Drawings
The drawings are objected to because leadlines cannot share reference numerals. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "10" and "13" have both been used to designate a female coupler matable end; and reference characters "10" and "13" have both been used to designate a male coupler matable end. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Double Patenting
Claims 124-125, 128, 130, 131, 134-137 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 4-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11992646. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the method of using or making a connector system are essentially the same subject matter.
Claims 124-125, 128, 130, 131, 134-137 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 4-13 of U.S. Patent No. 10583281. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the method of using or making a connector system are essentially the same subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 124, 125, 127-131 and 133-135 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20110204622, Lewis.
In regards to claim 124, Lewis discloses a method of using a connector system for releasably connecting tubes, comprising: obtaining said connector system (see Fig.1) comprising: a female coupler (206) having a first passageway; a male coupler (102) having a second passageway; and a catch assembly (200) comprising: a catch movably coupled to said female coupler; and a catch-biasing member comprising a pair of resiliently flexible arms (see Fig. 10 below) which outwardly extend from said catch; said catch assembly comprising a one-piece construct; coupling a first tube (144) to said female coupler; coupling a second tube (104) to said male coupler; and releasably coupling said female and male couplers to achieve a connected condition of said connector system in which said first and second passageways dispose in fluidic communication to provide a fluid flow path ([0004]).
[AltContent: textbox (Arms)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
In regards to claim 125, Lewis discloses said male coupler comprises a catch- receiving element (124); wherein upon releasable coupling of said female and male couplers, said catch engages with said catch-receiving element to fix a position of said female coupler in relation to said male coupler, thereby achieving said connected condition of said connector system.
In regards to claim 127, Lewis discloses flowing fluid through said fluid flow path ([0053]).
In regards to claim 128, Lewis discloses comprising disengaging said catch from said catch-receiving element to achieve a disconnected condition of said connector system.
In regards to claim 129, Lewis discloses forcibly urging a release element (215) configured to disengage said catch from said catch-receiving element to achieve said disconnected condition of said connector system.
In regards to claim 130, Lewis discloses method of using a connector system for releasably connecting tubes, comprising: obtaining said connector system comprising: a female coupler having a first passageway; a male coupler having a second passageway; and a catch assembly comprising: a catch movably coupled to said female coupler; and a catch-biasing member comprising a pair of resiliently flexible arms which outwardly extend from said catch; said catch movably coupled to said female coupler such that said catch is capable of inward movement toward a female coupler inner space (see Fig. 13) defined by a female coupler inner surface of said female coupler, and outward movement away from said female coupler inner space; coupling a first tube to said female coupler; coupling a second tube to said male coupler; and releasably coupling said female and male couplers to achieve a connected condition of said connector system in which said first and second passageways dispose in fluidic communication to provide a fluid flow path.
In regards to claim 131, Lewis discloses said male coupler comprises a catch- receiving element; wherein upon releasable coupling of said female and male couplers, said catch engages with said catch-receiving element to fix a position of said female coupler in relation to said male coupler, thereby achieving said connected condition of said connector system.
In regards to claim 133, Lewis discloses flowing fluid through said fluid flow path.
In regards to claim 134, Lewis discloses disengaging said catch from said catch-receiving element to achieve a disconnected condition of said connector system.
In regards to claim 135, Lewis discloses forcibly urging a release element configured to disengage said catch from said catch-receiving element to achieve said disconnected condition of said connector system.
Claim(s) 124, 125, 127-131, 133-137 and 139-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20150076815, Lombardi.
In regards to claim 124, Lombardi discloses a method of using a connector system for releasably connecting tubes, comprising: obtaining said connector system comprising: a female coupler (160) having a first passageway; a male coupler (12) having a second passageway; and a catch assembly (16) comprising: a catch movably coupled to said female coupler; and a catch-biasing member comprising a pair of resiliently flexible arms (122) which outwardly extend from said catch; said catch assembly comprising a one-piece construct; coupling a first tube to said female coupler; coupling a second tube to said male coupler (see Abstract); and releasably coupling said female and male couplers to achieve a connected condition of said connector system in which said first and second passageways dispose in fluidic communication to provide a fluid flow path ([0003]).
In regards to claim 125, Lombardi discloses said male coupler comprises a catch-receiving element (96); wherein upon releasable coupling of said female and male couplers, said catch engages with said catch-receiving element to fix a position of said female coupler in relation to said male coupler, thereby achieving said connected condition of said connector system.
In regards to claim 127, Lombardi discloses flowing fluid through said fluid flow path.
In regards to claim 128, Lombardi discloses comprising disengaging said catch from said catch-receiving element to achieve a disconnected condition of said connector system.
In regards to claim 129, Lombardi discloses forcibly urging a release element (166) configured to disengage said catch from said catch-receiving element to achieve said disconnected condition of said connector system.
In regards to claim 130, Lombardi discloses method of using a connector system for releasably connecting tubes, comprising: obtaining said connector system comprising: a female coupler having a first passageway; a male coupler having a second passageway; and a catch assembly comprising: a catch movably coupled to said female coupler; and a catch-biasing member comprising a pair of resiliently flexible arms which outwardly extend from said catch; said catch movably coupled to said female coupler such that said catch is capable of inward movement toward a female coupler inner space (138) defined by a female coupler inner surface of said female coupler, and outward movement away from said female coupler inner space; coupling a first tube to said female coupler; coupling a second tube to said male coupler; and releasably coupling said female and male couplers to achieve a connected condition of said connector system in which said first and second passageways dispose in fluidic communication to provide a fluid flow path.
In regards to claim 131, Lombardi discloses said male coupler comprises a catch- receiving element; wherein upon releasable coupling of said female and male couplers, said catch engages with said catch-receiving element to fix a position of said female coupler in relation to said male coupler, thereby achieving said connected condition of said connector system.
In regards to claim 133, Lombardi discloses flowing fluid through said fluid flow path.
In regards to claim 134, Lombardi discloses disengaging said catch from said catch-receiving element to achieve a disconnected condition of said connector system.
In regards to claim 135, Lombardi discloses forcibly urging a release element configured to disengage said catch from said catch-receiving element to achieve said disconnected condition of said connector system.
In regards to claim 136, Lombardi discloses method of using a connector system for releasably connecting tubes, comprising: obtaining said connector system comprising: a female coupler having a first passageway; a male coupler having a second passageway; and a catch assembly comprising: a catch movably coupled to said female coupler; and a catch-biasing member comprising a pair of resiliently flexible arms which outwardly extend from said catch; said catch responsive to a cam (162); and said cam provided by a release element which is movably coupled to said female coupler; coupling a first tube to said female coupler; coupling a second tube to said male coupler; and releasably coupling said female and male couplers to achieve a connected condition of said connector system in which said first and second passageways dispose in fluidic communication to provide a fluid flow path.
In regards to claim 137, Lombardi discloses said male coupler comprises a catch- receiving element; wherein upon releasable coupling of said female and male couplers, said catch engages with said catch-receiving element to fix a position of said female coupler in relation to said male coupler, thereby achieving said connected condition of said connector system.
In regards to claim 139, Lombardi discloses flowing fluid through said fluid flow path.
In regards to claim 140, Lombardi discloses forcibly urging said cam to disengage said catch from said catch-receiving element to achieve a disconnected condition of said connector system ([0058]-[0062]).
In regards to claim 141, Lombardi discloses forcibly urging said release element to disengage said catch from said catch-receiving element to achieve said disconnected condition of said connector system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 126, 132 and 138 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/AARON M DUNWOODY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679