DETAILED ACTION
The following FINAL Office Action is in response to Applicant’s communication filed 11/14/2025 regarding Application 18/675,836.
Status of Claim(s)
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are currently pending and are rejected as follows.
Response to Arguments – 101 Rejection
Applicant’s arguments and amendments in regards to the previously applied 101 rejection have been fully considered and deemed persuasive.
Accordingly, Examiner withdraws the previously applied 101 rejection
Response to Arguments – 102 Rejection
Applicant’s arguments in regards to the previously applied 102 rejection are rendered moot in view of the newly amended prior art rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lightbody (US 2024/0095682 A1) in view of Schaad (US 2025/0245586 A1)
Claim(s) 1, 12, and 17 –
Lightbody discloses the following limitations:
a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (Lightbody: Paragraph 236, "In some embodiments, a computer program product for implementing the above described methods are further provided. The computer program product includes a non-transitory computer-readable medium having computer-readable program code stored thereon. The computer-readable program code is configured to implement the above descried methods.")
at least one processor (Lightbody: Paragraph 235, "In some embodiments, a system for implementing the above described methods are further provided. The be generated by embedding the priority information for the associated events. For example, the AI-assisted prioritization module 209 may generate a scheduling link that also incorporates the priority information obtained through metadata associated with the events in a calendar. The AI-assisted prioritization module 209 may look into the metadata associated with events included in the calendar when generating a scheduling link. The priority information for events may be then shared through the scheduling link, to allow another scheduler to schedule the events by also considering the priority of events included in the shared calendar. For example, by incorporating the priority information into a scheduling link, an AI assistant receiving the link may then determine whether to adjust the availability of the events in the calendar, e.g., by treating certain lower priority events as free, so that an event with a higher priority may have more available timeslots for scheduling."; Paragraph 174, "In some embodiments, the AI-assisted prioritization module 209 disclosed herein may generate a specialized scheduling link called a high priority scheduling link. A high-priority scheduling link is a link generated for scheduling an event with a high priority with others. For example, a user may receive a high priority scheduling link from another user. The scheduling application for handling the scheduling link may maximize the availability of the to-be-scheduled event by treating habits, tasks, and smart 1: 1 s with lower priorities as free, even if those events are currently marked as busy."; Paragraph 204, "The intelligent calendar application disclosed herein addresses this kind of problem by using a calendar sync function, which allows a user to block events across calendars, keeping the user's synced events up-to-date anytime there is a change. The calendar sync function also solves the "privacy problem" by allowing the user to set customizable visibility for the synced events. For example, if the user has a job interview that the user does not want people spying on, the user may just set it as "busy" or "personal commitment." This then provides an effective way to offer just the right amount of context without worrying about people seeing details the user doesn't want them to. Another advantage of using the calendar sync function is that the user can completely eliminate the organization's visibility of the user's other calendars without having to worry about being overbooked. A specific process for intelligent calendar synchronization is further described with reference to FIG. 8.")
determining one or more time objectives for the user account related to the project (Lightbody: Paragraph 71, "The scheduler 205 may be configured to generate one or more assignments and resulting assignment events for an event or habit and use the generated assignment events to plan out a schedule. An assignment is a demand on a user's time assigned by the intelligent calendar system 100 to find space for a one-off task 232 or a recurring habit 241 within the user's intelligent calendar 211, while an assignment event is an event created by the intelligent calendar system 100 in service to an assignment. The assignments are generated by the scheduler 205 and thus a user does not work with assignments directly. An assignment may have, but is not limited to, the following properties:"; Paragraph 91, "In some embodiments, each of day plan, week plan, or ideal plan may have an associated time policy. As described earlier, a time policy includes days and time ranges that pertain to a user's life and goals. The most common time policy is working hours (e.g., Monday-Friday 9:00 am-5:00 pm), but it can also be something more narrowly defined, such as "focus time" (e.g., Monday, Wednesday, and Friday 6:00 am-10:00 am) as described earlier. In some embodiments, the time policy can also become sophisticated. For example, the time policy for a week can be like this:"; Paragraph 92, "Monday-Thursday: 6:00 am to 9:00 am, 10:00 am to 5:00 µm, 8:00 µm to 10:00 pm"; Paragraph 93, "Friday: 8:00 am to 4:00 pm”; Paragraph, 94, “Sunday: 10:00 am to 12:00 pm"; Paragraph 138, "As described above, in some embodiments, a specialized AI-assisted prioritization module 209 may be further figured in the disclosed intelligent calendar system 100, to determine a priority of each event, habit, or task, which then allows the system (e.g., scheduler 205 or other components included therein) to organize events, tasks, or projects in calendars according to the determined priority of each event, habit, or task. In some embodiments, the specifically configured AI-assisted prioritization module 209 may be configured to allow cognitive scheduling of a single calendar by multiple entities or cognitive scheduling of multiple calendars by a single entity, where the multiple calendars may be across different platforms (e.g., zoom scheduling or outlook calendar platforms). Towards this objective, an AI-based mechanism may be employed to make cognitive associations between the data sources by creating a uniform data format that can be uniformly accepted by different scheduling platforms, where the uniform data format may allow each scheduling platform to easily identify the priority of each event when scheduling the to-be-scheduled events.")
Generating time objective data comprising descriptors of the one or more time objectives (Lightbody: Paragraph 42, “Client device 103 may be configured to receive input from a user 113 via a user interface component or other input means. Examples of input may include voice, visual, touch, or text input, etc. In some embodiments, one or more portions of the input may correspond to a task or habit customization, event description, event decoration, event publication, and other calendar-related activities within a digital calendar. Client device 103 may store the calendar-related activities including the created calendars as calendar data. In some embodiments, the client device 103 may also collect and store other user information not necessarily received from the user inputs. For example, client device 103 may be configured to automatically track user locations, user online activities, or other user activities implemented on or accessible through the client device 103. For instance, based on the tracked location information, the client device 103 may determine when a user 113 arrives at and gets off from the office, or when a user takes a walk during business hours or after business hours. Based on the determined location information, the intelligent calendar system 100 may determine a proper schedule that fits the current location of the user.”; Paragraph 54, “The events 212 included in the calendar 211 may have certain event properties set up by the authorized user associated with the calendar. For example, the user may set up the title, summary description, privacy, visibility, color, notification, attendees, and the like for an event. The title and/or summary description may provide a brief description of an event, allowing quick identification of the event. For example, the title for an event may be “lunch with John.” The privacy of an event may be set as public, private, or default. A public event may allow others to see the event. A private event may be not visible to others, while an event set as default can be either public or private depending on how the system or the user sets up the default settings. The visibility sets up the information visibility to others when an event is a public event. For example, an event may be set to be “busy”, “personal commitment” or may be set to allow others to see more detailed information (e.g., title and/or brief description) about the event. The color of an event may be a classification of the event type. By presenting events within the calendar 211 in color, it may allow a user to get a quick review of the types of events in his/her calendar. In one example, the color scheme for different event types may follow a color scheme used by other existing applications, such as Google Calendar or Office 365. The event notification may be set to default. For example, each event may be notified at a certain amount of time (e.g., 5 min, 10 min, 15 min, etc.) ahead of the event. In some embodiments, the notification settings may specifically define when a user does not want to be notified of an event. For example, for certain events such as daily habits, a user may get used to the schedule for these habits, and thus notification settings may define when a user does not want to be notified for such habits. Attendees for an event may define the participants for the event. For example, for a habit, setting up the attendees may allow copying the habit settings to other attendees.”; Paragraph 130, “As described earlier, the architecture 200 may further include a sync service module 208 configured to implement the calendar synchronization, or more specifically, event synchronization between different calendars, e.g., between the intelligent calendar and the Google Calendar or between a user's personal calendar and work calendar. To implement the synchronization process, the sync service module 208 may first set the source calendar to have “view all details” level permission. In some embodiments, free/busy kind of information may be not enough due to the challenges with recurring events. Meanwhile, the sync service module 208 may set the target calendar to have “event write” level permission. In some embodiments, the “view all details” and “event write” level permissions may be obtained when a user registers into the intelligent calendar system 100 or when the user installs the related applications. In implementations, the intelligent calendar generated by the intelligent calendar system 100 can be either a source calendar 213 or a target calendar 281, as described earlier.”)
