DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tokoshima 2012/0325927.
In regards to Independent Claim 1, Tokoshima teaches a spraying device (figure 1) for spraying at least one semiconductor substrate (5, paragraph [0001]), the spraying device comprising: a main channel (15 to channel 4) comprising a main channel inlet (upstream of 15V) and a main channel outlet (outlet at nozzle 4) for gas to flow from the main channel inlet to the main channel outlet (Gas, paragraph [0004], where the functional limitation of the material acted upon by channel, the gas, has been considered); and at least one branch channel is communicated with the main channel (1st branch channel 12 and 2nd branch channel 16), and each of the at least one branch channel has a branch channel inlet provided for fluid to flow from the branch channel inlet to the main channel outlet (12 receives water from inlet at 1 and combines with flow from 15 at 2, and 16 receives a chemical agent at an inlet and flows it to 14); wherein each of the at least one branch channel is communicated with the main channel at a position between the main channel inlet and the main channel outlet (both first branch channel 12 and second branch channel 16 communicate with main channel between main channel inlet 15 and main channel outlet 4).
Regarding Dependent Claim 2, Tokoshima teaches the at least one branch channel further comprises: a first branch channel (12), having a first branch channel inlet (inlet to channel 12 at 1); and a second branch channel (16), having a second branch channel inlet (inlet to 16 from chemical agent source); wherein, the first branch channel is more adjacent to the main channel inlet of the main channel than the second branch channel ( 12 is closer to 15 than 16 is to 15 in figure 1), so that a first fluid flows into the first branch channel from the first branch channel inlet (water flows through 12), then enters the main channel and flows along the main channel (water from 12 enters main channel at 2), passes by the second branch channel (water passes through junction at between 16 and 14), and flows to the main channel outlet (water mixed with gas and chemical agent flows out of nozzle 4).
Claims 1-4, 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu 2006/0011214 A1.
In regards to Independent Claim 1, Liu teaches a spraying device (100) for spraying at least one semiconductor substrate (10, paragraph [0040]), the spraying device comprising: a main channel (channel from pump 151 to nozzle 113 in figure 5) comprising a main channel inlet (inlet to channel at pump 151) and a main channel outlet (outlet of nozzle 113) for gas to flow from the main channel inlet to the main channel outlet (although DIO3 in 150 is fed to main channel, the use of gas is not positively recited, and the main channel of Liu is capable transporting gas, where the material transported in not positively recited in the claim); and at least one branch channel is communicated with the main channel (1st, channel starting at 141, 2nd channel starting at 131, and 3rd channel starting at 121), and each of the at least one branch channel has a branch channel inlet provided for fluid to flow from the branch channel inlet to the main channel outlet (fluid flows from 140, 130, and 120 to each of the 1st, 2nd and 3rd branch channels respectively in figure 5); wherein each of the at least one branch channel (channel starting at 141 and channel starting at 131 in figure 5) is communicated with the main channel (channel from 151 to 113 in figure 5) at a position between the main channel inlet and the main channel outlet (channel from 141 and 131 connect to channel from 151 between 151 and 113 in figure 5).
Regarding Dependent Claim 2, Liu teaches the at least one branch channel further comprises: a first branch channel (1st channel from 141), having a first branch channel inlet (inlet to channel from 141); and a second branch channel (2nd channel from 131), having a second branch channel inlet (inlet to channel from 131); wherein, the first branch channel is more adjacent to the main channel inlet of the main channel than the second branch channel (141 closer to 151 than 131 is to 151 in figure 5), so that a first fluid flows into the first branch channel from the first branch channel inlet (flow from 140 through channel including valve 142), then enters the main channel and flows along the main channel (142 enters main channel at arrow downstream of 142), passes by the second branch channel (flow passes through junction where flow from 131 meets the other combined flow), and flows to the main channel outlet (all flows pass through nozzle 113 in figure 5).
