DETAILED ACTION
The instant action is in response to application 28 May 2024.
Specification
The specification is objected to for the following informalities:
The title is not specific to the claimed invention. Examiner suggests emphasizing the claimed midpoint efficiency control.
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for priority to 28 May 2024 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claimed temperature comparison and sensing and the claimed ripple response must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
As to claim 6, applicant claims “dynamically adjusting the voltage on the intermediate voltage bus to improve the efficiency of the power conversion system; and in response to an increase of the voltage on the intermediate voltage bus, increasing a switching frequency of the second power conversion apparatus so as to maintain a consistent output voltage ripple.” The wording is problematic. It is unclear which takes precedence, the efficiency or the voltage ripple. Also, increasing the frequency in a buck converter may also cause the inductor to act as a resistor via saturation, which could theoretically increase ripple. It is also noted that even assuming ideal components, increasing the frequency would not increase the voltage drop since buck converter is primarily controlled by duty cycle, which would mean Vout is not going to its regulated value. While PFM control is known, neither hysteretic control or other means of achieving this is shown, which makes this incredibly unclear as to which portion of the specification seeks protection.
As to claim 7, it is also unclear which portion of the specification seeks protection since frequency control does not appear to be readily shown.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
For method claims, note that under MPEP 2112.02, the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Therefore the previous rejections based on the apparatus will not be repeated. (The claims have been condensed.)
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang (US 20170310227).
As to claim 1, Zhang discloses a method comprising: providing a power conversion system comprising a first power conversion apparatus (Fig. 13, item 20) connected between an input voltage bus (Vin) and an intermediate voltage bus (Vmid), and a second power conversion apparatus (21) connected between the intermediate voltage bus and an output voltage bus (Vout); detecting a plurality of operating parameters of the power conversion system (Vin, Iout, Vmid); and dynamically adjusting a voltage on the intermediate voltage bus based on the plurality of operating parameters so as to improve at least one desirable circuit characteristic of the power conversion system (¶36 “According to a control strategy, the received intermediate voltage V.sub.mid of the second stage converter 11 is increased when the load 12 is in the heavy load condition. Consequently, the conduction loss is decreased. Although the core loss is increased, the increase of the core loss is smaller than the decrease of the conduction loss. Under this circumstance, the total energy loss of the second stage converter 11 is decreased with the increasing intermediate voltage V.sub.mid. According to another control strategy, the received intermediate voltage V.sub.mid of the second stage converter 11 is decreased when the load 12 is in the light load condition. Consequently, the core loss is decreased. Although the conduction loss is increased, the increase of the conduction loss is smaller than the decrease of the core loss. Under this circumstance, the total energy loss of the second stage converter 11 is also decreased with the decreasing intermediate voltage V.sub.mid.”).
As to claim 3, Zhang teaches further comprising: detecting the plurality of operating parameters including a load current; and in response to an increase in load, dynamically increasing the voltage on the intermediate voltage bus to improve load transient response of the power conversion system (See ¶36 above).
As to claim 4, Zhang teaches further comprising: detecting the plurality of operating parameters including a load current; and in response to a decrease in load, dynamically reducing the voltage on the intermediate voltage bus to improve load transient response of the power conversion system (See ¶36 above).
As to claim 11, Zhang discloses wherein the second power conversion apparatus is a buck converter comprising: a high-side switch and a low-side switch connected in series between the intermediate voltage bus and ground; an output inductor connected between a common node of the high-side switch and the low-side switch, and the output voltage bus; and an output capacitor connected between the output voltage bus and ground (Zhang item 21 shows a buck converter).
As to claims 12-13, 15 these limitations of these claims are all contained in claim 1 and are anticipated for similar reasons.
As to claim 16, Zhang teaches including a load current; and in response to a load transient, dynamically adjusting the voltage on the intermediate voltage bus to improve load transient response of the power conversion system (Zhang adjusts the midpoint voltage dependent upon whether the load is light or heavy, see ¶36).
As to claim 18, this is an apparatus claim that corresponds to method claim 1 and is anticipated per MPEP 2112.02.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 20170310277) in view of Maple (US 20050219883).
As to claim 2, Zhang teaches detecting the plurality of operating parameters including a voltage on the input voltage bus,
He does not teach a current flowing through the input voltage bus.
Maple teaches detecting the plurality of operating parameters including a voltage on the input voltage bus, a current flowing through the input voltage bus, a voltage on the output voltage bus, a current flowing through the output voltage bus; calculating efficiency of the power conversion system based on the plurality of operating parameters (Claim 7/15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device above to use IV power calculations to improve operating range.
As to claim 19, this is an apparatus claim that corresponds to a method claim 2 and is obvious per MPEP 2112.02.
Claims 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 20170310277) in view of Ohashi (US 20210135583).
As to claim 5, Zhang discloses detecting the plurality of operating parameters including a hotspot temperature of the first power conversion apparatus and a hotspot temperature of the second power conversion apparatus; and dynamically adjusting the voltage on the intermediate voltage bus so that the hotspot temperature of the first power conversion apparatus is equal to the hotspot temperature of the second power conversion apparatus.
Zhang does not disclose a hotspot temperature of the first power conversion apparatus and a hotspot temperature of the second power conversion apparatus; and dynamically adjusting the voltage on the intermediate voltage bus so that the hotspot temperature of the first power conversion apparatus is equal to the hotspot temperature of the second power conversion apparatus.
Ohashi teaches a hotspot temperature of the first power conversion apparatus and a hotspot temperature of the second power conversion apparatus; and dynamically adjusting the voltage on the intermediate voltage bus so that the hotspot temperature of the first power conversion apparatus is equal to the hotspot temperature of the second power conversion apparatus (Fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device above to use temperature control as disclosed in Ohashi to ensure all elements had approximately the same resistive value.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 (as best understood) as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 20170310277) in view of Maple (US 20050219883) and Huang (US 20200204071).
