DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the two, three or more flexible components are arranged on the circumference as described in claim 9 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the tube-like insulating insert" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 2-13 are also rejectedbecause they are dependent on claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the tube-like insulating insert" in line 2. The recitation renders the scope of the claim as indefinite because it is unclear to Examiner whether the tube-like insulating insert is different from the insulating insert already cited in claim 1, or if they are the same structure. For examination purposes, Examiner will treat both inserts as the same structure on the surgical device of claim 1. Claims 2-13 are also rejected because they are dependent on claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the distal direction" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the outer side", “the inner side and/or the front side”, and “the direction” in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the axial direction" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "a hand-held surgical device" in line 1. The recitation renders the scope of the claim as indefinite because it is unclear to Examiner whether this hand-held surgical device is different from the hand-held surgical device already cited in claim 1, or if they are the same structure. For examination purposes, Examiner will treat both devices as the same. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "an insulating insert as claimed in claim 1" in line 3. The recitation renders the scope of the claim as indefinite because it is unclear to Examiner whether this insulating insert is different from the insulating insert already cited in claim 1, or if they are the same structure. For examination purposes, Examiner will treat both inserts as the same structure on the surgical device of claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Brockmann (U.S. Application No. 20220015822 A1), and further in view of Orczy-Timko (U.S. Application No. 20140336643 A1).
Regarding independent claim 1 and claims 2-4, as best understood, Brockmann discloses an insulating insert (23) for a hand-held surgical device (10), in particular for a resectoscope (pa. 0030, 0032 & Figs. 1-2), wherein the tube-like insulating insert has, at a proximal end region, coupling means (26) for detachable coupling to a distal end (25) of a tubular shaft (13) of the hand-held device (pa. 0032 & Figs. 3-4).
However, Brockmann does not disclose a circumference of the tube-like insulating insert has at least one flexible component, wherein the at least one flexible component is arranged on the circumference of a distal end region of the insulating insert, wherein the flexible component is produced from silicone or an elastomer, and wherein the flexible component extends in a ring shape around the entire circumference of the distal end region.
Orczy-Timko, in the same field of endeavor, teaches an electrosurgical tissue resecting probe (100) (pa. 0044 & Fig. 1) comprising an inner sleeve (122), wherein the distal end portion of the sleeve is manufactured using a sputtering process that deposits a ceramic material on a surface of a component (202), and a polymer material (220) grips an outer surface of the ceramic material (pa. 0055), wherein the polymer material may be a silicone material (pa. 0063), which is durable and highly flexible.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the sputtering manufacturing method of Orczy-Timko in order to deposit the ceramic and the polymer materials onto the ringed-shaped outer distal end region of the circumference of the insulating insert of Brockmann for the purpose of making the distal end region strong, durable, and flexible.
Regarding claim 5, Brockmann discloses the invention substantially as claimed in claim 1 discussed above.
However, Brockmann does not disclose wherein the flexible component has a hardness of 10 Shore A to 90 Shore A.
Orczy-Timko, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the polymer material may be a silicone material having a durometer of Shore A 30 to 90 (pa. 0063).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the sputtering manufacturing method of Orczy-Timko in order to deposit the ceramic and the polymer materials onto the ringed-shaped outer distal end region of the circumference of the insulating insert of Brockmann for the purpose of making the distal end region strong, durable, and flexible.
Regarding claim 6, Brockmann discloses the invention substantially as claimed in claim 1 discussed above.
However, Brockmann does not disclose wherein the flexible component extends over an angular range of 45º to 180º on the entire circumference of the distal end region.
Orczy-Timko, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the ceramic material and the polymer material extends around all inner and outer surfaces of the distal portion of the sleeve (pa. 0063).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the sputtering manufacturing method of Orczy-Timko in order to deposit the ceramic and the polymer materials onto the distal end region, with an angular range of 45º to 180º of the circumference of the insulating insert of Brockmann for the purpose of making the distal end region strong, durable, and flexible.
Regarding claim 7, as best understood, Brockmann discloses the invention substantially as claimed in claim 1 discussed above.
However, Brockmann does not disclose wherein the flexible component is arranged on a portion of the circumference of the distal end region that reaches furthest in the distal direction.
Orczy-Timko, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the ceramic material and the polymer material extends around all inner and outer surfaces of the distal portion of the sleeve that reach in the furthest distal direction (pa. 0063).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the sputtering manufacturing method of Orczy-Timko in order to deposit the ceramic and the polymer materials onto the distal end region that reach in the furthest in the distal direction of the insulating insert of Brockmann for the purpose of making the distal end region strong, durable, and flexible.
Regarding claim 8, as best understood, Brockmann discloses the invention substantially as claimed in claim 1 discussed above.
However, Brockmann does not disclose wherein the flexible component is arranged on the outer side or top side and/or the inner side and/or the front side of the distal end region.
