DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to the remark entered on April 17, 2026.
Claims 1-6, 8-14, 16 & 21-24 are pending in the instant application.
Claims 1, 9, 21 & 23-24 are amended.
Claims 7, 15 & 17-20 are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's remarks filed 04/17/2026, pages 8-10, regarding the rejection of claim 1, 9, 21 & 23 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Applicants assert that the combination of Hsu and Wang do not teach or suggest filtering is not performed on the boundary in a case that the boundary does not correspond to any one of the 4x4 block boundaries.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees because Wang teaches the above newly-claimed limitations. In Paragraphs [0289]-[0290], Wang teaches that if the sub-block boundary is aligned with a 4×4 grid, set the boundary strength to a value of 1. Otherwise (the sub-block boundary is not aligned with a 4×4 grid), set the boundary strength to a value of 0, which indicates that filtering is not performed when the boundary is not any 4x4 block boundaries. Furthermore, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “performing deblocking filtering exclusively on a 4x4 grid while (strictly) skipping filtering on non-4x4 boundaries”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Therefore the rejection of claim 1, 9, 21 & 23 under 35 USC 103 is maintained.
Applicant’s remarks filed 04/17/2026, page 10, with respect to the patentability of claims 2-6, 8, 10-14, 16, 22 & 24 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Applicant relies on the patentability of the claims from which these claims depend to traverse the rejection without prejudice to any further basis for patentability of these claims based on the additional elements recited.
Examiner cannot concur with the Applicant because the combination of Hsu and Wang teaches independent claims 1, 9, 21 & 23 as outlined below. Thus, claims 2-6, 8, 10-14, 16, 22 & 24 are also rejected for the similar reasons as outlined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 9-10, 13-14 & 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu et al. (US 2014/0211848 A1) (hereinafter Hsu) in view of Wang et al. (US 2020/0404258 A1 with provisional benefit to 62/792,380) (hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claim 1, Hsu discloses a method of decoding an image [Paragraph [0006], decoding process], the method comprising:
determining a first prediction mode of a first block in a current picture; determining a second prediction mode of a second block in the current picture; and determining a filtering strength of a boundary between a first sample of the first block and a second sample of the second block based on the first prediction mode and the second prediction mode, wherein the filtering strength is determined in a case that the boundary corresponds to one of 4x4 block boundaries, the 4x4 block boundaries are boundaries formed by 4x4 blocks in the current picture [Paragraph [0026]-[0030] & [0041]-[0049], Figs. 7A-11, boundary strength determination between 4x4 blocks partitioned within 8x8 blocks using the p & q samples within the P and Q blocks, and determining the prediction modes each of P or Q blocks by determining if one or the other is intra-coded].
However, Hsu does not explicitly disclose filtering is not performed on the boundary in a case that the boundary does not correspond to any one of the 4x4 block boundaries, and the filtering strength is determined as a strong filtering strength in a case that at least one of the first prediction mode of the first block and the second prediction mode of the second block is a Combined Intra Inter Prediction (CIIP) mode and a boundary corresponds to one of the 4x4 block boundaries.
Wang teaches of filtering is not performed on the boundary in a case that the boundary does not correspond to any one of the 4x4 block boundaries, and the filtering strength is determined as a strong filtering strength in a case that at least one of the first prediction mode of the first block and the second prediction mode of the second block is a Combined Intra Inter Prediction (CIIP) mode and a boundary corresponds to one of the 4x4 block boundaries [Paragraph [0183], [0289]-[0290], [0311] & [0316]-[0319], Fig. 7, Table 1, supported in pg. 32-33 & 48-49 of provisional, if at least one block of P and Q is a block with CIIP prediction, then the boundary strength parameter of this boundary is set to a first value, for example, the first value may equal to 2, wherein BS set to 2 is the strongest, however If the sub-block boundary is aligned with a 4×4 grid, set the boundary strength to a value of 1. Otherwise (the sub-block boundary is not aligned with a 4×4 grid), set the boundary strength to a value of 0].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Hsu to integrate the deblocking filter techniques in Wang as above, to improve the deblocking filter to improve compression ratio with little to no sacrifice in picture quality (Wang, Paragraph [0004] & [0185]).
Regarding claim 2, Hsu and Wang disclose the method of claim 1, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
Furthermore, Wang teaches wherein the strong filtering strength is 2 [Paragraph [0183], [0311] & [0316]-[0319], Fig. 7, Table 1, supported in pg. 32-33 of provisional, if at least one block of P and Q is a block with CIIP prediction, then the boundary strength parameter of this boundary is set to a first value, for example, the first value may equal to 2, wherein BS set to 2 is the strongest].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Hsu to integrate the deblocking filter techniques in Wang as above, to improve the deblocking filter to improve compression ratio with little to no sacrifice in picture quality (Wang, Paragraph [0004] & [0185]).
Regarding claim 5, Hsu and Wang disclose the method of claim 1, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
Furthermore Wang teaches wherein the filtering strength is a weak filtering strength in a case that at least one of the first block and the second block comprises at least one transform coefficient which is not equal to 0 [Paragraph [0193]-[0196], Fig. 7-8, Table 1, supported in pg. 34 of provisional, if at least one of the adjacent blocks P and Q has non-zero transform coefficients. then the boundary strength parameter of this boundary is set to a second value, for example, 1 as weak filtering].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Hsu to integrate the deblocking filter techniques in Wang as above, to improve the deblocking filter to improve compression ratio with little to no sacrifice in picture quality (Wang, Paragraph [0004] & [0185]).
