DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (JP 2012063341 A) in view of D2 (US 20130240732 A1).
With regards to claims 1 and 17, D1 discloses a portable radiation image detection device comprising:
a radiation detection panel 30 configured to detect radiation (Fig. 3);
a holding member 41 configured to hold a power supply 27 (battery) [0066]; and
a casing 26 configured to house the radiation detection panel, the power supply, and the holding member,
wherein the casing includes a top surface portion 26a allowing the radiation to enter the radiation detection panel, a bottom surface portion 26b located on a side opposite to the top surface portion, and a side surface portion 26c-26f connecting the top surface portion and the bottom surface portion [0048] (Fig. 4), and
wherein the side surface portion includes an opening 28a through which the power supply is inserted into and removed from the casing [0050] (Fig. 3).
D1 does not explicitly teach wherein the holding member is a separate part from the casing and fixed to the casing. However, in a similar field of endeavor, D2 also teaches a portable radiation detector comprising a battery latch unit 100 that is separate from the detector’s casing and fixed to the casing [0036]. It would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify D1 with the claimed holding member as taught by D2 in order to provide improved battery retention.
With regards to claim 14, D1 discloses further comprising a fixing member (engagement claw) configured to fix the power supply to the holding member [0066].
With regards to claims 15 and 16, D1 does not teach the claimed reinforcing rib. However, those skilled in the art recognize that reinforcing ribs were generally known in the art and would have been an obvious modification in order to improve the holding members’ rigidity and mechanical strength. In view of the recited benefits, it would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify D1 with the claimed configurations.
With regards to claims 18-20, D1 does not teach the claimed holding portion. However, such a modification would have been known and considered obvious in view of precisely positioning the power supply in a desired position. Therefore, it would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify D1 with the claimed configurations in view of the recited benefit.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Prior art does not teach the holding member according to the claimed dimensions.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20200100739 A1 teaches a portable X-ray detector comprising a side insertable battery.
/MARCUS H TANINGCO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884