Tagging, using historical user activities associated with the one or more time objectives, one or more user account activities of the set of user account activities with the time objective data (Lightbody: Paragraph 123, “In some embodiments, after the day, week, and ideal plans are determined, the scheduler 205 may block time slots and plan out a schedule for each individual. The scheduler 205 may schedule the tasks and habits according to the order of the items or objects in the day, week, and ideal plans. That is, an item or object with a higher rank in a plan is scheduled first, and a lower-ranked item or object is scheduled next. In this way, the assignment events 254 associated with these tasks and habits can be then placed into the calendar to plan out the schedule for an associated individual.”; Paragraph 127, “The decoration service module 206 may be configured to automatically categorize the events or habits in a calendar. In other existing color-based categorizations in a calendar (e.g., Google Calendar), a user may be required to manually select an event to colorize an event. In the intelligent calendar system 100, the decoration service module 206 may be configured to automatically color-code the events based on the intelligently detected categories. For example, the team meetings may be automatically identified and colored orange, solo works may be automatically identified and colored blue, personal tasks may be automatically identified and colored pink, travel and logistics events may be automatically identified and colored red, and external meetings may be automatically identified and colored to green, and one-to-one meetings may be automatically identified and colored to purple, and so on. It should be noted that the color scheme described here is for illustrative purposes and not for limitation.”; Paragraph 128, “In some embodiments, to intelligently detect event categories, the decoration service module 206 may employ a machine learning engine included in the intelligent calendar system 100 that is configured to automatically identify the assignment event categories. For example, the machine learning engine may include a semantic logic to identify the keywords based on the user inputs, determine whether a meeting is internal or external based on the email communications (e.g., domains associated with emails), and whether a meeting is a one-to-one meeting based also on the email communications (e.g., how many invitation emails are sent through email), whether an event is a travel event based on the order detail detected from email, etc. The decoration service module 206 may then automatically color code or apply color to each categorized event. In some embodiments, the decoration service module 206 may apply color to only events generated through the intelligent calendar system 100 (such as tasks 134, habits 241, and certain synchronized calendar events 283 as will be described later). In some embodiments, the decoration service module 206 may apply color to all events that occur in a calendar, that is, the user events that occur in the calendar are also colored, as indicated in the operation 259”) Examiner equates the ability to color the events to be equivalent to tagging as described in Applicant’s claims both under broadest reasonable interpretation and in view of Applicant’s specification.
Lightbody does not explicitly disclose the following, however, in analogous art of project management, Schaad discloses the following:
generating, utilizing connectors to collect user activity data from a plurality of non-calendar applications corresponding to a set of content items associated with a project, a data stream representing a set of user account activities of the user across the plurality of non-calendar applications; (Schaad: Paragraph 49, “The docs template 308 is a document generation and organization tool that can be used to generate a variety of documents. For example, the docs template 308 can be used to generate pages that are easy to organize, navigate, and format. The wikis template 310 is a knowledge management application with features similar to the pages generated by the docs template 308 but that can additionally be used as a database. The projects template 312 is a project management and note-taking software tool. The projects template 312 can allow the users, either as individuals or as teams, to plan, manage, and execute projects in a single forum.”; Paragraph 51, “The writing assistant tool 316 can operate as a generative AI tool for creating content for the blocks in accordance with instructions received from a user. Creating the content can include, for example, summarizing, generating new text, or brainstorming ideas. The knowledge management tool 318 can use AI to categorize, organize, and share knowledge included in the workspace. In some implementations, the knowledge management tool 318 can operate as a question-and-answer assistant. The project management tool 320 can provide AI support for the projects template 312. The AI support can include auto-filling information based on changes within the workspace or automatically track project development. The meeting and scheduling tool 322 can use AI to organize meeting notes, unify meeting records, list key information from meeting minutes, and/or connect meeting notes with deliverable deadlines.”; Paragraph 59, “In some embodiments, multiple data sources (e.g., multiple tables of blocks) can be used to generate the project timeline. For example, block 511 (“Engineering excellence”) in FIG. 5 is generated from another data source (not shown) that includes team-wide project events. In some embodiments, a personal task timeline can be built based on data sources of various aspects (e.g., personal information, family information, work related information) so that the personal task timeline becomes a central portal to track events and tasks related to the user.”; Paragraph 62, “In addition to the individual work calendar and personal calendar(s), project-related information 607 can be integrated and displayed so that a user's schedules can be managed at one central portal. For example, when the user toggles to make items related to the project timeline visible, block items corresponding to the ones shown in FIG. 5 are displayed on the calendar interface. Multi-day blocks, such as block 401 (“Submit updates to app”), block 409 (“Implement feature 2”), block 511 (“Engineering excellence”), etc., are displayed at the top of the daily calendar as they span across multiple days. Single-day items, such as block 411 (“Implement event logging”) and block 413 (“ZIP—tool information”), are shown on the corresponding day at the respective time durations.”; Paragraph 65, “FIG. 7A illustrates an example view of a calendar page in accordance with one or more embodiments of the present technology. In this example, only the due dates of the blocks are visible. The user can quickly get an overview of the upcoming due dates of the tasks and allocate time accordingly to ensure that the due dates are met. FIG. 7B illustrates another example view of a calendar page in accordance with one or more embodiments of the present technology. In this example, the planned execution time/dates for the corresponding tasks are displayed to provide proper workload tracking/progress monitoring. Given the calendar view of the task plans, an assignee can quickly review his or her own schedule and re-evaluate the time needed to complete the task. For example, as shown in FIG. 7B, the users can adjust the planned time for completing the tasks based on the due dates. In some embodiments, both the due dates and the planned execution date/time so that the user can easily adjust task planning for the project. In some embodiments, based on the user's bandwidth, the due dates need to be updated, and other team members associated with the same tasks can be notified of the changes.”; Paragraph 68, “In some embodiments, team members can subscribe to changes to the project information. In some embodiments, a member can subscribe to all changes made to the project so that he or she can be notified whenever changes occur regarding the project. In some embodiments, a member can subscribe to part of the changes that is relevant to his or her assignment.”; Paragraph 71, “Projects 1010 enable users to manage project timelines and to record project-related information (e.g., tasks, due dates, milestones). Calendar 1020 enables the user to view individual work events and the project information together using one interface. Documents 1030 enable the user to create documents, and wikis 1040 enable the user to create wiki pages explaining features, products, or plans associated with the teamspace 1000.”)
