DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 2, 4, 6 – 11, 16 – 21, and 23 – 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2017/0108979) in view of Nho et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2015/0331508) in view of Xian et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2022/0320202).
Regarding Claim 1, Lu et al. teach a display module, comprising:
an array base plate (Figure 3, Element 100. Paragraph 29);
a light-emitting unit (Figure 3, Elements 101 - 104. Paragraph 29) arranged at a side of the array base plate (Figure 3, Element 100. Paragraph 29) and comprising a first electrode (Figure 3, Elements 102 and 103. Paragraph 29) located in a first electrode layer (Figure 3, Element 102. Paragraph 29), a second electrode (Figure 3, Element 101. Paragraph 29) located in a second electrode layer (Figure 3, Element 101. Paragraph 29),
wherein the first electrode (Figure 3, Elements 102 and 103. Paragraph 29) is configured to receive a touch driving signal (Figure 3, Element 103. Paragraph 29), and the second electrode (Figure 3, Element 101. Paragraph 29) is configured to output a touch sensing signal (Figure 3, Element 101. Paragraph 29);
a light-emitting portion (Figure 3, Element 104. Paragraph 29) located in a light-emitting functional layer (Figure 3, Element 104. Paragraph 29), the second electrode (Figure 3, Element 101. Paragraph 29) being located at a side of the first electrode (Figure 3, Elements 102 and 103. Paragraph 29) away from (Seen in Figure 3) the array base plate (Figure 3, Element 100. Paragraph 29), and the light-emitting portion (Figure 3, Element 104. Paragraph 29) being located between (Seen in Figure 3) the second electrode (Figure 3, Element 101. Paragraph 29) and the first electrode (Figure 3, Elements 102 and 103. Paragraph 29); and
a pixel definition layer (Figure 3, Element PDL. Paragraph 35) arranged at a side of the array base plate (Figure 3, Element 100. Paragraph 29), the pixel definition layer (Figure 3, Element PDL. Paragraph 35) comprising a pixel definition portion (Figure 3, Element PDL. Paragraph 31) and a pixel opening (Figure 3, Element opening of PDL. Paragraph 36) defined by the pixel definition portion (Figure 3, Element PDL. Paragraph 31), and at least a portion of the first electrode (Figure 3, Elements 102 and 103. Paragraph 29) being exposed from the pixel opening (Figure 3, Element opening of PDL. Paragraph 36),
a touch driving signal (Figure 3, Element 103. Paragraph 29) line, the touch driving signal (Figure 3, Element 103. Paragraph 29) line is configured to transmit the touch driving signal (Figure 3, Element 103. Paragraph 29) to the first electrode (Figure 3, Elements 102 and 103. Paragraph 29);
the array base plate (Figure 3, Element 100. Paragraph 29) comprises a source-drain conductive portion (Figure 3, Element not labeled, but is the portion of the substrate that is under the source-drain portion of the transistor. Paragraph 29), the first electrode (Figure 3, Elements 102 and 103. Paragraph 29) is connected with the source-drain conductive portion (Figure 3, Element not labeled, but is the portion of the substrate that is under the source-drain portion of the transistor. Paragraph 29) through a via (Figure 3, Element not labeled, but is the portion of the electrode layer that is connected to the drain (Element 108). Paragraph 29);
the light-emitting unit (Figure 3, Elements 101 - 104. Paragraph 29) is configured such that the light-emitting unit (Figure 3, Elements 101 - 104. Paragraph 29) does not emit light in a non-light emitting stage.
Lu et al. is silent with regards to a driving transistor and a light emitting control transistor; and a touch driving transistor connected with the first electrode, transmit the touch driving signal to the first electrode through the touch driving transistor; wherein the touch driving transistor comprises a first source and a first drain, one of the first source and the first drain is connected with the first electrode, and the other one of the first source and the first drain is connected with the touch driving signal line; the light emitting control transistor comprises a second source and a second drain, one of the second source and the second drain is connected with the first electrode, the other one of the second source and the second drain is connected with the driving transistor; the source-drain conductive portion is connected with the first source or the first drain of the touch driving transistor through a via, and the source-drain conductive portion is connected with the second source or the second drain of the light emitting control transistor through a via; the non-light emitting stage when the touch driving transistor connected with the first electrode of the light-emitting unit is turned on; the touch driving transistor is configured such that the touch driving transistor is turned off when the light-emitting portion corresponding to the first electrode connected with the touch driving transistor emits light.
Nho et al. teach a touch driving transistor (Figure 4A, Element 404. Paragraph 68) connected with the first electrode (Figure 4A, Element 443. Paragraph 68), transmit the touch driving signal to the first electrode (Figure 4A, Element 443. Paragraph 68) through the touch driving transistor (Figure 4A, Element 404. Paragraph 68);
wherein the touch driving transistor (Figure 4A, Element 404. Paragraph 68) comprises a first source and a first drain, one of the first source and the first drain is connected with (Seen in Figures 4A and 7F) the first electrode (Figure 4A, Element 443. Paragraph 68), and the other one of the first source and the first drain is connected with (Seen in Figures 4A and 7F) the touch driving signal line (Figure 7F, Element 708. Paragraph 89);
the source-drain conductive portion (Figures 3A and 4A, Element not labeled, but are the portion of the substrate that contains the array of transistors. Paragraph 66) is connected with the first source or the first drain of the touch driving transistor (Figure 4A, Element 404. Paragraph 68) through a via (Figure 4A, Element 410. Paragraph 66), and the source-drain conductive portion (Figures 3A and 4A, Element not labeled, but are the portion of the substrate that contains the array of transistors. Paragraph 66) is connected with the second source or the second drain of the light emitting control transistor (Figures 3A and 4A, Elements 304 and 404. Paragraph 64) through a via (Figure 4A, Element 410. Paragraph 66);
the non-light emitting stage Element touch driving. Paragraph 82) when the touch driving transistor (Figure 4A, Element 404. Paragraph 68) connected with the first electrode of the light-emitting unit (Figure 4A, Elements 454 and 456. Paragraphs 67 – 68) is turned on; the touch driving transistor (Figure 4A, Element 404. Paragraph 68) is configured such that the touch driving transistor (Figure 4A, Element 404. Paragraph 68) is turned off when the light-emitting portion (Figure 4A, Element 454. Paragraphs 67 – 68) corresponding to the first electrode connected with the touch driving transistor emits light (Element Emission. Paragraph 60).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the touch panel display of Lu et al. with the teachings of touch transistors of Nho et al. The motivation to modify the teaching of Lu et al. with the teachings of Nho et al. is to allow the individual touch sensors to be controlled to turned on and off individually or together, as taught by Nho et al. (Paragraph 68).
