DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on 08/19/2025 have been entered. Claims 41-72 remain pending in the application, with Claims 69-72 being newly added and Claims 41, 67, and 68 being newly amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 41-47, 52-56, and 60-69 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Chapdelaine (US 3877077) in view of LaBerge et al. (US 5093931).
Regarding Claim 41, Chapdelaine teaches a hockey goalkeeper leg pad (see fig. 1) wearable on a leg of a hockey goalkeeper to protect the leg, the hockey goalkeeper leg pad comprising an upper leg portion (see annotated Fig.), a knee portion (see annotated Fig.), a lower leg portion (see annotated Fig.), and a foot portion (30) respectively configured to protect an upper leg region, a knee, a lower leg region, and a foot of the hockey goalkeeper (Annotated fig. shows the respective portions respectively configured to protect the above regions of the hockey goalkeeper; col. 1 ll. 20-24 teaches “This face is a one-piece molding, and it is backed up by a thick foamed cellular soft pad which has at the rear face thereof a longitudinal semicylindrical groove to fit the leg and knee and at the bottom it has a cut-out to fit the ankle.”), the hockey goalkeeper leg pad comprising padding (14) disposed in the upper leg portion, the knee portion, the lower leg portion, and the foot portion (annotated fig. 2 shows the padding (14) disposed in each claimed portion), the hockey goalkeeper leg pad comprising: a front portion (see annotated Fig.) configured to overlie a front of the hockey goalkeeper's leg and comprising a front pad member (see annotated Fig.) of the padding (annotated figs. 2 and 6 show the front portion including a front pad member and configured to overlie the front of a goal keeper’s leg); -a side portion (see annotated Fig.) configured to overlie a side of the hockey goalkeeper's leg and comprising a side extension (see annotated Fig.) that projects rearwardly from the front portion and comprises a side pad member (see annotated Fig.) of the padding (annotated figs. 2 and 6 show the side portion including a side extension and a side pad member projecting rearwardly and configured to overlie the side of a goal keeper’s leg); wherein: the hockey goalkeeper leg pad comprises a reinforcement (10) disposed in the front portion and the side portion (figs. 1, 2, and 6 show the reinforcement (10) disposed in the front and side portions); the front portion comprises a front reinforcing member (see annotated Fig.) of the reinforcement; the front reinforcing member is adjacent to and stiffer than the front pad member; the side portion comprises a side reinforcing member (see annotated Fig.) of the reinforcement; the side reinforcing member is adjacent to and stiffer than the side pad member (annotated fig. 6 shows the front reinforcing member being adjacent to the front pad member and the side reinforcing member being adjacent to the side pad member; col. 1 ll. 58-65 teaches “the present device is made of two separate pieces, a molded plastic, sheet-like front protective face or layer generally indicated at 10 and which is in the form of a shell having a rim thereabout as indicated at 12, forming an elongated rectangular container for the soft, cellular, foamed, backing-up protector member generally indicated at 14,” therein the front and side reinforcing members, collectively referred to as the protective layer of molded plastic, are clearly more rigid than the soft padding that makes up the front and side pad members); and the front reinforcing member and the side reinforcing member are interconnected and define an angle therebetween (annotated figs. 4 and 6 show the front and side reinforcing members being interconnected and defining an angle therebetween).
Chapdelaine does not teach the hockey goalkeeper leg pad comprising a covering that covers at least part of the padding.
Attention is drawn to LaBerge et al., which teaches an analogous article of padding. LaBerge et al. teaches a hockey goalkeeper leg pad (10) wearable on a leg of a hockey goalkeeper to protect the leg (col. 1 ll. 61-64 teaches “A second component is an interior backing pad having a deep channel for receipt of the leg of the hockey player,” therein the leg pad is clearly wearable on the leg of a goalkeeper for protection), the hockey goalkeeper leg pad comprising an upper leg portion (see annotated Fig.), a knee portion (see annotated Fig.), a lower leg portion (see annotated Fig.), and a foot portion (see annotated Fig.) respectively configured to protect an upper leg region, a knee, a lower leg region, and a foot of the hockey goalkeeper (annotated fig. 1 shows each portion respectively positioned to cover the corresponding region of the hock goalkeeper’s leg), the hockey goalkeeper leg pad comprising padding (30, 42) disposed in the upper leg portion, the knee portion, the lower leg portion, and the foot portion (figs. 2 and 3 show each portion comprising padding), the hockey goalkeeper leg pad comprising a covering (28, 32) that covers at least part of the padding (fig. 6 shows the covering (28, 32) covering at least part of the padding (30, 42)), the hockey goalkeeper leg pad comprising: - a front portion (see annotated Fig.) configured to overlie a front of the hockey goalkeeper's leg and comprising a front pad member (42) of the padding (annotated fig. 1 and 6 shows the front portion configured to overlie a front of a wearer’s leg and including a front pad member (42)); - a side portion (see annotated Fig.) configured to overlie a side of the hockey goalkeeper's leg and comprising a side extension that projects rearwardly from the front portion and comprises a side pad member of the padding (30) (annotated figs. 2 and 6 show the side portion being configured to overlie a side of the wearer’s leg and comprising a side extension that projects rearwardly from the front portion and comprising a side pad member of the padding (30)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chapdelaine to include the teachings of LaBerge et al. such that the hockey goalkeeper leg pad has a covering that covers at least part of the padding so as to protect the padding and prolong its use by reducing wear and tear.
Regarding Claim 42, Chapdelaine teaches all of the limitations of the hockey goalkeeper leg pad of Claim 41, as discussed in the rejections above. Chapdelaine further teaches wherein the angle between the front reinforcing member (see annotated Fig.) and the side reinforcing member (see annotated Fig.) is between 60 and 120 (annotated fig. 6 shows angle between the front and side reinforcing members being between 60 and 120 degrees).
Regarding Claim 43, Chapdelaine teaches all of the limitations of the hockey goalkeeper leg pad of Claim 41, as discussed in the rejections above. Chapdelaine further teaches wherein the angle between the front reinforcing member (see annotated Fig.) and the side reinforcing member (see annotated Fig.) is between 80 and 100 (annotated fig. 6 shows angle between the front and side reinforcing members being between 80 and 100 degrees).
Regarding Claim 44, Chapdelaine teaches all of the limitations of the hockey goalkeeper leg pad of Claim 41, as discussed in the rejections above. Chapdelaine further teaches wherein the angle between the front reinforcing member (see annotated Fig.) and the side reinforcing member (see annotated Fig.) is about 90 (annotated fig. 6 shows angle between the front and side reinforcing members being about 90 degrees).
Regarding Claim 45, Chapdelaine teaches all of the limitations of the hockey goalkeeper leg pad of Claim 41, as discussed in the rejections above. Chapdelaine further teaches wherein the front reinforcing member (see annotated Fig.) and the side reinforcing member (see annotated Fig.) are substantially perpendicular to one another (Annotated fig. 6 shows the front and side reinforcing members being substantially perpendicular to one another).