generating, from the data stream and the time objective tagged onto the one or more user account activities, a time expenditure prompt comprising parameters for converting the data stream into a displayable format based on the one or more time objectives; and (Schaad: Paragraph 53, “FIG. 4 illustrates an example tabular representation of blocks associated with a project in accordance with one or more embodiments of the present technology. Compared to entries in a relational database having keys, blocks in the block model are not required to have a specific property. As shown in FIG. 4, while the items in this example table are related to the same project, some items do not have a date (e.g., “new feature specification” block 407), some do not have a description (e.g., “capacity planning” block 405), and some do not have any assigned domain (e.g., “update iOS app with new colors” block 403), etc. Blocks can have rich content, such as images, video, audio, meeting links/invites, and/or animation. Data sources formed based on blocks thus provide a lot more flexibility as compared to conventional databases and/or calendar tools.”; Paragraph 57, “For example, block 401 “Submit updates to app” in FIG. 4 is assigned to domain “Frontend” in the data source and is displayed correspondingly at the position of Dec. 13, 2023, in the timeline chart. The status of the block item (e.g., “In progress”) is displayed on the right. Similarly, block 409 “Implement feature 2” is automatically positioned for Dec. 15, 2023, in the timeline chart. If the block content is updated in the data source, the updates are automatically reflected in the timeline without the need for any manual updates. In some embodiments, block items that are not assigned to the Calendar domain, such as block 403 “Update iOS app with new colors” and block 405 “Capacity planning,” are not visible in the timeline.”; Paragraph 73, “FIG. 10B illustrates another example teamspace providing integrated features in accordance with one or more embodiments of the present technology. When the user selects the calendar 1020, the tasks shown in the task panel are displayed in the calendar view accordingly. The user can adjust the displayed days/week, and toggle on/off different options to view the personal and work tasks/appointments on selected days. Changes that made via the calendar view are automatically updated to the projects 1010 in the task/tabular view (e.g., shown in FIG. 10A). Similarly, changes made to the projects 1010 are automatically populated to the calendar 1020 to enable efficient task tracking and timeline management.”; Paragraph 75, “FIG. 11 is a flowchart representation of a computer-implemented method 1100 for integrating project information in a calendar view of a workspace in accordance with one or more embodiments of the present technology. The method 1100 includes, at operation 1110, determining information associated with a project. The information associated with the project is represented as a plurality of blocks. Each of the plurality of blocks is embedded as an in-page object on a page of the workspace. At least part of the plurality of blocks includes one or more time properties. The method 1100 includes, at operation 1120, displaying the at least part of the plurality of blocks according to the one or more time properties in a calendar page of a user who participates in the project. The method 1100 includes, at operation 1130, receiving an input from the user via the calendar page. The input modifies content of a block in the at least part of the plurality of blocks. The method 1100 also includes, at operation 1140, automatically synchronizing the modified content of the block to the information associated with the project.”; Paragraph 76, “In some embodiments, the method includes displaying, in a timeline page of the project, the at least part of the plurality of blocks according to the one or more time properties and updating the timeline page of the project upon the content of the block being modified by the user. In some embodiments, the method includes providing, on the timeline page of the project, a link to the calendar page of the user. In some embodiments, the method includes sending a notification to other users who are associated with content of the block.”; Paragraph 80, “In some embodiments, the method includes providing a timeline view of the project information displayed according to one or more time properties of the project information. A link to the calendar page of the user is provided as part of the timeline view of the project information.”)
providing the time expenditure prompt to a large language model to generate a navigable objective timeline comprising a subset of the tagged one or more user account activities, from the data stream, contributing to the one or more time objectives. (Schaad: Paragraph 53, “FIG. 4 illustrates an example tabular representation of blocks associated with a project in accordance with one or more embodiments of the present technology. Compared to entries in a relational database having keys, blocks in the block model are not required to have a specific property. As shown in FIG. 4, while the items in this example table are related to the same project, some items do not have a date (e.g., “new feature specification” block 407), some do not have a description (e.g., “capacity planning” block 405), and some do not have any assigned domain (e.g., “update iOS app with new colors” block 403), etc. Blocks can have rich content, such as images, video, audio, meeting links/invites, and/or animation. Data sources formed based on blocks thus provide a lot more flexibility as compared to conventional databases and/or calendar tools.”; Paragraph 57, “For example, block 401 “Submit updates to app” in FIG. 4 is assigned to domain “Frontend” in the data source and is displayed correspondingly at the position of Dec. 13, 2023, in the timeline chart. The status of the block item (e.g., “In progress”) is displayed on the right. Similarly, block 409 “Implement feature 2” is automatically positioned for Dec. 15, 2023, in the timeline chart. If the block content is updated in the data source, the updates are automatically reflected in the timeline without the need for any manual updates. In some embodiments, block items that are not assigned to the Calendar domain, such as block 403 “Update iOS app with new colors” and block 405 “Capacity planning,” are not visible in the timeline.”; Paragraph 73, “FIG. 10B illustrates another example teamspace providing integrated features in accordance with one or more embodiments of the present technology. When the user selects the calendar 1020, the tasks shown in the task panel are displayed in the calendar view accordingly. The user can adjust the displayed days/week, and toggle on/off different options to view the personal and work tasks/appointments on selected days. Changes that made via the calendar view are automatically updated to the projects 1010 in the task/tabular view (e.g., shown in FIG. 10A). Similarly, changes made to the projects 1010 are automatically populated to the calendar 1020 to enable efficient task tracking and timeline management.”; Paragraph 75, “FIG. 11 is a flowchart representation of a computer-implemented method 1100 for integrating project information in a calendar view of a workspace in accordance with one or more embodiments of the present technology. The method 1100 includes, at operation 1110, determining information associated with a project. The information associated with the project is represented as a plurality of blocks. Each of the plurality of blocks is embedded as an in-page object on a page of the workspace. At least part of the plurality of blocks includes one or more time properties. The method 1100 includes, at operation 1120, displaying the at least part of the plurality of blocks according to the one or more time properties in a calendar page of a user who participates in the project. The method 1100 includes, at operation 1130, receiving an input from the user via the calendar page. The input modifies content of a block in the at least part of the plurality of blocks. The method 1100 also includes, at operation 1140, automatically synchronizing the modified content of the block to the information associated with the project.”; Paragraph 76, “In some embodiments, the method includes displaying, in a timeline page of the project, the at least part of the plurality of blocks according to the one or more time properties and updating the timeline page of the project upon the content of the block being modified by the user. In some embodiments, the method includes providing, on the timeline page of the project, a link to the calendar page of the user. In some embodiments, the method includes sending a notification to other users who are associated with content of the block.”; Paragraph 80, “In some embodiments, the method includes providing a timeline view of the project information displayed according to one or more time properties of the project information. A link to the calendar page of the user is provided as part of the timeline view of the project information.” Paragraph 89, “The computer system 1300 can be configured to access a remote language model server (e.g., a cloud-based language model) via the API 328 or the network interface device 1312. For example, the computer system 1300 can communicate with a remote generative AI system to send instructions to and receive content from the generative AI system.”)
Lightbody discloses a method of synthesizing and generating calendar events for a user based on historical and contextual information. Schaad discloses a method for taking a wide variety of project data and organizing it into a timeline for display in regards to a project. At the time of Applicant’s filed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have deemed it obvious to combine the methods of Lightbody with the teachings of Schaad in order to improve the efficiency of project timelines and schedule management as disclosed by Schaad (Schaad: Paragraph 23, “The project tasks can also be displayed on respective team members' calendars to enable task tracking and timely task completion. The present technology can be implemented in various embodiments to enable efficient management of project timelines and team schedules.”)
