Response to Amendment
This action is responsive to applicant’s amendment and remarks received on 06/25/2026. Claims 2-20 have been presented for examination. Claims 2, 8, and 15 have been amended. Claims 2-20 have been examined.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong (Pub. No.: 2018/0207480 A1) in view of Saigh (Pub. No.: 2017/0224214 A1), Lochmann (Pub. No.: 2021/0052966 A1) and Aldossary (Pub. No.: 2016/0055726 A1).
1) In regard to claim 2, Hong discloses the claimed protection system (fig. 3), comprising:
a structure having an inner and outer surface (fig. 3a: 300 and fig. 3b: 300);
haptic devices positioned with respect to one or both of the inner and outer surface, the haptic devices configured to selectively generate haptic signals (figs. 3 & 4: 306/330 and ¶0092) according to predetermined patterns that may be sensed by a wearer of the protection system (¶0092).
Hong does not explicitly disclose the predetermined patterns comprise haptic signals generated at different predetermined times on different haptic devices to cause a propagation of the haptic signals from one of the haptic devices positioned proximate the first side of the structure to one f the haptic devices positioned proximate a second side of the structure over time and wherein the predetermined patterns correspond to a physical position of the protection system in relation to a zone variably dependent on another person or object.
However, Saigh discloses it has been known for a wearable device to provide haptic signals with predetermined patterns (¶0039 discloses the haptic signal may indicate height, right, left, front, back etc.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to allow the system of Hong to provide haptic signals with different patterns, as taught by Saigh.
One skilled in the art would be motivated to modify Hong as described above in order to allow the wearable device to provide a plurality of messages to the wearer of the device.
Furthermore, Lochmann discloses it is known for a wearable device to have a pattern correspond to a physical position of the wearable system in relation to a zone variably dependent on another person or object (¶0013-¶0014).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to allow the system of Hong to provide a position of a zone via the system, as taught by Lochmann.
One skilled in the art would be motivated to modify Hong as described above in order to pass information from a player to a coach, as taught by Lochmann (¶0003).
Lastly, Aldossary discloses it has been known for a tactile communication system to cause a propagation of the haptic signals from one of the haptic devices positioned proximate the first side of the structure to one of the haptic devices positioned proximate a second side of the structure over time (fig. 5 and ¶0036).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to allow the system of Hong to cause a propagation of the haptic signals, as taught by Aldossary.
One skilled in the art would be motivated to modify Hong as described above in order to allow users to feel the information, enabling less disruption to their physical activity in certain cases, as taught by Aldossary (¶0025).
2) In regard to claim 3 (dependent on claim 2), Hong, Saigh, Lochmann and Aldossary further disclose the protection system of claim 2, wherein the haptic devices are embedded in one or more soft members spaced apart from the inner surface (Saigh fig. 3 shows the haptic devices are embedded in the soft member).
3) In regard to claim 4 (dependent on claim 2), Hong, Saigh, Lochmann and Aldossary further disclose the protection system of claim 2, wherein the predetermined patterns individually correspond to selectable instructions for the wearer of the protection system (Saigh ¶0039).
4) In regard to claim 5 (dependent on claim 2), Hong, Saigh, Lochmann and Aldossary further disclose the protection system of claim 2, further comprising a wireless receiver (Hong fig. 4: 320), operatively coupled to the haptic devices, configured to receive a signal and output an output signal (Hong ¶0127-¶0128) configured to cause the haptic devices to generate the haptic signals according to a selected one of the predetermined patterns (Saigh ¶0039 and ¶0141).
5) In regard to claim 6 (dependent on claim 5), Hong, Saigh, Lochmann and Aldossary further disclose the protection system of claim 5, wherein the wireless receiver is configured to output the output signal based, at least in part, on a proximity to an external reference point (Hong ¶0127-¶0128).
6) In regard to claim 7 (dependent on claim 5), Hong, Saigh, Lochmann and Aldossary further disclose the protection system of claim 5, wherein the wireless receiver is configured to output the output signal based, at least in part, on a command received from a processor via a wireless transmitted configured to communicate with the wireless receiver (Hong ¶0127-¶0128).
7) In regard to claim 8, claim 8 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 2 and the references applied.
8) In regard to claim 9 (dependent on claim 8), claim 9 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 5 and the references applied.
9) In regard to claim 10 (dependent on claim 9), Hong, Saigh, Lochmann and Aldossary further disclose the system of claim 9, wherein individual ones of the predetermined patterns correspond to instructions for the wearer of the protective apparatus and further comprising: a user interface, operatively coupled to the processor, configured to: present instructions to a user related to the wearer of the protective apparatus; and receive a selection of one of the instructions, wherein the processor is configured to cause the haptic devices to deliver the haptic signals according to one of the predetermined patterns corresponding to the one of the instructions as selected (Lochmann ¶0038).
10) In regard to claim 11 (dependent on claim 10), Hong, Saigh, Lochmann and Aldossary further disclose the system of claim 10, further composing the wireless transmitter (fig. 2: 222 and ¶0077).
11) In regard to claim 12 (dependent on claim 11), Hong, Saigh, Lochmann and Aldossary further disclose the system of claim 11, wherein the processor is configured to cause the haptic devices to generate one of the predetermined patterns based on a location of the wireless transmitter (Lochmann ¶0013-¶0014).
12) In regard to claim 13 (dependent on claim 12), Hong, Saigh, Lochmann and Aldossary further disclose the system of claim 12, wherein the location of the wireless transmitter is relative to an external reference point (Lochmann ¶0013-¶0014).
13) In regard to claim 14 (dependent on claim 12), Hong, Saigh, Lochmann and Aldossary further disclose the system of claim 12, wherein the location is based on a location on a sporting field (Lochmann ¶0013-¶0014).
14) In regard to claim 15, claim 15 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 2 and the references applied.
15) In regard to claim 16 (dependent on claim 15), Hong, Saigh, Lochmann and Aldossary further disclose the method of claim 15, further comprising: communicating wirelessly between a wireless receiver of the protection system and a wireless transmitter operatively coupled to the processor to communicatively couple the processor with the haptic devices (Lochmann ¶0038).
16) In regard to claim 17 (dependent on claim 16), Hong, Saigh, Lochmann and Aldossary further disclose the method of claim 16, wherein individual ones of the predetermined patterns correspond to instructions for the wearer of the protection system and further comprising: presenting, on a user interface operatively coupled to the processor, instructions to a user related to the wearer of the protection system; and receiving, with the user interface, a selection of one of the instructions; wherein causing the haptic devices to deliver the haptic signals is according to one of the predetermined patterns corresponding to the one of the instructions as selected (Lochmann ¶0038).
17) In regard to claim 18 (dependent on claim 17), Hong, Saigh, Lochmann and Aldossary further disclose the method of claim 17, wherein causing the haptic devices to generate one of the predetermined patterns is based on a location of the wireless transmitter (Lochmann ¶0013-¶0014).
18) In regard to claim 19 (dependent on claim 18), Hong, Saigh, Lochmann and Aldossary further disclose the method of claim 18, wherein the location of the wireless transmitter is relative to an external reference point (Lochmann ¶0013-¶0014).
19) In regard to claim 20 (dependent on claim 18), Hong, Saigh, Lochmann and Aldossary further disclose the method of claim 18, wherein the location is based on a location on a spotting field (Lochmann ¶0013-¶0014).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the amended claims, based solely on the amendments to the claims, have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of the references including new prior art being used in the current new grounds of rejection for the newly added limitations to the claims.
Conclusion
/CURTIS J KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685