DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed, 26 Aug 2026, with respect to “Rejection of Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 8, 13, 14, 16-18, 23 and 24 Under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(2)” have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection under 35 U.S.C. §103, necessitated by the amendment, does not rely on D’Souza alone for the teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument (the added “at first time step”, “at a second time step” and “at the first time step” language and the computing of the digital representation). To the extent the arguments remain relevant to D’Souza, which is applied as the primary reference, or to Guthrie, they have been considered and are addressed below.
Applicant admitted on pg 14, 2nd paragraph of the 3 Jun 2026 Remarks that "compute" is a synonym for "calculate". Applicant now argues on pg 10 of the 26 Jun 2026 Remarks that “division” is not a computation/calculation. However, division is a mathematical computation/calculation, and therefore, this argument is not persuasive.
Applicant's arguments filed 3 Jun 2026, on pg 16, 7th paragraph, "the cited references fail to suggest all limitations of claim 1". The combination of D'Souza and Guthrie teaches or suggests all limitations of claim 1, as discussed below.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 2 be found allowable, claim 14 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claims 8-9 and 15-22 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8 recites the limitation “wherein the first current path voltage comprises the output voltage and a first node voltage”. It is unclear how one voltage can comprise two other voltages with no established relationship between those voltages.
Claim 20 is rejected for the same reasons as stated above for Claim 8.
Claim 9 depends from Claim 8 and thus has at least the same defect(s).
Claim 15 recites the limitation “configured to calculate the current flow through the energy storage element at the second time step by: determine”. In this context, “determine” is not grammatically correct.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “the time step difference”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “at least one of” followed by “and/or”. One of these limitations is unnecessary and makes the rest of the limitation unclear.
Claim 17 recites the limitation “the determine one or more properties”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitation “the second path”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 18-22 depend from Claim 17 and thus have at least the same defect(s).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 14, 16-18 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D'Souza (US 12176808 B2), in view of Guthrie (US 9419627 B2).
Regarding Claim 1, D'Souza teaches a current synthesizer (350, Fig 3/4) for a switching converter (220-1, Fig 3) comprising an energy storage element (225A-1, Fig 3/4) and a first pass device (330, Fig 3/4), the switching converter configured to receive an input voltage (Vin/201, Fig 3) and to provide an output voltage (Va/240, Fig 3), the current synthesizer being configured to: determine one or more first properties ("the current (IL) through inductor 225A-1 is sensed by circuit 40 by measuring/obtaining the voltage across the LS switch 330", Col 8 [37-39] and “Current emulator block 350 in effect divides the measured voltage with the ON-resistance of LS MOSFET 330 to obtain the inductor current magnitude”, Col 7 [18-21]) of a first current path of the switching converter at a first time step (second phase of cycle 1, t53-t54, Fig 5; circuit 40 measures the inductor current in the second phases, Col 7[50-54]; and “When PWMA-1 is logic low, the inductor current flows in the loop formed by LS MOSFET 330, inductor 225A-1", Col 6 [57-59]), the first current path comprising the first pass device and the energy storage element ("When PWMA-1 is logic low, the inductor current flows in the loop formed by LS MOSFET 330, inductor 225A-1", Col 6 [57-59]); compute a current flow through the energy storage element at a second time step using the determined one or more first properties at the first time step (first phase of cycle 2, beginning at t54, Fig 5; circuit 41 creates a replica of the inductor current in the first phases without sensing it, Col 9 [58-60]; capacitors 430 and 435 hold the information representing the inductor current at the end of the second phase (t54) as the initial condition for circuit 41, Col 9[37-44; each first phase starts at the valley current held from the previous second phase, Col 10[56-60]; comparator 465 compares nodes 466 and 467 (points 552 and 521) at the start of cycle 2, Col 11[14-16]); generate a synthetic current signal, the synthetic current signal comprising a representation of the current flow through the energy storage element at the second time step, as computed (current emulator block 350 provides the replica inductor current of the first phase of cycle 2 on CSA-1/213, which represents current flowing through inductor 225A-1", Col 6[1-3], Col 7 [67]- Col 8[2]).
D'Souza does not explicitly disclose the synthetic current signal as being “digitized” or “digital”.