Claim(s) 2 –
Lightbody in view of Schaad disclose the limitations of claim 1
Lightbody further discloses the following:
the set of user account activities comprise communication activities, electronic calendar events, electronic task events, or content item events (Lightbody: Paragraph 36, "The intelligent calendar system disclosed herein shows technical improvements when compared to other existing calendar and event organization platforms. First, as a smart calendar tool, the disclosed intelligent calendar system automatically finds the best time for a user's tasks, habits, breaks, and one-on-one meetings around the user's existing and evolving schedule. This productive application saves time and computing resources through flexible and adaptive time blocking, automating the gap between endless to-dos and the user's calendar. Second, the disclosed intelligent calendar system allows a user to defend the user's time by integrating the task lists from different project management apps (e.g., ClickUp, Todoist, Asana, Jira, Linear, Google Tasks), to automatically schedule time for the user's to-dos, and set up recurring smart time blocks for daily routines. Third, the disclosed intelligent calendar system automatically organizes a user's schedule around which tasks or routines are the highest priority for the user, and auto-schedule events based on priorities of the events and/or auto-reschedule when priorities change. Fourth, the disclosed intelligent calendar system simplifies communications by auto-scheduling recurring one-on-one meetings with Smart 1: 1 s, so a user never has to waste computing resources going through the calendar application/app back-and-forth."; Paragraph 57, "Referring back to FIG. 2, the architecture 200 may include a project service module 202 that is configured to manage the project timeline through the intelligent calendar system 100. A project 221 may be an undertaking to be carried out individually or collaboratively to achieve a particular aim. For example, a project 221 may seek the realization of a unique and innovative deliverable, such as a product, a service, a process, or in some cases, scientific research by an individual or organization. Project 221 has a beginning and an end and is considered as a closed dynamic system bound by certain constraints such as calendar, costs, and norms of quality. A project is a driven force for creating tasks or events for an individual or organization. As illustrated in FIG. 2, a project 221 may include a certain number of user events 216 and tasks 232, completion of which allows achievement of the particular aim of the project 221."; Paragraph 58, "In some embodiments, the intelligent calendar system 100 may generate a user interface to allow the organizer to determine the timeline (e.g., due date) of each task included in the project. In some embodiments, the organizer may also define certain user events 216 that are not necessarily driven by the specific tasks 232. For example, the organizer may expect each department leader to meet once a week, and thus certain user events 216 such as weekly meetings may be generated by the organizer through the intelligent calendar system 100. The generated user events may be delivered to each individual's calendar by the project service module 202, which may allow the corresponding member to RSVP to the user events, e.g., to accept or decline a user event. If accepted, user event 216 related to project 221 may occur in the member's calendar 211. If the user event 216 has a conflict with the member's calendar, e.g., overlaps with the assignment events in the calendar, the user event 216 may be auto-declined or require a reschedule, as indicated by the block 257 in FIG. 2."; Paragraph 62, "In some embodiments, for each of the above user-facing properties, the architecture 220 may include default task settings 231 configured by the task service module 203, to facilitate task or event creation. By use of default task settings 231 to begin with task or event creation, it can save time in the management of the user events or tasks. For example, the intelligent calendar system 100 may use the default task settings 231 to create a series of tasks 232 and user events 216 that spread across the beginning to the end of a project 221. These events 216 and tasks 232 may be created in the form of a task list as well as the calendars or schedules that specify the timeline for the included user events or tasks. For example, these events may be placed into one or more calendars of individuals responsible for project 221."; Paragraph 123, "In some embodiments, after the day, week, and ideal plans are determined, the scheduler 205 may block time slots and plan out a schedule for each individual. The scheduler 205 may schedule the tasks and habits according to the order of the items or objects in the day, week, and ideal plans. That is, an item or object with a higher rank in a plan is scheduled first, and a lower-ranked item or object is scheduled next. In this way, the assignment events 254 associated with these tasks and habits can be then placed into the calendar to plan out the schedule for an associated individual.")
Lightbody does not explicitly disclose the following, however, in analogous art of project management, Schaad discloses the following:
the plurality of non-calendar applications comprise an electronic communication application, a video call application, or a content management application (Schaad: Paragraph 29, “The conventional way of using a calendar tool is rigid. In existing calendar applications, a user can create an event, a task, or an appointment on his/her own calendar. FIG. 1B shows an example user interface of Google Calendar for creating an event, a task, or an appointment schedule. As shown in FIG. 1B, an event has a fixed set of properties, such as the title, the time duration, and the descriptions. While some of the properties are optional (e.g., video conferencing information), a user needs to manually enter information in the mandatory fields to create individual events/appointments/tasks.”; Paragraph 52, “The server 306 can include various units (e.g., including compute and storage units) that enable the operations of the AI tool 304 and workspaces of the user application 302. The server 306 can include an integrations unit 324, an application programming interface (API) 328, databases 326, and an administration (admin) unit 330. The databases 326 are configured to store data associated with the blocks. The data associated with the blocks can include information about the content included in the blocks, the function associated with the blocks, and/or any other information related to the blocks. The API 328 can be configured to communicate the block data between the user application 302, the AI tool 304, and the databases 326. The API 328 can also be configured to communicate with remote server systems, such as AI systems. For example, when a user performs a transaction within a block of a template of the user application 302 (e.g., in a docs template 308), the API 328 processes the transaction and saves the changes associated with the transaction to the database 326. The integrations unit 324 is a tool connecting the platform 300 with external systems and software platforms. Such external systems and platforms can include other databases (e.g., cloud storage spaces), messaging software applications, or audio or video conference applications. The administration unit 330 is configured to manage and maintain the operations and tasks of the server 306. For example, the administration unit 330 can manage user accounts, data storage, security, performance monitoring, etc.”; Paragraph 53, “FIG. 4 illustrates an example tabular representation of blocks associated with a project in accordance with one or more embodiments of the present technology. Compared to entries in a relational database having keys, blocks in the block model are not required to have a specific property. As shown in FIG. 4, while the items in this example table are related to the same project, some items do not have a date (e.g., “new feature specification” block 407), some do not have a description (e.g., “capacity planning” block 405), and some do not have any assigned domain (e.g., “update iOS app with new colors” block 403), etc. Blocks can have rich content, such as images, video, audio, meeting links/invites, and/or animation. Data sources formed based on blocks thus provide a lot more flexibility as compared to conventional databases and/or calendar tools.”)
Lightbody discloses a method of synthesizing and generating calendar events for a user based on historical and contextual information. Schaad discloses a method for taking a wide variety of project data and organizing it into a timeline for display in regards to a project. At the time of Applicant’s filed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have deemed it obvious to combine the methods of Lightbody with the teachings of Schaad in order to improve the efficiency of project timelines and schedule management as disclosed by Schaad (Schaad: Paragraph 23, “The project tasks can also be displayed on respective team members' calendars to enable task tracking and timely task completion. The present technology can be implemented in various embodiments to enable efficient management of project timelines and team schedules.”)
