DETAILED ACTION
The instant action is in response to application 28 May 2024.
Response to Arguments
The specification objection has been withdrawn.
The drawing objections are sustained. Though there are no more objections regarding the switching frequency, the temperature spot comparison does not appear to be readily shown in the figures. As such, these drawing objections are maintained.
The 112(b) rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments on the merits have been considered but are moot for not considering the present references.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for priority to 28 May 2024 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claimed temperature comparison and sensing and the claimed ripple response must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
For method claims, note that under MPEP 2112.02, the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Therefore the previous rejections based on the apparatus will not be repeated. (The claims have been condensed.)
The sections of 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103 that form the statutory basis for obviousness and anticipation are quoted in a prior action.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 20170310227) in view of Roy et als “Discrete-Time Framework for Analysis and Design of Digitally Current-Mode-Controlled Intermediate Bus Architectures for Fast Transient and Stability” (IEEE NPL).
As to claim 1, Zhang discloses a method comprising: providing a power conversion system comprising a first power conversion apparatus (Fig. 13, item 20) connected between an input voltage bus (Vin) and an intermediate voltage bus (Vmid), and a second power conversion apparatus (21) connected between the intermediate voltage bus and an output voltage bus (Vout); detecting a plurality of operating parameters of the power conversion system (Vin, Iout, Vmid); and dynamically adjusting a voltage on the intermediate voltage bus based on the plurality of operating parameters so as to improve at least one desirable circuit characteristic of the power conversion system (¶36 “According to a control strategy, the received intermediate voltage V.sub.mid of the second stage converter 11 is increased when the load 12 is in the heavy load condition. Consequently, the conduction loss is decreased. Although the core loss is increased, the increase of the core loss is smaller than the decrease of the conduction loss. Under this circumstance, the total energy loss of the second stage converter 11 is decreased with the increasing intermediate voltage V.sub.mid. According to another control strategy, the received intermediate voltage V.sub.mid of the second stage converter 11 is decreased when the load 12 is in the light load condition. Consequently, the core loss is decreased. Although the conduction loss is increased, the increase of the conduction loss is smaller than the decrease of the core loss. Under this circumstance, the total energy loss of the second stage converter 11 is also decreased with the decreasing intermediate voltage V.sub.mid.”).
Zhang does not disclose wherein during a load transient, the voltage on the intermediate voltage bus is dynamically adiusted, and a voltage adjustment on the intermediate voltage bus is equal to a load change multiplied by a predetermined coefficient.
Roy teaches wherein during a load transient, the voltage on the intermediate voltage bus is dynamically adiusted, and a voltage adjustment on the intermediate voltage bus is equal to a load change (See Fig. 1, which shows the load power divided by the voltage to generate a control on the intermediate bus proportional to the current) multiplied by a predetermined coefficient (The predetermined coefficient correlates to the frequency/Zero order hold).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device above to use load feedback in the intermediate bus to improve the fast-stability requirement of the converter.
As to claim 3, Zhang in view of Roy teaches further comprising: detecting the plurality of operating parameters including a load current; and in response to an increase in load, dynamically increasing the voltage on the intermediate voltage bus to improve load transient response of the power conversion system (See ¶36 above).
As to claim 4, Zhang in view of Roy teaches further comprising: detecting the plurality of operating parameters including a load current; and in response to a decrease in load, dynamically reducing the voltage on the intermediate voltage bus to improve load transient response of the power conversion system (See ¶36 above).
As to claim 11, Zhang in view of Roy discloses wherein the second power conversion apparatus is a buck converter comprising: a high-side switch and a low-side switch connected in series between the intermediate voltage bus and ground; an output inductor connected between a common node of the high-side switch and the low-side switch, and the output voltage bus; and an output capacitor connected between the output voltage bus and ground (Zhang item 21 shows a buck converter).
As to claims 12-13, 15 these limitations of these claims are all contained in claim 1 and are obvious for similar reasons.