Guthrie teaches a conventional digital current synthesizer (see Fig 16) including generate a synthetic digitized current signal, the synthetic digitized current signal comprising a digital representation of the current flow through the energy storage element (digital current synthesizer 1602 generates a synthesized current waveform representative of the inductor current at its output, Fig 16, Col 11[45-9]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the digital current synthesizer in D'Souza, as taught by Guthrie, as it provides the advantage of calculating the dynamic component of the current directly from system parameters easily and with precision (Col 4[4-10] of Guthrie).
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of D'Souza and Guthrie discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1, and further discloses wherein the one or more first properties of the first current path comprises: a first current path resistance ("Current emulator block 350 in effect divides the measured voltage with the ON-resistance of LS MOSFET 330 to obtain the inductor current magnitude", Col 7 [18-21] of D’Souza); a first current path voltage ("the current (IL) through inductor 225A-1 is sensed by circuit 40 by measuring/obtaining the voltage across the LS switch 330 ", Col 8 [37-39] of D’Souza); and/or an inductance of the energy storage element, wherein the energy storage element comprises an inductor (225A-1 is an inductor, Fig 3/4 of D’Souza).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of D'Souza and Guthrie discloses all of the limitations of Claim 2, and further discloses wherein the first current path resistance comprises an equivalent series resistance of the inductor and a first pass device resistance of the first pass device ("FIG. 13 shows a conceptual model 1300 of a lossy circuit (based on the model shown in FIG. 11), indicating various resistances that may be accounted for, including the on resistance of the low-side FET (Ron.sub.EFF), the equivalent series resistance of the inductor (DCR)", Col 10 [5-9] of Guthrie).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of D'Souza and Guthrie discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1, and further discloses wherein the first pass device is a first power switch or a first diode (330 is a power switch, Fig 3/4 of D’Souza).
Regarding Claim 5, it is rejected for the same reasons as stated above for Claim 2.
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of D'Souza and Guthrie discloses all of the limitations of Claim 5, and further discloses wherein the first current path resistance comprises an equivalent series resistance of the inductor and a first power switch resistance of the first power switch ("FIG. 13 shows a conceptual model 1300 of a lossy circuit (based on the model shown in FIG. 11), indicating various resistances that may be accounted for, including the on resistance of the low-side FET (Ron.sub.EFF), the equivalent series resistance of the inductor (DCR)", Col 10 [5-9] of Guthrie).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of D'Souza and Guthrie discloses all of the limitations of Claim 6, and further discloses wherein the first power switch resistance is an on resistance of the first power switch or a body diode resistance of the first power switch ("Current emulator block 350 in effect divides the measured voltage with the ON-resistance of LS MOSFET 330 to obtain the inductor current magnitude", Col 7 [18-21] of D’Souza).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of D'Souza and Guthrie discloses all of the limitations of Claim 2, and further discloses wherein the first current path voltage comprises the output voltage ("When PWMA-1 is logic low, the inductor current flows in the loop formed by LS MOSFET 330, inductor 225A-1 and load", Col 6 [57-59]) and a first node voltage ("current emulator block 350 receives the voltage across LS MOSFET 330 via paths 335", Col 7 [16-17] of D’Souza).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of D'Souza and Guthrie discloses all of the limitations of Claim 8, and further discloses wherein the switching converter comprises a voltage detector configured to detect the output voltage (Vout is sampled, Fig 7, Col 6 [46-48] of Guthrie) and the first node voltage ("current emulator block 350 receives the voltage across LS MOSFET 330 via paths 335" where 335 is the voltage at the node between 320 and 330, Fig 3, Col 7 [16-17] of D’Souza).
Regarding Claim 14, it is rejected for the same reasons as stated above for Claim 2.
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of D'Souza and Guthrie discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1, and further discloses configured to generate the synthetic digitized current signal when the switching converter is in at least one of: a magnetization phase ("Circuit 41 operates to estimate and create a replica of inductor current in the first phases", where the first phases have a positive slope, Col 7 [61-62] of D’Souza); a demagnetization phase (Circuit 40 re-creates (i.e., creates a replica of) the inductor current in the second phases. As may be observed from FIG. 2B, the inductor current in the second phases has a falling (negative slope).", Col 7 [54-58] of D’Souza).