Claim(s) 3 –
Lightbody in view of Schaad disclose the limitations of claim 1
Lightbody further discloses the following:
wherein the one or more time objectives task descriptors representing one or more tasks to be completed within a time constraint (Lightbody: Paragraph 36, "The intelligent calendar system disclosed herein shows technical improvements when compared to other existing calendar and event organization platforms. First, as a smart calendar tool, the disclosed intelligent calendar system automatically finds the best time for a user's tasks, habits, breaks, and one-on-one meetings around the user's existing and evolving schedule. This productive application saves time and computing resources through flexible and adaptive time blocking, automating the gap between endless to-dos and the user's calendar. Second, the disclosed intelligent calendar system allows a user to defend the user's time by integrating the task lists from different project management apps (e.g., ClickUp, Todoist, Asana, Jira, Linear, Google Tasks), to automatically schedule time for the user's to-dos, and set up recurring smart time blocks for daily routines. Third, the disclosed intelligent calendar system automatically organizes a user's schedule around which tasks or routines are the highest priority for the user, and autoschedule events based on priorities of the events and/or auto-reschedule when priorities change. Fourth, the disclosed intelligent calendar system simplifies communications by auto-scheduling recurring one-on-one meetings with Smart 1: 1 s, so a user never has to waste computing resources going through the calendar application/app back-and-forth."; Paragraph 53, "In some embodiments, calendar 211 may be displayed in a user interface like a conventional calendar that lists events in a day, week, or month format. One example user interface is shown in FIG. 3A, which includes an intelligent calendar marked as a "planner". As shown in the figure, the user interface for displaying the calendar 211 may include interactive links that allow a further review of certain information associated with the calendar 211. For example, the user interface may provide links to allow a quick review of the tasks, habits, or smart one-to-one meetings ( 1: 1 meetings or 1: 1 s) for the current day, week, or month. In some embodiments, the user interface may provide links to allow a quick review of the statistics of the calendar. For example, the statistics of the calendar displayed in the user interface may include data for work statistics (e.g., free time, meeting time, shallow solo work, deep solo work, etc.), life statistics (e.g., personal time, travel time, vacation time, etc.), task statistics (e.g., overdue, active, completed, task time, etc.), habits statistics (e.g., morning catch up, afternoon catch up, reading, etc.), or other statistical data. In some embodiments, the user interface for the calendar may generate two different views, one for the owner and the other for others, and the user interface may allow the owner of the calendar to quickly switch between the two views. In some embodiments, the user interface may also include settings to allow a user to set up default task settings, buff er time settings (including task duration, event duration, start delay, and due date), settings for working hours, personal hours, and meeting hours, and color settings. Additional interactive links may include but are not limited to smart 1: 1 s, calendar sync, integration, share the application, priority habits, lower priority habits, and open tasks. These interactive links will be described more in detail with reference to respective components."; Paragraph 62, "In some embodiments, for each of the above user-facing properties, the architecture 220 may include default task settings 231 configured by the task service module 203, to facilitate task or event creation. By use of default task settings 231 to begin with task or event creation, it can save time in the management of the user events or tasks. For example, the intelligent calendar system 100 may use the default task settings 231 to create a series of tasks 232 and user events 216 that spread across the beginning to the end of a project 221. These events 216 and tasks 232 may be created in the form of a task list as well as the calendars or schedules that specify the timeline for the included user events or tasks. For example, these events may be placed into one or more calendars of individuals responsible for project 221.")
Claim(s) 4 and 13 –
Lightbody in view of Schaad disclose the limitations of claims 1 and 12
Lightbody further discloses the following:
determining relationships between user account activities in the data stream and the one or more time objectives. (Lightbody: Paragraph 95, "In the scheduling process, the time policy described above is a key input to assignments or more specifically assignment events, as it provides the acceptable range for which the assignment events can be scheduled. That is, a day, week, or ideal plan is built within the acceptable range defined by the time policy, and the assignment events are only scheduled within the acceptable range in each of the day, week, or ideal plan. As previously described, scheduler 205 may use two types of time policies during the scheduling process. The first type of time policy is the general time policy that includes working hours 293 and personal hours 294, and the second type of time policy is a time policy that is linked to individual user habits (e.g., x times a week), as previously described."; Paragraph 122, "It is to be noted that while the above has been described with reference to a week plan, the same process may be applied to a day plan, except more narrowly scoped to a single day in a given week. In addition, while the above prioritizable habit and task get a higher priority based on the user input, in some embodiments, a habit or task may be boosted in the priority based on the event type, user profile, and certain other factors. For instance, certain keywords (e.g., boss) may be identified by using the semantic logic and the related events are given a higher priority based on the previous arrangement of the similar keywords-related events or tasks. In some embodiments, a machine learning-based mechanism may be employed to identify the priority and further rank certain tasks or habits. For example, the machine learning-based mechanism may find such keywords-related events or tasks are put into the top priority in most other calendars, and thus these events are also ranked higher in the ideal plan or in the day or week plan."; Paragraph 139, "According to one embodiment, the AI-assisted prioritization module 209 may be configured to define or identify the priority of each event ( or task, project, 1: 1 meeting, and so on) by leveraging metadata associated with each event. For example, the prioritization module 209 may leverage the metadata associated with an event to define or identify whether a to-be-scheduled event is under the control of an AIassisted scheduling application (e.g., the intelligent scheduling system 100). The prioritization module 209 may also leverage the metadata to further define or identify the priority level of an event if the event is under the control of an AI assistant. The following Table-1 provides some exemplary event-related properties that may be defined through metadata associated with an event.")
Claim(s) 5, 6, and 14 –
Lightbody in view of Schaad disclose the limitations of claims 1 and 12
Lightbody further discloses the following:
identify an additional time objective for the user account (Lightbody: Paragraph 51, "The event & calendar services module 201 may be configured to monitor a calendar 211 and one or more events 212 within the calendar. For example, the event & calendar module 201 may check whether there is any new event or update of an existing event included in the calendar 211. In response to a detected change of a new event or existing event update, the event & calendar services module 201 may further modify certain information associated with the calendar. For example, the event & calendar services module 201 may store the new event or updated event in the event storage 215 coupled to the event & calendar services module 201."; Paragraph 56, "In some embodiments, the events (e.g., events 214) created by the intelligent calendar 211 may be synchronized to other calendars or event organization platforms associated with the user. For example, a new event created through the intelligent calendar system 100 may be synchronized to other calendars or event organization platforms, such as Todoist, Slack, Google Tasks, etc. Accordingly, the intelligent calendar 211 may serve as a source calendar 213 during calendar synchronization, as illustrated in FIG. 2. This allows events in the intelligent calendar 213 to be synchronized to a target sync calendar 281. In some embodiments, the calendar 211 can also be a target calendar 281 during the calendar synchronization. For example, events that occur in other calendars or event organization platforms may be added to the intelligent calendar 211 through calendar synchronization. Detail description regarding the calendar synchronization will be described more in detail with reference to the sync service module 208.")