Orczy-Timko, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the ceramic material and the polymer material extends around all inner and outer surfaces of the distal portion of the sleeve (pa. 0063).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the sputtering manufacturing method of Orczy-Timko in order to deposit the ceramic and the polymer materials onto the outer side or top side and/or the inner side and/or the front side of the distal end region of the insulating insert of Brockmann for the purpose of making the distal end region strong, durable, and flexible.
Regarding claim 9, as best understood, Brockmann discloses the invention substantially as claimed in claim 1 discussed above.
However, Brockmann does not disclose wherein two, three or more flexible components are arranged on the circumference.
Orczy-Timko, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the ceramic material and the polymer material extends around all inner and outer surfaces of the distal portion of the sleeve (pa. 0063).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the sputtering manufacturing method of Orczy-Timko in order to deposit the ceramic and the polymer materials onto the entire circumference of the distal end region of the insulating insert of Brockmann for the purpose of making the distal end region strong, durable, and flexible.
In view of the combination explained above, Examiner is interpreting an upper or side hemisphere of the circumference of the distal end region of the insulating insert to be one flexible component and a lower or opposite side hemisphere of the circumference of the distal end region of the insulating insert to be another/second flexible component. The claim language is still broad and does not prevent the two or more flexible components from touching each other on the circumference of the insulating insert.
Regarding claim 11, Brockmann discloses the invention substantially as claimed in claim 1 discussed above.
However, Brockmann does not disclose wherein the distal end region of the insulating insert has an axial and/or radial or ring-like undercut for improved adherence of the flexible component.
Orczy-Timko, in the same field of endeavor, teaches an electrosurgical tissue resecting probe (100) (pa. 0044 & Fig. 1) comprising an inner sleeve (122), wherein the distal end portion of the inner sleeve is manufactured using a sputtering process that deposits a ceramic material on a surface of a component (202), wherein the ceramic material provides an adherent surface with undercuts (216) (see Fig. 5B) for permitting a polymer material (220) to grip the surface (pa. 0055).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the undercut microstructure in order to enhance attachment of the surface polymer layer (Orczy-Timko, pa. 0054).
Regarding claim 12, Brockmann discloses a jacket surface (27) (pa. 0032) forming a continuous surface with the distal end region of the insulating insert (see Fig. 4).
However, Brockmann does not disclose the flexible component.
Orczy-Timko, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the ceramic material and the polymer material extends around all inner and outer surfaces of the distal portion of the sleeve (pa. 0063).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the flexible component of Orczy-Timko to distal end region of the insulating insert of Brockmann for the purpose of making the distal end region strong, durable, and flexible.
Regarding claim 13, as best understood, Brockmann/Orczy-Timko combination discloses a hand-held surgical device (10) with an inner shaft (13) or shaft tube and with an outer shaft (12) or outer tube, and with an insulating insert (23) as claimed in claim 1 (Brockmann, pa. 0029), wherein the insulating insert is able to be coupled detachably to the inner shaft (Brockmann, pa. 0032), and the outer shaft is movable over the inner shaft and the insulating insert (Brockmann, pa. 0037).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brockmann and Orczy-Timko as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Liu (C.N. Application No. 217938361 U).
Regarding claim 10, Brockmann/Orczy-Timko combination discloses the invention substantially as claimed in claim 1 discussed above.
However, they do not disclose wherein the flexible component has a length in the axial direction of 0.3 mm to 7.0 mm.
Liu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches an insulating insert (200) for a hand-held surgical device (page 3, lines 10-11 & Fig. 1), wherein a circumference of the insulating insert has at least one flexible component (page 3, lines 22-24, bottom-up), and wherein the flexible component has a length in the axial direction of 0-0.6 mm (page 3, lines 17-18 & Fig. 2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the length of the flexible component to be within a range of 0.3 mm to 7.0 mm, as taught by Liu, in order to promote safely when using the device.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 10, and 15 of U.S. Application No. 20220015822 A1 in view of Orczy-Timko (U.S. Application No. 20140336643 A1).
Regarding instant claim 1, it is the Examiner’s position that copending independent claim 1 is narrower in some aspects given that the copending claim recites a plurality of the limitations that overlap, or otherwise narrower in scope than, those in instant claim 1. These narrower aspects include the claimed insulating insert, a hand-held surgical device, coupling means, a tubular shaft, an inner shaft, and an outer shaft. With respect to the narrower aspects, the Examiner notes that it has been held that the generic aspects of the instant invention would be anticipated by the narrower species aspects of the copending claim. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
With respect to the broader aspects of the copending claim, the Examiner notes that the difference between the instant claim 1 and the copending claim 1 exists in that the copending claim 1 fails to provide the insulation insert with “at least one flexible component.” Orczy-Timko, however, provides for a similar device as that of the copending claim and specifically contemplates the modifying the insulation insert to include a flexible component (pa. 0055, 0063). Therefore, it is the Examiner’s position that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified the distal end region of the insulating insert of the copending application to include the flexible component of Orczy-Timko in order to provide for a combined insulating insert that is strong, durable, and flexible.
With respect to dependent claim 13, see copending application dependent claim 10.
Conclusion
/A.V.G./Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/Ronald Hupczey, Jr./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794