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of D'Souza and Guthrie discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1, and further discloses wherein the switching converter comprises a second power switch (320, Fig 3 of D’Souza), the current synthesizer being configured to: determine the one or more first properties ("the current (IL) through inductor 225A-1 is sensed by circuit 40 by measuring/obtaining the voltage across the LS switch 330", Col 8 [37-39] of D’Souza) of the first current path of the switching converter ("When PWMA-1 is logic low, the inductor current flows in the loop formed by LS MOSFET 330, inductor 225A-1", Col 6 [57-59] of D’Souza) during a first phase ("Circuit 40 measures (or senses, rather than estimating) the inductor current I L (inductor 225A-1 of FIG. 2 is also shown for clarity) in the second phases (i.e., when LS switch 330 (FIG. 3) is closed and driving the inductor current, HS switch 320 being open in the second phases)." e.g. at t52 of cycle 1 a voltage is measured at 521, and at t53 a voltage is measured corresponding to 522, Col 7 [53-55] of D’Souza); compute the current flow through the energy storage element using the determined one or more properties during the first phase ("Circuit 40 re-creates (i.e., creates a replica of) the inductor current in the second phases.", Col 7 [54-55] of D’Souza); generate a first portion of the synthetic digitized current signal (digital current synthesizer 1602 generates a synthesized current waveform representative of the inductor current at its output, Fig 16, Col 11[45-9] of Guthrie) during the first phase ("Current emulator block 350 provides the replica inductor current in the second phases at/on node/path CSA-1 (213)", Col 7 [58-60] of D’Souza), using the computed current flow during the first phase ("CSA-1 213 represents the current flowing through inductor 225A-1. CSA-1 can be a replica current, voltage and digital values", Col 6 [1-3] of D’Souza); determine one or more second properties of a second current path of the switching converter during a second phase ("estimate and create a replica (scaled or otherwise) of the inductor current in the first phases.", with HS MOSFET 320 on, current flows from Vin through 320 and inductor 225A-1 with a rising slope, Col 6[54-7], Col 7 [27-29] of D’Souza) (the change in current is updated for each PWM state from the FET and the inductor impedances, Col 9[46-50] of Guthrie), the second path comprising the second power switch and the energy storage element (second switch is 320 and inductor 225A-1, Fig 3 of D’Souza); compute the current flow through the energy storage element using the determined one or more second properties ("Circuit 41 of current emulator block 350 operates to create a replica of inductor current in the first phases", Col 9 [58-59] of D’Souza); and generate a second portion of the synthetic digitized current signal (digital current synthesizer 1602 generates a synthesized current waveform representative of the inductor current at its output, Fig 16, Col 11[45-9] of Guthrie) during the second phase ("Current emulator block 350 operates to generate replicas of the inductor current in the first phases", Col 7 [12-13] of D’Souza), using the computed current flow during the second phase ("create a replica (scaled or otherwise) of the inductor current in the first phases.", Col 7 [27-29] of D’Souza) ("CSA-1 213 represents the current flowing through inductor 225A-1. CSA-1 can be a replica current, voltage and digital values", Col 6 [1-3] of D’Souza).
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of D'Souza and Guthrie discloses all of the limitations of Claim 17, and further discloses the switching converter comprises a controller (210, Fig 2A of D’Souza) configured to provide a second control signal (312, Fig 3 of D’Souza) to the second power switch (320, Fig 2A of D’Souza); and the switching converter is operating in the first phase when the second power switch is in a first configuration ("When PWMA-1 is a logic low (corresponding to the second phase), gate driver 310 generates respective appropriate voltages on paths 312 and 313 to switch OFF MOSFET 320 and switch ON MOSFET 330.", Col 6 [49-53] of D’Souza) and operating in the second phase when the second power switch is in a second configuration ("PWMA-1 is a logic high (corresponding to the first phase), gate driver 310 generates respective appropriate voltages on paths 312 (en-HS) and 313 (en-LS) to switch ON MOSFET 320 and switch OFF MOSFET 330.", Col 6 [46-49] of D’Souza).