determining to prioritize a time objective of the one or more time objectives over the additional time objective based on utilizing the large language model to learn time objective priorities for the one or more time objectives and the additional time objective from user account activities corresponding to the one or more time objectives and the additional time objective (Lightbody: Paragraph 122, "It is to be noted that while the above has been described with reference to a week plan, the same process may be applied to a day plan, except more narrowly scoped to a single day in a given week. In addition, while the above prioritizable habit and task get a higher priority based on the user input, in some embodiments, a habit or task may be boosted in the priority based on the event type, user profile, and certain other factors. For instance, certain keywords (e.g., boss) may be identified by using the semantic logic and the related events are given a higher priority based on the previous arrangement of the similar keywords-related events or tasks. In some embodiments, a machine learningbased mechanism may be employed to identify the priority and further rank certain tasks or habits. For example, the machine learning-based mechanism may find such keywords-related events or tasks are put into the top priority in most other calendars, and thus these events are also ranked higher in the ideal plan or in the day or week plan."; Paragraph 138, "As described above, in some embodiments, a specialized AI-assisted prioritization module 209 may be further figured in the disclosed intelligent calendar system 100, to determine a priority of each event, habit, or task, which then allows the system (e.g., scheduler 205 or other components included therein) to organize events, tasks, or projects in calendars according to the determined priority of each event, habit, or task. In some embodiments, the specifically configured AI-assisted prioritization module 209 may be configured to allow cognitive scheduling of a single calendar by multiple entities or cognitive scheduling of multiple calendars by a single entity, where the multiple calendars may be across different platforms (e.g., zoom scheduling or outlook calendar platforms). Towards this objective, an AI-based mechanism may be employed to make cognitive associations between the data sources by creating a uniform data format that can be uniformly accepted by different scheduling platforms, where the uniform data format may allow each scheduling platform to easily identify the priority of each event when scheduling the to-be-scheduled events."; Paragraph 139, "According to one embodiment, the AI-assisted prioritization module 209 may be configured to define or identify the priority of each event ( or task, project, 1: 1 meeting, and so on) by leveraging metadata associated with each event. For example, the prioritization module 209 may leverage the metadata associated with an event to define or identify whether a to-be-scheduled event is under the control of an AI-assisted scheduling application (e.g., the intelligent scheduling system 100). The prioritization module 209 may also leverage the metadata to further define or identify the priority level of an event if the event is under the control of an AI assistant. The following Table-1 provides some exemplary event-related properties that may be defined through metadata associated with an event.")
Claim(S) 7 and 15 –
Lightbody in view of Schaad disclose the limitations of claims 1, 5, and 12
Lightbody further discloses the following:
generating the time expenditure prompt based on the data stream, the time objective, and the additional time objective; and (Lightbody: Paragraph 139, "According to one embodiment, the AI-assisted prioritization module 209 may be configured to define or identify the priority of each event ( or task, project, 1: 1 meeting, and so on) by leveraging metadata associated with each event. For example, the prioritization module 209 may leverage the metadata associated with an event to define or identify whether a to-be-scheduled event is under the control of an AI-assisted scheduling application (e.g., the intelligent scheduling system 100). The prioritization module 209 may also leverage the metadata to further define or identify the priority level of an event if the event is under the control of an AI assistant. The following Table-1 provides some exemplary event-related properties that may be defined through metadata associated with an event."; Paragraph 140, "As can be seen from Table-1, metadata may be used to define whether an event is under the control of an AI-assisted scheduling application (or simply AI assistant), and which vendor (e.g., the disclosed intelligent calendar system or another automated or semi-automated third-party application or scheduler such as Zoom) is controlling this event if it is under the control of the an AI assistant. The metadata may be also utilized to define whether an event is locked in place or it may be movable to another place, or utilized to define other information related to scheduling for a to-be-scheduled event."; Paragraph 142, "Accordingly, if metadata is leveraged to define the priority-related information of an event, the metadata associated with the event may be first checked when scheduling. For example, when scheduling an event, the AI assistant (e.g., the disclosed intelligent calendar system 100) may first check the metadata associated with an event. As a specific example, if it is found that the ai.controlled property is set to true in the metadata associated with an event, it indicates that the event is under the control of an external scheduling service declared in the ai.vendor property. This means that the event may be able to move should a conflict arise. However, if the ai.locked property is found to be true based on the event metadata, the event should be then assumed as busy and will not be able to move, even if a conflict occurs.")
providing the time expenditure prompt to the large language model to generate the navigable objective timeline to indicate a summary of time spent on time objective in comparison to an additional time speny on the additional time objective. (Lightbody: Paragraph 193, "Scheduling 1:1 meetings (or l:ls) becomes a standard practice after the pandemic but can be quite challenging and time-consuming under certain circumstances. For example, if a user is juggling multiple 1: 1 meetings with direct reports, managers, fellow team members, or even external partners or clients, it is likely the user is also spending a fair amount of time rescheduling and canceling a lot of meetings every week. For example, a user may have to prioritize other work items or meetings or simply don't have enough agenda items to justify a meeting that week. In real applications, a large number of meetings (e.g., more than 40% of 1:1 meetings) are rescheduled. While some existing calendar or event organization platforms support basic "recurring events" for 1: 1 meetings, it doesn't offer much automation around rescheduling. Therefore, if a user gets overbooked, is unavailable that week, or if the user just wants to push it back, the other existing calendars or event organization platforms do not account for these scenarios, and thus a user may end up spending over 10 minutes coordinating a new meeting time slot every time the user needs to reschedule, which is time-consuming and not efficient."; Paragraph 194, "The intelligent calendar application disclosed herein may be configured to fully automate finding the best time for both attendees across two busy calendars, but also auto-reschedule to the next best time if a conflict comes up. Recurring 1:ls can also get scheduled and rescheduled within the meeting hours a user sets through a user interface. In some embodiments, a user can even customize preferred meeting hours for each of the user's 1:ls. In some embodiments, the intelligent calendar application may also reference invitees' set meeting hours to find the best time for both, and adapt to any changes in either of the schedules associated with the user and invitees."; Paragraph 200, "In step 616, the intelligent calendar application may receive user input to set up meeting hours and an ideal time. One example user interface for setting up the parameters is illustrated in FIG. 7B. As can be seen from the figure, the user interface allows the user to customize the frequency, the available days, and the time window including the start time, ideal time, and end time for the smart 1:1 meetings. To schedule the 1: 1 meetings, the intelligent calendar application may further collect the attendee's availability as well, so the user's smart 1:ls are always scheduled during the mutually available time."; Paragraph 204, "The intelligent calendar application disclosed herein addresses this kind of problem by using a calendar sync function, which allows a user to block events across calendars, keeping the user's synced events up-to-date anytime there is a change. The calendar sync function also solves the "privacy problem" by allowing the user to set customizable visibility for the synced events. For example, if the user has a job interview that the user does not want people spying on, the user may just set it as "busy" or "personal commitment." This then provides an effective way to offer just the right amount of context without worrying about people seeing details the user doesn't want them to. Another advantage of using the calendar sync function is that the user can completely eliminate the organization's visibility of the user's other calendars without having to worry about being overbooked. A specific process for intelligent calendar synchronization is further described with reference to FIG. 8."; Paragraph 218, "The intelligent calendar application disclosed herein gives a user two powerful ways to audit his/her calendar. First, it gives a user weekly statistics on where his/her time is going across different categories. Second, a user can look at how his/her time is broken down alongside his/her calendar, and even filter individual classes of events out to see, for example, how much time the user is spending in group meetings.")