Regarding Claim 46, Chapdelaine teaches all of the limitations of the hockey goalkeeper leg pad of Claim 41, as discussed in the rejections above. Chapdelaine further teaches wherein the front pad (see annotated Fig.) member and the side pad member (see annotated Fig.) are integrally formed with one another (annotated fig. 6 shows the front and side pad members being integrally formed with one another).
Regarding Claim 47, Chapdelaine teaches all of the limitations of the hockey goalkeeper leg pad of Claim 41, as discussed in the rejections above. Chapdelaine further teaches wherein the front pad member (see annotated Fig.) and the side pad member (see annotated Fig.) are contiguous (annotated fig. 6 shows the front and side pad members being contiguous with one another).
Regarding Claim 52, Chapdelaine teaches all of the limitations of the hockey goalkeeper leg pad of Claim 41, as discussed in the rejections above. Chapdelaine further teaches wherein the side pad member (see annotated Fig.) is thicker than the front pad member (see annotated Fig.) where the side portion projects rearwardly from the front portion (Annotated fig. 6 shows the side pad member being thicker than the front pad member where the side portion projects rearwardly from the front portion).
Regarding Claim 53, Chapdelaine teaches all of the limitations of the hockey goalkeeper leg pad of Claim 41, as discussed in the rejections above. Chapdelaine further teaches wherein the reinforcement comprises a bracket including the front reinforcing member and the side reinforcing member (annotated fig. 6 shows the reinforcement being a bracket including the front and side reinforcing members as the reinforcement is a structure using the strengthen the angle of the leg pad).
Regarding Claim 54, Chapdelaine teaches all of the limitations of the hockey goalkeeper leg pad of Claim 41, as discussed in the rejections above. Chapdelaine further teaches wherein the reinforcement is L-shaped (annotated fig. 6 shows the reinforcement being L-shaped).
Regarding Claim 55, Chapdelaine teaches all of the limitations of the hockey goalkeeper leg pad of Claim 41, as discussed in the rejections above. Chapdelaine further teaches wherein the front reinforcing member (see annotated Fig.) and the side reinforcing member (see annotated Fig.) are integrally formed with one another (annotated fig. 6 shows the front and side reinforcing members being integrally formed with one another).
Regarding Claim 56, Chapdelaine teaches all of the limitations of the hockey goalkeeper leg pad of Claim 41, as discussed in the rejections above. Chapdelaine further teaches wherein the front reinforcing member (see annotated Fig.) and the side reinforcing member (see annotated Fig.) are fastened together (annotated figs. 2 and 4 show the front and side reinforcing members being fastened to one another by the padding (14)).
Regarding Claim 60, Chapdelaine teaches all of the limitations of the hockey goalkeeper leg pad of Claim 41, as discussed in the rejections above. Chapdelaine further teaches wherein the reinforcement comprises a rib (see annotated Fig.) extending from the front reinforcing member to the side reinforcing member (annotated figs. 1 and 4 show the rib extending from the front to the side reinforcing member).
Regarding Claim 61, Chapdelaine teaches all of the limitations of the hockey goalkeeper leg pad of Claim 41, as discussed in the rejections above. Chapdelaine further teaches wherein the reinforcement comprises a plurality of ribs (see annotated Fig.) extending from the front reinforcing member to the side reinforcing member (annotated figs. 1 and 4 show the ribs extending from the front to the side reinforcing member).
Regarding Claim 62, Chapdelaine teaches all of the limitations of the hockey goalkeeper leg pad of Claim 41, as discussed in the rejections above. Chapdelaine further teaches wherein the side portion is a medial side portion, the side of the hockey goalkeeper's leg is a medial side of the hockey goalkeeper's leg, the side extension is a medial side extension, and the side pad member is a medial side pad member (annotated fig. 2 shows the side portion being a medial side portion).
Regarding Claim 63, Chapdelaine teaches all of the limitations of the hockey goalkeeper leg pad of Claim 62, as discussed in the rejections above. Chapdelaine further teaches wherein the medial side portion includes a medial side knee part (see annotated Fig.) of the knee portion, the medial side extension is a medial side knee extension, and the medial side pad member is a medial side knee pad member (annotated figs. 2 and 4 show the medial side portion including a medial side knee part, the medial side extension being a medial side knee extension, and the medial side pad member being a medial side knee pad).
Regarding Claim 64, Chapdelaine teaches all of the limitations of the hockey goalkeeper leg pad of Claim 41, as discussed in the rejections above. Chapdelaine further teaches wherein: the side extension is a first side extension; the side pad member is a first side pad member; and the side portion comprises a second side extension that projects rearwardly from the front portion and comprises a second side pad member of the padding (annotated fig. 2 shows the first and second side extension both projecting rearwardly from the front portion and comprising a first and a second side pad member, respectively).
Regarding Claim 65, Chapdelaine teaches all of the limitations of the hockey goalkeeper leg pad of Claim 64, as discussed in the rejections above. Chapdelaine further teaches wherein the side portion is a medial side portion, the side of the hockey goalkeeper's leg is a medial side of the hockey goalkeeper's leg, the first side extension is a medial side knee extension, the first side pad member is a medial side knee pad member, the second side extension is a medial side calf extension, and the second side pad member is a medial side calf pad member (annotated fig. 2 shows the side being a medial side, the first side extension and pad member being for a medial side knee and the second side extension and pad member being for a medial side calf).
Regarding Claim 66, Chapdelaine teaches all of the limitations of the hockey goalkeeper leg pad of Claim 65, as discussed in the rejections above. Chapdelaine further teaches wherein: the reinforcement is a first reinforcement (see annotated Fig.); the hockey goalkeeper leg pad comprises a second reinforcement (see annotated Fig.) disposed in the front portion and the side portion (Annotated figs. 1 and 4 show the second reinforcement disposed in the front and side portion); the front portion comprises a front reinforcing member (see annotated Fig.) of the second reinforcement; the front reinforcing member of the second reinforcement is adjacent to and stiffer than the front pad member; the side portion comprises a side reinforcing member (see annotated Fig.) of the second reinforcement; the side reinforcing member of the second reinforcement is adjacent to and stiffer than the medial side calf pad member (annotated fig. 6 shows the second front reinforcing member being adjacent to the front pad member and the side reinforcing member being adjacent to the side pad member; col. 1 ll. 58-65 teaches “the present device is made of two separate pieces, a molded plastic, sheet-like front protective face or layer generally indicated at 10 and which is in the form of a shell having a rim thereabout as indicated at 12, forming an elongated rectangular container for the soft, cellular, foamed, backing-up protector member generally indicated at 14,” therein the front and side reinforcing members, collectively referred to as the protective layer of molded plastic are clearly more rigid than the soft padding that makes up the front and side pad members); and the front reinforcing member and the side reinforcing member of the second reinforcement are interconnected and define an angle therebetween (annotated figs. 3 and 6 show the second front and side reinforcing members being interconnected and defining an angle therebetween).
