DETAILED ACTION
The communication dated 08/05/2026 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending. Claims 10-19 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-3 and 20 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/05/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Regarding the argument that Matsui does not teach a heating unit on the transfer line and that Hirashita does not teach heating a new treatment liquid flowing through a transfer line before introduction to the discharge line, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that if a new liquid is being supplied, it can either be supplied to a pipeline or a tank. Whether adding the replenishing liquid to the tank (as taught by Kobayashi) or directly to the line (as taught by Matsui), it would have the same and expected results of replenishing fluids in the system. Further, Hirashita does teach heating a new treatment liquid, and, similar to Kobayashi/Matsui, it would have been obvious to supply a new/heated liquid to either a pipeline or a tank to achieve a heated mixture of new and recovered liquid in the first tank. Whether heating the new liquid in the first transfer line or heating the first tank with the recovered treatment liquid, or supplying the heated liquid to a pipeline or to a tank, it would have the same and expected results of a tank containing a mixture of new and recovered liquids that are heated. One of ordinary skill in the art would find that an apparatus with a first tank containing recovered treatment liquid and new, heated liquid would be obvious based on the teachings of Kobayashi, Matsui, and Hirashita. The combination of the Kobayashi, Matsui, and Hirashita would result in a new, heated fluid that can be supplied to the pipeline.
Applicant does not teach any new or unexpected results with their claimed pipeline/tank configurations. Therefore, it would be obvious to combine Kobayashi, Matsui, and Hirashita to teach the claimed first tank, discharge line, treatment liquid supply unit with a transfer line, and a first heating unit disposed on the transfer line.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi U.S. Publication 2014/0290859 (henceforth referred to as Kobayashi) in view of Matsui et al. TWI777097 (henceforth referred to as Matsui) and Hirashita KR20220002125 (henceforth referred to as Hirashita).
As to claim 1, (Currently Amended) Kobayashi teaches a treatment liquid supply apparatus, comprising:
a discharge line through which treatment liquid is discharged from a substrate processing apparatus (FIG. 4 paragraph [0027] recovery pipe 53);
a first tank storing recovered treatment liquid, recovered through the discharge line (FIG. 4 paragraph [0055] sub-tank 25);
a treatment liquid supply unit supplying new treatment liquid (FIG. 4 paragraph [0056] solution replenishing unit 32 is connected to sub-tank 25); and
a second tank resupplying the recovered treatment liquid supplied from the first tank through a second transfer line (FIG. 4 paragraph [0055] tank 21 is connected to the sub-tank 25 by tank pipe 26) to the substrate processing apparatus through a supply line (FIG. 4 paragraph [0065] the solution is supplied from the tank 21 is applied to the nozzle 42 to the substrate W via outlet pipe 52. Outlet pipe 52 reads on the claimed supply line.).
Kobayashi differs from the instant claim in failing to teach a treatment liquid supply unit supplying new treatment liquid to the discharge line through a first transfer line; a first heating unit disposed between the treatment liquid supply unit and the discharge line and controlling a temperature of the new treatment liquid passing through the first transfer line, wherein the first transfer line is connected to the discharge line between the substrate processing apparatus and the first tank, and wherein the first heating unit is disposed on the first transfer line between the treatment liquid supply unit and the discharge line and configured to heat the new treatment liquid flowing through the first transfer line before the new treatment liquid is introduced into the discharge line.
Matsui teaches a semiconductor treatment apparatus (FIG. 17 paragraph [0267] monolithic substrate processing apparatus 52B). Matsui teaches a treatment liquid supply unit supplying new treatment liquid to the discharge line through a first transfer line (FIG. 17 paragraph [0271] treatment liquid supply source En0 can supply liquid the liquid discharge unit EL1B in order to mix the used solution with unused solution).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the treatment liquid supply apparatus as taught by Kobayashi with a way to add liquid to the discharge line as taught by Matsui. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to add a transfer line to replenish a liquid. Whether adding the replenishing liquid to the tank (as taught by Kobayashi) or directly to the line (as taught by Matsui), it would have resulted in a system that has replenished fluid.