Claim(s) 8 and 16 –
Lightbody in view of Schaad disclose the limitations of claims 1 and 12
Lightbody further discloses the following:
utilizing the large language model with the time expenditure prompt to generate the navigable objective timeline to indicate suggested time allocations for the subset of the tagged one or more user account activities for the one or more time objectives. (Lightbody: Paragraph 164, "In some embodiments, even if there is no change in the coarse-grained priority level for an event, a sublevel may be also dynamically adjusted. For example, an event may be one of a series of events for a project. In such a situation, a change of the priority level and/or sublevel of one event may cause a corresponding change of another event in the series, including a possible change of sublevel but not the coarse-grained priority level of that event. In another example, if a dynamic recurring 1: 1 series is overdue ( e.g., behind the schedule according to the recurrence rule), the AI assistant may raise a single instance's sublevel up (e.g., from 50 to 5), to ensure that it is more likely to happen (i.e., get scheduled as expected). In yet another example, an AI assistant may adjust the sublevel priority for an event when time passes by. For example, the AI assistant may choose a sub level priority of an event to start with a value of 100 on the day of scheduling, and then gradually adjust the sublevel to 1 over the next 30 days, ensuring even more availability opens up further out into the future."; Paragraph 165, "In some embodiments, in order to prevent too much change to a user's agenda, an AI assistant may suggest that the priority sublevel for an event is capable of being modified or updated at a predefined frequency, e.g., no more than once every 24 hours, every 48 hours, every 72 hours, etc.")
Claim(s) 9 and 18 –
Lightbody in view of Schaad disclose the limitations of claims 1 and 17
Lightbody further discloses the following:
cause the system to generate one or more electronic calendar events for an electronic calendar application corresponding to the user account based on the one or more suggested time allocations. (Lightbody: Paragraph 164, "In some embodiments, even if there is no change in the coarse-grained priority level for an event, a sublevel may be also dynamically adjusted. For example, an event may be one of a series of events for a project. In such a situation, a change of the priority level and/or sublevel of one event may cause a corresponding change of another event in the series, including a possible change of sublevel but not the coarse-grained priority level of that event. In another example, if a dynamic recurring 1:1 series is overdue (e.g., behind the schedule according to the recurrence rule), the AI assistant may raise a single instance's sublevel up (e.g., from 50 to 5), to ensure that it is more likely to happen (i.e., get scheduled as expected). In yet another example, an AI assistant may adjust the sublevel priority for an event when time passes by. For example, the AI assistant may choose a sub level priority of an event to start with a value of 100 on the day of scheduling, and then gradually adjust the sublevel to 1 over the next 30 days, ensuring even more availability opens up further out into the future."; Paragraph 165, "In some embodiments, in order to prevent too much change to a user's agenda, an AI assistant may suggest that the priority sublevel for an event is capable of being modified or updated at a predefined frequency, e.g., no more than once every 24 hours, every 48 hours, every 72 hours, etc."; Paragraph 166, "In some embodiments, to facilitate the priority defined through metadata to be easily captured for scheduling, certain priority-related metadata information may be also encoded in an event ID itself. This has the benefit of allowing the priority-related information of events to be visible even for calendars that have access only to free/busy data and no other details. For example, the equivalent of ai.controlled in metadata can be determined by examining the event ID and base32-decoding it (e.g., using the characters 0-9 and a-u). One such example event ID before and after decoding is shown in FIG. 3C. It should be noted in the figure, the term "reclaim" in the decoded event ID refers to an application name, which means that the event is defined through an application called "Reclaim." If an event is defined through another different application, a different name may be used instead.")
Claim(s) 10 and 19 –
Lightbody in view of Schaad disclose the limitations of claims 1, 9, and 17-18
Lightbody further discloses the following:
utilize the large language model to generate the one or more electronic calendar events with one or more additional user account participants associated with the one or more time objectives. (Lightbody: Paragraph 54, "The events 212 included in the calendar 211 may have certain event properties set up by the authorized user associated with the calendar. For example, the user may set up the title, summary description, privacy, visibility, color, notification, attendees, and the like for an event. The title and/or summary description may provide a brief description of an event, allowing quick identification of the event. For example, the title for an event may be "lunch with John." The privacy of an event may be set as public, private, or default. A public event may allow others to see the event. A private event may be not visible to others, while an event set as default can be either public or private depending on how the system or the user sets up the default settings. The visibility sets up the information visibility to others when an event is a public event. For example, an event may be set to be "busy", "personal commitment" or may be set to allow others to see more detailed information ( e.g., title and/or brief description) about the event. The color of an event may be a classification of the event type. By presenting events within the calendar 211 in color, it may allow a user to get a quick review of the types of events in his/her calendar. In one example, the color scheme for different event types may follow a color scheme used by other existing applications, such as Google Calendar or Office 365. The event notification may be set to default. For example, each event may be notified at a certain amount of time (e.g., 5 min, 10 min, 15 min, etc.) ahead of the event. In some embodiments, the notification settings may specifically define when a user does not want to be notified of an event. For example, for certain events such as daily habits, a user may get used to the schedule for these habits, and thus notification settings may define when a user does not want to be notified for such habits. Attendees for an event may define the participants for the event. For example, for a habit, setting up the attendees may allow copying the habit settings to other attendees."; Paragraph 69, "In some embodiments, habits 241 created by the intelligent calendar system 100 may also include user-facing properties, such as habit title, type, color override, time policy, frequency, defended privacy, minimum/maximum duration, notification, auto decline policy, CC others, keywords, among other features. The title for a habit 241 may be the name for the habit, which can be also used for the corresponding assignment and assignment events created from the habit. The habit type can be work, personal, or travel according to some embodiments. The habit color override may allow overriding a default color defined for the habit. The time policy may use either a global time policy or a focus time policy. In some embodiments, the time policy may also determine days and times (e.g., every night, every Sunday night) to schedule a habit. The habit frequency may define the repetitiveness pattern of a habit (e.g., daily, 3 times per week, every month, etc.). The privacy of a habit may define whether the habit should be private or public. The defended privacy may indicate that a habit never goes public. The maximum and minimum durations may be used to specifically define the duration of a habit, similar to the defining of a task or event. Notification for a habit may be enabled or disabled depending on the frequency of the habit. For a high-frequency event (e.g., a daily event), no notification may be necessary, while for a low-frequency habit (e.g., a monthly event), a notification may be necessary. Defense aggression for a habit may define the level of defense against another event or task. The defense aggression may be set to low, medium, or high depending on the priority level of the habit. Auto decline policy may define how to decline a habit during the scheduling process. The auto decline policy may be also determined based on the priority level of a habit. For example, a low-priority habit may be auto-declined if conflicting with a high-priority habit. CC others may allow the attendees of a habit to be copied. Keywords (e.g., lunch, exercise) may define a situation when a habit should be canceled or not to be scheduled. For example, if an event is seen with these keywords during a specified time policy and frequency, the assignment event should not be created or an existing one should be canceled."; Paragraph 90, "In some embodiments, the scheduler 205 may be also configured to determine a time horizon during the blocking phase of the scheduling process. That is, the scheduler 205 may determine which periods of time should be used to plan out the agenda for the associated users. According to one embodiment, the scheduler 205 may use three kye time horizons during the blocking phase of the scheduling process, which include day, week, and ideal types of time horizons. The day horizon, or day plan 252, may be chosen by the scheduler 205 when a user only wants to get through a day (e.g., today or a specific day in the near future). This is normally used when such a day is very important or special or a related assignment event has a very high priority. For example, the scheduler 205 may use a day plan for a day that requires a dental appointment, which may last hours due to the complex procedures expected for the appointment. If nothing special, the week horizon, or a week plan 252, may be chosen instead by the scheduler 205. The week horizon or week plan is chosen as a default time horizon, as a week plan is most commonly used by users and it aligns with weekly planning rituals. In some embodiments, there is a special time horizon, which is also called the ideal horizon or ideal plan 295 when a user is unencumbered from specific meetings and obligations and thus needs to think carefully about how to spend the time in such a situation. In some embodiments, by using the ideal horizon, the scheduler 205 may generate an ideal plan that includes a stack-ranked list of individual habits plus an indicator/proxy for where all tasks should be scheduled. The exact order of these habits and tasks included in the ideal plan 295 may be changed at certain time points, and the change may impact future day plans and week plans 252."; Paragraph 201, "In step 618, the intelligent calendar application automatically blocks intelligent, flexible events on the calendars of the users for the 1: 1 meetings. For example, the intelligent calendar application may automatically block a time slot at or close to the ideal time. If one of the attendees responds with "No", "000", "OPT", or other kinds of declination, the intelligent calendar application may automatically move a 1: 1 meeting to the next best available time in the specified time window for the user without requiring the user to further email the attendee to manually reschedule the 1:1 meeting. This greatly saves the network bandwidth and computing resources of the client device in scheduling the 1: 1 meetings, thereby improving the overall performance of the client device.")
