DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments/Amendments
Applicant’s amendment filed 2 March 2026 with respect to the claim objection of claim 5 and the 35 USC § 112 rejection of claim 9 correct the issues and these are therefore withdrawn. However, the 35 USC § 112 rejection of claim 6 was not addressed and is maintained.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 2 March 2026, with respect to 35 USC § 112 rejection of claims 4-5 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC § 112 rejection of claims 4-5 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 2 March 2026 with respect to “a controller configured to activate the auxiliary compressor to pump fluid through the coolant loop in response to determining that a temperature within a volume of the vehicle is greater than a set point temperature” have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Please see below.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to “wherein the auxiliary engine is configured to provide power to one or more additional loads” is a newly added amendment that is addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the auxiliary generator" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0324616 (previously published as WO2019/102451) by Farhi et al. (Farhi hereinafter) in view of US 9,211,881 by Waldschmidt et al. (Waldschmidt hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Farhi discloses an auxiliary compressor system [see at least Figure 1] comprising: an auxiliary compressor [see at least Figure 1, (150)] selectively driven by an auxiliary engine [see at least Figure 1, (152)]; and one or more conduits connected to the auxiliary compressor [see at least Figure 1, (154b) and (156b)], the auxiliary compressor to selectively [see at least Figure 1, (140a) and (140b); paragraphs 0020-022] pump fluid through a coolant loop [see at least Figure 1, (30) to (80)] of a cooling system [see at least Figure 1, (30)] integrated within a vehicle [see at least abstract] via the one or more conduits [see at least Figure 1, (154b) and (156b)], wherein the cooling system is connected to a vehicle compressor [see at least Figure 1, (50)] driven by a vehicle engine [see at least Figure 1, (20)]; and a controller [see at least Figure 1, (110)] configured to activate the auxiliary compressor to pump fluid through the coolant loop in response to determining that a temperature within a volume of the vehicle is greater than a set point temperature [see at least paragraph 0021, “Upon determining that the ambient temperature inside the cabin is above a preconfigured threshold temperature, the auxiliary controller (110) is configured to activate the auxiliary electric alternator-motor, the blower, the fan, the electric relay switches and the auxiliary compressor”].
Farhi fails to disclose wherein the auxiliary engine is configured to provide power to one or more additional loads; and determining that a total power demand on the auxiliary engine from the one or more additional loads is less than a threshold. However, Waldschmidt discloses control of an auxiliary power unit (APU) of a vehicle [see at least Abstract] which power multiple loads [see at least column 6, line 45 – column 7, line 40, “compressor load” and “alternator load”] while operating the APU below its total power output [see at least column 6, line 45 – column 7, line 40, “operates the auxiliary power unit 55 continuously from time T.sub.0 to time T.sub.3 without exceeding the total power output of the auxiliary engine 85”] in order to accommodate the compressor load [see at least column 6, line 45 – column 7, line 40, “The alternator load can be applied and removed relative to the auxiliary engine 85 anytime while the auxiliary engine 85 is running to accommodate the compressor load being applied to the auxiliary engine 85 when the compressor 75 changes from the off state to the on state. In some constructions, the control system 105 applies and removes the auxiliary alternator load relative to the auxiliary engine 85 in view of the state of the compressor 75 and also in view of the state of charge of the electrical storage system 100”].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the Applicant's invention to modify the cooling system of Farhi to include the multiple loads and load management of the auxiliary power unit, as disclosed by Waldschmidt, in order to keep the APU load below its maximum output while providing power to other loads. Thus, ensuring that the cooling system remains operational.
Regarding claim 2, Farhi in view of Waldschmidt teaches the auxiliary compressor system as defined in claim 1.
Farhi discloses further comprising one or more valves [see at least Figure 1, (140a) and (140b)] configured to selectively channel fluid from one of the auxiliary compressor or the vehicle compressor through the coolant loop [see at least paragraphs 0020-0022].
Regarding claim 3, Farhi in view of Waldschmidt teaches the auxiliary compressor system as defined in claim 1.
Farhi discloses wherein the controller [see at least Figure 1, (110)] is configured to: receive control signals to activate the cooling system [see at least Figure 3, (310)]; and control the auxiliary engine or the auxiliary compressor based on the control signals [see at least Figure 3].
Regarding claim 4, Farhi in view of Waldschmidt teaches the auxiliary compressor system as defined in claim 3.
Farhi discloses wherein the cooling system comprises a cooling control system [see at least Figure 1, (110)] operable to receive inputs from one or more sensors [see at least Figure 1, (120)], a user interface, or a vehicle control system.
Regarding claim 5, Farhi in view of Waldschmidt teaches the auxiliary compressor system as defined in claim 4.
Farhi discloses wherein the cooling system comprises a cooling control system to generate the control signals based on the received inputs [see at least Figure 3, (310)].
Regarding claim 6, Farhi in view of Waldschmidt teaches the auxiliary compressor system as defined in claim 3.