Regarding Claim 67, Chapdelaine teaches a hockey goalkeeper leg pad (see fig. 1) wearable on a leg of a hockey goalkeeper to protect the leg, the hockey goalkeeper leg pad comprising an upper leg portion (see annotated Fig.), a knee portion (see annotated Fig.), a lower leg portion (see annotated Fig.), and a foot portion (30) respectively configured to protect an upper leg region, a knee, a lower leg region, and a foot of the hockey goalkeeper (Annotated fig. shows the respective portions respectively configured to protect the above regions of the hockey goalkeeper; col. 1 ll. 20-24 teaches “This face is a one-piece molding, and it is backed up by a thick foamed cellular soft pad which has at the rear face thereof a longitudinal semicylindrical groove to fit the leg and knee and at the bottom it has a cut-out to fit the ankle.”), the hockey goalkeeper leg pad comprising padding (14) disposed in the upper leg portion, the knee portion, the lower leg portion, and the foot portion (annotated fig. 2 shows the padding (14) disposed in each claimed portion), the hockey goalkeeper leg pad comprising: a front portion (see annotated Fig.) configured to overlie a front of the hockey goalkeeper's leg and comprising a front pad member (see annotated Fig.) of the padding (annotated figs. 2 and 6 show the front portion including a front pad member and configured to overlie the front of a goal keeper’s leg); a medial side portion (see annotated Fig.) configured to overlie a medial side of the hockey goalkeeper's leg and comprising a medial side knee extension (see annotated Fig.) that projects rearwardly from the front portion and comprises a medial side knee pad member (see annotated Fig.) of the padding (annotated figs. 2 and 6 show the medial side portion including a medial side extension projecting rearwardly and a medial side knee pad member and configured to overlie the medial side of a goal keeper’s leg); wherein: the hockey goalkeeper leg pad comprises a reinforcement (10) disposed in the front portion and the medial side portion (figs. 1, 2, and 6 show the reinforcement (10) disposed in the front and medial side portions); the front portion comprises a front reinforcing member (see annotated Fig.) of the reinforcement; the front reinforcing member is adjacent to and stiffer than the front pad member; the medial side portion comprises a medial side knee reinforcing member (see annotated Fig.) of the reinforcement; the medial side knee reinforcing member is adjacent to and stiffer than the medial side knee pad member (annotated fig. 6 shows the front reinforcing member being adjacent to the front pad member and the medial side reinforcing member being adjacent to the medial side knee pad member; col. 1 ll. 58-65 teaches “the present device is made of two separate pieces, a molded plastic, sheet-like front protective face or layer generally indicated at 10 and which is in the form of a shell having a rim thereabout as indicated at 12, forming an elongated rectangular container for the soft, cellular, foamed, backing-up protector member generally indicated at 14,” therein the front and medial side knee reinforcing members, collectively referred to as the protective layer of molded plastic, are clearly more rigid than the soft padding that makes up the front and medial side knee pad members); and the front reinforcing member and the medial side knee reinforcing member are interconnected and define an angle therebetween (annotated figs. 4 and 6 show the front and medial side knee reinforcing members being interconnected and defining an angle therebetween).
Chapdelaine does not teach the hockey goalkeeper leg pad comprising a covering that covers at least part of the padding.
Attention is drawn to LaBerge et al., which teaches an analogous article of padding. LaBerge et al. teaches a hockey goalkeeper leg pad (10) wearable on a leg of a hockey goalkeeper to protect the leg (col. 1 ll. 61-64 teaches “A second component is an interior backing pad having a deep channel for receipt of the leg of the hockey player,” therein the leg pad is clearly wearable on the leg of a goalkeeper for protection), the hockey goalkeeper leg pad comprising an upper leg portion (see annotated Fig.), a knee portion (see annotated Fig.), a lower leg portion (see annotated Fig.), and a foot portion (see annotated Fig.) respectively configured to protect an upper leg region, a knee, a lower leg region, and a foot of the hockey goalkeeper (annotated fig. 1 shows each portion respectively positioned to cover the corresponding region of the hock goalkeeper’s leg), the hockey goalkeeper leg pad comprising padding (30, 42) disposed in the upper leg portion, the knee portion, the lower leg portion, and the foot portion (figs. 2 and 3 show each portion comprising padding), the hockey goalkeeper leg pad comprising a covering (28, 32) that covers at least part of the padding (fig. 6 shows the covering (28, 32) covering at least part of the padding (30, 42)), the hockey goalkeeper leg pad comprising: - a front portion (see annotated Fig.) configured to overlie a front of the hockey goalkeeper's leg and comprising a front pad member (42) of the padding (annotated fig. 1 and 6 shows the front portion configured to overlie a front of a wearer’s leg and including a front pad member (42)); - a medial side portion (see annotated Fig.) configured to overlie a medial side of the hockey goalkeeper's leg and comprising a medial side knee extension that projects rearwardly from the front portion and comprises a medial side knee pad member of the padding (30) (annotated figs. 2 and 6 show the side portion being configured to overlie a medial side of the wearer’s leg and comprising a medial side knee extension that projects rearwardly from the front portion and comprising a medial side knee pad member of the padding (30)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chapdelaine to include the teachings of LaBerge et al. such that the hockey goalkeeper leg pad has a covering that covers at least part of the padding so as to protect the padding and prolong its use by reducing wear and tear.
Regarding Claim 68, Chapdelaine teaches a hockey goalkeeper leg pad (see fig. 1) wearable on a leg of a hockey goalkeeper to protect the leg, the hockey goalkeeper leg pad comprising an upper leg portion (see annotated Fig.), a knee portion (see annotated Fig.), a lower leg portion (see annotated Fig.), and a foot portion (30) respectively configured to protect an upper leg region, a knee, a lower leg region, and a foot of the hockey goalkeeper (Annotated fig. shows the respective portions respectively configured to protect the above regions of the hockey goalkeeper; col. 1 ll. 20-24 teaches “This face is a one-piece molding, and it is backed up by a thick foamed cellular soft pad which has at the rear face thereof a longitudinal semicylindrical groove to fit the leg and knee and at the bottom it has a cut-out to fit the ankle.”), the hockey goalkeeper leg pad comprising padding (14) disposed in the upper leg portion, the knee portion, the lower leg portion, and the foot portion (annotated fig. 2 shows the padding (14) disposed in each claimed portion), the hockey goalkeeper leg pad comprising: a front portion (see annotated Fig.) configured to overlie a front of the hockey goalkeeper's leg and comprising a front pad member (see annotated Fig.) of the padding (annotated figs. 2 and 6 show the front portion including a front pad member and configured to overlie the front of a goal keeper’s leg); -a medial side portion (see annotated Fig.) configured to overlie a medial side of the hockey goalkeeper's leg and comprising a medial side knee extension (see annotated Fig.) that projects rearwardly from the front portion and comprises a medial side knee pad member (see annotated Fig.) of the padding (annotated figs. 2 and 6 show the medial side portion including a medial side extension projecting rearwardly and a medial side knee pad member and configured to overlie the medial side of a goal keeper’s leg); wherein: the hockey goalkeeper leg pad comprises a bracket (10) disposed in the front portion and the medial side portion (figs. 1, 2, and 6 show the bracket (10) disposed in the front and medial side portions); the front portion comprises a front bracket member (see annotated Fig.) of the bracket; the front bracket member is adjacent to and stiffer than the front pad member; the medial side portion comprises a medial side knee bracket member (see annotated Fig.) of the bracket; the medial side knee bracket member is adjacent to and stiffer than the medial side knee pad member (annotated fig. 6 shows the front bracket member being adjacent to the front pad member and the medial side bracket member being adjacent to the medial side knee pad member; col. 1 ll. 58-65 teaches “the present device is made of two separate pieces, a molded plastic, sheet-like front protective face or layer generally indicated at 10 and which is in the form of a shell having a rim thereabout as indicated at 12, forming an elongated rectangular container for the soft, cellular, foamed, backing-up protector member generally indicated at 14,” therein the front and medial side knee bracket members, collectively referred to as the protective layer of molded plastic, are clearly more rigid than the soft padding that makes up the front and medial side knee pad members); and the front reinforcing bracket and the medial side knee bracket member are integrally formed with one another (annotated figs. 4 and 6 show the front and medial side knee reinforcing members being integrally formed with one another).
