DETAILED ACTION
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: monitoring unit, detecting unit, and arbitrating unit in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-10, and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barton et al (US 2024/0381462 A1) in view of Lindoff, Bengt (WO 2023/136768 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Barton discloses a link selection system (Fig. 1), for allocating a plurality of available links (Fig. 1, available links 135 and 145) to a plurality of multi-link-device (MLD) stations (Fig. 1, STA MLD 115 and STA MLD 125), the link selection system comprising:
a monitoring unit (Fig. 7, sub-process of CPU 705), for monitoring a traffic type of each of the MLD stations (22nd paragraph, AP MLD may continuously monitor the traffic load to determine the type of the application executing on the STA MLD, e.g., symmetrical, primary-downstream, or primary-upstream. Herein, type of application is traffic type) and a channel status of each of the available links (22nd and 69th paragraphs, AP MLD may continuously monitor the performance of its radio interfaces and/or collect one or more metrics regarding the channel status of a plurality of links between AP MLD and STA MDL);
a detecting unit (Fig. 7, sub-process of CPU 705), for detecting whether the traffic type of each of the MLD stations is a QoS traffic (30th paragraph, interactive application, e.g., video conference, that requires similar amount of upstream and downstream traffic with low latency and jitter. Low latency and jitter are QoS parameters. Therefore, video conference is a QoS traffic) and detecting whether the channel status of each of the available links is a congested condition (37th paragraph, radio interface AP 110-A is overwhelmed with high volume of upstream traffic), wherein when the traffic type of each of the MLD stations is determined as a background traffic if not detected as the QoS traffic (33rd paragraph, TID values 0 and 1 may correspond to background traffic which is the lowest priority traffic class and generally used for applications that are not time sensitive, e.g., email, file transfer, or software updates); and
an arbitrating unit (Fig. 7, sub-process of CPU 705), for arbitrating a link configuration of the available links for the MLD stations based on the traffic type of each of the MLD stations and the channel status of each of the available links (39th paragraph, AP MLD 105 may shift the downstream traffic 210 of STA MLD 115 and downstream traffic 225 of STA MLD 125 from AP 110-A using links 210 and 225 to AP 110-B using links 215 and 230);
wherein the available links are associated with a multi-link-operation (MLO) device (Fig. 1, links 135 and 145 are associated MLO AP MLD 105 and/or MLO STA MLDs 115 and 125).
Barton does not disclose that the background traffic is further determined as a heavy traffic or not. Lindoff discloses that background traffic is heavy data transfer based on usage, e.g., GB or TB of data (page 11, lines 26-28). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine background traffic as heavy data based on usage in Barton’s system, as suggested by Lindoff, to allocate bandwidth resources efficiently.
Regarding claims 2 and 10, Barton discloses that wherein when a first usage ratio of air-time for all of the MLD stations is greater than a first threshold value, the channel status of each of the available links is detected as the congested condition (78th paragraph, when observing upstream or downstream traffic demands exceed a pre-defined threshold, the traffic component may instruct the computing device to offload some of the traffic to an alternative device or radio interface. Herein, traffic demands exceeding a pre-defined threshold is an indication of a congested condition).
Regarding claims 4 and 12, Barton discloses that wherein when a plurality of QoS parameters associated with one of the MLD stations indicate audio data packets or video data packets, the one of the MLD stations is detected as having the QoS traffic (30th paragraph, interactive application, e.g., video conference, that requires similar amount of upstream and downstream traffic with low latency and jitter. Video conference includes audio and video data packets. Low latency and jitter are QoS parameters).
Regarding claims 5 and 13, Barton discloses that wherein at least one first link is/are selected from the available links and allocated to the one of the MLD stations having the QoS traffic (30th paragraph, interactive application with low latency and jitter may use the linked AP/STA pairs between the AP MLD 105 and STA MDL 125 to transmit and receive data).
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Barton discloses that wherein when a second usage ratio of air-time for one of the MLD stations is greater than a second threshold value, the one of the MLD stations is detected as having the heavy traffic (37th and 45th paragraphs, AP MLD 105 may monitor the amount of upstream traffic and determine that AP 110-A may simply be overwhelmed with volume of upstream traffic when upstream traffic exceeding a threshold. Herein, STA MLD is considered as heavy traffic STA MLD).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Barton discloses that wherein at least one second link is/are selected from the available links and allocated to the one of the MLD stations having the heavy traffic (Fig. 2, link 204 carrying high volume of upstream traffic).
Regarding claims 8 and 16, Barton discloses that wherein when each of the MLD stations has neither the QoS traffic or the heavy traffic, the link configuration of the available links are kept unchanged (Fig. 1, links 135 and 145 are initially configured regardless the type of application).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-2, 4-10, and 12-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ANH VU H. LY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2472
/ANH VU H LY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472