As to claim 6, Zhang teaches further comprising: detecting the plurality of operating parameters including a voltage on the input voltage bus,
Maple teaches detecting the plurality of operating parameters including a voltage on the input voltage bus, a current flowing through the input voltage bus, a voltage on the output voltage bus, a current flowing through the output voltage bus; calculating efficiency of the power conversion system based on the plurality of operating parameters (Claim 7/15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device above to use IV power calculations to improve operating range.
Huang teaches and in response to an increase of the voltage on the intermediate voltage bus, increasing a switching frequency of the second power conversion apparatus so as to maintain a consistent output voltage ripple (Fig. 5A/5B show increasing and decreasing frequency to make the target output voltage, which would also affect ripple).
As to claim 7, Zhang teaches further comprising: detecting the plurality of operating parameters including a voltage on the input voltage bus,
Maple teaches detecting the plurality of operating parameters including a voltage on the input voltage bus, a current flowing through the input voltage bus, a voltage on the output voltage bus, a current flowing through the output voltage bus; calculating efficiency of the power conversion system based on the plurality of operating parameters (Claim 7/15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device above to use IV power calculations to improve operating range.
Huang teaches and in response to a decrease of the voltage on the intermediate voltage bus, reducing a switching frequency of the second power conversion apparatus so as to lower switching power losses of the second power conversion apparatus (Fig. 5A/5B show increasing and decreasing frequency to make the target output voltage).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 20170310277) in view of Maple (US 20050219883) and Rader (US 20090016085).
As to claim 8, Zhang teaches further comprising: detecting the plurality of operating parameters including a voltage on the input voltage bus,
He does not teach, a current flowing through the input voltage bus or and in response to the voltage on the intermediate voltage bus rising to a level close to the voltage on the input voltage bus, configuring one power switch of the first power conversion apparatus to operate in a linear mode where the one power switch of the first power conversion apparatus functions as a variable resistor to regulate the voltage on the intermediate voltage bus.
Maple teaches detecting the plurality of operating parameters including a voltage on the input voltage bus, a current flowing through the input voltage bus, a voltage on the output voltage bus, a current flowing through the output voltage bus; calculating efficiency of the power conversion system based on the plurality of operating parameters (Claim 7/15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device above to use IV power calculations to improve operating range.
Rader teaches response to the voltage on the intermediate voltage bus rising to a level close to the voltage on the input voltage bus, configuring one power switch of the first power conversion apparatus to operate in a linear mode where the one power switch of the first power conversion apparatus functions as a variable resistor to regulate the voltage on the intermediate voltage bus (Fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device above to use linear bypasses as disclosed in Rader to decrease switching losses.
As to claim 9, Zhang teaches further comprising: detecting the plurality of operating parameters including a voltage on the input voltage bus,
He does not teach, a current flowing through the input voltage bus or and in response to the voltage on the intermediate voltage bus rising to a level close to the voltage on the input voltage bus, configuring one power switch of the first power conversion apparatus to operate in a linear mode where the one power switch of the second power conversion apparatus functions as a variable resistor to regulate the voltage on the intermediate voltage bus.
Maple teaches detecting the plurality of operating parameters including a voltage on the input voltage bus, a current flowing through the input voltage bus, a voltage on the output voltage bus, a current flowing through the output voltage bus; calculating efficiency of the power conversion system based on the plurality of operating parameters (Claim 7/15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device above to use IV power calculations to improve operating range.
Rader teaches response to the voltage on the intermediate voltage bus rising to a level close to the voltage on the input voltage bus, configuring one power switch of the second power conversion apparatus to operate in a linear mode where the one power switch of the second power conversion apparatus functions as a variable resistor to regulate the voltage on the intermediate voltage bus (Fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device above to use linear bypasses as disclosed in Rader to decrease switching losses.
Claims 10, 17, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 20170310277) in view of Ge (US 20230396144).
As to claim 10, Zhang does not teach wherein the first power conversion apparatus is a hybrid switched capacitor converter comprising: a first switch, a second switch, a third switch and a fourth switch connected in series between the input voltage bus and ground; a flying capacitor connected between a common node of the first switch and the second switch, and a common node of the third switch and the fourth switch; an inductor connected between a common node of the second switch and the third switch, and the intermediate voltage bus; and a capacitor connected between the intermediate voltage bus and ground.
Ge teaches wherein the first power conversion apparatus is a hybrid switched capacitor converter comprising: a first switch, a second switch, a third switch and a fourth switch connected in series between the input voltage bus and ground; a flying capacitor connected between a common node of the first switch and the second switch, and a common node of the third switch and the fourth switch; an inductor connected between a common node of the second switch and the third switch, and the intermediate voltage bus; and a capacitor connected between the intermediate voltage bus and ground (Ge, item 14, with S1B, S2B, S3B, S4B correlating to the first through fourth switches, and the capacitor and inductor correlating to the claimed flying capacitor and inductor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device above to use a charge pump as disclosed in Ge to reduce mass.
As to claim 17, this corresponds to claim 10 above and is obvious for similar reasons.
As to claim 20, this is an apparatus claim that corresponds to a method claim 10 and is obvious per MPEP 2112.02.
Claims 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 20170310277).
As to claim 14, Zhang does not explicitly teach wherein: a voltage on the input voltage bus is equal to about 48 V; and a voltage on the output voltage bus is in a range from about 0.6 V to about 1 V. However, this is obvious as it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Conclusion
Examiner has cited particular column, paragraph, and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/PETER M NOVAK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2839