Regarding claim 6, Hsu and Wang disclose the method of claim 5, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
Furthermore, Hsu discloses wherein the boundary is a transform block boundary [Paragraph [0043], Fig. 8, If the test result of step 820 is No (as indicated by “N” in FIG. 8), a further test 830 is performed. In step 830, the test, “((Boundary is TU boundary) and (P or Q contains coefficients)) or (P and Q have different reference picture or MV difference>4)?” is performed].
Regarding claims 9-10 & 13-14, claims (9-10 & 13-14) are drawn to an encoding method having limitations similar to the decoding method of using the same as claimed in claims (1-2 & 5-6) treated in the above rejection. Therefore, method claims (9-10 & 5-6) correspond to method claims (1-2 & 5-6) and are rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Furthermore, Hsu discloses of an encoding method [Paragraph [0003], Encoding process].
Regarding claims 21-22, claims (21-22) are drawn to a method having limitations similar to the method of using the same as claimed in claims (1-2) treated in the above rejection. Therefore, method claims (21-22) correspond to method claims (1-2) and are rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Furthermore, Hsu discloses of sending the bitstream comprising first prediction information and second prediction information [Paragraph [0004]-[0005], Figs. 1A-1B, bitstream sent from encoder 122 to decoder 142].
Regarding claims (23-24), non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claims (23-24) recite similar features as recited in method claims (1-2). Thus, non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claims (23-24) correspond to method claims (1-2), and are rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as listed above.
Furthermore, Wang teaches of non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing program instructions for transmitting a bitstream, the program instructions comprising: an instruction to perform generating the bitstream; and an instruction to transmit the bitstream as in the method of claim 1 [Paragraph [0157], supported in pgs. 27 in provisional, The memory 460 may comprise one or more disks, tape drives, and solid-state drives and may be used as an over-flow data storage device, to store programs when such programs are selected for execution, and to store instructions and data that are read during program execution].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Hsu to integrate the deblocking filter techniques in Wang as above, to improve the deblocking filter to improve compression ratio with little to no sacrifice in picture quality and automate the process for deblocking video images (Wang, Paragraph [0004] & [0185]).
Claims 3-4 & 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu et al. (US 2014/0211848 A1) (hereinafter Hsu) and Wang et al. (US 2020/0404258 A1 with provisional benefit to 62/792,380) (hereinafter Wang) in view of Marzuki et al., “Modified Deblocking Filtering Process for Intra Block Copy (IBC),” Joint Collaborative Team on Video Coding (JCT-VC) of ITU-T SG16 WP3 and ISO/IEC JTC1/SC29/WG11, Sapporo, Document JCTVC-R0118, 30 June - 9 July 2014, 5 pages (hereinafter Marzuki).
Regarding claim 3, Hsu and Wang disclose the method of claim 2, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
However, Hsu and Wang do not explicitly disclose the particulars of claim 3.
Marzuki teaches wherein the filtering strength is a weak filtering strength in a case that an Intra Block Copy (IBC) mode is used for both of the first prediction mode of the first block and the second prediction mode of the second block [Section 2, Table 1, Proposed deblocking filter for intra copy, Fig. 2 When both blocks are encoded with IBC, boundary strength filtering is 1, as weak filtering]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Hsu to incorporate and be combined with the deblocking filter determination process by considering different prediction mode cases and considering other conditions for boundary strengths of 1 in Marzuki as above, to consider Intra Block copy blocks for visual quality improvement and coding gain (Marzuki, Abstract).
Regarding claim 4, Hsu, Wang, and Marzuki disclose the method of claim 3, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
Furthermore, Marzuki teaches wherein the weak filtering strength is 1 [Section 2, Table 1, Proposed deblocking filter for intra copy, Fig. 2 When both blocks are encoded with IBC, boundary strength filtering is 1, as weak filtering]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Hsu to incorporate and be combined with the deblocking filter determination process by considering different prediction mode cases and considering other conditions for boundary strengths of 1 in Marzuki as above, to consider Intra Block copy blocks for visual quality improvement and coding gain (Marzuki, Abstract).
Regarding claims 11-12, claims (11-12) are drawn to an encoding method having limitations similar to the decoding method of using the same as claimed in claims (3-4) treated in the above rejection. Therefore, method claims (11-12) correspond to method claims (3-4) and are rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Furthermore, Hsu discloses of an encoding method [Paragraph [0003], Encoding process].
Claim 8 & 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu et al. (US 2014/0211848 A1) (hereinafter Hsu) and Wang et al. (US 2020/0404258 A1 with provisional benefit to 62/792,380) (hereinafter Wang) in view of Kim et al. (US 2015/0016550 A1) (hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 8, Hsu and Wang disclose the method of claim 1, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
However neither Hsu nor Wang teach the particulars of claim 8.
Kim teaches wherein the filtering strength is determined based on whether the first block and the second block are luma blocks or not [Paragraph [0060], In some examples, the boundary strength for the non-luma components can be calculated in the same way that the boundary strength is calculated for the luma component. Or, in some examples, the same boundary strength that is calculated for the luma component can be applied for the chroma component, meaning filtering strength is calculated based upon whether component is luma or non-luma].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Hsu to incorporate and be combined with the deblocking filter determination process in Kim as above, to improve the visual quality achieved as a result of deblock filtering, strong filtering is allowed for (i.e., may be applied to) chroma components or for all color components (e.g., R, G, and B in case of the RGB color space) (Kim, Paragraph [0044]).
Regarding claims 16, claim (16) is drawn to an encoding method having limitations similar to the decoding method of using the same as claimed in claim 8 treated in the above rejection. Therefore, method claim (16) correspond to method claim 8 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Furthermore, Hsu discloses of an encoding method [Paragraph [0003], Encoding process].
Conclusion
/DANIEL CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487