Regarding Claim 23, D'Souza discloses a power converter system (110, Fig 1 of D’Souza) comprising: a current synthesizer (350, Fig 3/4 of D’Souza) (digital current synthesizer 1602, Fig 16, Col 11[45-9] of Guthrie); and a switching converter (220-1, Fig 3 of D’Souza) comprising: an energy storage element (225A-1, Fig 3/4 of D’Souza) and a first pass device (330, Fig 3/4 of D’Souza), the switching converter configured to receive an input voltage (Vin/201, Fig 3 of D’Souza) and to provide an output voltage (Va/240, Fig 3 of D’Souza); wherein: the current synthesizer is configured to: determine one or more first properties ("the current (IL) through inductor 225A-1 is sensed by circuit 40 by measuring/obtaining the voltage across the LS switch 330", Col 8 [37-39] and “Current emulator block 350 in effect divides the measured voltage with the ON-resistance of LS MOSFET 330 to obtain the inductor current magnitude”, Col 7 [18-21]) of a first current path of the switching converter at a first time step (second phase of cycle 1, t53-t54, Fig 5; circuit 40 measures the inductor current in the second phases, Col 7[50-54]; and “When PWMA-1 is logic low, the inductor current flows in the loop formed by LS MOSFET 330, inductor 225A-1", Col 6 [57-59]), the first current path comprising the first pass device and the energy storage element ("When PWMA-1 is logic low, the inductor current flows in the loop formed by LS MOSFET 330, inductor 225A-1", Col 6 [57-59]); compute a current flow through the energy storage element at a second time step using the determined one or more first properties at the first time step (first phase of cycle 2, beginning at t54, Fig 5; circuit 41 creates a replica of the inductor current in the first phases without sensing it, Col 9 [58-60]; capacitors 430 and 435 hold the information representing the inductor current at the end of the second phase (t54) as the initial condition for circuit 41, Col 9[37-44; each first phase starts at the valley current held from the previous second phase, Col 10[56-60]; comparator 465 compares nodes 466 and 467 (points 552 and 521) at the start of cycle 2, Col 11[14-16]); generate a synthetic current signal, the synthetic current signal comprising a representation of the current flow through the energy storage element at the second time step, as computed (current emulator block 350 provides the replica inductor current of the first phase of cycle 2 on CSA-1/213, which represents current flowing through inductor 225A-1", Col 6[1-3], Col 7 [67]- Col 8[2]).
D'Souza does not explicitly disclose the synthetic current signal as being “digitized” or “digital”.
Guthrie teaches a conventional digital current synthesizer (see Fig 16) including generate a synthetic digitized current signal, the synthetic digitized current signal comprising a digital representation of the current flow through the energy storage element (digital current synthesizer 1602 generates a synthesized current waveform representative of the inductor current at its output, Fig 16, Col 11[45-9]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the digital current synthesizer in D'Souza, as taught by Guthrie, as it provides the advantage of calculating the dynamic component of the current directly from system parameters easily and with precision (Col 4[4-10] of Guthrie).
Regarding Claim 24, it is rejected for the same reasons as stated above for Claim 1.
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D'Souza (US 12176808 B2) in view of Guthrie (US 9419627 B2), and further in view of Fosler (US 20060023476 A1).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of D'Souza and Guthrie discloses all of the limitations of Claim 2, and further teaches comprising a memory storage element (memory Storage 130, Fig 1 of D’Souza); wherein at least one of the first current path resistance and the inductance of the inductor ("Current emulator block 350 in effect divides the measured voltage with the ON-resistance of LS MOSFET 330 to obtain the inductor current magnitude", Col 7 [18-21] of D’Souza).
The combination of D'Souza and Guthrie does not disclose a lookup table for storing calibration data; are determined using at least a portion of the calibration data.
Fosler teaches a conventional memory (see [0159-160]) including a memory storage element comprising (memory, [0159]): lookup table (“look-up table that can be stored in the memory", [0159]) for storing calibration data (it is well known in the art that a lookup table can be used to determine an unknown value, like the current path resistance, by measuring a different circuit value and finding the corresponding value for the current path resistance in a lookup table, [0159]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the memory in D'Souza, as taught by Fosler, as it provides the advantage of providing faster calculations for a more power efficient operation ([0085] of Fosler).
Regarding Claim 11, the recitation of the “inductance of the inductor” is not required in Claim 10. Therefore, the additional limitation(s) required in Claim 11 is not applicable.
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of D'Souza, Guthrie, and Fosler discloses all of the limitations of Claim 10, and further discloses determine the first current path resistance using one or both of a gate drive voltage and a temperature value ("Once the current is sensed, then the value of V.sub.REF output by the reference DAC 506 is then set. This is set in accordance with a look-up table that can be stored in the memory", a person skilled in the art could use a lookup table to use a gate drive voltage or a temperature value to lookup a value corresponding to a current path resistance, [0159] of Fosler).
