DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-8, in the reply filed on 01/07/2026 is acknowledged.
Applicant has elected to elect with traverse. Applicants provide no specific arguments related to the Restriction Requirement. Therefore, the restriction/election requirement is still deemed proper and is made final.
Claims 9-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 9-17 are directed to a non-elected invention. Applicant timely traversed the restriction requirement in the reply filed on 01/07/2026.
Claim Interpretation
For the purposes of examination, the Examiner is interpreting the term “substantially formaldehyde free” in claim 7 to refer to a concentration of less than 1000 ppm. Such an interpretation is supported in Applicant’s specification, see para. 00022-00023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Uehara et al. (JP-2023035717-A), with reference to the included machine translation (hereinafter referred to as “Uehara”).
Regarding claims 1 and 4, Uehara teaches a building construction composition (see Uehara at pg. 3, para. 5, teaching a coated body having a functional layer; also see Uehara at pg. 9, para. 2, teaching the functional layer may be formed via a coating composition; also see Uehara at pg. 8, para. 2, teaching the functional layer can be formed on a building) comprising:
• hydrated gypsum, anhydrous gypsum, and/or calcium carbonate (see Uehara at pg. 9, para. 2, teaching the coating composition to contain inorganic fine particles (B); also see Uehara at pg. 5, para. 7, teaching calcium carbonate as a suitable inorganic fine particles (B));
• a starch and/or polymeric binder (see Uehara at pg. 10, para. 4, teaching the coating composition to contain binder resins, such as acrylic resins); and
• a copper-containing compound, wherein the copper-containing compound is copper hydroxide (regarding claim 4) (see Uehara at pg. 9, para. 2, teaching the coating composition as containing an antibacterial agent; also see Uehara at pg. 3, para. 10, teaching the antibacterial agent may include copper (II) hydroxide, i.e., copper hydroxide).
Regarding claim 2, see Uehara at pg. 9, para. 2, teaching the functional layer may be formed via a coating composition.
Regarding claim 5, see Uehara at pg. 10, last paragraph, teaching the coating composition may contain water as a solvent.
Regarding claim 6, see Uehara at pg. 11, para. 3, teaching the coating composition may contain other components such as pigments or viscosity modifiers.
Regarding claim 7, Uehara does not necessitate the presence of formaldehyde in their composition; accordingly, Uehara necessarily teaches their composition may be free of formaldehyde.
Regarding claim 8, the claimed limitation is a property of the composition. Since the composition of Uehara is the same as that claimed, it necessarily follows that the composition of Uehara meets the claimed property. Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. See MPEP § 2112.01(II). Burden of proof then shifts to Applicants to demonstrate the claimed property as not being met by Uehara.
Claims 1, 2, and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wilson et al. (US-20200120935-A1) (hereinafter referred to as “Wilson”).
Regarding claim 1, Wilson teaches a building construction composition (see Wilson at para. 0008, teaching an antimicrobial coating for a facing material for a building panel) comprising:
• hydrated gypsum, anhydrous gypsum, and/or calcium carbonate (see Wilson at para. 0024-0025, teaching the coating formulation may include a pigment, such as calcium carbonate);
• a starch and/or polymeric binder (see Wilson at para. 0037, teaching the coating formulation may contain a binder, such as an acrylic polymer); and
• a copper-containing compound (see Wilson at para. 0014 and 0021, teaching the composition as including a fungicide, such as copper pyrithione; copper pyrithione is a copper-containing compound).
Regarding claim 2, see Wilson at para. 0008, teaching the composition as being an antimicrobial coating.
Regarding claim 5, see Wilson at para. 0064, teaching the coating formulation may include a carrier, such as water.
Regarding claim 6, see Wilson at para. 0053, teaching the coating formulation may include a wetting agent which functions as a surfactant.
Regarding claim 7, Wilson does not necessitate the presence of formaldehyde in their composition; accordingly, Wilson necessarily teaches their composition may be free of formaldehyde.
Regarding claim 8, the claimed limitation is a property of the composition. Since the composition of Wilson is the same as that claimed, it necessarily follows that the composition of Wilson meets the claimed property. Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. See MPEP § 2112.01(II). Burden of proof then shifts to Applicants to demonstrate the claimed property as not being met by Wilson.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson.
Regarding claim 3, Wilson teaches the composition according to claim 1 outlined above, wherein the composition comprises:
• hydrated gypsum, anhydrous gypsum and/or calcium carbonate in an amount from about 30 wt% to about 90 wt% of the composition (see Wilson at para. 0032, teaching the pigment (i.e., calcium carbonate) may be present in an amount of 65 wt% or more based on the weight of the coating formulation; this range overlaps the claimed range, establishing a prima facie case of obviousness, see MPEP § 2144.05);
• the starch and/or polymeric binder in an amount from about 0.1 wt% to about 50 wt% of the composition (see Wilson at para. 0043, teaching the binder may be present in an amount of 20 wt% or more; this range overlaps the claimed range, establishing a prima facie case of obviousness, see MPEP § 2144.05); and
• the copper-containing compound in an amount from about 0.1 wt% to about 10 wt% of the composition (see Wilson at para. 0023, teaching the fungicide (i.e., copper pyrithione) may be present in the coating in an amount of 1 ppm or more and 10,000 ppm or less, or 0.0001 to 1 wt%; this range overlaps the claimed range, establishing a prima facie case of obviousness, see MPEP § 2144.05).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 and 6-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, and 6 of U.S. Patent No. US-9708220-B2 (hereinafter referred to as ‘220).
With respect to instant claims 1-3 and 6-8, although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct because instant claim 1 is met by claims 1 and 4 of ‘220 (the copper slag in claim 4 of ‘220 is a “copper-containing compound”); instant claim 2 is met by claim 1 of ‘220; instant claim 3 is met by claims 1 and 4 of ‘220; instant claim 6 is met by claim 6 of ‘220; instant claim 7 is met by claims 1 and 4 of ‘220 (the claims of ‘220 do not necessitate the presence of formaldehyde, and thus necessarily teach the composition as being free of formaldehyde); and instant claim 8 is met by claims 1 and 4 of ‘220 (since the composition of ‘220 is the same as that claimed, it necessarily follows that the composition demonstrates the claim 8 property).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
KR-100341935-B1 teaches an inorganic coating composition (see KR-100341935-B1 at Abstract).
Sugiyama (JP-2018008897-A), with reference to the included machine translation, teaches an industrial antibacterial, antifungal and algicidal agent (see Sugiyama at Abstract).
Lightner et al. (US-20050126430-A1) teaches a building article (see Lightner at Abstract).
/J.E.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1731
/AMBER R ORLANDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1731