DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The continuation data listed in Paragraph 1 of the specification for Application No. 17/165,485, filed February 2, 2021, should be updated, as Application No. 17/165,485 is now U.S. Patent No. 12,016,969. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-4 and 7-8 are objected to because of the following informalities: “in vivo” is not italicized, which is inconsistent with in vivo as recited in claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the injectable in vivo crosslinking material" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "injectable in vivo crosslinking material" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "a healthcare" in line 1. It is unclear what a healthcare corresponds to, therefore claim 20 is indefinite. Claim 20 will be interpreted as a healthcare provider.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bennett et al. (EP 2 389 925) [IDS 8/6/24].
Regarding claims 1-7: Bennett et al. (EP ‘925) discloses crosslinking hydrogel compositions [abstract], wherein the hydrogel precursor is polymeric core such as polyethylene glycol (PEG), poly(amino acids) or poly(saccharides) [0035-0036]. Bennett et al. (EP ‘925) discloses Example 1 [Ex. 1; 0137-0147] prepares a first reactive precursor containing an 80% solution of PEG-diacrylate and PEG-NHS (N-hydroxysuccinimide [0037]) [0137-0138]. Bennett et al. (EP ‘925) additionally discloses an embodiment containing poly(saccharide)-diacrylate and poly(saccharide)-NHS (i.e. poly(saccharide) exchanged for PEG as the polymeric core [0035-0036]; see MPEP 2131.02). A second reactive precursor of lysine was prepared [0139]. 4,4’-bis(diethylamino)benzophenone was added to the first reactive precursor [0140-0141], and equal volumes of the first and second reactive precursors were loaded into syringes, mixed, crosslinked, and exposed to UV light to afford a hydrogel [0142-0147]. Bennett et al. (EP ‘925) discloses formation of the hydrogel in situ (ex. disc implant, wound closure, soft tissue augmentation, vascular grafts, sutures, dermal filler, etc.) [0090-0091, 0096, 0098; Fig. 1A].
Note lysine:
[0139].
Regarding claim 9: Bennett et al. (EP ‘925) discloses formation of the hydrogel in situ (ex. disc implant, wound closure, soft tissue augmentation, vascular grafts, sutures, dermal filler, etc.) [0090-0091, 0096, 0098; 0107-0109; Fig. 1A].
Claim(s) 10 and 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bennett et al. (EP 2 389 925) [IDS 8/6/24].
Regarding claims 10, 12 and 16: Bennett et al. (EP ‘925) discloses crosslinking hydrogel compositions [abstract], wherein the hydrogel precursor is polymeric core such as polyethylene glycol (PEG), poly(amino acids) or poly(saccharides) [0035-0036]. Bennett et al. (EP ‘925) discloses Example 1 [Ex. 1; 0137-0147] prepares a first reactive precursor containing an 80% solution of PEG-diacrylate and PEG-NHS (N-hydroxysuccinimide [0037]) [0137-0138]. Bennett et al. (EP ‘925) additionally discloses an embodiment containing poly(saccharide)-diacrylate and poly(saccharide)-NHS (i.e. poly(saccharide) exchanged for PEG as the polymeric core [0035-0036]; see MPEP 2131.02). A second reactive precursor of lysine was prepared [0139]. 4,4’-bis(diethylamino)benzophenone was added to the first reactive precursor [0140-0141], and equal volumes of the first and second reactive precursors were loaded into syringes, mixed, crosslinked, and exposed to UV light to afford a hydrogel [0142-0147]. Bennett et al. (EP ‘925) discloses formation of the hydrogel in situ (ex. disc implant, wound closure, soft tissue augmentation, vascular grafts, sutures, dermal filler, etc.) [0090-0091, 0096, 0098; 0107-0109; Fig. 1A].
Note lysine:
[0139].
Regarding claims 13-15: Bennett et al. (EP ‘925) discloses formation of the hydrogel in situ (ex. disc implant, wound closure, soft tissue augmentation, vascular grafts, sutures, dermal filler, etc.) [0090-0091, 0096, 0098; 0107-0109; Fig. 1A].
Claim(s) 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bennett et al. (EP 2 389 925) [IDS 8/6/24].