Chapdelaine does not teach the hockey goalkeeper leg pad comprising a covering that covers at least part of the padding.
Attention is drawn to LaBerge et al., which teaches an analogous article of padding. LaBerge et al. teaches a hockey goalkeeper leg pad (10) wearable on a leg of a hockey goalkeeper to protect the leg (col. 1 ll. 61-64 teaches “A second component is an interior backing pad having a deep channel for receipt of the leg of the hockey player,” therein the leg pad is clearly wearable on the leg of a goalkeeper for protection), the hockey goalkeeper leg pad comprising an upper leg portion (see annotated Fig.), a knee portion (see annotated Fig.), a lower leg portion (see annotated Fig.), and a foot portion (see annotated Fig.) respectively configured to protect an upper leg region, a knee, a lower leg region, and a foot of the hockey goalkeeper (annotated fig. 1 shows each portion respectively positioned to cover the corresponding region of the hock goalkeeper’s leg), the hockey goalkeeper leg pad comprising padding (30, 42) disposed in the upper leg portion, the knee portion, the lower leg portion, and the foot portion (figs. 2 and 3 show each portion comprising padding), the hockey goalkeeper leg pad comprising a covering (28, 32) that covers at least part of the padding (fig. 6 shows the covering (28, 32) covering at least part of the padding (30, 42)), the hockey goalkeeper leg pad comprising: - a front portion (see annotated Fig.) configured to overlie a front of the hockey goalkeeper's leg and comprising a front pad member (42) of the padding (annotated fig. 1 and 6 shows the front portion configured to overlie a front of a wearer’s leg and including a front pad member (42)); - a medial side portion (see annotated Fig.) configured to overlie a medial side of the hockey goalkeeper's leg and comprising a medial side knee extension that projects rearwardly from the front portion and comprises a medial side knee pad member of the padding (30) (annotated figs. 2 and 6 show the side portion being configured to overlie a medial side of the wearer’s leg and comprising a medial side knee extension that projects rearwardly from the front portion and comprising a medial side knee pad member of the padding (30)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chapdelaine to include the teachings of LaBerge et al. such that the hockey goalkeeper leg pad has a covering that covers at least part of the padding so as to protect the padding and prolong its use by reducing wear and tear.
Regarding Claim 69, modified Chapdelaine teaches all of the limitations of the hockey goalkeeper leg pad of Claim 41, as discussed in the rejections above.
Chapdelaine does not teach wherein the covering comprises an outer cover and an inner cover between which is disposed the padding.
Attention is drawn to LaBerge et al., which teaches an analogous article of padding. LaBerge et al. teaches a hockey goalkeeper leg pad (10) wearable on a leg of a hockey goalkeeper to protect the leg (col. 1 ll. 61-64 teaches “A second component is an interior backing pad having a deep channel for receipt of the leg of the hockey player,” therein the leg pad is clearly wearable on the leg of a goalkeeper for protection), the hockey goalkeeper leg pad comprising an upper leg portion (see annotated Fig.), a knee portion (see annotated Fig.), a lower leg portion (see annotated Fig.), and a foot portion (see annotated Fig.) respectively configured to protect an upper leg region, a knee, a lower leg region, and a foot of the hockey goalkeeper (annotated fig. 1 shows each portion respectively positioned to cover the corresponding region of the hock goalkeeper’s leg), the hockey goalkeeper leg pad comprising padding (30, 42) disposed in the upper leg portion, the knee portion, the lower leg portion, and the foot portion (figs. 2 and 3 show each portion comprising padding), the hockey goalkeeper leg pad comprising a covering (28, 32) that covers at least part of the padding (fig. 6 shows the covering (28, 32) covering at least part of the padding (30, 42)), the hockey goalkeeper leg pad comprising: - a front portion (see annotated Fig.) configured to overlie a front of the hockey goalkeeper's leg and comprising a front pad member (42) of the padding (annotated fig. 1 and 6 shows the front portion configured to overlie a front of a wearer’s leg and including a front pad member (42)); - a side portion (see annotated Fig.) configured to overlie a side of the hockey goalkeeper's leg and comprising a side extension that projects rearwardly from the front portion and comprises a side pad member of the padding (30) (annotated figs. 2 and 6 show the side portion being configured to overlie a side of the wearer’s leg and comprising a side extension that projects rearwardly from the front portion and comprising a side pad member of the padding (30)). LaBerge et al. further teaches wherein the covering comprises an outer cover (see annotated Fig.) and an inner cover (see annotated Fig.) between which is disposed the padding (annotated fig. 6 shows the outer cover disposed to face the outside environment and the inner cover disposed to face inwards towards the wearer, the padding (30) disposed therebetween).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chapdelaine to include the teachings of LaBerge et al. such that the covering comprises an outer cover and an inner cover between which is disposed the padding so as to protect the padding and prolong its use by reducing wear and tear from both abrasion from the wearer as well as from the outside environment.
Claim(s) 41, 69, 70, and 71 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over LaBerge et al. (US 5093931) in view of Mollura, Sr. et al. (US 6468239), herein after referred to as Mollura.