Farhi discloses wherein the controller further comprises a memory storage device [the definition of a controller includes memory and a processor] that includes a list of threshold power characteristic values [see at least Figure 5, (515), (525) and (555)] corresponding to a power allocation scheme [see at least Figure 5] for one or more auxiliary devices including the auxiliary compressor, the auxiliary generator, a battery charger [see at least Figure 5, (510)], or a welding-type power output.
Regarding claim 7, Farhi in view of Waldschmidt teaches the auxiliary compressor system as defined in claim 6.
Farhi discloses wherein the controller is further configured to: receive power characteristics corresponding to the one or more auxiliary devices [see at least Figure 5, (510)]; compare the received power characteristics to the list of threshold power characteristics [see at least Figure 5, (515) and (525)]; and adjust power output to one or more of the one or more auxiliary devices based on the comparison [see at least Figure 5, (530)].
Regarding claim 8, Farhi in view of Waldschmidt teaches the auxiliary compressor system as defined in claim 3.
Farhi discloses wherein the controller is operable to increase a speed of the auxiliary engine to drive the auxiliary compressor in response to the control signals [see at least Figure 3, (360); the motor is activated from off and no speed, to on with speed].
Regarding claim 9, Farhi in view of Waldschmidt teaches the auxiliary compressor system as defined in claim 3.
Farhi discloses wherein the controller is operable to control the clutch to activate to drive the auxiliary compressor in response to the control signals [see at least paragraphs 0025 and 0125].
Regarding claim 10, Farhi in view of Waldschmidt teaches the auxiliary compressor system as defined in claim 3.
Farhi discloses wherein the controller is further configured to: receive control signals to deactivate the cooling system [see at least Figure 3, (380)-(384)]; receive data that the vehicle compressor is not being driven by the vehicle engine [see at least Figure 3, (385) or (301)]; and control the engine to drive the auxiliary compressor based on the control signals [see at least Figure 3, (320)-(360)].
Regarding claim 11, Farhi in view of Waldschmidt teaches the auxiliary compressor system as defined in claim 1.
Farhi discloses wherein the controller is further operable to receive vehicle engine state information from a vehicle control system [see at least Figure 3, (385) or (301)].
Regarding claim 12, Farhi in view of Waldschmidt teaches the auxiliary compressor system as defined in claim 3.
Farhi discloses wherein the controller is further operable to transmit or receive information to or from the vehicle control system via a wired or a wireless communications interface [see at least Figure 1, dash lines to controller (110)].
Regarding claim 20, Farhi discloses an auxiliary compressor system [see at least Figure 1] comprising: an auxiliary compressor [see at least Figure 1, (150)] selectively driven by an auxiliary engine [see at least Figure 1, (152)]; one or more conduits connected to the auxiliary compressor [see at least Figure 1, (154b) and (156b)], the auxiliary compressor to selectively pump fluid [see at least paragraphs 0020-0022] through a coolant loop [see at least Figure 1, (30) to (80)] of a cooling system [see at least Figure 1, (30)] via the one or more conduits [see at least Figure 1, (154b) and (156b)], wherein the cooling system is connected to a primary compressor [see at least Figure 1, (50)] driven by a primary engine [see at least Figure 1, (20)]; and a controller [see at least Figure 1, (110)] to: receive a temperature signal representative of a temperature within a volume of he truck [see at least Figure 3, (310); paragraph 0021, “Upon determining that the ambient temperature inside the cabin is above a preconfigured threshold temperature, the auxiliary controller (110) is configured to activate the auxiliary electric alternator-motor, the blower, the fan, the electric relay switches and the auxiliary compressor”]; receive control signals to activate the auxiliary compressor [see at least Figure 3, (315)]; and control the auxiliary engine to drive the auxiliary compressor based on the temperature signal [see at least Figure 3, (320)-(360); paragraph 0021, “Upon determining that the ambient temperature inside the cabin is above a preconfigured threshold temperature, the auxiliary controller (110) is configured to activate the auxiliary electric alternator-motor, the blower, the fan, the electric relay switches and the auxiliary compressor”].
Farhi fails to disclose wherein the auxiliary engine is configured to provide power to one or more additional loads; and determining that a total power demand on the auxiliary engine from the one or more additional loads is less than a threshold. However, Waldschmidt discloses control of an auxiliary power unit (APU) of a vehicle [see at least Abstract] which power multiple loads [see at least column 6, line 45 – column 7, line 40, “compressor load” and “alternator load”] while operating the APU below its total power output [see at least column 6, line 45 – column 7, line 40, “operates the auxiliary power unit 55 continuously from time T.sub.0 to time T.sub.3 without exceeding the total power output of the auxiliary engine 85”] in order to accommodate the compressor load [see at least column 6, line 45 – column 7, line 40, “The alternator load can be applied and removed relative to the auxiliary engine 85 anytime while the auxiliary engine 85 is running to accommodate the compressor load being applied to the auxiliary engine 85 when the compressor 75 changes from the off state to the on state. In some constructions, the control system 105 applies and removes the auxiliary alternator load relative to the auxiliary engine 85 in view of the state of the compressor 75 and also in view of the state of charge of the electrical storage system 100”].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the Applicant's invention to modify the cooling system of Farhi to include the multiple loads and load management of the auxiliary power unit, as disclosed by Waldschmidt, in order to keep the APU load below its maximum output while providing power to other loads. Thus, ensuring that the cooling system remains operational.
