate 16-19 and the side plates 20-25 in position (FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 2, CARGILE teaches (see FIG. 1, FIG. 2A - FIG. 2B, FIG. 3 above) a supporting structure 10 comprising:
a bottom plate 16-19;
a foldable area (F);
a plurality of side plates 20-25 respectively disposed on edges (FIG. 3) of the bottom plate 16-19 and forming an accommodating space 12, 13, any adjacent two of the side plates 20-25 being connected to each other (FIG. 1);
at least one flip segment 34, a part of the at least one flip segment 34 being separable from at least the side plates 20-25 along a segmenting line (page 1, Abstract, line 3, “... die-cut ...”); and
at least one through hole C2B-01,
wherein the at least one through hole C2B-01 and the at least one flip segment 34 are disposed on the side plates 20-25;
wherein the bottom plate 16-19 is foldable along the foldable area (F), and the at least one flip segment 34 is inserted into the at least one through hole C2B-01 to fix the bottom plate 16-19 and the side plates 20-25 in position (FIG. 1);
wherein when the bottom plate 16-19 is folded along the foldable area (F), the accommodating space 12, 13 is divided into a support zone C1-01 and a base zone C1-02, there is an included angle formed between the support zone C1-01 and the base zone C1-02, the at least one flip segment 34 is disposed in the base zone C1-02, and the at least one through hole C2B-01 is correspondingly disposed the base zone C1-02.
Regarding claim 3, CARGILE teaches (see FIG. 1, FIG. 2A - FIG. 2B, FIG. 3 above) supporting structure 10, wherein the at least one flip segment 34 is flipped along a bending line and toward the at least one through hole C2B-01.
Regarding claim 4, CARGILE teaches (see FIG. 1, FIG. 2A - FIG. 2B, FIG. 3 above) supporting structure 10, wherein a number of the at least one flip segment 34 is two, a number of the at least one through hole C2B-01 is two, and the two through holes C2B-01 are respectively disposed on two of the side plates 20-25 facing each other.
Regarding claim 5, CARGILE teaches (see FIG. 1, FIG. 2A - FIG. 2B, FIG. 3 above) supporting structure 10, wherein the at least one flip segment 34 and the at least one through hole C2B-01 are disposed on one of the side plates 20-25, the at least one flip segment 34 is flipped from the one of the side plates 20-25 along a bending line and toward the at least one through hole C2B-01, and the bottom plate 16-19, which is folded, and the at least one flip segment 34 form a triangular structure (FIG. 2B).
Regarding claim 6, CARGILE teaches (see FIG. 1, FIG. 2A - FIG. 2B, FIG. 3 above) supporting structure 10, wherein the at least one flip segment 34 is disposed on the bottom plate 16-19, the at least one through hole C2B-01 is disposed on one of the side plates 20-25, and when the at least one flip segment 34 is inserted into the at least one through hole C2B-01, the at least one flip segment 34, the one of the side plates 20-25 and the base zone C1-02 form a triangular structure (FIG. 2B).
Regarding claim 7, CARGILE teaches (see FIG. 1, FIG. 2A - FIG. 2B, FIG. 3 above) supporting structure 10, wherein the bottom plate 16-19 comprises a long side C3-01 along a direction, a location of the foldable area (F) is at 35% to 65% of a total length of the long side.
Regarding claim 8, CARGILE teaches (see FIG. 1, FIG. 2A - FIG. 2B, FIG. 3 above) supporting structure 10, wherein the supporting structure 10 is made of paper material and is glue-free.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's claim amendments / arguments in the reply filed July 29, 2026 regarding rejections under 35 USC § 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejections (i.e., 35 USC § 103) does not rely on exactly all reference(s) / arguments applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the Applicant’s arguments
With respect to the art rejections, in accordance with MPEP 2111.01, during examination, the claims must be interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow. In re American Academy of Science Tech Center, 367 F.3d 1359, 70 USPQ2D 1827, 1834 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Matias (U. S. Patent Application Publication US20180346234A1): Teaches a “pack” with similar characteristics as the claimed invention.
Chatelain (U. S. Patent Application Publication US20170349362A1): Teaches a “pack” with similar characteristics as the claimed invention.
Henke et al. (U. S. Patent Application Publication US20080087556A1): Teaches a “container” with similar characteristics as the claimed invention.
Parker (U. S. Patent US2813621A): Teaches a “carton” with similar characteristics as the claimed invention.
Contact
/M.J.R.M./
/Anthony D Stashick/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3735