DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-9 and 17-20 in the reply filed on 8/5/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there would be no undue burden on the Examiner to examine the claims of Group II along with the claims of Group I. This is not found persuasive because the inventions are distinct if either or both of the following can be shown: (1) that the process as claimed can be used to make another and materially different product or (2) that the product as claimed can be made by another and materially different process (MPEP § 806.05(f)). In the instant case
-- the product as claimed can be made by another and materially different
process such as device does not requiring transferring the wavelength
conversion unit to the light-exiting surface in manufacturing.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2016/0190405, hereinafter referred to as Liu).
As to claim 17, Liu teaches 17. A light-emitting component, comprising: a chip, having a light-exiting surface; and a light reflecting layer, surrounding the chip and exposing the light-exiting surface; wherein the light reflecting layer has an upper surface, and the upper surface has a texture extending from the light-exiting surface. [see 320, 340, Fig. 4C for example]
As to claim 18, Liu teaches 18. The light-emitting component according to claim 17, wherein the upper surface is coplanar with the light-exiting surface. [see 320, 340, Fig. 4C for example]
As to claim 19, Liu teaches 19. The light-emitting component according to claim 17, further comprising a first wavelength conversion layer covering the upper surface and the light-exiting surface. [see 360 Fig. 4C for example]
As to claim 20, Liu teaches 20. The light-emitting component according to claim 19, wherein the first wavelength conversion layer fills the texture. [Fig. 1B]
Allowable Subject Matter
1. Claims 1-9 are allowed as explained below.
Reasons for Allowance
2. Independent claim 1 recites the limitation "the wavelength conversion unit being attached to the carrier by the filter layer, the filter layer having a first surface facing the carrier and a second surface facing away from the carrier; wherein the first surface and the second surface have different textures.".
None of the prior art teaches or suggests the above cited limitation in combination with other limitations in the claims, respectively.
Conclusion
Claims 17-20 are rejected as explained above.
Claims 1-9 are allowed as explained above.
The prior art made of record in the PTO-892 form and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/JAEHWAN OH/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899