Claim(s) 11 –
Lightbody in view of Schaad disclose the limitations of claims 1 and 9
Lightbody further discloses the following:
tagging one or more electronic calendar events based on the one or more time objectives. (Lightbody: Paragraph 54, "The events 212 included in the calendar 211 may have certain event properties set up by the authorized user associated with the calendar. For example, the user may set up the title, summary description, privacy, visibility, color, notification, attendees, and the like for an event. The title and/or summary description may provide a brief description of an event, allowing quick identification of the event. For example, the title for an event may be "lunch with John." The privacy of an event may be set as public, private, or default. A public event may allow others to see the event. A private event may be not visible to others, while an event set as default can be either public or private depending on how the system or the user sets up the default settings. The visibility sets up the information visibility to others when an event is a public event. For example, an event may be set to be "busy", "personal commitment" or may be set to allow others to see more detailed information (e.g., title and/or brief description) about the event. The color of an event may be a classification of the event type. By presenting events within the calendar 211 in color, it may allow a user to get a quick review of the types of events in his/her calendar. In one example, the color scheme for different event types may follow a color scheme used by other existing applications, such as Google Calendar or Office 365. The event notification may be set to default. For example, each event may be notified at a certain amount of time (e.g., 5 min, 10 min, 15 min, etc.) ahead of the event. In some embodiments, the notification settings may specifically define when a user does not want to be notified of an event. For example, for certain events such as daily habits, a user may get used to the schedule for these habits, and thus notification settings may define when a user does not want to be notified for such habits. Attendees for an event may define the participants for the event. For example, for a habit, setting up the attendees may allow copying the habit settings to other attendees."; Paragraph 66, "In some embodiments, the task service module 203 may also determine the priority of a task ( or a habit) based on the type and/or classification of a task (or habit). For example, a work task may have a higher priority than a personal task. For another example, the tasks classified based on a common color scheme may have different priorities. The events classified into blue-color type events (e.g., for solo works) may have a lower priority than the events classified into the green-color type events (e.g., 1:1 meetings), according to one example. In some embodiments, the task service module 203 may work with an AI-assisted prioritization module 209 included in the architecture 200. For example, AI-assisted prioritization module 209 may determine whether a project, task, or event is prioritizable, and if it is prioritizable, AI-assisted prioritization module 209 may even automatically assign a priority level for the project, task, or event, as will be described in detail later.")
Claim(s) 20 –
Lightbody in view of Schaad discloses the limitations of claim 17
Lightbody further discloses the following:
utilize the large language model with the time expenditure prompt to generate a fluid electronic calendar event, wherein the fluid electronic calendar event is modifiable by the large language model based on user account electronic calendar events, time objective priorities for the user account, or one or more predicted time allocations for the user account. (Lightbody: Paragraph 137, "By integrating into Todoist, the intelligent calendar application may auto-schedule time to work on a user's to-dos so that the user can stay organized and better plan his/her work. For example, the integrated intelligent calendar application can automatically find and defend the best time to work on the project tasks that appeared in the Todoist. The intelligent calendar application's smart time blocking keeps the user's time aligned with the user's projects and priorities while keeping the user flexible for new events. In addition, by controlling how much time a user schedules for each task through simple time estimates or scheduling an hour for each task by default, a user can easily add, reduce, or break up time blocks through the integrated intelligent calendar application. In some embodiments, the integrated intelligent calendar application may automatically assign tasks to team members and automatically block time on their calendars so that the user can have fewer meetings and better communication around priorities."; Paragraph 187, "In step 416, the intelligent calendar application receives user input to customize the lunch schedule. As illustrated in FIG. 5B, the intelligent calendar application may include certain default settings. For example, the event type is set to personal by default, and the time window to eat is set to between 11 :30 am and 2 pm with a flexible length between 30 min to 1 hour from Monday to Friday. The user may leave the default settings as is or customize the settings to whatever eating schedule s/he wants. For example, the user may dynamically adjust the duration of a lunch event on the calendar based on how much of a window the user has to get it done. The user may choose 30 min, 40 min, 45, min, or 1 hour based on a customized user input. If the user needs an event duration to be less than 30 min or more than an hour, the intelligent calendar application disclosed herein may also offer such flexibility."; Paragraph 189, "In step 418, the intelligent calendar application automatically blocks an intelligent, flexible lunch schedule on the calendar of the user. For example, the intelligent calendar application may automatically block 12:00-12:30 pm on the calendar of the user for lunch if this time slot is available. If this time slot is not available, the intelligent calendar application may block 11 :30 am-12:00 µm or 12:30-13:00 pm if they are available. If not, the next best time slot is selected by the intelligent calendar application."; Paragraph 191, "FIG. 5C shows an example of automatic adjustment of a scheduled lunch. In Part (a) of FIG. 5C, a user's lunch was originally scheduled at 12:30-1 :30 pm and was shown as "lunch" in the work calendar of the user when viewed by the user. Meanwhile, since the lunch has a low priority and can be flexibly scheduled between the user's available time window between 11 :30 am-13:30 pm, the user's work calendar showed others that there is a "flexible lunch window" between 11 :30 am-13:30 pm, as can be seen from Part (b) of FIG. 5C. This then allows others viewing the calendar to have a chance to schedule an event during the flexible lunch window. For instance, if another event with a high priority needs to be scheduled, the high-priority event can be scheduled in the flexible lunch window. Part (c) of FIG. 5C shows that an "urgent customer issue" was scheduled in the flexible lunch window. As can be seen, since the event "urgent customer issue" has a higher priority, it was scheduled to a time slot as desired, e.g., between 11:30 am-12:30 pm. Since the lunch has a lower priority, it was then atomically moved to another time slot, e.g., between 12:30-13:30 pm as can be seen in Part (c) of FIG. 5C. To improve the privacy, this event "urgent customer issue" was shown as "busy" to others, as can be seen from Part (d) of FIG. 5C.")
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Philip N Warner/Examiner, Art Unit 3624
/Jerry O'Connor/Supervisory Patent Examiner,Group Art Unit 3624