Regarding Claim 41, LaBerge et al. teaches a hockey goalkeeper leg pad (10) wearable on a leg of a hockey goalkeeper to protect the leg (col. 1 ll. 61-64 teaches “A second component is an interior backing pad having a deep channel for receipt of the leg of the hockey player,” therein the leg pad is clearly wearable on the leg of a goalkeeper for protection), the hockey goalkeeper leg pad comprising an upper leg portion (see annotated Fig.), a knee portion (see annotated Fig.), a lower leg portion (see annotated Fig.), and a foot portion (see annotated Fig.) respectively configured to protect an upper leg region, a knee, a lower leg region, and a foot of the hockey goalkeeper (annotated fig. 1 shows each portion respectively positioned to cover the corresponding region of the hock goalkeeper’s leg), the hockey goalkeeper leg pad comprising padding (30, 42) disposed in the upper leg portion, the knee portion, the lower leg portion, and the foot portion (figs. 2 and 3 show each portion comprising padding), the hockey goalkeeper leg pad comprising a covering (28, 32) that covers at least part of the padding (fig. 6 shows the covering (28, 32) covering at least part of the padding (30, 42)), the hockey goalkeeper leg pad comprising: - a front portion (see annotated Fig.) configured to overlie a front of the hockey goalkeeper's leg and comprising a front pad member (42) of the padding (annotated fig. 1 and 6 shows the front portion configured to overlie a front of a wearer’s leg and including a front pad member (42)); - a side portion (see annotated Fig.) configured to overlie a side of the hockey goalkeeper's leg and comprising a side extension that projects rearwardly from the front portion and comprises a side pad member of the padding (30) (annotated figs. 2 and 6 show the side portion being configured to overlie a side of the wearer’s leg and comprising a side extension that projects rearwardly from the front portion and comprising a side pad member of the padding (30)).
LaBerge et al. does not teach a reinforcement disposed in the front portion and the side portion; the front portion comprises a front reinforcing member of the reinforcement; the front reinforcing member is adjacent to and stiffer than the front pad member; the side portion comprises a side reinforcing member of the reinforcement; the side reinforcing member is adjacent to and stiffer than the side pad member; and the front reinforcing member and the side reinforcing member are interconnected and define an angle therebetween.
Attention is directed to Mollura, which teaches an analogous article of protective apparel. Mollura teaches a leg pad (100) comprising a leg portion (see annotated Fig.) configured to protect a leg of a wearer, the leg pad comprising padding (108) disposed in the leg portion (see annotated Fig.) (Figs. 3 and 4 show the padding disposed in the leg portion), the leg pad comprising a front portion (see annotated Fig.) and comprising a front pad member (see annotated Fig.) of the padding; and a side portion (see annotated Fig.) configured to overlie a side of the wearer's leg (Fig. 3 shows the side portion arranged so as to overlie the side of the wearer’s leg) and comprising a side extension (see annotated Fig.) that projects rearwardly from the front portion and comprises a side pad member (see annotated Fig.) of the padding (annotated fig. 3 shows the side extension projecting rearwardly from the front portion and comprising a side pad member); wherein: the hockey goalkeeper pad (100) comprises a reinforcement (106) disposed in the front portion and the side portion (annotated fig. 3 shows the reinforcement (106) disposed in the front and side portions); the front portion comprises a front reinforcing member (see annotated Fig.) of the reinforcement; the front reinforcing member is adjacent to and stiffer than the front pad member; the side portion comprises a side reinforcing member (see annotated Fig.) of the reinforcement; the side reinforcing member is adjacent to and stiffer than the side pad member (annotated fig. 3 show the front and side portion comprising a front and side reinforcing member each disposed within the front and side pads, respectively; col. 4 Il. 20-24 disclose “rigid, plastic, u-shaped member 106... provides rigidity to the device,” wherein as the reinforcement (106) provides rigidity it is stiffer than the foam padding (108) that it is adjacent to); and the front reinforcing member and the side reinforcing member are interconnected and define an angle therebetween (fig. 3 shows the front and side reinforcing members being interconnected and therein clearly forming an angle therebetween).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify LaBerge et al. to include the teachings of Mollura such that the hockey leg pad includes a reinforcement disposed in the front portion and the side portion; the front portion comprising a front reinforcing member of the reinforcement; the front reinforcing member is adjacent to and stiffer than the front pad member; the side portion comprising a side reinforcing member of the reinforcement; the side reinforcing member is adjacent to and stiffer than the side pad member; and the front reinforcing member and the side reinforcing member are interconnected and define an angle therebetween so that the hockey leg pads are more rigid and offer a higher level of protection to the wearer (col. 4 Il. 22-24, “member 106... provides rigidity to the device”).
Regarding Claim 69, modified LaBerge et al. teaches all of the limitations of the hockey goalkeeper leg pad of Claim 41, as discussed in the rejections above. LaBerge et al. further teaches wherein the covering comprises an outer cover (see annotated Fig.) and an inner cover (see annotated Fig.) between which is disposed the padding (annotated fig. 6 shows the outer cover disposed to face the outside environment and the inner cover disposed to face inwards towards the wearer, the padding (30) disposed therebetween).
Regarding Claim 70, modified LaBerge et al. teaches all of the limitations of the hockey goalkeeper leg pad of Claim 69, as discussed in the rejections above. Modified LaBerge et al. further teaches the reinforcement is disposed between the outer cover and the inner cover (as LaBerge et al. is modified above so as have the reinforcement disposed within the padding (see rejection of Claim 41 above) and the inner and outer cover are disposed on the perimeter of the padding, the reinforcement is clearly disposed between the inner and outer cover).
Regarding Claim 71, modified LaBerge et al. teaches all of the limitations of the hockey goalkeeper leg pad of Claim 41, as discussed in the rejections above. Modified LaBerge et al. further teaches wherein the reinforcement is inserted into the padding (LaBerge et al. is modified above so as have the reinforcement disposed within the padding (see rejection of Claim 41 above)).
Claim(s) 60 and 72 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over LaBerge et al. (US 5093931) in view of Mollura (US 6468239), and further in view of Nelson et al. (US 5273702).
Regarding Claim 60, modified LaBerge et al. teaches all of the limitations of the hockey goalkeeper leg pad of Claim 41, as discussed in the rejections above.
LaBerge et al. does not teach wherein the reinforcement comprises a rib extending from the front reinforcing member to the side reinforcing member.
Attention is drawn to Nelson et al., which teaches an analogous article of padding. Nelson et al. teaches a leg pad (48) to protect the leg of the wearer, the leg pad comprising a leg portion (see annotated Fig.), the leg pad comprising padding (50, 52) disposed in the leg portion (fig. 6 shows the padding (50, 52) disposed in the leg portion), the leg pad (48) comprising a front portion (see annotated Fig.) and comprising a front pad member (52) of the padding, and a side portion (see annotated Fig.} comprising a side pad member {see annotated Fig.) of the padding, wherein the front pad member and side pad member are interconnected (annotated fig. 6 shows the front and side pad members being interconnected) the leg pad comprising a reinforcement (58) disposed in the front portion and side portion (fig. 6 shows the reinforcement (58) disposed in the front and side portions); the front portion comprises a front reinforcing member (see annotated Fig.) of the reinforcement (58) (annotated fig. 6 shows a front reinforcing member of the reinforcement); the front reinforcing member is adjacent to and stiffer than the front pad member (52) (col. 7 Il. 27-31, “insert 58 is generally formed of a rigid nonfoamed material... and, obviously, adds strength and rigidity to the thigh pad,” wherein the rigid reinforcement is obviously stiffer than the foam front pad) the side portion comprises a side reinforcing member (see annotated Fig.) of the reinforcement; the side reinforcing member is adjacent to and stiffer than the side pad member (col. 7 Il. 27-31, “insert 58 is generally formed of a rigid nonfoamed material... and, obviously, adds strength and rigidity to the thigh pad,” wherein the rigid reinforcement which includes the front and side reinforcing members is obviously stiffer than the foam front pad); and the front reinforcing member and the side reinforcing member are interconnected and define an angle therebetween (fig. 6 shows the front and side reinforcing members being interconnected and therein clearly defining an angle therebetween). Nelson et al. further teaches wherein the reinforcement (58) comprises a rib (60) extending from the front reinforcing member to the side reinforcing member (fig. 6 shows the rib (60) extending from the front reinforcing member to the side reinforcing member).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify LaBerge et al. to include the teachings of Nelson such that the reinforcement comprises a rib extending from the front reinforcing member to the side reinforcing member so as to provide additional support to the reinforcements.