Claims 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0324616 (previously published as WO2019/102451) by Farhi et al. (Farhi hereinafter) in view of US 9,211,881 by Waldschmidt et al. (Waldschmidt hereinafter) and US 2012/0085830 by Sundhar.
Regarding claim 13, Farhi discloses a power system comprising: cooling system is connected to a vehicle compressor [see at least Figure 1, (50)] driven by a vehicle engine [see at least Figure 1, (20)]; and a controller [see at least Figure 1, (110)] configured to activate the auxiliary compressor to pump fluid through the coolant loop in response to determining that a temperature within a volume of the vehicle is greater than a set point temperature [see at least paragraph 0021, “Upon determining that the ambient temperature inside the cabin is above a preconfigured threshold temperature, the auxiliary controller (110) is configured to activate the auxiliary electric alternator-motor, the blower, the fan, the electric relay switches and the auxiliary compressor”].
Farhi fails to disclose wherein the auxiliary engine is configured to provide power to one or more additional loads; and determining that a total power demand on the auxiliary engine from the one or more additional loads is less than a threshold. However, Waldschmidt discloses control of an auxiliary power unit (APU) of a vehicle [see at least Abstract] which power multiple loads [see at least column 6, line 45 – column 7, line 40, “compressor load” and “alternator load”] while operating the APU below its total power output [see at least column 6, line 45 – column 7, line 40, “operates the auxiliary power unit 55 continuously from time T.sub.0 to time T.sub.3 without exceeding the total power output of the auxiliary engine 85”] in order to accommodate the compressor load [see at least column 6, line 45 – column 7, line 40, “The alternator load can be applied and removed relative to the auxiliary engine 85 anytime while the auxiliary engine 85 is running to accommodate the compressor load being applied to the auxiliary engine 85 when the compressor 75 changes from the off state to the on state. In some constructions, the control system 105 applies and removes the auxiliary alternator load relative to the auxiliary engine 85 in view of the state of the compressor 75 and also in view of the state of charge of the electrical storage system 100”].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the Applicant's invention to modify the cooling system of Farhi to include the multiple loads and load management of the auxiliary power unit, as disclosed by Waldschmidt, in order to keep the APU load below its maximum output while providing power to other loads. Thus, ensuring that the cooling system remains operational.
Farhi in view of Waldschmidt fails to specifically teach an enclosure (although it is fully believed that all components are within an engine compartment). However, Sundhar discloses this limitation [see at least Figure 1A; paragraph 0011].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to enclose the components of the power system to protect these components from environmental elements, thus increasing the longevity and reliability of the components.
Regarding claim 14, Farhi in view of Waldschmidt and Sundhar teaches the power system as defined in claim 13.
Farhi discloses wherein the one or more conduits connect to the coolant loop via one or more valves [see at least Figure 1, (140a) and (140b)].
Regarding claim 15, Farhi in view of Waldschmidt and Sundhar teaches the power system as defined in claim 14.
Farhi discloses wherein the one or more valves comprise a connector to secure or remove the one or conduits to the coolant loop [see at least paragraph 0020].
Regarding claim 16, Farhi in view of Waldschmidt and Sundhar teaches the power system as defined in claim 13.
Sundhar discloses further comprising a belt to operatively link the clutch to a shaft of the auxiliary compressor [see at least paragraph 0018].
Regarding claim 17, Farhi in view of Waldschmidt and Sundhar teaches the power system as defined in claim 13.
Farhi discloses further comprising an energy storage device [see at least Figure 1, (40)] to provide mechanical power to drive the auxiliary compressor [see at least paragraph 0116].
Regarding claim 18, Farhi in view of Waldschmidt and Sundhar teaches the power system as defined in claim 13.
Farhi discloses wherein the controller [see at least Figure 1, (110)] is configured to control the auxiliary engine or the auxiliary compressor when the vehicle compressor is not being driven by the vehicle engine [see at least Figure 3].
Regarding claim 19, Farhi in view of Waldschmidt and Sundhar teaches the power system as defined in claim 13.
Farhi discloses wherein the controller is further configured to: receive control signals to activate the cooling system [see at least Figure 3, (310)]; receive data that the vehicle compressor is not being driven by the vehicle engine [see at least Figure 3, (385) and (301)]; and control the auxiliary engine to drive the auxiliary compressor based on the control signals and the data [see at least Figure 3, (320)-(360)].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOEL BARNETT/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REGIS J BETSCH/SPE, Art Unit 2836