As to claim 14, Zhang in view of Roy does not explicitly teach wherein: a voltage on the input voltage bus is equal to about 48 V; and a voltage on the output voltage bus is in a range from about 0.6 V to about 1 V. However, this is obvious as it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
As to claim 16, Zhang in view of Roy teaches including a load current; and in response to a load transient, dynamically adjusting the voltage on the intermediate voltage bus to improve load transient response of the power conversion system (Zhang adjusts the midpoint voltage dependent upon whether the load is light or heavy, see ¶36).
As to claim 18, this is an apparatus claim that corresponds to method claim 1 and is anticipated per MPEP 2112.02.
Claims 2, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 20170310277) in view of Roy (IEEE NPL) and Maple (US 20050219883).
As to claim 2, Zhang in view of Roy teaches detecting the plurality of operating parameters including a voltage on the input voltage bus,
He does not teach a current flowing through the input voltage bus.
Maple teaches detecting the plurality of operating parameters including a voltage on the input voltage bus, a current flowing through the input voltage bus, a voltage on the output voltage bus, a current flowing through the output voltage bus; calculating efficiency of the power conversion system based on the plurality of operating parameters (Claim 7/15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device above to use IV power calculations to improve operating range.
As to claim 19, this is an apparatus claim that corresponds to a method claim 2 and is obvious per MPEP 2112.02.
Claims 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 20170310277) in view of Roy (IEEE NPL) and Ohashi (US 20210135583).
As to claim 5, Zhang in view of Roy discloses detecting the plurality of operating parameters including a hotspot temperature of the first power conversion apparatus and a hotspot temperature of the second power conversion apparatus; and dynamically adjusting the voltage on the intermediate voltage bus so that the hotspot temperature of the first power conversion apparatus is equal to the hotspot temperature of the second power conversion apparatus (broadly interpreted, Zhang is controlling power which correlates to temperature. The power lost is going to increase with the hotspot temperature).
Zhang does not disclose a hotspot temperature of the first power conversion apparatus and a hotspot temperature of the second power conversion apparatus; and dynamically adjusting the voltage on the intermediate voltage bus so that the hotspot temperature of the first power conversion apparatus is equal to the hotspot temperature of the second power conversion apparatus.
Ohashi teaches a hotspot temperature of the first power conversion apparatus and a hotspot temperature of the second power conversion apparatus; and dynamically adjusting the voltage on the intermediate voltage bus so that the hotspot temperature of the first power conversion apparatus is equal to the hotspot temperature of the second power conversion apparatus (Fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device above to use temperature control as disclosed in Ohashi to ensure all elements had approximately the same resistive value.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 (as best understood) as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 20170310277) in view of Roy (IEEE NPL) and Maple (US 20050219883).
As to claim 6, Zhang in view of Roy teaches further comprising: detecting the plurality of operating parameters including a voltage on the input voltage bus, voltage bus; calculating efficiency of the power conversion system based on the plurality of operating parameters; and dynamically adjusting the voltage on the intermediate voltage bus to improve the efficiency of the power conversion system.
Maple teaches detecting the plurality of operating parameters including a voltage on the input voltage bus, a current flowing through the input voltage bus, a voltage on the output voltage bus, a current flowing through the output voltage bus; calculating efficiency of the power conversion system based on the plurality of operating parameters (Claim 7/15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device above to use IV power calculations to improve operating range.
As to claim 7, Zhang in view of Roy teaches further comprising: detecting the plurality of operating parameters including a voltage on the input voltage bus, and dynamically adjusting the voltage on the intermediate voltage bus to improve the efficiency of the power conversion system;
Maple teaches detecting the plurality of operating parameters including a voltage on the input voltage bus, a current flowing through the input voltage bus, a voltage on the output voltage bus, a current flowing through the output voltage bus; calculating efficiency of the power conversion system based on the plurality of operating parameters (Claim 7/15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device above to use IV power calculations to improve operating range.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 20170310277) in view of Roy (IEEE NPL), Maple (US 20050219883) and Rader (US 20090016085).