Xian et al. teach a driving transistor (Figure 3, Element T3. Paragraph 183) and a light emitting control transistor (Figure 3, Element T6. Paragraph 184);
the light emitting control transistor (Figure 3, Element T6. Paragraph 184) comprises a second source and a second drain, one of the second source and the second drain is connected with the first electrode, the other one of the second source and the second drain is connected with the driving transistor (Figure 3, Element T3. Paragraph 183)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the touch panel display of Lu et al. and the teachings of touch transistors of Nho et al with the pixel circuit of Xian et al. The motivation to modify the teaching of Lu et al. and Nho et al. with the teachings of Xian et al. is to be able to directly control the light emitting period, as taught by Xian et al. (Paragraph 196).
Regarding Claim 2, Lu et al. in view of Nho et al. in view of Xian et al. teach the display module according to claim 1 (See Above). Lu et al. teach wherein at least a portion of an orthographic projection of the first electrode (Figure 3, Elements 102 and 103. Paragraph 29) on the array base plate (Figure 3, Element 100. Paragraph 29) is staggered with (Seen in Figure 3) an orthographic projection of the second electrode (Figure 3, Element 101. Paragraph 29) on the array base plate (Figure 3, Element 100. Paragraph 29);
each first electrode (Figure 3, Elements 102 and 103. Paragraph 29) comprises a first portion (Figure 3, Element not labeled, but is the portion of the anode (Element 103) that is connected to the source/drain (Element 107’/108’). Paragraph 29) exposed from the pixel opening (Figure 3, Element opening of PDL. Paragraph 36) and a second portion (Figure 3, Element not labeled, but is the portion of the anode (Element 103) that is not connected to the source/drain (Element 107’/108’). Paragraph 29) located between the pixel definition portion (Figure 3, Element PDL. Paragraph 31) and the array base plate (Figure 3, Element 100. Paragraph 29), and at least a portion of an orthographic projection of the second portion (Figure 3, Element not labeled, but is the portion of the anode (Element 103) that is not connected to the source/drain (Element 107’/108’). Paragraph 29) on the array base plate (Figure 3, Element 100. Paragraph 29) is staggered with (Seen in Figure 3) the orthographic projection of the second electrode (Figure 3, Element 101. Paragraph 29) on the array base plate (Figure 3, Element 100. Paragraph 29); and
the second portion (Figure 3, Element not labeled, but is the portion of the anode (Element 103) that is not connected to the source/drain (Element 107’/108’). Paragraph 29) is located at least one side of the first portion (Figure 3, Element not labeled, but is the portion of the anode (Element 103) in a first direction or a second direction (Seen in Figure 3).
Regarding Claim 4, Lu et al. in view of Nho et al. in view of Xian et al. teach the display module according to claim 1 (See Above). Lu et al. teach the array base plate (Figure 3, Element 100. Paragraph 29) comprises a first insulation layer (Figure 3, Element 113. Paragraph 29), a second insulation layer (Figure 3, Element 111. Paragraph 29) located at a side of the first insulation layer (Figure 3, Element 113. Paragraph 29) facing the first electrode layer (Figure 3, Element 102. Paragraph 29), and a third insulation layer (Figure 3, Element 10. The examiner notes a typo in Figure 3 where Element 10 is labeled Element 110. Paragraph 29) located at a side of the second insulation layer (Figure 3, Element 111. Paragraph 29) away from (Seen in Figure 3) the first insulation layer (Figure 3, Element 113. Paragraph 29), the first gate is arranged at a side of the first insulation layer (Figure 3, Element 113. Paragraph 29) away from the second insulation layer (Figure 3, Element 111. Paragraph 29), the touch driving signal (Figure 3, Element 103. Paragraph 29) line is arranged between the first insulation layer (Figure 3, Element 113. Paragraph 29) and the second insulation layer (Figure 3, Element 111. Paragraph 29), and the first source and the first drain are arranged between the second insulation layer (Figure 3, Element 111. Paragraph 29) and the third insulation layer (Figure 3, Element 10. The examiner notes a typo in Figure 3 where Element 10 is labeled Element 110. Paragraph 29);
the first electrodes (Figure 3, Elements 102 and 103. Paragraph 29) are arranged at intervals in a first direction and a second direction (Seen in Figure 1); and
the display module comprises at least two (Seen in Figure 1) touch driving signal (Figure 3, Element 103. Paragraph 29) lines, at least two of the touch driving signal (Figure 3, Element 103. Paragraph 29) lines are arranged at intervals in the second direction (Seen in Figure 1).
Lu et al. is silent with regards to wherein the touch driving transistor further comprises a first gate, the touch driving transistors respectively corresponding to two adjacent first electrodes in the first direction are connected with a same touch driving signal line; and the touch driving transistors respectively corresponding to two adjacent first electrodes in the second direction are connected with different touch driving signal lines.
Nho et al. teach wherein the touch driving transistor (Figure 4A, Element 404. Paragraph 68) further comprises a first gate, the touch driving transistors (Figure 4A, Element 404. Paragraph 68) respectively corresponding to two adjacent first electrodes (Figure 7F, Element 780. Paragraph 89) in the first direction are connected with a same touch driving signal line (Figure 7F, Element 708. Paragraph 89); and the touch driving transistors (Figure 4A, Element 404. Paragraph 68) respectively corresponding to two adjacent first electrodes (Figure 7F, Element 780. Paragraph 89) in the second direction are connected with different (Figure 7F shows that adjacent electrodes in adjacent clusters will be connected to different lines.) touch driving signal lines (Figure 7F, Element 708. Paragraph 89).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the touch panel display of Lu et al. with the teachings of touch transistors of Nho et al. The motivation to modify the teaching of Lu et al. with the teachings of Nho et al. is to allow the individual touch sensors to be controlled to turned on and off individually or together, as taught by Nho et al. (Paragraph 68).
Regarding Claim 6, Lu et al. in view of Nho et al. in view of Xian et al. teach the display module according to claim 1 (See Above). Lu et al. is silent with regards to wherein the driving transistor and the light emitting control transistor are connected between a power supply voltage signal line and the light-emitting unit of the display module, the driving transistor is configured to drive the light-emitting unit to emit light, the touch driving transistor is configured such that the touch driving transistor is turned on when the light emitting control transistor is turned off.