Hirashita teaches a semiconductor treatment apparatus (FIG. 1 paragraph [0018] substrate processing device). Hirashita teaches a first heating unit disposed between the treatment liquid supply unit and the discharge line and controlling a temperature of the new treatment liquid passing through the first transfer line (paragraph [0045] a temperature control unit 16A such as a heater is installed in a pipe 109 can control the temperature of the liquid within the pipe. Pipe 109 contains a new liquid from source 35A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the treatment liquid supply apparatus as taught by Kobayashi with a heating unit as taught by Hirashita. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to add a heater to any pipe in order to control the temperature of the fluid within the pipe.
The combination of Kobayashi, Matsui, and Hirashita would result in the first transfer line being connected to the discharge line between the substrate processing apparatus and the first tank, and wherein the first heating unit is disposed on the first transfer line between the treatment liquid supply unit and the discharge line and configured to heat the new treatment liquid flowing through the first transfer line before the new treatment liquid is introduced into the discharge line.
As to claim 2, (Currently Amended) The combination of Kobayashi and Matsui further teach the discharge line is configured as a pipe for discharging the treatment liquid, disposed between the substrate processing apparatus and the first tank (Kobayashi paragraph [0061] the process solution flowing from the surface of the substrate W to the bottom of the processing unit 40 flows into the recovery pipe 53 and is recovered in the sub-tank 25. The recovery pipe 53 is between the processing unit 40 and the sub-tank 25), and
wherein the first transfer line is a pipe for supplying the new treatment liquid (see following annotated Figure 17 of Matsui. Paragraph [0271] liquid replenishment unit AL1B can supply pre-use solution from fluid supply source En0. Pre-use solution reads on new treatment liquid.).
[AltContent: textbox (First Transfer line)][AltContent: arrow]
As to claim 3, (Currently Amended) The combination of Kobayashi, Matsui, and Hirashita further teach one end of the discharge line is connected to the substrate processing apparatus, and the other end of the discharge line is connected to the first tank (Kobayashi paragraph [0061] the process solution flowing from the surface of the substrate W to the bottom of the processing unit 40 flows into the recovery pipe 53 and is recovered in the sub-tank 25), and
wherein one end of the first transfer line is connected to the treatment liquid supply unit, and the other end of the first transfer line is connected to the discharge line and is connected between the one end and the other end of the discharge line (see previously annotated Figure 17 of Matsui. The transfer line connects the treatment liquid supply source En0 to the discharge line. The transfer line of Matsui can connect between the ends of the discharge line of Kobayashi.), and
wherein the first heating unit is disposed on the first transfer line upstream of a connection point between the first transfer line and the discharge line (Hirashita teaches the heating unit disposed on the first transfer line. The combination of Kobayashi, Matsui, and Hirashita would result in the heater being on the transfer line upstream of a connection point between the first transfer line and the discharge line.).
As to claim 6, (Original) Kobayashi further teaches the first tank includes a temperature sensor disposed in the first tank and measuring a temperature of the recovered treatment liquid stored in the first tank (paragraphs [0024] and [0056] temperature detecting unit 23a, which is similar to temperature detecting unit 23, detects the temperature of the solution in the sub-tank 25), and a second heating unit controlling a temperature of the recovered treatment liquid stored in the first tank (paragraph [0057] heater 55b heats the solution flowing in the circulation pipe 55).
As to claim 9, (Original) Kobayashi further teaches the treatment liquid discharged from the substrate processing apparatus sequentially passes through the first tank and the second tank and is supplied back to the substrate processing apparatus (FIG. 4 paragraphs [0061]-[0065] the process solution flowing from the surface of the substrate W to the bottom of the processing unit 40 flows into the recovery pipe 53 and is recovered in the sub-tank 25. The solution in sub-tank 25 is supplied to the tank 21, then subsequently to pipe 52 into the processing unit 40).
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi U.S. Publication 2014/0290859 (henceforth referred to as Kobayashi), Matsui et al. TWI777097 (henceforth referred to as Matsui), and Hirashita KR20220002125 (henceforth referred to as Hirashita) as applied to claim 3 above, in further view of Kim et al. U.S. Publication 2017/0062242 (henceforth referred to as Kim-242).
