DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's response filed on 08/11/2026 has been entered and made of record.
Claim Status
Claims 1 and 8 have been amended.
No claims have been cancelled nor added.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's Remarks (on page 7), filed 08/11/2026, regarding Specification Objections have been fully considered and the specification has been amended. The objection to Specification has been withdrawn.
Applicant's Remarks (on page 7), filed 08/11/2026, regarding Double Patenting have been fully considered and Applicant requested the non-statutory double patenting rejection be held in abeyance. Therefore, the non-statutory double patenting rejection has been maintained.
Applicant's arguments filed 08/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant has argued that, “Neither reference, alone or together, discloses or suggests that a device enters a wake up mode from a sleep mode according to a time period set according to a listening interval of an access point.” (see Remarks on page 8-10).
In response to the Applicant's arguments, the Examiner respectfully disagrees because Kim teaches a STA in power saving mode is switched from a doze state to an awake state between beacon intervals and the STA, that is shifted to the awake state during a beacon interval (see ¶ [0137] [0192]). One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that a station in power saving mode would enter into a wake up mode during beacon intervals to monitor or receive frame is a time period or listening interval. If the prior art, Kim, is capable of performing the same functionalities as argued, then it meets the claim. Thus, the argument(s) is/are not persuasive.
This Office is made Final.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,035,405 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claims 1-20 are generally broader than the respective claims 1-17 in U.S. Patent No. 12,035,405 B2. Broader claims in a later application constitute obvious double patenting of narrow claims in an issued patent. See In re Van Ornum and Stang, 214, USPQ 761, 766, and 767 (CCPA) (the court sustained an obvious double patenting rejection of generic claims in a continuation application over narrow species claims in an issued patent); In re Vogel, 164 USPQ 619, 622, and 623 (CCPA 1970) (generic application claim specifying “meat” is obvious double patenting of narrow patent claim specifying “pork”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 8-10, 13, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2016/0165637 A1) hereinafter “Kim” in view of Lin et al. (US 2012/0327849 A1) hereinafter “Lin”. The U.S. references, Kim and Lin, were cited in IDS filed 05/28/2024.
Regarding claims 1 and 8, Kim discloses Claim 1 of a method and Claim 8 of a device comprising: a wireless interface configured to communicate with an access point through a wireless communication link; and one processor coupled to the wireless interface (see FIG. 22; see ¶ [0217] [0222], STA includes a processor, a memory and an RF unit), comprising:
in response to entering a wake up mode from a sleep mode according to a time period set according to a listening interval of an access point (see ¶ [0137] [0192], a STA in a power saving mode is switched/entered from a doze state to an awake state beacon intervals in other words, the STA, that is shifted to the awake state during a beacon interval i.e., a time period set according to a listening interval), obtaining, by a device, stored information indicating a wireless channel previously used to communicate with the access point (see ¶ [0137] [0149], STA performs a channel access based on previously stored EDCA parameter and one of the multiple EDCA parameter sets may be used for a channel access).
Although Kim discloses previously stored EDCA parameter related to a channel, but Kim does not explicitly disclose bypassing channel scanning and the wireless channel previously used to communicate.
However, Lin discloses while bypassing channel scanning, monitoring, by the device, for a beacon frame from the access point, through the wireless channel previously used to communicate with the access point indicated by the stored information (see FIG. 4; see ¶ [0008] [0027], using the pre-stored network connection information to establish a link with a predetermined access point without scanning the access points); and
resuming, by the device, wireless communication with the access point using the stored information (see FIG. 4; see ¶ [0008] [0027], using the pre-stored network connection information to establish a link with a predetermined access point without scanning the access points).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide bypassing channel scanning and the wireless channel previously used to communicate as taught by Lin, in the system of Kim, so that it would provide to speed up the network connection time using the pre-stored network connection information after waking up from the sleep mode (Lin: see ¶ [0028]).
Regarding claims 2 and 9, the combined system of Kim and Lin discloses wherein resuming the wireless communication comprises:
in response to receiving the beacon frame, transmitting, by the device to the access point, an association frame that causes the access point to perform association with the device (Kim: see ¶ [0070], STA transmits an association frame).
Regarding claims 3 and 10, the combined system of Kim and Lin discloses further comprising:
monitoring, by the device, for an acknowledgement frame from the access point while bypassing channel scanning (Kim: see ¶ [0070] [0209], in response to the association frame, the AP may transmit the association response frame/ACK frame and Lin: see ¶ [0008] [0027], using the pre-stored network connection information to establish a link with a predetermined access point without scanning the access points).
Regarding claims 6 and 13, the combined system of Kim and Lin discloses further comprising:
generating the stored information according to the wireless channel previously used to communicate with the access point (Kim: see ¶ [0137] [0149], STA performs a channel access based on previously stored EDCA parameter and one of the multiple EDCA parameter sets may be used for a channel access and Lin: see ¶ [0008] [0027], using the pre-stored network connection information to establish a link with a predetermined access point without scanning the access points).