Nho et al. teach the touch driving transistor (Figure 4A, Element 404. Paragraph 68) is configured such that the touch driving transistor (Figure 4A, Element 404. Paragraph 68) is turned on when the light emitting control transistor (Figures 3A and 4A, Elements 304 and 404. Paragraph 64) is turned off.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the touch panel display of Lu et al. with the teachings of touch transistors of Nho et al. The motivation to modify the teaching of Lu et al. with the teachings of Nho et al. is to allow the individual touch sensors to be controlled to turned on and off individually or together, as taught by Nho et al. (Paragraph 68).
Xian et al. teach wherein the driving transistor (Figure 3, Element T3. Paragraph 183) and the light emitting control transistor (Figure 3, Element T6. Paragraph 184) are connected between a power supply voltage signal line and the light-emitting unit of the display module, the driving transistor (Figure 3, Element T3. Paragraph 183) is configured to drive the light-emitting unit (Figure 3, Element L. Paragraph 184) to emit light.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the touch panel display of Lu et al. and the teachings of touch transistors of Nho et al with the pixel circuit of Xian et al. The motivation to modify the teaching of Lu et al. and Nho et al. with the teachings of Xian et al. is to be able to directly control the light emitting period, as taught by Xian et al. (Paragraph 196).
Regarding Claim 7, Lu et al. in view of Nho et al. in view of Xian et al. teach the display module according to claim 6 (See Above). Lu et al. teach is silent with regards to the display module further comprises a light emitting control signal line, the touch driving transistor further comprises the first gate, the light emitting control transistor further comprises a second gate, and the light emitting control signal line is connected with the first gate and the second gate to transmit a light emitting control signal to the touch driving transistor and the light emitting control transistor, wherein one of the touch driving transistor and the light emitting control transistor is an N-type transistor, and the other one is a P-type transistor.
Nho et al. teach the display module further comprises a light emitting control signal line (Figure 7F, Element 708. Paragraph 89), the touch driving transistor (Figure 4A, Element 404. Paragraph 68) further comprises the first gate, the light emitting control transistor (Figures 3A and 4A, Elements 304 and 404. Paragraph 64) further comprises a second gate, and the light emitting control signal line (Figure 7F, Element 708. Paragraph 89) is connected with the first gate and the second gate to transmit a light emitting control signal (Paragraph 89) to the touch driving transistor (Figure 4A, Element 404. Paragraph 68) and the light emitting control transistor (Figures 3A and 4A, Elements 304 and 404. Paragraph 64), and the light emitting control transistor (Figures 3A and 4A, Elements 304 and 404. Paragraph 64) and the touch driving transistor (Figure 4A, Element 404. Paragraph 68).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the touch panel display of Lu et al. with the teachings of touch transistors of Nho et al. The motivation to modify the teaching of Lu et al. with the teachings of Nho et al. is to allow the individual touch sensors to be controlled to turned on and off individually or together, as taught by Nho et al. (Paragraph 68).
Xian et al. teach one transistor and another transistor is an N-type transistor and the other one is a P-type transistor (Paragraph 197).
Nho et al. teaches a device which is different from the claimed interface apparatus by the substitution of the step(s) of one transistor being a N-type transistor and the other one is a P-type transistor. Xian et al. teaches the substituted step(s) of one transistor being a N-type transistor and the other one is a P-type transistor and their functions were known in the art to provide one transistor being a N-type transistor and the other one is a P-type transistor.
The transistors of Nho et al. could have been substituted with transistor types as taught by Xian et al. and the results would have been predictable and resulted in one transistor being a N-type transistor and the other one is a P-type transistor. Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
Regarding Claim 8, Lu et al. in view of Nho et al. in view of Xian et al. teach the display module according to claim 7 (See Above). Lu et al. teach wherein the display module further comprises a touch control module (Figure 1, Elements 105 and 106. Paragraph 26) and a touch control line (Figure 3, Element 103. Paragraph 29), the touch control module (Figure 1, Elements 105 and 106. Paragraph 26) is connected with the touch driving signal (Figure 3, Element 103. Paragraph 29) line through the touch control line.
Lu et al. is silent with regards to the touch control module is configured to transmit the touch driving signal to the touch driving transistor through the touch control line and the touch driving signal line.
Nho et al. teach the touch control module (Figure 7F, Element 788. Paragraph 89) is configured to transmit the touch driving signal (Figure 7F, Element 708. Paragraph 89) to the touch driving transistor (Figure 4A, Element 404. Paragraph 68) through the touch control line and the touch driving signal line (Figure 7F, Element 708. Paragraph 89).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the touch panel display of Lu et al. with the teachings of touch transistors of Nho et al. The motivation to modify the teaching of Lu et al. with the teachings of Nho et al. is to allow the individual touch sensors to be controlled to turned on and off individually or together, as taught by Nho et al. (Paragraph 68).
Regarding Claim 9, Lu et al. in view of Nho et al. in view of Xian et al. teach the display module according to claim 8 (See Above). Lu et al. teach wherein a number of the touch control lines (Figure 3, Element 103. Paragraph 29) is the same as a number (Seen in Figures 2 and 3) of the light emitting control signal lines (Figure 2, Element 106. Paragraph 28); and
the touch driving signal (Figure 3, Element 103. Paragraph 29) line is further configured to transmit a reset signal (Element RST. Paragraph 41) to the first electrode (Figure 3, Elements 102 and 103. Paragraph 29) through the touch driving transistor to reset the first electrode (Figure 3, Elements 102 and 103. Paragraph 29).
Regarding Claim 10, Lu et al. in view of Nho et al. in view of Xian et al. teach the display module according to claim 1 (See Above). Lu et al. teach wherein at least two second electrodes (Figure 3, Element 101. Paragraph 29) are arranged at intervals in a first direction and formed extending along a second direction, wherein the first direction intersects with the second direction (Seen in Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 11, Lu et al. in view of Nho et al. in view of Xian et al. teach the display module according to claim 1 (See Above). Lu et al. teach wherein the display module comprises a touch sensing signal (Figure 3, Element 101. Paragraph 29) line connected with the second electrode (Figure 3, Element 101. Paragraph 29), and the touch sensing signal (Figure 3, Element 101. Paragraph 29) line is configured to receive a touch sensing signal (Figure 3, Element 101. Paragraph 29) output by the second electrode (Figure 3, Element 101. Paragraph 29); and
the touch sensing signal (Figure 3, Element 101. Paragraph 29) line is further configured to transmit a negative power supply voltage signal (Figure 7, Element ELVSS. Paragraph 41) to the second electrode (Figure 3, Element 101. Paragraph 29) when (Paragraph 41) the light-emitting unit (Figure 3, Elements 101 - 104. Paragraph 29) emits light.
