CTNF 18/675,571 CTNF 86610 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: replace “the device” with “the control device” in lines 1-2 . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION —The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claim 4-5, 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. As of claim 4, the limitation “the controller determines the lower limit value based on a first table, a first threshold temperature of the phosphor wheel, and the atmospheric pressure information, and the first table shows a relationship among a plurality of atmospheric pressure conditions, the rotational speed of the phosphor wheel, and a temperature of the phosphor wheel” is arbitrary and vague. The table in fig. 4 (first table 30) shows different rotational speeds (R1-R7) with respect to pressure (P1-P6) and temperature (T1-T9). However, it is unclear how does the controller determines the rotational speed of the phosphor wheel, and a temperature of the phosphor wheel based on which particular first threshold temperature and the which particular atmospheric pressure. PGPUB [0044] shows the “a lower limit value (Is R1 the lowest value?) of the settable range of the rotational speed of phosphor wheel 20 is determined based on first threshold temperature TL1 (any value between T1-T9) of phosphor wheel 20”. Similarly, PGPUB [0046] shows the “the lower limit values of rotational speeds R under atmospheric pressure conditions P1 to P6 are set to rotational speeds R7, R7, R6, R4, R3, and R1 (is R1 the lowest value of the rotations speed?), respectively”. For the purpose of the examination, the Examiner has interpreted “the controller determines the lower limit value based on a first table, a first threshold temperature of the phosphor wheel, and the atmospheric pressure information, and the first table shows a relationship among a plurality of atmospheric pressure conditions, the rotational speed of the phosphor wheel, and a temperature of the phosphor wheel” as “the controller controls the rotational speed of the phosphor wheel based on the atmospheric pressure information and the temperature information”. Claims 5, 12-13 are rejected as being dependent on claim 4. As of claim 5, the limitation “the controller selects an atmospheric pressure condition corresponding to the atmospheric pressure information from among the plurality of atmospheric pressure conditions by using the first table, and determines, as the lower limit value, a lowest rotational speed among rotational speeds corresponding to temperatures less than or equal to the first threshold temperature under the selected atmospheric pressure condition” is arbitrary and vague. Which is considered as the lower limit of “an atmospheric pressure condition corresponding to the atmospheric pressure information from among the plurality of atmospheric pressure conditions by using the first table ” and “a lowest rotational speed among rotational speeds corresponding to temperatures less than or equal to the first threshold temperature under the selected atmospheric pressure condition”? PGPUB [0044] shows the “a lower limit value (Is R1 the lowest value?) of the settable range of the rotational speed of phosphor wheel 20 is determined based on first threshold temperature TL1 (any value between T1-T9) of phosphor wheel 20”. Similarly, PGPUB [0046] shows the “the lower limit values of rotational speeds R under atmospheric pressure conditions P1 to P6 are set to rotational speeds R7, R7, R6, R4, R3, and R1 (is R1 the lowest value of the rotations speed?), respectively”. For the purpose of the examination, the Examiner has interpreted “the controller selects an atmospheric pressure condition corresponding to the atmospheric pressure information from among the plurality of atmospheric pressure conditions by using the first table, and determines, as the lower limit value, a lowest rotational speed among rotational speeds corresponding to temperatures less than or equal to the first threshold temperature under the selected atmospheric pressure condition” as “the controller controls the rotational speed of the phosphor wheel based on the atmospheric pressure information and the temperature information”. Claims 12-13 are rejected as being dependent on claim 5. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or non-obviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-3, 6, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ASANO (US 2018/0095348 A1) in view of KATO (US 2020/0319540 A1) . As of claim 1, ASANO teaches a control device for controlling a rotational speed [0092]of a phosphor wheel 10 (light conversion device) [fig 2] [0092], the device 10 [fig 2] comprising: an atmospheric pressure sensor (pneumatic sensor) [0093] that acquires atmospheric pressure information (the pneumatic sensor detects the atmospheric pressure automatically) indicating an atmospheric pressure around the phosphor wheel 10 [fig 2]; and controls the rotational speed of the phosphor wheel 10 [fig 2] based on the atmospheric pressure information (a rotational control may be performed in accordance with usage environments such as an ambient temperature and an atmospheric pressure measured by pneumatic sensor) [0092]. ASANO does not teach a controller that controls the rotational speed of the phosphor wheel. KATO teaches a projector 1 having a controller 15 (rotational phase control unit) [fig 1] [0037] that controls the rotational speed (rotational phase control unit 15 detects the rotational speed and the phase of phosphor wheel 13 when the rotational speed of phosphor wheel 13 is changed. Further, rotational phase control unit 15 outputs the rotational speed and phase of color wheel 14 in accordance with the detected rotational speed) [0037] of the phosphor wheel 13 [fig 1]. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a controller that controls the rotational speed of the phosphor wheel as taught by KATO to the control device as disclosed by ASANO to prevent a change in color in an image to be projected by the projector when the rotational speed of the phosphor wheel is changed (KATO; [0017]). As of claim 2, ASANO teaches a rotational control is performed upon power activation of the light conversion device based on a pneumatic sensor in order to detect the atmospheric pressure automatically [0093]. ASANO did not specifically teach the controller determines a settable range of the rotational speed in accordance with the atmospheric pressure indicated by the atmospheric pressure information. However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the controller determines a settable range of the rotational speed in accordance with the atmospheric pressure indicated by the atmospheric pressure information based on the look-up table in the memory of the controller as a design choice ( Rearrangement of Parts; MPEP 2144.04 VI C) in order to keep the rotational speed of the phosphor wheel steady. As of claim 3, ASANO teaches a rotational control is performed upon power activation of the light conversion device based on a pneumatic sensor in order to detect the atmospheric pressure automatically [0093]. ASANO did not specifically teach the controller increases a lower limit value of the settable range of the rotational speed as the atmospheric pressure indicated by the atmospheric pressure information decreases. However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the controller increases a lower limit value of the settable range of the rotational speed as the atmospheric pressure indicated by the atmospheric pressure information decreases based on the look-up table in the memory of the controller as a design choice ( Rearrangement of Parts; MPEP 2144.04 VI C) in order to keep the rotational speed of the phosphor wheel steady. As of claim 6, ASANO teaches rotational control is performed in accordance with usage environments such as an ambient temperature and an atmospheric pressure [0093]. ASANO does not specifically teach the controller sets the rotational speed to the lower limit value. However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the controller sets the rotational speed to the lower limit value based on the look-up table in the memory of the controller as a design choice ( Rearrangement of Parts; MPEP 2144.04 VI C) to perform a voltage control that increases the fan voltage of the Sirocco fan or to perform PWM control that increases the number of fan rotations thereof to increase the air volume of the fan for reinforcement of cooling. As of claim 14, ASANO teaches a projection display device 1 [fig 1] comprising: and the phosphor wheel 10 [fig 2] . Allowable Subject Matter Claims 4-5, 7-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if earlier 112(b) rejection would be successfully overcome and if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. As of claim 4, the closest prior art ASANO (US 2018/0095348 A1) teaches a projector 1 which includes a light source apparatus 100, an image generating system 400 that generates an image on the basis of light emitted from the light source apparatus 100, and a projection optical system 600. The image generating system 400 includes an image generating section that generates an image on the basis of irradiation light, and an illumination optical system 420 that irradiates the image generating section with the light emitted from the light source apparatus 100. The image generating section includes a red-light valve 410R, a green light valve 410G, a blue light valve 410B, and a dichroic prism 540 that synthesizes pieces of light from the respective light valves 410R, 410G, and 410B. The light valves 410R, 410G, and 410B are each configured by a transmissive liquid crystal display element, for example. The illumination optical system 420 includes an integrator element 430, a polarization conversion element 440, a condensing lens 450, dichroic mirrors 460 and 470, mirrors 480, 490, and 500, relay lenses 510 and 520, and field lenses 530R, 530G, and 530B. The light valves 410R, 410G, and 410B are each electrically coupled to a signal source of an unillustrated image reproducer, for example, that supplies an image signal including image information. The light valves 410R, 410G, and 410B each modulate pieces of the incident light pixel by pixel on the basis of the supplied image signals of respective colors to generate images of the respective colors. In other words, the light valve 410R generates a red image. The light valve 410G generates a green image. The light valve 410B generates a blue image. Pieces of modulated image light of respective colors enter the dichroic prism 540 and are synthesized together. The dichroic prism 540 superposes and synthesizes together the pieces of image light of the respective colors that have been incident from three directions, and outputs the synthesized pieces of light toward the projection optical system 600. ASANO does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, the