Regarding claims 17-20: Bennett et al. (EP ‘925) discloses methods of using crosslinking hydrogel compositions [abstract], wherein the hydrogel precursors can be injected underneath the tissue surface [0107-0109]. Bennett et al. (EP ‘925) disclose the hydrogel precursor is polymeric core such as polyethylene glycol (PEG), poly(amino acids) or poly(saccharides) [0035-0036]. Bennett et al. (EP ‘925) discloses Example 1 [Ex. 1; 0137-0147] prepares a first reactive precursor containing an 80% solution of PEG-diacrylate and PEG-NHS (N-hydroxysuccinimide [0037]) [0137-0138]. Bennett et al. (EP ‘925) additionally discloses an embodiment containing poly(saccharide)-diacrylate and poly(saccharide)-NHS (i.e. poly(saccharide) exchanged for PEG as the polymeric core [0035-0036]; see MPEP 2131.02). A second reactive precursor of lysine was prepared [0139]. 4,4’-bis(diethylamino)benzophenone was added to the first reactive precursor [0140-0141], and equal volumes of the first and second reactive precursors were loaded into syringes, mixed, crosslinked, and exposed to UV light to afford a hydrogel [0142-0147]. Bennett et al. (EP ‘925) discloses formation of the hydrogel in situ (ex. disc implant, wound closure, soft tissue augmentation, vascular grafts, sutures, dermal filler, etc.) [0090-0091, 0096, 0098; 0107-0109; Fig. 1A].
Note lysine:
[0139].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bennett et al. (EP 2 389 925) as applied to claim 7 above.
Regarding claim 8: Bennett et al. (EP ‘925) discloses the basic claimed material [as set forth above with respect to claim 7], wherein Bennett et al. (EP ‘925) discloses carbodiimide crosslinking [0054].
Bennett et al. (EP ‘925) does not specifically disclose Ex. 1 containing a carbodiimide crosslinking agent. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a carbodiimide crosslinking agent based on the invention of Bennett et al. (EP ‘925), and would have been motivated to do so since Bennett et al. (EP ‘925) suggests carbodiimide crosslinking [0054]. Additionally, “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) [see MPEP 2144.06].
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bennett et al. (EP 2 389 925) as applied to claim 10 above.
Regarding claim 11: Bennett et al. (EP ‘925) discloses the basic claimed system [as set forth above with respect to claim 10], wherein Bennett et al. (EP ‘925) discloses the composition can contain visualization agents [0110-0012], as well as bioactive agents such as tetracycline [0115, 0117-0120].
Bennett et al. (EP ‘925) does not specifically disclose Ex. 1 containing visualization agents and/or bioactive agents. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included visualization agents and/or bioactive agents based on the invention of Bennett et al. (EP ‘925), and would have been motivated to do so since Bennett et al. (EP ‘925) suggests the composition can contain visualization agents [0110-0012], as well as bioactive agents such as tetracycline [0115, 0117-0120]. Additionally, “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) [see MPEP 2144.06].
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,016,969 in view of Sawhney (US 6,818,018) [IDS 8/6/24]. The injectable in vivo crosslinking material, system of forming injectable in vivo crosslinking material and method of U.S. Patent No. 12,016,969 substantially overlaps in scope with the instant claimed injectable in vivo crosslinking material, instant claimed system of forming injectable in vivo crosslinking material and instant claimed method.
U.S. Patent No. 12,016,969 does not claim a reactive multi-arm polymer comprising a plurality of hydrophilic polymer arms selected from poly(amino acid) and poly(saccharide). However, Sawhney (US 6,818,018) discloses crosslinking hydrogel compositions [abstract], wherein the hydrogel precursor can be poly(ethyloxazoline), poly(amino acids) or poly(saccharides) [4:66-5:6; 9:45-59]. U.S. Patent No. 12,016,969 and Sawhney (US 6,818,018) are analogous art because they are concerned with a similar technical difficulty, namely the preparation of crosslinking hydrogel compositions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined poly(amino acids) or poly(saccharides), as taught by Sawhney (US 6,818,018) in the invention of U.S. Patent No. 12,016,969, and would have been motivated to do so since Sawhney (US 6,818,018) discloses the hydrogel precursor can be poly(amino acids) or poly(saccharides) [4:66-5:6; 9:45-59].
See attached form PTO-892.
Correspondence
/MICHAEL F PEPITONE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767