Regarding Claim 16, Lu et al. in view of Nho et al. in view of Xian et al. teach the display module according to claim 11 (See Above). Lu et al. teach wherein the display module further comprises a touch control module (Figure 1, Elements 105 and 106. Paragraph 26), the touch sensing signal (Figure 3, Element 101. Paragraph 29) line is connected with the touch control module (Figure 1, Elements 105 and 106. Paragraph 26), and the touch control module (Figure 1, Elements 105 and 106. Paragraph 26) is configured to acquire, through the touch sensing signal (Figure 3, Element 101. Paragraph 29) line, a touch sensing signal (Figure 3, Element 101. Paragraph 29) fed back by the second electrode (Figure 3, Element 101. Paragraph 29) when the light-emitting unit (Figure 3, Elements 101 - 104. Paragraph 29) does not emit light.
Regarding Claim 17, Lu et al. in view of Nho et al. in view of Xian et al. teach the display module according to claim 16 (See Above). Lu et al. teach wherein the touch control module (Figure 1, Elements 105 and 106. Paragraph 26) is configured to transmit a negative power supply voltage signal (Figure 7, Element ELVSS. Paragraph 41) to the second electrode (Figure 3, Element 101. Paragraph 29) through the touch sensing signal (Figure 3, Element 101. Paragraph 29) line when the light-emitting unit (Figure 3, Elements 101 - 104. Paragraph 29) emits light.
Regarding Claim 18, Lu et al. in view of Nho et al. in view of Xian et al. teach a driving method for the display module according to claim 1 (See Above). Lu et al. teach wherein each light-emitting unit (Figure 3, Elements 101 - 104. Paragraph 29) has a display cycle comprising at least one light emitting stage (Element Displaying Phase. Paragraph 26) and at least one non-light emitting stage (Element Touching Phase. Paragraph 26), and the driving method comprises:
transmitting a driving current signal to the first electrode (Figure 3, Elements 102 and 103. Paragraph 29) of the light-emitting unit (Figure 3, Elements 101 - 104. Paragraph 29) in the light emitting stage of the light-emitting unit (Figure 3, Elements 101 - 104. Paragraph 29); and
transmitting the touch driving signal (Figure 3, Element 103. Paragraph 29) or a reset signal (Element RST. Paragraph 41) to the first electrode (Figure 3, Elements 102 and 103. Paragraph 29) of the light-emitting unit (Figure 3, Elements 101 - 104. Paragraph 29) in the non-light emitting stage (Element Touching Phase. Paragraph 26) of the light-emitting unit (Figure 3, Elements 101 - 104. Paragraph 29).
Regarding Claim 19, Lu et al. in view of Nho et al. in view of Xian et al. teach the driving method according to claim 18 (See Above). Lu et al. teach wherein the display cycle comprises at least one non-light emitting stage (Element Touching Phase. Paragraph 26), and the transmitting the touch driving signal (Figure 3, Element 103. Paragraph 29) or the reset signal (Element RST. Paragraph 41) to the first electrode (Figure 3, Elements 102 and 103. Paragraph 29) of the light-emitting unit (Figure 3, Elements 101 - 104. Paragraph 29) in the non-light emitting stage (Element Touching Phase. Paragraph 26) of the light-emitting unit further comprises:
transmitting the reset signal (Element RST. Paragraph 41) to the first electrode (Figure 3, Elements 102 and 103. Paragraph 29) of the light-emitting unit (Figure 3, Elements 101 - 104. Paragraph 29) in a first non-light emitting stage in the display cycle of the light-emitting unit (Figure 3, Elements 101 - 104. Paragraph 29).
Regarding Claim 20, Lu et al. in view of Nho et al. in view of Xian et al. teach the driving method according to claim 19 (See Above). Lu et al. teach wherein the transmitting the reset signal (Element RST. Paragraph 41) to the first electrode (Figure 3, Elements 102 and 103. Paragraph 29) of the light-emitting unit (Figure 3, Elements 101 - 104. Paragraph 29) in the first non-light emitting stage in the display cycle of the light-emitting unit (Figure 3, Elements 101 - 104. Paragraph 29) further comprises:
transmitting the reset signal (Element RST. Paragraph 41) and the touch driving signal (Figure 3, Element 103. Paragraph 29) to the first electrode (Figure 3, Elements 102 and 103. Paragraph 29) of the light-emitting unit in sequence (Seen in Figures 8 and 9) in the first non-light emitting stage in the display cycle of the light-emitting unit (Figure 3, Elements 101 - 104. Paragraph 29);
the display cycle comprises at least two non-light emitting stages, and the transmitting the touch driving signal (Figure 3, Element 103. Paragraph 29) or the reset signal (Element RST. Paragraph 41) to the first electrode (Figure 3, Elements 102 and 103. Paragraph 29) of the light-emitting unit (Figure 3, Elements 101 - 104. Paragraph 29) in the non-light emitting stage of the light-emitting unit (Figure 3, Elements 101 - 104. Paragraph 29) further comprises:
transmitting the touch driving signal (Figure 3, Element 103. Paragraph 29) to the first electrode (Figure 3, Elements 102 and 103. Paragraph 29) of the light-emitting unit (Figure 3, Elements 101 - 104. Paragraph 29) in a non-light emitting stage after a first non-light emitting stage in the display cycle of the light-emitting unit (Figure 3, Elements 101 - 104. Paragraph 29).