controller determines the lower limit value based on a first table, a first threshold temperature of the phosphor wheel, and the atmospheric pressure information, and the first table shows a relationship among a plurality of atmospheric pressure conditions, the rotational speed of the phosphor wheel, and a temperature of the phosphor wheel. Claims 5, 12-13 would be allowed as being dependent on claim 4. As of claim 7, the closest prior art ASANO (US 2018/0095348 A1) teaches a projector 1 which includes a light source apparatus 100, an image generating system 400 that generates an image on the basis of light emitted from the light source apparatus 100, and a projection optical system 600. The image generating system 400 includes an image generating section that generates an image on the basis of irradiation light, and an illumination optical system 420 that irradiates the image generating section with the light emitted from the light source apparatus 100. The image generating section includes a red-light valve 410R, a green light valve 410G, a blue light valve 410B, and a dichroic prism 540 that synthesizes pieces of light from the respective light valves 410R, 410G, and 410B. The light valves 410R, 410G, and 410B are each configured by a transmissive liquid crystal display element, for example. The illumination optical system 420 includes an integrator element 430, a polarization conversion element 440, a condensing lens 450, dichroic mirrors 460 and 470, mirrors 480, 490, and 500, relay lenses 510 and 520, and field lenses 530R, 530G, and 530B. The light valves 410R, 410G, and 410B are each electrically coupled to a signal source of an unillustrated image reproducer, for example, that supplies an image signal including image information. The light valves 410R, 410G, and 410B each modulate pieces of the incident light pixel by pixel on the basis of the supplied image signals of respective colors to generate images of the respective colors. In other words, the light valve 410R generates a red image. The light valve 410G generates a green image. The light valve 410B generates a blue image. Pieces of modulated image light of respective colors enter the dichroic prism 540 and are synthesized together. The dichroic prism 540 superposes and synthesizes together the pieces of image light of the respective colors that have been incident from three directions, and outputs the synthesized pieces of light toward the projection optical system 600. ASANO does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, a temperature sensor that acquires temperature information indicating a temperature of the phosphor wheel, wherein the controller controls the rotational speed of the phosphor wheel based on the atmospheric pressure information and the temperature information. Claims 8-11 would be allowable as being dependent on claim 7. Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure : - Prior Art ARAI et al. (US 20200371415 A1) teaches a light source device which comprises: an excitation light source configured to generate excitation light; a wavelength conversion member including a base and a phosphor layer which is provided on the base and configured to convert the excitation light into fluorescence; and a converging optical system including a converging lens for converging the excitation light on the phosphor layer, wherein the light source device further comprises a housing for accommodating the wavelength conversion member, the excitation light source is provided outside the housing, a wall surface of the housing includes a lens hole into which the converging lens is inserted, and the converging lens which is inserted into the lens hole and the wall surface of the housing isolate an internal space of the housing from an outer space of the housing; - Prior Art NISHIMORI et al. (US 20160377969 A1) teaches a light source device includes a light source section that emits laser beam, a member reducing light quantity unevenness of the laser beam, a diffusion member that is provided in a traveling optical path of the laser beam between the light source section and the member reducing light quantity unevenness and diffuses the laser beam, a detection element that detects a physical characteristic of the diffusion member and outputs a state detecting signal, and an abnormal state determiner that determines an abnormal state of the diffusion member based on the state detecting signal. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SULTAN U. CHOWDHURY whose telephone number is (571)270-3336. The examiner can normally be reached on 5:30 AM-5:30 PM. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Minh-Toan Ton can be reached on 571-272-2303. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /SULTAN CHOWDHURY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882 Application/Control Number: 18/675,571 Page 2 Art Unit: 2882 Application/Control Number: 18/675,571 Page 3 Art Unit: 2882 Application/Control Number: 18/675,571 Page 4 Art Unit: 2882 Application/Control Number: 18/675,571 Page 5 Art Unit: 2882 Application/Control Number: 18/675,571 Page 6 Art Unit: 2882 Application/Control Number: 18/675,571 Page 7 Art Unit: 2882 Application/Control Number: 18/675,571 Page 8 Art Unit: 2882 Application/Control Number: 18/675,571 Page 9 Art Unit: 2882 Application/Control Number: 18/675,571 Page 10 Art Unit: 2882 Application/Control Number: 18/675,571 Page 11 Art Unit: 2882 Application/Control Number: 18/675,571 Page 12 Art Unit: 2882