As to claim 4, (Original) Kobayashi, Matsui, and Hirashita differ from the instant claim in failing to teach the first heating unit surrounds at least a portion of an external surface of the first transfer line.
Kim-242 teaches a semiconductor treatment apparatus (FIG. 1 paragraph [0024] semiconductor processing apparatus 1). Kim-242 teaches the first heating unit surrounds at least a portion of an external surface of the first transfer line (FIG. 6B paragraph [0085] heating member 150 has a covering member 151 and heating wires 152 in the covering member 151. The heating member 150 surrounds the surface of the line).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the treatment liquid supply apparatus as taught by Kobayashi, Matsui, and Hirashita with a heater that surrounds the line as taught by Kim-242. A heater that surrounds a line is known in the art and is one of the various ways to heat a liquid within a line.
As to claim 5, (Original) Kim-242 further teaches the first heating unit is configured as a jacket heater (paragraph [0085] the heating member 150 may be a heating jacket).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi U.S. Publication 2014/0290859 (henceforth referred to as Kobayashi), Matsui et al. TWI777097 (henceforth referred to as Matsui), Hirashita KR20220002125 (henceforth referred to as Hirashita), and Kim et al. U.S. Publication 2017/0062242 (henceforth referred to as Kim-242) as applied to claim 4 above, in further view of Kim et al. KR20090060058 (henceforth referred to as Kim-058).
As to claim 7, (Original) Kobayashi further teaches a concentration detection unit measuring a concentration of the recovered treatment liquid stored in the second tank (paragraph [0055] a concentration detecting unit 22 is provided in the tank 21).
Kobayashi, Matsui, Hirashita, and Kim-242 differ from the instant claim in failing to teach a first concentration measurement line, wherein one end of the first concentration measurement line is connected to the supply line, and the other end of the first concentration detection line is connected to the concentration detection unit.
Kim-058 teaches a semiconductor treatment apparatus (FIG. 4 page 11 semiconductor manufacturing facility 100a). Kim-058 teaches a first concentration measurement line, wherein one end of the first concentration measurement line is connected to the supply line, and the other end of the first concentration detection line is connected to the concentration detection unit (FIG. 4 the concentration meter 110 connects to the supply line 104a).
The combination of Kobayashi and Kim-058 will result in a concentration detection unit that is connected to the supply line via a first concentration measurement line.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the treatment liquid supply apparatus as taught by Kobayashi, Matsui, Hirashita, and Kim-242 with a concentration measurement unit as taught by Kim-058. It is known in the art to measure a concentration by connecting directly to the line as taught by Kim-058. Whether detecting directly on the tank (as taught by Kobayashi) or on the line (as taught by Kim-058), it would result in a concentration detection unit that measures the concentration of the fluid.
As to claim 8, (Original) Kobayashi and Kim-058 further teaches the concentration detection unit further measures a concentration of the recovered treatment liquid stored in the first tank (Kobayashi paragraph [0056] concentration detecting unit 28 are provided on the sub-tank 25) through a second concentration detection line, and wherein one end of the second concentration detection line is connected to the second transfer line, and the other end of the second concentration detection line is connected to the concentration detection unit (Kim-058 FIG. 4 the concentration meter 110 connects to another line such as the supply line 104b).
It is known in the art to measure a concentration by connecting directly to the line as taught by Kim-058. Additionally, it is known that one concentration detection unit can measure the concentration in multiple lines. Whether having individual concentration meters directly on the tanks (as taught by Kobayashi) or using a concentration meter to detect concentration from multiple lines (as taught by Kim-058), it would result in a concentration detection unit that measures the concentration of the fluid in multiple areas.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi U.S. Publication 2014/0290859 (henceforth referred to as Kobayashi) in view of Matsui et al. TWI777097 (henceforth referred to as Matsui), Hirashita KR20220002125 (henceforth referred to as Hirashita), Kim et al. U.S. Publication 2017/0062242 (henceforth referred to as Kim-242), and Lee et al. U.S. Publication 2016/0351412 (henceforth referred to as Lee).
