CTNF 18/675,899 CTNF 86093 DETAILED ACTION 07-03-01-aia AIA 07-03-01-r-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claims 1-30 are currently pending. Drawings 06-36-01 Figures 5, 8, and 9 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated 1 . See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA 4. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA 5. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA 6. This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA 7. Claim s 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2025/0184855 A1 (hereinafter “Laselva”), in view of the non-patent literature document titled Remaining Issues of NES Specific CHO Enhancement (hereinafter “R2-2310293”) 2 , and alternatively in further view of U.S. Publication No. 2025/0142588 A1 (hereinafter “Nangia”) . Regarding claims 1, 15, 24, and 30: Laselva teaches one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the first UE to: receive a control message comprising a plurality of information blocks corresponding to a plurality of cells (see, e.g., [0004], [0058]-[0065]; a UE receives configurations corresponding to cells) wherein: at least a first information block of the plurality of information blocks comprises a second indication indicating a network energy savings mode of a first cell of the plurality of cells, the first cell comprising a primary cell for the first UE (see, e.g., [0004], [0059]-[0065]; the received configurations include indication of an energy savings mode) ; monitor a wireless channel for a conditional handover execution condition based at least in part on the network energy savings mode of the primary cell indicated by the second indication; and perform a conditional handover procedure based at least in part on monitoring for the conditional handover execution condition (see, e.g., figures 3 and 5, [0004], [0059]-[0065]; the configurations are for conditional handover, which entails monitoring the condition prior to performing handover) . Laselva does not explicitly state wherein the control message is “common to a plurality of UEs,” nor wherein the indications provide “a discontinuous transmission configuration, a discontinuous reception configuration, or both for one or more cells of the plurality of cells.” However, in a system that overlaps many of the teachings of Laselva, these features are taught by R2-2310293 (see, e.g., section 2.1, 2.2.1, and 2.2.2; note common DCI for DTX/DRX and applicability to conditional handover) . It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the said features from R2-2310293, within the system of Laselva, in order to improve resource utilization efficiency. To the extent the feature wherein the control messaging includes “a plurality of information blocks corresponding to a plurality of cells” is not inherent to the system of Laselva modified by R2-2310293 (see, e.g., Laselva [0004]; and/or R2-2310293 p.4; note received configurations and/or DCI format 2_X with N information block fields) , this feature is nevertheless taught by Nangia (see, e.g., [0113]-[0118], [0127]-[0128], [0141]-[0149]; note format 2_X and/or 2_9, as well as the signaling architecture) . It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate features from Nangia, such as the signaling and/or handover functionality, within the system of Laselva modified by R2-2310293, in order to reduce service disruptions. The rationale set forth above regarding the UE of claim 1 is applicable to the network entity and methods of claims 15, 24, and 30, respectively. Regarding the communication with a second network entity as specified in claims 15 and 30, the said prior art further teaches this limitation (see, e.g., Laselva figures 3 and 5; and/or R2-2310293; note network entity communication) . Regarding claims 2 and 25: Laselva modified by R2-2310293 and alternatively Nangia further teaches wherein, to monitor the wireless channel for the conditional handover execution condition, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the first UE to: monitor for a first conditional handover execution condition based at least in part on the second indication indicating that the first cell operates in the network energy savings mode, the first conditional handover execution condition associated with the network energy savings mode; or monitor for a second conditional handover execution condition based at least in part on the second indication indicating that the first cell operates in a non-network energy savings mode, the second conditional handover execution condition associated with the non-network energy savings mode (see, e.g., Laselva [0004], [0059]-[0065]; R2-2310293 sections 1, 2.1; and/or Nangia [0113]-[0118], [0127]-[0128], [0141]-[0149]; note CHO based on energy savings mode and signaling architecture) . The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 1 is applicable to claim 2. The rationale set forth above regarding the UE of claim 2 is applicable to the method of claim 25. Regarding claims 3, 16, and 26: Laselva modified by R2-2310293 and alternatively Nangia further teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the first UE to: receive, via the first information block, a first indication of the discontinuous transmission configuration, the discontinuous reception configuration, or both for the first cell, wherein the first information block comprises the second indication (see, e.g., Laselva [0004], [0059]-[0065]; R2-2310293 sections 1, 2.1; and/or Nangia [0113]-[0118], [0127]-[0128], [0141]-[0149]; note CHO based on energy savings mode and signaling architecture) . The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 1 is applicable to claim 3. The rationale set forth above regarding the UE of claim 3 is applicable to the network entity and method of claim 16 and 26, respectively. Regarding claims 4, 17, and 27: Laselva modified by R2-2310293 and alternatively Nangia further teaches wherein the second indication is located in a second bit position that is after a first bit position corresponding to the first indication within the first information block (see, e.g., R2-2310293 sections 1, 2.1; Nangia [0113]-[0118], [0127]-[0128], [0141]-[0149]; note bit structuring flexibility for DCI formats) . The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 1 is applicable to claim 4. The rationale set forth above regarding the UE of claim 4 is applicable to the network entity and method of claim 17 and 27, respectively. Regarding claims 5, 18, and 28: Laselva modified by R2-2310293 and alternatively Nangia further teaches wherein the second indication is located in a second bit position that is before a first bit position corresponding to the first indication within the first information block (see, e.g., R2-2310293 sections 1, 2.1; Nangia [0113]-[0118], [0127]-[0128], [0141]-[0149]; note bit structuring flexibility for DCI formats) . The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 1 is applicable to claim 5. The rationale set forth above regarding the UE of claim 5 is applicable to the network entity and method of claim 18 and 28, respectively. Regarding claims 6, 19, and 29: Laselva modified by R2-2310293 and alternatively Nangia further teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the first UE to: receive a second control message comprising a bit position of the second indication within the control message, wherein the bit position indicates that the second indication is included in a second information block of the plurality of information blocks (see, e.g., R2-2310293 sections 1, 2.1; Nangia [0113]-[0118], [0127]-[0128], [0141]-[0149]; note bit structuring flexibility for DCI formats) . The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 1 is applicable to claim 6. The rationale set forth above regarding the UE of claim 6 is applicable to the network entity and method of claim 19 and 29, respectively. Regarding claims 7 and 20: Laselva modified by R2-2310293 and alternatively Nangia further teaches wherein the second information block comprises both of the second indication and a first indication of the discontinuous transmission configuration, the discontinuous reception configuration, or both for a second cell of the plurality of cells (see, e.g., R2-2310293 sections 1, 2.1; Nangia [0113]-[0118], [0127]-[0128], [0141]-[0149]; note bit structuring flexibility for DCI formats) . The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 1 is applicable to claim 7. The rationale set forth above regarding the UE of claim 7 is applicable to the network entity of claim 20. Regarding claims 8 and 21: Laselva modified by R2-2310293 and alternatively Nangia further teaches wherein the second information block comprises a plurality of third indications providing a respective network energy savings mode associated with the plurality of cells, the plurality of third indications comprising at least the second indication indicating the network energy savings mode of a first cell (see, e.g., R2-2310293 sections 1, 2.1; Nangia [0113]-[0118], [0127]-[0128], [0141]-[0149]; note bit structuring flexibility for DCI formats) . The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 1 is applicable to claim 8. The rationale set forth above regarding the UE of claim 8 is applicable to the network entity of claim 21. Regarding claims 9 and 22: Laselva modified by R2-2310293 and alternatively Nangia further teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the first UE to: receive, via a second information block of the one or more information blocks, a third indication indicating a network energy savings mode of a second cell of the plurality of cells, wherein the second cell is a candidate target cell for the first UE and a primary cell for a second UE of the plurality of UEs (see, e.g., Laselva [0046], [0054], [0060]; note candidate indication; R2-2310293 sections 1, 2.2.1; Nangia [0113]-[0118], [0127]-[0128], [0141]-[0149]; note bit structuring flexibility for DCI formats) . The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 1 is applicable to claim 9. The rationale set forth above regarding the UE of claim 9 is applicable to the network entity of claim 22. Regarding claim 10: Laselva modified by R2-2310293 and alternatively Nangia further teaches wherein, to perform the conditional handover procedure, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the first UE to: establish a connection with the second cell based at least in part on the second indication indicating that the first cell is operating in the network energy savings mode and the third indication indicating that the second cell is operating in a non-network energy savings mode (see, e.g., Laselva [0004], [0059]-[0065]; R2-2310293 sections 1, 2.1; and/or Nangia [0113]-[0118], [0127]-[0128], [0141]-[0149]; note CHO based on energy savings mode and signaling architecture) . The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 1 is applicable to claim 10. Regarding claim 11: Laselva modified by R2-2310293 and alternatively Nangia further teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the first UE to: remove the second cell from a list of candidate target cells based at least in part on the third indication indicating that the second cell is operating in the network energy savings mode (see, e.g., Laselva [0054]; note candidate indication and removal functionality; R2-2310293 sections 1, 2.2.1; Nangia [0113]-[0118], [0127]-[0128], [0141]-[0149]; note bit structuring flexibility for DCI formats) . The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 1 is applicable to claim 11. Regarding claims 12 and 23: Laselva modified by R2-2310293 and alternatively Nangia further teaches wherein the second indication comprises a plurality of bits, and a first bit of the plurality of bits indicates the network energy savings mode of the first cell and one or more second bits of the plurality of bits activate one or more respective conditional handover configurations for the first UE (see, e.g., Laselva [0080]; R2-2310293 p. 4; Nangia [0113]-[0118], [0127]-[0128], [0141]-[0149]; note bit structuring flexibility for DCI formats; note also activation functionality) . The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 1 is applicable to claim 12. The rationale set forth above regarding the UE of claim 12 is applicable to the network entity of claim 23. Regarding claims 13: Laselva modified by R2-2310293 and alternatively Nangia further teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the first UE to: transition, at a first time, between monitoring for a first conditional handover execution condition and a second condition handover execution condition based at least in part on the second indication indicating that the first cell has transitioned between the network energy savings mode and a non-network energy savings mode, wherein the first time follows reception of the control message by a value corresponding to a duration (see, e.g., Laselva [0059], [0064], [0073]-[0075]; R2-2310293 p. 10; Nangia [0165]-[0166]; note transition functionality and basis on energy mode) . The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 1 is applicable to claim 13. Regarding claims 14: Laselva modified by R2-2310293 and alternatively Nangia further teaches wherein the duration is identified according to a subcarrier spacing associated with the control message (see, e.g., Nangia [0120], [0163]-[0166]; note also the explanation set forth above regarding claim 14) . The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 1 is applicable to claim 14. Relevant Art 8. The following prior art not relied upon in this Office action is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure: See form PTO-892. Conclusion 9. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NICHOLAS SLOMS whose telephone number is (571)270-7520. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 9AM-5PM EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayaz Sheikh can be reached at (571)272-3795. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /NICHOLAS SLOMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/675,899 Page 2 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/675,899 Page 3 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/675,899 Page 4 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/675,899 Page 5 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/675,899 Page 6 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/675,899 Page 7 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/675,899 Page 8 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/675,899 Page 9 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/675,899 Page 10 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/675,899 Page 11 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/675,899 Page 12 Art Unit: 2476 1 See, e.g., the respective figures in U.S. Publication No. 2022/0330311 A1. 2 R2-2310293 was cited in Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement submitted February 24, 2025 (Non-Patent Literature Documents, Cite No. 002).