Regarding Claim 21, Lu et al. teach a pixel circuit, comprising:
a light-emitting unit (Figure 3, Elements 101 - 104. Paragraph 29) comprising;
a first electrode (Figure 3, Elements 102 and 103. Paragraph 29) located in a first electrode layer (Figure 3, Element 102. Paragraph 29),
a second electrode (Figure 3, Element 101. Paragraph 29) located in a second electrode layer (Figure 3, Element 101. Paragraph 29), and
a light-emitting portion (Figure 3, Element 104. Paragraph 29) located in a light-emitting functional layer (Figure 3, Element 104. Paragraph 29);
a light emitting control transistor (Figure 3, Elements 106 - 110. Paragraph 29) connected with the light-emitting unit (Figure 3, Elements 101 - 104. Paragraph 29);
the touch driving signal line (Figures 1 - 3, Element 103. Paragraph 29) is configured to transmit the touch driving signal (Figure 3, Element 103. Paragraph 29) to the light-emitting unit (Figure 3, Elements 101 - 104. Paragraph 29), wherein
the pixel circuit comprises a source-drain conductive portion (Figure 3, Element not labeled, but is the portion of the substrate that is under the source-drain portion of the transistor. Paragraph 29), the first electrode (Figure 3, Elements 102 and 103. Paragraph 29) is connected with the source-drain conductive portion (Figure 3, Element not labeled, but is the portion of the substrate that is under the source-drain portion of the transistor. Paragraph 29) through a via (Figure 3, Element not labeled, but is the portion of the electrode layer that is connected to the drain (Element 108). Paragraph 29);
in a light emitting stage, the light emitting control transistor (Figure 3, Elements 106 - 110. Paragraph 29) is turned on to control the light-emitting unit (Figure 3, Elements 101 - 104. Paragraph 29) to emit light;
in a non-light emitting stage, the light emitting control transistor (Figure 3, Elements 106 - 110. Paragraph 29) is turned off, and transmits the touch driving signal (Figure 3, Element 103. Paragraph 29) to the first electrode (Figure 3, Elements 102 and 103. Paragraph 29) of the light-emitting unit (Figure 3, Elements 101 - 104. Paragraph 29).
Lu et al. is silent with regards to a touch driving transistor connected with the light-emitting unit, the touch driving transistor comprises a first source and a first drain, one of the first source and the first drain is connected with the first electrode, and the other one of the first source and the first drain is connected with the touch driving signal line; the light emitting control transistor comprises a second source and a second drain, one of the second source and the second drain is connected with the first electrode, the other one of the second source and the second drain is connected with the driving transistor, the source-drain conductive portion is connected with the first source or the first drain of the touch driving transistor through a via, and the source-drain conductive portion is connected with the second source or the second drain of the light emitting control transistor through a via; wherein in a light emitting stage, the touch driving transistor is turned off, and in a non-light emitting stage, the light emitting control transistor is turned off, and the touch driving transistor is turned on; and the touch driving signal line is configured to transmit the touch driving signal to the light-emitting unit through the touch driving transistor.
Nho et al. teach a touch driving transistor (Figure 4A, Element 404. Paragraph 68) connected with the light-emitting unit,
the touch driving transistor (Figure 4A, Element 404. Paragraph 68) comprises a first source and a first drain, one of the first source and the first drain is connected with (Seen in Figures 4A and 7F) the first electrode (Figure 4A, Element 443. Paragraph 68), and the other one of the first source and the first drain is connected with (Seen in Figures 4A and 7F) the touch driving signal line (Figure 7F, Element 708. Paragraph 89);
the source-drain conductive portion (Figures 3A and 4A, Element not labeled, but are the portion of the substrate that contains the array of transistors. Paragraph 66) is connected with the first source or the first drain of the touch driving transistor (Figure 4A, Element 404. Paragraph 68) through a via (Figure 4A, Element 410. Paragraph 66), and the source-drain conductive portion (Figures 3A and 4A, Element not labeled, but are the portion of the substrate that contains the array of transistors. Paragraph 66) is connected with the second source or the second drain of the light emitting control transistor (Figures 3A and 4A, Elements 304 and 404. Paragraph 64) through a via (Figure 4A, Element 410. Paragraph 66);
wherein in a light emitting stage (Element Emission. Paragraph 60), the touch driving transistor (Figure 4A, Element 404. Paragraph 68) is turned off, and in a non-light emitting stage (Element touch driving. Paragraph 82), the light emitting control transistor (Figures 3A and 4A, Elements 304 and 404. Paragraph 64) is turned off, and the touch driving transistor (Figure 4A, Element 404. Paragraph 68) is turned on; and the touch driving signal line (Figure 7F, Element 708. Paragraph 89) is configured to transmit the touch driving signal (Paragraph 89) to the light-emitting unit (Figure 4A, Elements 454 and 456. Paragraphs 67 – 68) through the touch driving transistor (Figure 4A, Element 404. Paragraph 68).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the touch panel display of Lu et al. with the teachings of touch transistors of Nho et al. The motivation to modify the teaching of Lu et al. with the teachings of Nho et al. is to allow the individual touch sensors to be controlled to turned on and off individually or together, as taught by Nho et al. (Paragraph 68).
Xian et al. teach the light emitting control transistor (Figure 3, Element T6. Paragraph 184) comprises a second source and a second drain, one of the second source and the second drain is connected with the first electrode, the other one of the second source and the second drain is connected with the driving transistor (Figure 3, Element T3. Paragraph 183).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the touch panel display of Lu et al. and the teachings of touch transistors of Nho et al with the pixel circuit of Xian et al. The motivation to modify the teaching of Lu et al. and Nho et al. with the teachings of Xian et al. is to be able to directly control the light emitting period, as taught by Xian et al. (Paragraph 196).
Regarding Claim 23, Lu et al. in view of Nho et al. in view of Xian et al. teach the pixel circuit according to claim 21 (See Above). Lu et al. teach wherein the touch driving signal (Figure 3, Element 103. Paragraph 29) line is further configured to transmit a reset signal (Element RST. Paragraph 41) to the light-emitting unit (Figure 3, Elements 101 - 104. Paragraph 29); and
in the non-light emitting stage, transmits the touch driving signal (Figure 3, Element 103. Paragraph 29) or the reset signal (Element RST. Paragraph 41) to the light-emitting unit (Figure 3, Elements 101 - 104. Paragraph 29).
Lu et al. is silent with regards to the touch driving signal is transmitted through the touch driving transistor; and in the non-light emitting stage, the touch driving transistor is turned on.
Nho et al. teach the touch driving signal (Figure 7F, Element 708. Paragraph 89) is transmitted through the touch driving transistor (Figure 4A, Element 404. Paragraph 68); and in the non-light emitting stage (Element touch driving. Paragraph 82), the touch driving transistor (Figure 4A, Element 404. Paragraph 68) is turned on.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the touch panel display of Lu et al. with the teachings of touch transistors of Nho et al. The motivation to modify the teaching of Lu et al. with the teachings of Nho et al. is to allow the individual touch sensors to be controlled to turned on and off individually or together, as taught by Nho et al. (Paragraph 68).