As to claim 20, (Currently Amended) Kobayashi teaches a substrate processing apparatus, comprising:
a process chamber (FIG. 4 processing [0054] processing unit 40);
a nozzle unit including a moving nozzle device discharging treatment liquid to the substrate (paragraph [0026] the nozzle 42 is mounted an arm member (not shown) and may thereby be swung above the surface of the substrate W); and
a treatment liquid supply apparatus including a discharge line connected to the liquid outlet and discharging the treatment liquid (FIG. 4 paragraph [0027] recovery pipe 53), a first tank storing recovered treatment liquid, recovered through the discharge line (FIG. 4 paragraph [0055] sub-tank 25), a treatment liquid supply unit supplying new treatment liquid to the discharge line (paragraph [0056] solution replenishing unit 32 supplies a fresh solution via a fresh solution supplying pipe 33), and a second tank resupplying the recovered treatment liquid supplied from the first tank through a second transfer line to the substrate processing apparatus through a supply line (FIG. 4 paragraph [0055] tank 21 is connected to the sub-tank 25 by tank pipe 26),
wherein the discharge line is configured as a pipe for discharging the treatment liquid, disposed between the substrate processing apparatus and the first tank (paragraph [0061] the process solution flowing from the surface of the substrate W to the bottom of the processing unit 40 flows into the recovery pipe 53 and is recovered in the sub-tank 25), and
wherein one end of the discharge line is connected to the substrate processing apparatus, the other end of the discharge line is connected to the first tank (paragraph [0061] the process solution flowing from the surface of the substrate W to the bottom of the processing unit 40 flows into the recovery pipe 53 and is recovered in the sub-tank 25), and
wherein the treatment liquid discharged from the processing vessel sequentially passes through the first tank and the second tank and is supplied back to the nozzle unit (FIG. 4 paragraphs [0061]- [0065] the process solution flowing from the surface of the substrate W to the bottom of the processing unit 40 flows into the recovery pipe 53 and is recovered in the sub-tank 25. The solution in sub-tank 25 is supplied to the tank 21, then subsequently to pipe 52 into the processing unit 40).
Kobayashi differs from the instant claim in failing to teach a processing vessel disposed in the process chamber, accommodating a substrate therein, including a liquid outlet on a bottom surface thereof, and having an open upper portion;
a support unit supporting the substrate and including a support shaft disposed in the processing vessel and rotating, and a spin head connected to the support shaft;
a nozzle unit disposed on an external side of the processing vessel and including a moving nozzle device discharging treatment liquid to the substrate;
a treatment liquid supply unit supplying new treatment liquid to the discharge line through a first transfer line;
a first heating unit disposed on the first transfer line between the treatment liquid supply unit and the discharge line, and the first transfer line is configured as a pipe for supplying the new treatment liquid, disposed between the treatment liquid supply unit and the discharge line,
one end of the first transfer line is connected to the treatment liquid supply unit, and the other end of the first transfer line is connected to the discharge line and is connected between the one end and the other end of the discharge line,
wherein the first heating unit is configured as a jacket heater surrounding at least a portion of an external surface of the first transfer line and disposed on the first transfer line between the treatment liquid supply unit and the discharge line, the first heating unit being configured to heat the new treatment liquid flowing through the first transfer line before the new treatment liquid is introduced into the discharge line.
Lee teaches a semiconductor treatment apparatus (FIG. 5 paragraph [0060] substrate treating apparatus 10). Lee teaches a processing vessel disposed in the process chamber, accommodating a substrate therein (FIG. 5 paragraph [0063] a cup 320, which reads on the claimed processing vessel, is situated in the chamber 310), including a liquid outlet on a bottom surface thereof (FIG. 5 paragraph [0065] recovery lines 326b or paragraph [0072] exhaust member 410a), and having an open upper portion (FIG. 5 the cup 320 has an open upper portion);
a support unit supporting the substrate and including a support shaft disposed in the processing vessel and rotating, and a spin head connected to the support shaft (paragraph [0066] support unit 340, which includes a support plate 342 and support shaft 348, supports and rotates the substrate W);
a nozzle unit disposed on an external side of the processing vessel (FIG. 5 Nozzle 374 is on an external side of the processing vessel);
wherein the treatment liquid is discharged from the processing vessel (paragraph [0065] the recovery line 326b discharges the treatment fluids introduced through the recovery vessels 326 or paragraph [0072] the exhaust member 410a exhausts fluids from the interior of the treatment space 400).