Regarding claim 15, Kim discloses a device (see FIG. 22; see ¶ [0217] [0222], STA) comprising:
a wireless interface configured to communicate with an access point through a wireless communication link (see FIG. 22; see ¶ [0217] [0222], STA includes a processor, a memory and an RF unit); and
one or more processors coupled to the wireless interface (see FIG. 22; see ¶ [0217] [0222], STA includes a processor, a memory and an RF unit), the one or more processors configured to:
determine a time period (see ¶ [0105], STA may determine a time period),
cause the wireless interface to periodically switch between a wake up mode and a sleep mode according to the time period, until an association is completed with the access point, the time period set according to a listening interval of the access point (see ¶ [0137] [0192], a STA in a power saving mode is switched/entered from a doze state to an awake state beacon intervals in other words, the STA, that is shifted to the awake state during a beacon interval i.e., a time period set according to a listening interval and see ¶ [0070-71], after the association process is performed, normal data transmission and reception performed), and
for each switch to the wake up mode from the sleep mode according to the time period (see ¶ [0137] [0192], an STA in a power saving mode is switched/entered from a doze state to an awake state beacon intervals in other words, the STA, that is shifted to the awake state during a beacon interval i.e., a time period set according to a listening interval):
obtain stored information indicating a wireless channel previously used to communicate with the access point (see ¶ [0137] [0149], STA performs a channel access based on previously stored EDCA parameter and one of the multiple EDCA parameter sets may be used for a channel access);
Although Kim discloses previously stored EDCA parameter related to a channel, but Kim does not explicitly disclose bypassing channel scanning and the wireless channel previously used to communicate.
However, Lin discloses while bypassing channel scanning, monitor for a beacon frame from the access point, through the wireless channel indicated by the stored information (see FIG. 4; see ¶ [0008] [0027], using the pre-stored network connection information to establish a link with a predetermined access point without scanning the access points); and
resume wireless communication with the access point using the stored information (see FIG. 4; see ¶ [0008] [0027], using the pre-stored network connection information to establish a link with a predetermined access point without scanning the access points).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide bypassing channel scanning and the wireless channel previously used to communicate as taught by Lin, in the system of Kim, so that it would provide to speed up the network connection time using the pre-stored network connection information after waking up from the sleep mode (Lin: see ¶ [0028]).
Regarding claim 16, the combined system of Kim and Lin discloses wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
cause, for each switch to the wake up mode from the sleep mode according to the time period (Kim: see ¶ [0137], switching/entering from a doze state to an awake state), the wireless interface to transmit an association frame to the access point through the wireless channel indicated by the stored information (Kim: see ¶ [0070], STA transmits an association frame).
Regarding claim 17, the combined system of Kim and Lin discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to monitor for an acknowledgement frame from the access point while bypassing channel scanning (Kim: see ¶ [0070] [0209], in response to the association frame, the AP may transmit the association response frame/ACK frame and Lin: see ¶ [0008] [0027], using the pre-stored network connection information to establish a link with a predetermined access point without scanning the access points).
Regarding claim 18, the combined system of Kim and Lin discloses wherein the access point is configured to:
switch between another wake up mode and another sleep mode of the access point, and receive the association frame while the access point is in the another wake up mode during the listening interval (Kim: see ¶ [0070-71], STA transmit the association frame to AP during wake up states).
Regarding claim 19, the combined system of Kim and Lin discloses wherein the one or more processors are configured to determine the time period to allow at least one switch to the wake up mode from the sleep mode to occur while the access point is in the another wake up mode (Kim: see ¶ [0070-71], STA transmit the association frame to AP during wake up states).
Regarding claim 20, the combined system of Kim and Lin discloses wherein the access point is configured to receive the association frame, while bypassing use of beacon frames (Kim: see ¶ [0070], AP receives an association request frame).
Claims 4-5 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Lin further in view of Allen et al. (US 2003/0114204 A1) hereinafter “Allen”. The U.S. reference, Allen, was cited in IDS filed 05/28/2024.
Regarding claims 4 and 11, the combined system of Kim and Lin does not explicitly disclose a target beacon transmission time.
However, Allen discloses wherein the stored information further indicates a target beacon transmission time of the access point (see ¶ [0034], based on stored beacon timing information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide a target beacon transmission time as taught by Allen, in the combined system of Kim and Lin, so that it would provide to reduce the amount of time allocated to a subsequent beacon receive period (Allen: see ¶ [0034], lines 10-12).
Regarding claims 5 and 12, the combined system of Kim, Lin, and Allen discloses further comprising:
predicting, by the device according to the stored information, a first time at which the access point is scheduled to transmit the beacon frame, wherein the device enters the wake up mode at a second time before the predicted first time (Allen: see ¶ [0034], the initiating network device can remain in the default sleep mode for a longer period of time before waking up to receive the beacon frame based on stored beacon timing information).
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Lin further in view of Wang et al. (US 2020/0344695 A1) hereinafter “Wang”. The U.S. reference, Wang, was cited in IDS filed 05/28/2024.
Regarding claims 7 and 14, the combined system of Kim and Lin discloses wherein the access point comprises a soft access point (Kim: see FIG. 1; see ¶ [0038], access point), but does not explicitly disclose a head wearable device.
However, Wang discloses wherein the device comprises a head wearable device (see ¶ [0021], a head-mounted display device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide a head wearable device as taught by Wang, in the combined system of Kim and Lin, so that it would provide a station including a head-mounted display device configured to transmit and/or receive wireless signals (Wang: see ¶ [0021]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record (see attached PTO-892) and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
LUO (US 2022/0182941 A1) teaches after the Wi-Fi module of the terminal device enters the sleep state, the Wi-Fi access point buffers data of the terminal device during the sleep period of the Wi-Fi module, and the terminal device wakes up the Wi-Fi module and listens for (or receives) a beacon frame from a Wi-Fi access point every predetermined time b. The predetermined time b is a listen interval. [see ¶ 0032]
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462