Regarding Claim 24, Lu et al. in view of Nho et al. in view of Xian et al. teach the pixel circuit according to claim 21 (See Above). Lu et al. teach wherein the pixel circuit further comprises a light emitting control signal line (Figure 2, Element 106. Paragraph 28) connected with a control end of the light emitting control transistor (Figure 3, Elements 106 - 110. Paragraph 29), and the light emitting control signal line (Figure 2, Element 106. Paragraph 28) is configured to transmit a light emitting control signal to the light emitting control transistor (Figure 3, Elements 106 - 110. Paragraph 29) and the touch driving transistor;
wherein the pixel circuit further comprises a power supply voltage signal line (Figure 2, Element 107. Paragraph 28) and a driving transistor (Figure 7, Element not labeled, but is the driving transistor shown in the pixel circuit. Paragraphs 37 - 39), and
in the light emitting stage, the driving transistor provides a driving current signal to the light-emitting unit (Figure 3, Elements 101 - 104. Paragraph 29) to cause the light-emitting unit (Figure 3, Elements 101 - 104. Paragraph 29) to emit light.
Lu et al. is silent with regards to light emitting control signal line connected with a control end of the touch driving transistor, and the light emitting control signal line is configured to transmit a light emitting control signal to the touch driving transistor; one of the light emitting control transistor and the touch driving transistor is an N-type transistor and the other one is a P-type transistor; wherein the pixel circuit further comprises: the light emitting control transistor comprises a first control transistor and a second control transistor, wherein the light emitting control signal line is connected with control ends of the first control transistor and the second control transistor, a first end of the second control transistor is connected with the power supply voltage signal line, a second end of the second control transistor is connected with a first end of the driving transistor, a first end of the first control transistor is connected with a second end of the driving transistor, and a second end of the first control transistor is connected with the light-emitting unit; in the light emitting stage, the light emitting control signal controls the first control transistor and the second control transistor to be turned on, the driving transistor provides a driving current signal to the light-emitting unit through the first control transistor.
Nho et al. teach light emitting control signal line (Figure 7F, Element 708. Paragraph 89) connected with a control end of the touch driving transistor (Figure 4A, Element 404. Paragraph 68), and the light emitting control signal line (Figure 7F, Element 708. Paragraph 89) is configured to transmit a light emitting control signal (Paragraph 89) to the touch driving transistor (Figure 4A, Element 404. Paragraph 68); and the light emitting control transistor (Figures 3A and 4A, Elements 304 and 404. Paragraph 64) and the touch driving transistor (Figure 4A, Element 404. Paragraph 68).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the touch panel display of Lu et al. with the teachings of touch transistors of Nho et al. The motivation to modify the teaching of Lu et al. with the teachings of Nho et al. is to allow the individual touch sensors to be controlled to turned on and off individually or together, as taught by Nho et al. (Paragraph 68).
Xian et al. teach one transistor and another transistor is an N-type transistor and the other one is a P-type transistor (Paragraph 197); wherein the pixel circuit further comprises: the light emitting control transistor comprises a first control transistor (Figure 3, Element T6. Paragraph 184) and a second control transistor (Figure 3, Element T5. Paragraph 183), wherein the light emitting control signal line (Figure 3, Element EM. Paragraphs 183 – 184) is connected with control ends of the first control transistor (Figure 3, Element T6. Paragraph 184) and the second control transistor (Figure 3, Element T5. Paragraph 183), a first end of the second control transistor (Figure 3, Element T5. Paragraph 183) is connected with the power supply voltage signal line (Figure 3, Element VDD. Paragraph 183), a second end of the second control transistor (Figure 3, Element T5. Paragraph 183) is connected with a first end of the driving transistor (Figure 3, Element T3. Paragraph 183), a first end of the first control transistor (Figure 3, Element T6. Paragraph 184) is connected with a second end of the driving transistor (Figure 3, Element T3. Paragraph 183), and a second end of the first control transistor (Figure 3, Element T6. Paragraph 184) is connected with the light-emitting unit (Figure 3, Element L. Paragraph 184); in the light emitting stage (Figure 4, Element P4. Paragraph 196), the light emitting control signal (Figure 3, Element EM. Paragraphs 183 – 184) controls the first control transistor (Figure 3, Element T6. Paragraph 184) and the second control transistor (Figure 3, Element T5. Paragraph 183) to be turned on (Paragraph 196), the driving transistor (Figure 3, Element T3. Paragraph 183) provides a driving current signal to the light-emitting unit (Figure 3, Element L. Paragraph 184) through (Seen in Figure 3) the first control transistor (Figure 3, Element T6. Paragraph 184).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the touch panel display of Lu et al. and the teachings of touch transistors of Nho et al with the pixel circuit of Xian et al. The motivation to modify the teaching of Lu et al. and Nho et al. with the teachings of Xian et al. is to be able to directly control the light emitting period, as taught by Xian et al. (Paragraph 196).
Claims 12 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2017/0108979) in view of Nho et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2015/0331508) in view of Xian et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2022/0320202) in view of Zhang et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2022/0344420).
Regarding Claim 12, Lu et al. in view of Nho et al. in view of Xian et al. teach the display module according to claim 1 (See Above). Lu et al. is silent with regards to wherein the display module further comprises at least two isolation structures arranged at intervals in a first direction and formed extending along a second direction, the isolation structure comprises an electrically conductive material, the second electrodes are arranged at intervals in the first direction and the second direction, and adjacent second electrodes in the second direction are electrically connected with each other through the isolation structure; the isolation structure is arranged around at least a portion of the pixel opening; the display module comprises a touch sensing signal line electrically connected with the isolation structure, and the touch sensing signal line is configured to receive a touch sensing signal output by the second electrode through the isolation structure; the isolation structure comprises a first end portion and a second end portion opposite to each other in a thickness direction of the display module, the second end portion is located at a side of the first end portion away from the array base plate, and an orthographic projection of the first end portion on the array base plate is located within an orthographic projection of the second end portion on the array base plate; the isolation structure comprises a first isolation portion and a second isolation portion located at a side of the first isolation portion away from the array base plate, the second isolation portion protrudes toward the pixel opening from the first isolation portion, and an orthographic projection of the first isolation portion on the array base plate is located within an orthographic projection of the second isolation portion on the array base plate; the first isolation portion comprises an electrically conductive material, and adjacent second electrodes in the second direction are connected through the first isolation portion.
