DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Amendment / Request for Reconsideration-After Non-Final Rejection filed on February 11, 2026 wherein Applicant previously elected (with traverse) Species 1 [i.e., figure(s) 1-4]. No claim(s) amendments present in aforementioned reply and Examiner notes Applicant’s arguments to overcome rejections under 35 USC § 103 of standing claim(s) 1-8. Therefore, claim(s) 1-20 are pending and claim(s) 1-8 will be examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haven (U. S. Patent US1951408A) hereinafter HAVEN, in view of Spiegelman (U. S. Patent US8523048B1) hereinafter SPIEGELMAN.
Regarding claim 1, HAVEN teaches (see Fig. 1 - Fig. 4 below) a supporting structure 10 comprising:
a bottom plate H4-01;
a foldable area H1-01;
a plurality of side plates H1-02 respectively disposed on edges H1-03 of the bottom plate H4-01 and forming an accommodating space H4-02, any adjacent two of the side plates H1-02 being connected to each other (Fig. 3);
at least one flip segment 21, a part of the at least one flip segment 21 being separable from the side plates H1-02; and
at least one through hole H1-04,
wherein the at least one through hole H1-04 disposed on the side plates H1-02;
wherein the bottom plate H4-01 is foldable along the foldable area H1-01, and the at least one flip segment 21 is inserted into a headed pin 23 positioned in the at least one through hole H1-04 to fix the bottom plate H4-01 and the side plates H1-02 in position (Fig. 1).
HAVEN fails to teach flip segment 21 being separable from the side plates H1-02 along a segmenting line.
HAVEN fails to teach flip segment 21 disposed on the bottom plate H4-01.
HAVEN fails to teach flip segment 21 is inserted into the through hole H1-04 to fix the bottom plate H4-01 and the side plates H1-02 in position.
However, SPIEGELMAN teaches (see Figure 1 - Figure 5 below) a package S1-01, wherein a flip segment 4 being separable from the side plates S1-02 along a segmenting line, flip segment 4 is inserted into the through hole 5 to fix side plates S1-02 in position for manufacturing ease.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified flip segment 21 in the supporting structure 10 of HAVEN with flip segment 4 as taught in the package S1-01 of SPIEGELMAN for manufacturing ease.
Regarding claim 2, HAVEN and SPIEGELMAN (as applied to claim 1 above) teaches all the limitations of the claim. HAVEN further teaches (see Fig. 1 - Fig. 4 above) supporting structure 10, wherein when the bottom plate H4-01 is folded along the foldable area H1-01, the accommodating space H4-02 is divided into a support zone H4-03 and a base zone H4-04, there is an included angle H4-05 formed between the support zone H4-03 and the base zone H4-04.
HAVEN fails to teach the at least one flip segment 21 is disposed in one of the support zone H4-03 and the base zone H4-04, and the at least one through hole H1-04 is correspondingly disposed in another one of the support zone H4-03 and the base zone H4-04.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have the modified relative placement of flip segment 21 / through hole H1-04 (in the supporting structure 10 of HAVEN and SPIEGELMAN) to be disposed in one / in another of the support zone H4-03 and the base zone H4-04 to meet design requirements since rearrangement of parts is held as an obvious matter of design choice. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975).
Regarding claim 3, HAVEN and SPIEGELMAN (as applied to claim 2 above) teaches all the limitations of the claim. The combination of HAVEN (see Fig. 1 - Fig. 4 above) and SPIEGELMAN (see Figure 1 - Figure 5 above) further teaches supporting structure 10, wherein the at least one flip segment 21 is flipped along a bending line and toward the at least one through hole H1-04.
Regarding claim 4, HAVEN and SPIEGELMAN (as applied to claim 2 above) teaches all the limitations of the claim. HAVEN fails to teach (see Fig. 1 - Fig. 4 above) supporting structure 10, wherein a number of the at least one flip segment 21 is two, a number of the at least one through hole H1-04 is two, and the two through hole H1-04s are respectively disposed on two of the side plates H1-02 facing each other.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified number of the at least one flip segment 21 / number of the at least one through hole H1-04 (respectively disposed on two of the side plates H1-02 facing each other) to be respectively two / two in the supporting structure 10 of HAVEN and SPIEGELMAN for securement purposes. Moreover, duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In reHarza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 5, HAVEN and SPIEGELMAN (as applied to claim 1 above) teaches all the limitations of the claim. The combination of HAVEN (see Fig. 1 - Fig. 4 above) and SPIEGELMAN (see Figure 1 - Figure 5 above) further teaches supporting structure 10, wherein the at least one flip segment 21 and the at least one through hole H1-04 are disposed on one of the side plates H1-02, the at least one flip segment 21 is flipped from the one of the side plates H1-02 along a bending line and toward the at least one through hole H1-04, and the bottom plate H4-01, which is folded, and the at least one flip segment 21 form a triangular structure (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, HAVEN and SPIEGELMAN (as applied to claim 2 above) teaches all the limitations of the claim. The combination of HAVEN (see Fig. 1 - Fig. 4 above) and SPIEGELMAN (see Figure 1 - Figure 5 above) further teaches supporting structure 10, wherein the at least one flip segment 21 is disposed on the bottom plate H4-01, and when the at least one flip segment 21 is inserted into the at least one through hole H1-04, the at least one flip segment 21, the one of the side plates H1-02 and the base zone H4-04 form a triangular structure (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, HAVEN and SPIEGELMAN (as applied to claim 1 above) teaches all the limitations of the claim. HAVEN further teaches (see Fig. 1 - Fig. 4 above) supporting structure 10, wherein the bottom plate H4-01 comprises a long side H3-01 along a direction, a location of the foldable area H1-01 is at 35% to 65% of a total length H3-02 of the long side H3-01.
Regarding claim 8, HAVEN and SPIEGELMAN (as applied to claim 1 above) teaches all the limitations of the claim. HAVEN further teaches (see Fig. 1 - Fig. 4 above) supporting structure 10, wherein the supporting structure 10 is made of paper material (page 4, left column, lines 10-13, “… cardboard…”) and is glue-free.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments regarding rejections of claim(s) 1-8 under 35 USC § 103 (in the reply filed February 11, 2026) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejections (i.e., 35 USC § 103) does not rely on exactly combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the Applicant’s arguments.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Matias (U. S. Patent Application Publication US20180346234A1): Teaches a “pack” with similar characteristics as the claimed invention.
Chatelain (U. S. Patent Application Publication US20170349362A1): Teaches a “pack” with similar characteristics as the claimed invention.
Henke et al. (U. S. Patent Application Publication US20080087556A1): Teaches a “container” with similar characteristics as the claimed invention.
Parker (U. S. Patent US2813621A): Teaches a “carton” with similar characteristics as the claimed invention.
Contact
/M.J.R.M./
/Anthony D Stashick/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3735