As to claim 8, Zhang tin view of Roy teaches further comprising: detecting the plurality of operating parameters including a voltage on the input voltage bus,
He does not teach, a current flowing through the input voltage bus or and in response to the voltage on the intermediate voltage bus rising to a level close to the voltage on the input voltage bus, configuring one power switch of the first power conversion apparatus to operate in a linear mode where the one power switch of the first power conversion apparatus functions as a variable resistor to regulate the voltage on the intermediate voltage bus.
Maple teaches detecting the plurality of operating parameters including a voltage on the input voltage bus, a current flowing through the input voltage bus, a voltage on the output voltage bus, a current flowing through the output voltage bus; calculating efficiency of the power conversion system based on the plurality of operating parameters (Claim 7/15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device above to use IV power calculations to improve operating range.
Rader teaches response to the voltage on the intermediate voltage bus rising to a level close to the voltage on the input voltage bus, configuring one power switch of the first power conversion apparatus to operate in a linear mode where the one power switch of the first power conversion apparatus functions as a variable resistor to regulate the voltage on the intermediate voltage bus (Fig. 7/abstract “linear pass output circuit”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device above to use linear bypasses as disclosed in Rader to decrease switching losses.
As to claim 9, Zhang in view of Roy teaches further comprising: detecting the plurality of operating parameters including a voltage on the input voltage bus,
He does not teach, a current flowing through the input voltage bus or and in response to the voltage on the intermediate voltage bus rising to a level close to the voltage on the input voltage bus, configuring one power switch of the first power conversion apparatus to operate in a linear mode where the one power switch of the second power conversion apparatus functions as a variable resistor to regulate the voltage on the intermediate voltage bus.
Maple teaches detecting the plurality of operating parameters including a voltage on the input voltage bus, a current flowing through the input voltage bus, a voltage on the output voltage bus, a current flowing through the output voltage bus; calculating efficiency of the power conversion system based on the plurality of operating parameters (Claim 7/15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device above to use IV power calculations to improve operating range.
Rader teaches response to the voltage on the intermediate voltage bus rising to a level close to the voltage on the input voltage bus, configuring one power switch of the second power conversion apparatus to operate in a linear mode where the one power switch of the second power conversion apparatus functions as a variable resistor to regulate the voltage on the intermediate voltage bus (Fig. 7/abstract “linear pass output circuit”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device above to use linear bypasses as disclosed in Rader to decrease switching losses.
Claims 10, 17, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 20170310277) in view of Roy (IEEE NPL) and Ge (US 20230396144).
As to claim 10, Zhang in view of Roy does not teach wherein the first power conversion apparatus is a hybrid switched capacitor converter comprising: a first switch, a second switch, a third switch and a fourth switch connected in series between the input voltage bus and ground; a flying capacitor connected between a common node of the first switch and the second switch, and a common node of the third switch and the fourth switch; an inductor connected between a common node of the second switch and the third switch, and the intermediate voltage bus; and a capacitor connected between the intermediate voltage bus and ground.
Ge teaches wherein the first power conversion apparatus is a hybrid switched capacitor converter comprising: a first switch, a second switch, a third switch and a fourth switch connected in series between the input voltage bus and ground; a flying capacitor connected between a common node of the first switch and the second switch, and a common node of the third switch and the fourth switch; an inductor connected between a common node of the second switch and the third switch, and the intermediate voltage bus; and a capacitor connected between the intermediate voltage bus and ground (Ge, item 14, with S1B, S2B, S3B, S4B correlating to the first through fourth switches, and the capacitor and inductor correlating to the claimed flying capacitor and inductor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device above to use a charge pump as disclosed in Ge to reduce mass.
As to claim 17, this corresponds to claim 10 above and is obvious for similar reasons.
As to claim 20, this is an apparatus claim that corresponds to a method claim 10 and is obvious per MPEP 2112.02.
Conclusion
Examiner has cited particular column, paragraph, and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER M NOVAK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2839