Zhang et al. is silent with regards to wherein the display module further comprises at least two isolation structures (Figure 7, Element 622. Paragraph 102) arranged at intervals in a first direction and formed extending along a second direction (Seen in Figure 7), the isolation structure (Figure 7, Element 622. Paragraph 102) comprises an electrically conductive material, the second electrodes (Figure 7, Element 622. Paragraph 102) are arranged at intervals in the first direction and the second direction, and adjacent second electrodes (Figure 7, Element 622. Paragraph 102) in the second direction are electrically connected with each other through the isolation structure (Figure 7, Element 622. Paragraph 102);
the isolation structure (Figure 7, Element 622. Paragraph 102) is arranged around at least a portion of the pixel opening (Figure 7, Element not labeled, but is the area outside the first sub-openings (Element 211). Paragraph 79);
the display module comprises a touch sensing signal line (Figure 7, Element 622. Paragraph 102) electrically connected with the isolation structure (Figure 7, Element 622. Paragraph 102), and the touch sensing signal line (Figure 7, Element 622. Paragraph 102) is configured to receive a touch sensing signal output by the second electrode (Figure 7, Element 622. Paragraph 102) through the isolation structure (Figure 7, Element 622. Paragraph 102);
the isolation structure (Figure 7, Element 622. Paragraph 102) comprises a first end portion (Figure 7, Element 622, Sub-Element not labeled, but is the bottom portion of Element 622 between the insulation portions (Element 621). Paragraph 102) and a second end portion (Figure 7, Element 622, Sub-Element not labeled, but is the top portion of Element 622. Paragraph 102) opposite to each other in a thickness direction of the display module, the second end portion (Figure 7, Element 622, Sub-Element not labeled, but is the top portion of Element 622. Paragraph 102) is located at a side of the first end portion (Figure 7, Element 622, Sub-Element not labeled, but is the bottom portion of Element 622 between the insulation portions (Element 621). Paragraph 102) away from the array base plate (Figure 7, Element 11. Paragraph 85), and an orthographic projection of the first end portion (Figure 7, Element 622, Sub-Element not labeled, but is the bottom portion of Element 622 between the insulation portions (Element 621). Paragraph 102) on the array base plate (Figure 7, Element 11. Paragraph 85) is located within (Seen in Figure 7) an orthographic projection of the second end portion (Figure 7, Element 622, Sub-Element not labeled, but is the top portion of Element 622. Paragraph 102) on the array base plate (Figure 7, Element 11. Paragraph 85);
the isolation structure (Figure 7, Element 622. Paragraph 102) comprises a first isolation portion (Figure 7, Element 622, Sub-Element not labeled, but is the bottom portion of Element 622 between the insulation portions (Element 621). Paragraph 102) and a second isolation portion (Figure 7, Element 622, Sub-Element not labeled, but is the top portion of Element 622. Paragraph 102) located at a side of the first isolation portion (Figure 7, Element 622, Sub-Element not labeled, but is the bottom portion of Element 622 between the insulation portions (Element 621). Paragraph 102) away from (Seen in Figure 7) the array base plate (Figure 7, Element 11. Paragraph 85), the second isolation portion (Figure 7, Element 622, Sub-Element not labeled, but is the top portion of Element 622. Paragraph 102) protrudes toward the pixel opening (Figure 7, Element not labeled, but is the area outside the first sub-openings (Element 211). Paragraph 79) from the first isolation portion (Figure 7, Element 622, Sub-Element not labeled, but is the bottom portion of Element 622 between the insulation portions (Element 621). Paragraph 102), and an orthographic projection of the first isolation portion (Figure 7, Element 622, Sub-Element not labeled, but is the bottom portion of Element 622 between the insulation portions (Element 621). Paragraph 102) on the array base plate (Figure 7, Element 11. Paragraph 85) is located within (Seen in Figure 7) an orthographic projection of the second isolation portion (Figure 7, Element 622, Sub-Element not labeled, but is the top portion of Element 622. Paragraph 102) on the array base plate (Figure 7, Element 11. Paragraph 85);
the first isolation portion (Figure 7, Element 622, Sub-Element not labeled, but is the bottom portion of Element 622 between the insulation portions (Element 621). Paragraph 102) comprises an electrically conductive material, and adjacent second electrodes (Figure 7, Element 622. Paragraph 102) in the second direction are connected through the first isolation portion (Figure 7, Element 622, Sub-Element not labeled, but is the bottom portion of Element 622 between the insulation portions (Element 621). Paragraph 102).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the touch panel display of Lu et al., the teachings of touch transistors of Nho et al., and the pixel circuit of Xian et al. with the teachings of the touch electrodes of Zhang et al. The motivation to modify the teaching of Lu et al., Nho et al., and Xian et al. with the teachings of Zhang et al. is to provide a high quality image with low power consumption, as taught by Zhang et al. (Paragraph 2).
Regarding Claim 13, Lu et al. in view of Nho et al. in view of Xian et al. in view of Zhang et al. teach the display module according to claim 12 (See Above). Lu et al. teach wherein the touch sensing signal (Figure 3, Element 101. Paragraph 29) line is further configured to transmit a negative power supply voltage signal (Figure 7, Element ELVSS. Paragraph 41) to the second electrode (Figure 3, Element 101. Paragraph 29) when the light-emitting unit (Figure 3, Elements 101 - 104. Paragraph 29) emits light.
Regarding Claim 14, Lu et al. in view of Nho et al. in view of Xian et al. in view of Zhang et al. teach the display module according to claim 12 (See Above). Lu et al. is silent with regards to wherein the isolation structure is a mesh in shape, and a portion of adjacent second electrodes in the first direction are connected through the isolation structure.
Zhang et al. teach wherein the isolation structure (Figure 7, Element 622. Paragraph 102) is a mesh in shape (Seen in Figure 5), and a portion of adjacent second electrodes (Figure 7, Element 622. Paragraph 102) in the first direction are connected through the isolation structure (Figure 7, Element 622. Paragraph 102).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the touch panel display of Lu et al., the teachings of touch transistors of Nho et al., and the pixel circuit of Xian et al. with the teachings of the touch electrodes of Zhang et al. The motivation to modify the teaching of Lu et al., Nho et al., and Xian et al. with the teachings of Zhang et al. is to provide a high quality image with low power consumption, as taught by Zhang et al. (Paragraph 2).
Regarding Claim 15, Lu et al. in view of Nho et al. in view of Xian et al. in view of Zhang et al. teach the display module according to claim 12 (See Above). Lu et al. is silent with regards to wherein the isolation structure is arranged at a side of the pixel definition portion away from the array base plate, or the pixel definition portion comprises an accommodating slot, and at least a portion of the isolation structure is located in the accommodating slot.