Regarding Claim 60, modified LaBerge et al. teaches all of the limitations of the hockey goalkeeper leg pad of Claim 41, as discussed in the rejections above.
LaBerge et al. does not teach wherein the reinforcement comprises a rib extending from the front reinforcing member to the side reinforcing member.
Attention is drawn to Nelson et al., which teaches an analogous article of padding. Nelson et al. teaches a leg pad (48) to protect the leg of the wearer, the leg pad comprising a leg portion (see annotated Fig.), the leg pad comprising padding (50, 52) disposed in the leg portion (fig. 6 shows the padding (50, 52) disposed in the leg portion), the leg pad (48) comprising a front portion (see annotated Fig.) and comprising a front pad member (52) of the padding, and a side portion (see annotated Fig.} comprising a side pad member {see annotated Fig.) of the padding, wherein the front pad member and side pad member are interconnected (annotated fig. 6 shows the front and side pad members being interconnected) the leg pad comprising a reinforcement (58) disposed in the front portion and side portion (fig. 6 shows the reinforcement (58) disposed in the front and side portions); the front portion comprises a front reinforcing member (see annotated Fig.) of the reinforcement (58) (annotated fig. 6 shows a front reinforcing member of the reinforcement); the front reinforcing member is adjacent to and stiffer than the front pad member (52) (col. 7 Il. 27-31, “insert 58 is generally formed of a rigid nonfoamed material... and, obviously, adds strength and rigidity to the thigh pad,” wherein the rigid reinforcement is obviously stiffer than the foam front pad) the side portion comprises a side reinforcing member (see annotated Fig.) of the reinforcement; the side reinforcing member is adjacent to and stiffer than the side pad member (col. 7 Il. 27-31, “insert 58 is generally formed of a rigid nonfoamed material... and, obviously, adds strength and rigidity to the thigh pad,” wherein the rigid reinforcement which includes the front and side reinforcing members is obviously stiffer than the foam front pad); and the front reinforcing member and the side reinforcing member are interconnected and define an angle therebetween (fig. 6 shows the front and side reinforcing members being interconnected and therein clearly defining an angle therebetween), wherein the reinforcement (58) comprises a rib (60) extending from the front reinforcing member to the side reinforcing member (fig. 6 shows the rib (60) extending from the front reinforcing member to the side reinforcing member). Nelson et al. further teaches wherein the rib extends along a length of the front reinforcing member and along a length of the side reinforcing member (fig. 6 shows the rib (60) extending along the length of both the front and side reinforcing members).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify LaBerge et al. to include the teachings of Nelson such that the rib extends along a length of the front reinforcing member and along a length of the side reinforcing member so as to provide additional support to the reinforcements along the length of both of the front and side reinforcing members.
Claim(s) 48-51 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chapdelaine (US 3877077), in view of LaBerge et al. (US 5093931) and further in view of Sioui et al. (US 2007/0250965).
Regarding Claim 48, Chapdelaine teaches all of the limitations of the hockey goalkeeper leg pad of Claim 41, as discussed in the rejections above.
Chapdelaine does not teach wherein the front pad member and the side pad member are mechanically interlocked with one another.
Attention is drawn to Sioui et al., which teaches an analogous leg pad. Sioui et al. teaches a hockey goalkeeper leg pad (10) wearable on a leg of a hockey goalkeeper to protect the leg, the hockey goalkeeper leg pad comprising an upper leg portion (see annotated Fig.), a knee portion (see annotated Fig.), a lower leg portion (see annotated Fig.), and a foot portion (see annotated Fig.) respectively configured to protect an upper leg region, a knee, a lower leg region, and a foot of the hockey goalkeeper (annotated fig. 1 shows the portions as claimed configured to protect the regions of the hockey goalkeeper as claimed), the hockey goalkeeper leg pad comprising padding (12) disposed in the upper leg portion, the knee portion, the lower leg portion, and the foot portion (fig. 2 shows the padding (12) disposed in each portion), the hockey goalkeeper leg pad comprising: - a front portion (see annotated Fig.) configured to overlie a front of the hockey goalkeeper's leg and comprising a front pad member (48) of the padding (Annotated fig. 2 shows the front portion configured to overlie the front of the wearer’s leg and having a front pad member (48)); a side portion (see annotated Fig.) configured to overlie a side of the hockey goalkeeper's leg and comprising a side extension (58) that projects rearwardly from the front portion and comprises a side pad member of the padding (annotated fig. 2 shows the side portion configured to overlie the side of the wearer’s leg and comprising a side extension (58) projecting rearwardly with a side pad member). Sioui et al. further teaches wherein the front pad member and the side pad member are mechanically interlocked with one another (paragraph [0024] teaches “the layers are detachably interconnected, for example through a plurality of complementary strips of hook and loop type fasteners 64,” wherein the hook and loop is considered to be a mechanical fastener).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chapdelaine such that the front and side pad member are mechanically interlocked with one another, so as to allow the front or side pad members to be interchanged depending on the use of the leg pad or on damage of the leg pad. Examiner notes that while the front and side pad members of Chapdelaine are integral, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the pad members separate such that they can be then mechanically interlocked with one another (see MPEP 2144.04 V C).
Regarding Claim 49, Chapdelaine teaches all of the limitations of the hockey goalkeeper leg pad of Claim 41, as discussed in the rejections above.
Chapdelaine does not teach wherein the front pad member and the side pad member are fastened together.