Regarding Dependent Claim 3, Liu teaches the at least one branch channel further comprises: a third branch channel (channel from 121), having a third branch channel inlet (inlet to channel from pump 121); wherein, the third branch channel is further away from the main channel inlet of the main channel than the first branch channel and the second branch channel (channel from 121 is further from main channel from 151 than both channels from 131 and 141 in figure 5), so that the first fluid flows into the first branch channel from the first branch channel inlet (flow from 140 through channel downstream of 141 to main channel), then enters the main channel and flows along the main channel (where flow arrow from channel downstream of 142 enters the main channel in figure 5), passes by the second branch channel and the third branch channel in sequence (flow from 141 passes through junctions where 2nd and 3rd branch channels meet main channel before exiting through nozzle 113), and flows to the main channel outlet (all flows pass through outlet 113 in figure 5).
Regarding Dependent Claim 4, Liu teaches the second branch channel inlet is provided for a second fluid (fluid from 130) to flow from the second branch channel into the main channel (flow from 130 through pump 131 to main channel after passing through flow arrow passing toward 113), the third branch channel inlet is provided for a third fluid (fluid from 120) to flows from the third branch channel into the main channel (flow from 120 through pump 121 to main channel after passing through flow arrow passing toward 113), and the second fluid and the third fluid enter the main channel to be mixed and then flow to the main channel outlet (paragraph [0036]).
Regarding Dependent Claim 6, Liu teaches the main channel inlet and each of the branch channel inlet respectively have a valve to control opening or closing of the main channel and each of the at least one branch channel (valves 152 for main flow, and valves 142, 132, and 122 for each branch channel respectively).
Regarding Dependent Claim 7, Liu teaches a spraying system (the system that comprises the sprayer 100 of figure 5), comprising: at least one semiconductor substrate (10); the spraying device according to claim 1 (rejection of claim 1 above) disposed above the at least one semiconductor substrate (sprayer 113 is above 10 in figure 5), wherein the main channel inlet and the branch channel inlet of the spraying device each have a valve for controlling opening or closing of the main channel and the at least one branch channel (valve 152 of main channel, and valves 142, 132, and 122 for each branch channel respectively, where there are 1st, 2nd and 3rd branch channels); a plurality of flow controllers (pumps 151, 141, 131, and 121 on each line in figure 5), respectively communicated with the valve of the main channel and the valve of each of the at least one branch channel (each pump is upstream of each valve on each line as shown in figure 5), configured to monitor a flow rate of the gas or the fluid (each pump controls the flow of fluid through each line, paragraph [0038]); and a control module (160), signally connected to the spraying device and the plurality of flow controllers (160 is connected to each valve and pump in figure 5, such that it controls the pumps and flow through the spraying device, paragraph [0038]), configured to adjust flow of the gas or the fluid, and the opening or closing of the main channel and each of the at least one branch channel (paragraphs [0038] and [0039]).
Regarding Dependent Claim 8, Liu teaches the at least one branch channel further comprises a first branch channel (channel including valve 142) and a second branch channel (channel including valve 132), and the main channel, the first branch channel, and the second branch channel respectively have a main valve (152), a first valve (142), and a second valve (132); wherein, the first branch channel has a first branch channel inlet (inlet from 140) provided for a first fluid to flow from the first branch channel inlet to the main channel outlet (channel including valve 142), and the second branch channel has a second branch channel inlet (inlet from 130) provided for a second fluid to flow from the second branch channel inlet to the main channel outlet (channel including valve 132); wherein, the first branch channel is more adjacent to the main channel inlet of the main channel than the second branch channel (inlet from 140 closer to inlet from 150 than inlet from 130 is to inlet from 150 in figure 5), so that the first fluid flows into the first branch channel from the first branch channel inlet, then enters the main channel and flows along the main channel (flow from 142 enters main channel exiting at 113), passes by the second branch channel (flow from 142 passes through junction where flow from 132 meets the main channel, then first fluid passes by the second branch channel), the first fluid flows to the main channel outlet (flow from 142 exits through nozzle 113); wherein, the main valve, the first valve, and the second valve are respectively provided to control opening or closing of the main channel, the first branch channel, and the second branch channel (paragraph [0038]), and are respectively communicated with one of the plurality of flow controllers (valves 152, 142, and 132 are fluidly coupled to flow controllers 151, 141 and 131 respectively).