The combination of Kobayashi and Lee would result in wherein the treatment liquid discharged from the processing vessel sequentially passes through the first tank and the second tank and is supplied back to the nozzle unit.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the treatment liquid supply apparatus as taught by Kobayashi with a processing vessel, support unit, and nozzle on the external side as taught by Lee. It is known in the art to use a processing vessel to recover different treatment liquids used in the process (paragraph [0064]), and a support unit to hold a wafer during processing. Additionally, by placing the nozzle on the external side, it can protect the nozzle unit from contamination/splashing.
Matsui teaches a semiconductor treatment apparatus (FIG. 17 paragraph [0267] monolithic substrate processing apparatus 52B). Matsui teaches a treatment liquid supply unit supplying new treatment liquid to the discharge line through a first transfer line (FIG. 17 paragraph [0271] treatment liquid supply source En0 can supply liquid the liquid discharge unit EL1B in order to mix the used solution with unused solution), and the first transfer line is configured as a pipe for supplying the new treatment liquid, disposed between the treatment liquid supply unit and the discharge line, one end of the first transfer line is connected to the treatment liquid supply unit, and the other end of the first transfer line is connected to the discharge line and is connected between the one end and the other end of the discharge line (see previously annotated Figure 17 of Matsui. The transfer line connects the treatment liquid supply source En0 to the discharge line. The transfer line of Matsui can connect between the ends of the discharge line of Kobayashi.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the treatment liquid supply apparatus as taught by Kobayashi with a way to add liquid to the discharge line as taught by Matsui. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to add a transfer line to replenish a liquid. Whether adding the replenishing liquid to the tank (as taught by Kobayashi) or directly to the line (as taught by Matsui), it would have resulted in a system that has replenished fluid.
Hirashita teaches a semiconductor treatment apparatus (FIG. 1 paragraph [0018] substrate processing device). Hirashita teaches a first heating unit disposed on the first transfer line (paragraph [0045] a temperature control unit 16A such as a heater is installed in a pipe 109 can control the temperature of the liquid within the pipe).
The combination of Kobayashi, Matsui, and Hirashita would result in the first heating unit disposed on the first transfer line between the treatment liquid supply unit and the discharge line.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the treatment liquid supply apparatus as taught by Kobayashi with a heating unit as taught by Hirashita. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to add a heater to any pipe in order to control the temperature of the fluid within the pipe.
Kim-242 teaches a semiconductor treatment apparatus (FIG. 1 paragraph [0024] semiconductor processing apparatus 1). Kim-242 teaches the first heating unit is configured as a jacket heater surrounding at least a portion of an external surface of the first transfer line (FIG. 6B paragraph [0085] the heating member 150 may be a heating jacket, which includes a covering member 151 and heating wires 152 in the covering member 151. The heating member 150 surrounds the surface of the line).
The combination of Kobayashi, Matsui, Hirashita, and Kim-242 would result in the first heating unit (being a jacket heater) being disposed on the first transfer line between the treatment liquid supply unit and the discharge line, the first heating unit being configured to heat the new treatment liquid flowing through the first transfer line before the new treatment liquid is introduced into the discharge line.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the treatment liquid supply apparatus as taught by Kobayashi, Matsui, and Hirashita with a jacket heater as taught by Kim-242. A jacket heater is known in the art and is one of the various ways to heat a liquid within a line.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Takeguchi et al. U.S. Publication 2020/0381245 teaches a treatment liquid supply unit supplying new treatment liquid to the line through a first transfer line, and a heating unit to control a temperature of the new treatment liquid passing through the first transfer line.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.G.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1711
/MICHAEL E BARR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1711