Attention is drawn to Sioui et al., which teaches an analogous leg pad. Sioui et al. teaches a hockey goalkeeper leg pad (10) wearable on a leg of a hockey goalkeeper to protect the leg, the hockey goalkeeper leg pad comprising an upper leg portion (see annotated Fig.), a knee portion (see annotated Fig.), a lower leg portion (see annotated Fig.), and a foot portion (see annotated Fig.) respectively configured to protect an upper leg region, a knee, a lower leg region, and a foot of the hockey goalkeeper (annotated fig. 1 shows the portions as claimed configured to protect the regions of the hockey goalkeeper as claimed), the hockey goalkeeper leg pad comprising padding (12) disposed in the upper leg portion, the knee portion, the lower leg portion, and the foot portion (fig. 2 shows the padding (12) disposed in each portion), the hockey goalkeeper leg pad comprising: - a front portion (see annotated Fig.) configured to overlie a front of the hockey goalkeeper's leg and comprising a front pad member (48) of the padding (Annotated fig. 2 shows the front portion configured to overlie the front of the wearer’s leg and having a front pad member (48)); a side portion (see annotated Fig.) configured to overlie a side of the hockey goalkeeper's leg and comprising a side extension (58) that projects rearwardly from the front portion and comprises a side pad member of the padding (annotated fig. 2 shows the side portion configured to overlie the side of the wearer’s leg and comprising a side extension (58) projecting rearwardly with a side pad member). Sioui et al. further teaches wherein the front pad member and the side pad member are fastened together (paragraph [0024] teaches “the layers are detachably interconnected, for example through a plurality of complementary strips of hook and loop type fasteners 64,”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chapdelaine such that the front pad member and the side pad member are fastened together, so as to allow the front or side pad members to be interchanged depending on the use of the leg pad or on damage of the leg pad. Examiner notes that while the front and side pad members of Chapdelaine are integral, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the pad members separate such that they can be then fastened to one another (see MPEP 2144.04 V C).
Regarding Claim 50, Chapdelaine teaches all of the limitations of the hockey goalkeeper leg pad of Claim 49, as discussed in the rejections above.
Chapdelaine does not teach wherein the front pad member and the side pad member are fastened together by an adhesive between the front pad member and the side pad member.
Attention is drawn to Sioui et al., which teaches an analogous leg pad. Sioui et al. teaches a hockey goalkeeper leg pad (10) wearable on a leg of a hockey goalkeeper to protect the leg, the hockey goalkeeper leg pad comprising an upper leg portion (see annotated Fig.), a knee portion (see annotated Fig.), a lower leg portion (see annotated Fig.), and a foot portion (see annotated Fig.) respectively configured to protect an upper leg region, a knee, a lower leg region, and a foot of the hockey goalkeeper (annotated fig. 1 shows the portions as claimed configured to protect the regions of the hockey goalkeeper as claimed), the hockey goalkeeper leg pad comprising padding (12) disposed in the upper leg portion, the knee portion, the lower leg portion, and the foot portion (fig. 2 shows the padding (12) disposed in each portion), the hockey goalkeeper leg pad comprising: - a front portion (see annotated Fig.) configured to overlie a front of the hockey goalkeeper's leg and comprising a front pad member (48) of the padding (Annotated fig. 2 shows the front portion configured to overlie the front of the wearer’s leg and having a front pad member (48)); a side portion (see annotated Fig.) configured to overlie a side of the hockey goalkeeper's leg and comprising a side extension (58) that projects rearwardly from the front portion and comprises a side pad member of the padding (annotated fig. 2 shows the side portion configured to overlie the side of the wearer’s leg and comprising a side extension (58) projecting rearwardly with a side pad member). Sioui et al. further teaches wherein the front pad member and the side pad member are fastened together by an adhesive between the front pad member and the side pad member (paragraph [0023] teaches “In a particular embodiment, the layers are glue laminated together to form the composite protective element 12,” wherein glue is considered to be an adhesive).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chapdelaine such that the front pad member and the side pad member are fastened together by an adhesive between the front pad member and the side pad member so as to allow the front or side pad members to be made of differing materials with different properties depending on the use of the leg pad or a wearer’s needs. Examiner notes that while the front and side pad members of Chapdelaine are integral, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the pad members separate such that they can be then fastened to one another (see MPEP 2144.04 V C).
Regarding Claim 51, Chapdelaine teaches all of the limitations of the hockey goalkeeper leg pad of Claim 49, as discussed in the rejections above.
Chapdelaine does not teach wherein the front pad member and the side pad member are fastened together by a mechanical fastener between the front pad member and the side pad member.
Attention is drawn to Sioui et al., which teaches an analogous leg pad. Sioui et al. teaches a hockey goalkeeper leg pad (10) wearable on a leg of a hockey goalkeeper to protect the leg, the hockey goalkeeper leg pad comprising an upper leg portion (see annotated Fig.), a knee portion (see annotated Fig.), a lower leg portion (see annotated Fig.), and a foot portion (see annotated Fig.) respectively configured to protect an upper leg region, a knee, a lower leg region, and a foot of the hockey goalkeeper (annotated fig. 1 shows the portions as claimed configured to protect the regions of the hockey goalkeeper as claimed), the hockey goalkeeper leg pad comprising padding (12) disposed in the upper leg portion, the knee portion, the lower leg portion, and the foot portion (fig. 2 shows the padding (12) disposed in each portion), the hockey goalkeeper leg pad comprising: - a front portion (see annotated Fig.) configured to overlie a front of the hockey goalkeeper's leg and comprising a front pad member (48) of the padding (Annotated fig. 2 shows the front portion configured to overlie the front of the wearer’s leg and having a front pad member (48)); a side portion (see annotated Fig.) configured to overlie a side of the hockey goalkeeper's leg and comprising a side extension (58) that projects rearwardly from the front portion and comprises a side pad member of the padding (annotated fig. 2 shows the side portion configured to overlie the side of the wearer’s leg and comprising a side extension (58) projecting rearwardly with a side pad member). Sioui et al. further teaches wherein to the front pad member and the side pad member are fastened together by a mechanical fastener between the front pad member and the side pad member (paragraph [0024] teaches “the layers are detachably interconnected, for example through a plurality of complementary strips of hook and loop type fasteners 64,” wherein the hook and loop is considered as being a mechanical fastener).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chapdelaine such that the front pad member and the side pad member are fastened together by a mechanical fastener between the front pad member and the side pad member, so as to allow the front or side pad members to be interchanged depending on the use of the leg pad or on damage of the leg pad. Examiner notes that while the front and side pad members of Chapdelaine are integral, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the pad members separate such that they can be then fastened to one another (see MPEP 2144.04 V C).
Claim(s) 57-59 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chapdelaine (US 3877077).
Regarding Claim 57, Chapdelaine teaches all of the limitations of the hockey goalkeeper leg pad of Claim 41, as discussed in the rejections above.
Chapdelaine does not teach wherein a modulus of elasticity of the reinforcement is at least 500 MPa. However, Chapdelaine teaches the reinforcement being a rigid and formed of molded plastic, which clearly has a modulus of elasticity (as every material does) (col. 1 ll. 58-65 teaches “the present device is made of two separate pieces, a molded plastic, sheet-like front protective face or layer generally indicated at 10”). Further, the modulus of elasticity of a material is a results effective variable. The modulus of elasticity must be high enough to provide adequate protection for the wearer, which is a variable amount of protection depending on the level of play (ex. In children’s, recreational, or professional leagues). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to create the reinforcement of the prior art with a modulus of elasticity of at least 500 mPa since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). In the present invention, one would have been motivated to optimize the protection of the wearer and the cost of forming the leg pad, as a stronger, more rigid material would likely cost more.