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D'Souza (US 12176808 B2) in view of Guthrie (US 9419627 B2), and further in view of de Cremoux (US 20230155472 A1).
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of D'Souza, Guthrie discloses all of the limitations of Claim 17 above, and further discloses wherein the one or more first properties of the first current path comprises: a first current path resistance ("Current emulator block 350 in effect divides the measured voltage with the ON-resistance of LS MOSFET 330 to obtain the inductor current magnitude", Col 7 [18-21] of D’Souza); a first current path voltage ("the current (IL) through inductor 225A-1 is sensed by circuit 40 by measuring/obtaining the voltage across the LS switch 330 ", Col 8 [37-39] of D’Souza); and/or an inductance of the energy storage element, wherein the energy storage element comprises an inductor (225A-1 is an inductor, Fig 3/4 of D’Souza).
The combination of D'Souza and Guthrie does not disclose the one or more second properties of the second current path comprises: a second current path resistance; a second current path voltage; and/or the inductance of the energy storage element.
de Cremoux teaches a conventional current sensing circuit for use in a power converter (see Fig 13) including the one or more second properties of the second current path comprises: a second current path resistance ("IHS×RDSON=IOUT×RDSON×D" where IHS is the current through high side switch 1308 and RDSON is the internal resistance, Fig 13, [0254]); a second current path voltage; and/or the inductance of the energy storage element ("A voltage VDAC is then provided at the node 834. The compensating voltage VDAC is equal to a voltage difference between the first sensor terminal 831 and the second sensor terminal 833 of the sensor switch 708. If the sensor switch 708 is selected to have an internal resistance RDSON×k, as previously discussed, then: VDAC=RDSON×k×IDAC.", [0196]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the current sensing circuit in D'Souza, as taught by de Cremoux, as it provides the advantage very accurately measuring output or input current of a switching power converter ([0256] of de Cremoux).
Regarding Claim 20, the combination of D'Souza, Guthrie and de Cremoux teaches all of the limitations of Claim 19 above, and further teaches wherein: the first current path voltage comprises the output voltage and a first node voltage ("In the example of FIG. 3, current emulator block 350 receives the voltage across LS MOSFET 330 via paths 335 and 399 (ground) in the second phases.", where 335 is the first node voltage, Col 7 [16-17] of D'Souza); and/or the second current path voltage comprises the output voltage and a second node voltage ("PWMA-1 is logic high, current flows from Vin to the load (connected to Va node, but not shown) via HS MOSFET 320 and inductor 225A-1 with rising slope.", where Va is the output voltage node, Col 6 [54-59] of D'Souza).
Claims 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D'Souza (US 12176808 B2) in view of Guthrie (US 9419627 B2), and further in view of de Cremoux (US 20230155472 A1) and Fosler (US 20060023476 A1).
Regarding Claim 21, the combination of D'Souza, Guthrie and de Cremoux discloses all of the limitations of Claim 19, and further discloses comprising a memory storage element (memory Storage 130, Fig 1 of D’Souza); wherein at least one of the first current path resistance and the inductance of the inductor ("Current emulator block 350 in effect divides the measured voltage with the ON-resistance of LS MOSFET 330 to obtain the inductor current magnitude", Col 7 [18-21] of D’Souza).
The combination of D'Souza, Guthrie, and de Cremoux does not disclose a lookup table for storing calibration data; are determined using at least a portion of the calibration data.
Fosler teaches a conventional memory (see [0159-160]) including a memory storage element comprising (memory, [0159]): lookup table (“look-up table that can be stored in the memory", [0159]) for storing calibration data (it is well known in the art that a lookup table can be used to determine an unknown value, like the current path resistance, by measuring a different circuit value and finding the corresponding value for the current path resistance in a lookup table, [0159]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the memory in D'Souza, as taught by Fosler, as it provides the advantage of providing faster calculations for a more power efficient operation ([0085] of Fosler).
Regarding Claim 22, the recitation of the “inductance of the inductor” is not required in Claim 21. Therefore, the additional limitation(s) required in Claim 22 is not applicable.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the Claim Objections set forth in this Office action and written to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/J.C.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/GARY L LAXTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838 10/06/2026