Regarding Dependent Claim 9, Liu teaches the at least one branch channel further comprises: a third branch channel (channel including valve 122) having a third branch channel inlet (inlet to channel from source 120) provided for a third fluid to flow from the third branch channel inlet to the main channel outlet (flow through channel including valve 122 enters main flow and exits nozzle 113 as shown in figure 5); wherein, the first branch channel is more adjacent to the main channel inlet of the main channel than the second branch channel and the third branch channel (channel with 142 is closer to channel with 152 than channel with 132 or 122), and the second branch channel is more adjacent to the main channel inlet than the third branch channel (132 is closer to 152 than 122 is to 152 in figure 5), so that the first fluid flows into the first branch channel from the first branch channel inlet, then enters the main channel and flows along the main channel, passes by the second branch channel and the third branch channel in sequence (flow from 142 passes into main channel, then through the junction of the main channel with the second and third branch channels), and flows to the main channel outlet (all flows exit nozzle 113), and so that the second fluid flows into the second branch channel from the second branch channel inlet (flow from channel with 132 enters main channel in figure 5), then enters the main channel and flows along the main channel, passes by the third branch channel (flow from 132 passes junction of channel from 122 and main channel), and flows to the main channel outlet (flow from 132 exits through nozzle 113 in figure 5).
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamaguchi 2016/0059380 A1.
In regards to Independent Claim 1, Yamaguchi teaches a spraying device (300A in figure 1) for spraying at least one semiconductor substrate (wafer W, paragraph [0246]), the spraying device comprising: a main channel (722a) comprising a main channel inlet (inlet from 724) and a main channel outlet (second end of 740 opens onto wafer W, paragraph [0265]) for gas to flow from the main channel inlet to the main channel outlet (paragraph [0265]); and at least one branch channel is communicated with the main channel (channels 732 and 712a), and each of the at least one branch channel has a branch channel inlet provided for fluid to flow from the branch channel inlet to the main channel outlet (flows from 732, 722a and 712a merge into flow of 740 before exiting upon wafer W, paragraph [0264]); wherein each of the at least one branch channel (732 and 712a) is communicated with the main channel (722a) at a position between the main channel inlet and the main channel outlet (732 and 712a communicate with 722a at a position between junction of 722a and 724 and outlet at 600 in figure 1).
Regarding Dependent Claim 5, Yamaguchi teaches the at least one branch channel further comprises: a first branch channel (732), having a first branch channel inlet (inlet to 732 from 734); and a second branch channel (712a), having a second branch channel inlet (inlet to 712a from 714); wherein, a distance between a position where the first branch channel is communicated with the main channel and the main channel inlet of the main channel, and a position where the second branch channel is communicated with the main channel and the main channel inlet of the main channel in a vertical direction are the same (both 732 and 712a merge with 722a at the same position in figure 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-13 and 15-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: prior art fails to teach, in combination with the other limitations of dependent claim 10, opening the main valve, and spraying the gas on the at least one semiconductor substrate; prior art fails to teach, in combination with the other limitations of dependent claim 16, opening the second and third valves, mixing the second and third fluids in the main channel, and spraying the mixture on the semiconductor substrate. The closest prior art of Orll 2003/0226577 A1 teaches injecting nitrogen gas onto the semiconductor wafer, but does not teach the flow controllers, control module, or the positioning of the first and second branch channels relative to the main channel, such that the flow from the first branch channel passes through the second branch channel.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/9/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Tokoshima does not teach introducing different fluids into a common main channel because the gas from 15 dissolves in fluid from 12. That one fluid dissolves into a second does not change that two different fluids are introduced into a main flow channel. Applicant does not claim that the fluids introduced into the main channel are immiscible.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., introducing multiple fluids into a common main channel simultaneously, that a gas is introduced into the main channel inlet, or that the branch channels are at different positions along the main channel) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant’s arguments regarding non-obviousness under 35 USC 103 are not applicable to the rejection made 2/23/2026 or the current rejection, because no 35 USC 103 obvious type rejection is present.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVEN M SUTHERLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752