Zhang et al. teach wherein the isolation structure (Figure 7, Element 622. Paragraph 102) is arranged at a side of the pixel definition portion (Figure 7, Element 2. Paragraph 79) away from the array base plate (Figure 7, Element 11. Paragraph 85), or the pixel definition portion comprises an accommodating slot, and at least a portion of the isolation structure is located in the accommodating slot.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the touch panel display of Lu et al., the teachings of touch transistors of Nho et al., and the pixel circuit of Xian et al. with the teachings of the touch electrodes of Zhang et al. The motivation to modify the teaching of Lu et al., Nho et al., and Xian et al. with the teachings of Zhang et al. is to provide a high quality image with low power consumption, as taught by Zhang et al. (Paragraph 2).
Response to Arguments
Regarding the first argument, in which the applicant asserts that the applied prior art of record fails to teach at least the language of Claims 3 and 5. The applicant argues that Figures 4A and 7 fails to disclose the connections of the source and drain of transistor 404 and therefore fails to teach connecting one to the touch plate and the other to the switching matrix. The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant's assertion.
Nho et al. discloses "Silicon substrate 403 can be planar or curved. In step 464, an array of transistors 404 can be formed on substrate 403. Array of transistors 404 can be, for example, thin-film transistors (TFTs) used to drive subpixels 453, 455, and 457 and/or can be used for touch sensing circuitry. In step 468, one or more insulating layers 406, metallization layers 430, and vias 410 can be formed on substrate 403 for additional circuitry and/or to form connections to circuitry (Paragraph 66. Emphasis Added)." Therefore, Nho et al. teaches that the array of transistors are connected to the red, green, blue, and touch sub-pixels.
Nho et al. further discloses "Touch plate 443 can be coupled to touch sensing circuitry by using routing traces 441 and vias 410. In some examples, routing traces 441 for touch sensing circuitry and the touch plate 443 can be formed on the same layer as the anode 418 in a border area of the device. In some examples, touch plate 443 can be coupled to a transistor 404. As will be described shortly, coupling the touch plate 443 to a transistor 404 can be used to switch the touch sensors on or off or can be used to couple touch sensors together. In steps 484 and 486, an adhesive 444 can be disposed and a cover glass 446 can be adhered to the device 400 (Paragraph 68. Emphasis Added)." Therefore, Nho et al. teaches that the touch plates can be connected to the routing traces and the switching array.
Nho et al. discloses "FIG. 7B illustrates an exemplary integrated Silicon-OLED display and touch sensor panel employing mutual-capacitive sensing according to various examples of the disclosure. Device 700 can sense an object such as a finger 799 touching or hover over the display and touch surface 770. The OLED subpixels 753 can display an image 796. At a same time or at a different time, drive touch sensors or drive regions 744 can be coupled to drive circuitry 789. Drive circuitry 789 can transmit drive signals to drive regions 744 (Paragraph 82. Emphasis Added)." Therefore, Nho et al. teaches that the OLED subpixels display an image and at a different time the touch drive sensors are connected to the drive circuitry. This disclosure combined with the disclosure of Paragraph 68 make it clear that transistors 404 are driven to be off when the OLED emit light and on when the OLED don't emit light.
Nho et al. discloses "For example, as illustrated in FIG. 7A, cluster 780 can include 15 groups of subpixels 751 and touch sensors 743, and cluster 782 can include 15 different groups of subpixels 751 and 15 different touch sensors 743. Touch sensors 743 belonging to the same cluster can be coupled together at location 784 and routed using routing trace 786 to touch controller 788. Touch controller 788 can sense a touch or hover at any one of the touch sensors 743 in a cluster. Signals to the touch sensors can be routed through routing traces, vias, and one or more of the underlying metallization layers (such as routing traces 641 of FIGS. 6A-6D) (Paragraph 86. Emphasis Added)." Therefore, Nho et al. teaches that the signals for the touch sensors in the cluster are routed through the traces, vias, and underlying metalization layers.
Nho et al. lastly discloses "Device 700 can include a plurality of clusters such as cluster 780 and 782. Device 700 can include a switching matrix 708 coupled to the touch controller 788. One or more clusters can be coupled to a switch in the switching matrix 708. For example, cluster 780 can be coupled to switch 707, and cluster 782 can be coupled to switch 709. Cluster 780 and cluster 782 can be coupled together through switch 707 and switch 709. In some examples, device 700 can include fewer number of switches than clusters. In some examples, switches 707 and switch 709 can be directly connected to touch sensors within a cluster. In some examples, switches 707 and 709 can be included in the array of transistors (such as array of transistors 604 of FIGS. 6A-6D) and coupled to the touch sensors (such as touch plate 643 of FIGS. 6A-6D) and/or display subpixels (such as subpixels included in OLED stack 650 of FIGS. 6A-6D). In some examples, ESD device 605 can be replaced with switch 707, or switch 707 can be disposed next to ESD device 605 (Paragraph 89. Emphasis Added)." Therefore, Nho et al. teaches that the touch sensing signals for the cluster are routed through a switching matrix.
The examiner notes that a person of ordinary skill in the art would readily distinguish a TFT to contain three connections: a gate, a source, and a drain. A person of ordinary skill in the art also understands that a TFT functions by a "channel" being created when a proper voltage is applied to the gate. Once a channel is created, electrons will flow from the drain to the source depending on the operation of the transistor. The examiner further notes that a person of ordinary skill in the art would also understand that electrons cannot move from gate-source or gate-drain in a properly working transistor. The "punch-through effect" would cause the TFT not to function correctly. Figure 7F of Nho et al. clearly shows switches 707 and 709 connected between the switching matrix (Element 708) and the cluster (Element 780). A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the part in the vertical line (shown as open and/or a straight line for closed). A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the gate controls the open and close, meaning that the other two points are the drain/source. Therefore all the limitations of Claims 1, 3, and 5 have been met. The Office is unmoved by the applicant's assertion and the rejection is maintained.
All other arguments are held moot in light of the above rejection and/or the response to the first argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Teraguchi et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2012/0249454) teach a touch display where the pixel electrode and the sensing electrode have a portion that overlap, similar to the instant invention.
Chou et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2018/0013086) teach a touch display where the display electrodes and the touch electrodes share a common layer, similar to the instant invention.
/A.B.S/Examiner, Art Unit 2625
/WILLIAM BODDIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2625