Regarding Claim 58, Chapdelaine teaches all of the limitations of the hockey goalkeeper leg pad of Claim 41, as discussed in the rejections above.
Chapdelaine does not teach wherein a modulus of elasticity of the reinforcement is at least 1500 MPa. However, Chapdelaine teaches the reinforcement being a rigid and formed of molded plastic, which clearly has a modulus of elasticity (as every material does) (col. 1 ll. 58-65 teaches “the present device is made of two separate pieces, a molded plastic, sheet-like front protective face or layer generally indicated at 10”). Further, the modulus of elasticity of a material is a results effective variable. The modulus of elasticity must be high enough to provide adequate protection for the wearer, which is a variable amount of protection depending on the level of play (ex. In children’s, recreational, or professional leagues). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to create the reinforcement of the prior art with a modulus of elasticity of at least 1500 mPa since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). In the present invention, one would have been motivated to optimize the protection of the wearer and the cost of forming the leg pad, as a stronger, more rigid material would likely cost more.
Regarding Claim 59, Chapdelaine teaches all of the limitations of the hockey goalkeeper leg pad of Claim 41, as discussed in the rejections above.
Chapdelaine does not teach wherein a modulus of elasticity of the reinforcement is at least 100000 MPa. However, Chapdelaine teaches the reinforcement being a rigid and formed of molded plastic, which clearly has a modulus of elasticity (as every material does) (col. 1 ll. 58-65 teaches “the present device is made of two separate pieces, a molded plastic, sheet-like front protective face or layer generally indicated at 10”). Further, the modulus of elasticity of a material is a results effective variable. The modulus of elasticity must be high enough to provide adequate protection for the wearer, which is a variable amount of protection depending on the level of play (ex. In children’s, recreational, or professional leagues). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to create the reinforcement of the prior art with a modulus of elasticity of at least 100000 mPa since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). In the present invention, one would have been motivated to optimize the protection of the wearer and the cost of forming the leg pad, as a stronger, more rigid material would likely cost more.
Double Patenting
Claims 41, 54, and 69 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 11, and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12029965. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the differences are minor, as shown in the table below.
18/675611
16/560373
41
A hockey goalkeeper leg pad wearable on a leg of a hockey goalkeeper to protect the leg, the hockey goalkeeper leg pad comprising an upper leg portion, a knee portion, a lower leg portion, and a foot portion respectively configured to protect an upper leg region, a knee, a lower leg region, and a foot of the hockey goalkeeper, the hockey goalkeeper leg pad comprising padding disposed in the upper leg portion, the knee portion, the lower leg portion, and the foot portion, the hockey goalkeeper leg pad comprising: - a front portion configured to overlie a front of the hockey goalkeeper's leg and comprising a front pad member of the padding; - a side portion configured to overlie a side of the hockey goalkeeper's leg and comprising a side extension that projects rearwardly from the front portion and comprises a side pad member of the padding; wherein: the hockey goalkeeper leg pad comprises a reinforcement disposed in the front portion and the side portion; the front portion comprises a front reinforcing member of the reinforcement; the front reinforcing member is adjacent to and stiffer than the front pad member; the side portion comprises a side reinforcing member of the reinforcement; the side reinforcing member is adjacent to and stiffer than the side pad member; and the front reinforcing member and the side reinforcing member are interconnected and define an angle therebetween.
A hockey goalkeeper leg pad wearable on a leg of a hockey goalkeeper to protect the leg, the hockey goalkeeper leg pad comprising an upper leg portion, a knee portion, a lower leg portion, and a foot portion respectively configured to protect an upper leg region, a knee, a lower leg region, and a foot of the hockey goalkeeper, the hockey goalkeeper leg pad comprising padding disposed in the upper leg portion, the knee portion, the lower leg portion, and the foot portion, the hockey goalkeeper leg pad comprising:- a front portion configured to overlie a front of the hockey goalkeeper's leg and comprising a front pad member of the padding; and - a side portion configured to overlie a side of the hockey goalkeeper's leg and comprising a side extension that projects rearwardly from the front portion and comprises a side pad member of the padding; wherein: the front pad member and the side pad member are interconnected; the hockey goalkeeper pad comprises a reinforcement disposed in the front portion and the side portion; the reinforcement comprises a rigid material; the front portion comprises a front reinforcing member of the reinforcement configured to be in front of the leg of the hockey goalkeeper when the hockey goalkeeper wears the hockey goalkeeper leg pad; the front reinforcing member is adjacent to and stiffer than the front pad member; the side portion comprises a side reinforcing member of the reinforcement; the side reinforcing member is adjacent to and stiffer than the side pad member; the front reinforcing member and the side reinforcing member are interconnected; and the reinforcement is L-shaped and comprises a first end and a second end respectively defined by the front reinforcing member and the side reinforcing member.
Examiner notes that two interconnected pieces would clearly form and angle between them
11
The hockey goalkeeper leg pad of claim 1, comprising a covering that covers at least part of the padding, wherein the front pad member and the side pad member are connected to one another inside the covering.
54
The hockey goalkeeper leg pad of claim 41, wherein the reinforcement is L-shaped.
1
"... and the reinforcement is L-shaped…"
69
The hockey goalkeeper led pad of claim 41, wherein the covering comprises an outer cover and an inner cover between which is disposed the padding.
13
The hockey goalkeeper leg pad of claim 11, wherein: the covering comprises an outer cover and an inner cover; and the padding is disposed between the outer cover and the inner cover.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 41-72 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection necessitated by amendment. Therefore, see aforementioned rejections for the argued missing limitations.
Regarding independent Claims 41, 67, and 68, Applicant submits that Chapdelaine does not teach all of the limitations of the newly amended claims, and further submits that there is no motivation to modify Chapdelaine, as Chapdelaine intends the leg pad to be cheap, lightweight, long lasting, and easily adjustable.
Examiner agrees that Chapdelaine does not teach a covering, but does not agree that Chapdelaine cannot be modified. While a proposed modification cannot render the prior art unsatisfactory for its intended purpose or change the principal operation of the reference (MPEP 2143.01) that is not the case here. Adding a covering to the foam padding of Chapdelaine would only negligibly add to the cost, and weight of the leg pad, and further would increase the longevity of the leg pad by reducing the wear and tear on the foam. The covering could also clearly be cut to adjust the length of the leg pad, as the covering is a “fabric” (Laberge et al. col. 4 ll. 58). Further, the principal operation of the device to provide protection to the wearer’s leg, which would not be changed by the addition of a covering to the padding. For at least these reasons, Examiner submits that Chapdelaine may be modified, and as such Claims 41, 67, and 68 and their dependents are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Chapdelaine in view of LaBerge, or in the alternative LaBerge in view of Mollura.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HALEY A SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732