DETAILED ACTION
Amendment filed 9/18/2026 has been entered. Claims 38-40 remain pending with the claims 39-40 withdrawn as being non-elected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 24-28, 29-32, and 35-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burr US 7690940 (hereinafter Burr) in view of Robbins US 7001202 (hereinafter Robbins).
Re. Cl. 21, Burr discloses: A cable protection apparatus (Fig. 1) used to protect a wireline conveying a wireline tool within a subterranean wellbore (see Fig. 1, the device is capable of being used in the claimed intended use), the cable protection apparatus comprising: a first enclosure portion (14, Fig. 1) of an enclosure (14, 34 Fig. 1), wherein the first enclosure portion comprises a first body (see 14, Fig. 1), a first bore (interior of 14 where 45, 46, 50 passes, Fig. 2), a first channel (18, Fig. 1), and a first adjustment feature (22, Fig. 1), wherein the first bore traverses through the first body along its length (see Fig. 1-2), wherein the first channel traverses a thickness of the first body along its length between the first bore and an outer perimeter of the first body (see Fig. 1), wherein the first bore further traverses a first receiving chamber portion formed within part of the first body (see Fig. 1-2, interior portion of 14), and wherein the first bore is configured to receive a segment of the wireline after the segment of the wireline traverses the first channel from the outer perimeter of the first body to the first bore (see Fig. 2); a second enclosure portion (34, Fig. 1) of the enclosure, wherein the second enclosure portion is detachably coupled to the first enclosure portion (see Fig. 1, via 22 and 35), wherein the second enclosure portion comprises a second body (see 34, Fig. 1), a second bore (38, Fig. 1), and a second adjustment feature (35, Fig. 1), wherein the second bore traverses through the second body along its length (see Fig. 1-2), wherein the second bore further traverses a second receiving chamber portion formed within part of the second body (see Fig. 1-2), wherein the first receiving chamber portion and the second receiving chamber portion form a receiving chamber when the second adjustment feature is engaged with the first adjustment feature (see Fig. 3), and wherein movement between the first adjustment feature and the second adjustment feature while the first adjustment feature and the second adjustment feature are engaged with each other changes a size of the receiving chamber (Col. 3, Lines 6-9) and a collet (26, Fig. 2) disposed within the receiving chamber (see Fig. 1-3), wherein the collet comprises a collet body (see Fig. 1) and a collet bore (extending left to right in Fig. 1) that traverses through the collet body along its length (see Fig. 2, where 49 passes through 26), wherein the collet body is radially compressible along its length (see Fig. 1-3; Col. 3, Lines 9-11), wherein the collet body has a compressed state (see Fig. 3, and Col. 3, Lines 9-11) and a default state (see Fig. 2), wherein the collet bore has a reduced diameter when the collet body is in the compressed state (Col. 3, Lines 9-15), wherein the collet bore has a default collet diameter that is configured to receive the segment of the wireline when the collet body is in the default state (see Fig. 2), wherein the collet body transitions from the default state to the compressed state when the size of the receiving chamber is reduced such that the first body and the second body of the enclosure apply a compressive force to the collet body, and wherein the collet body, when in the compressed state, is configured to prevent movement of the segment of the wireline relative to the collet body (Col. 3, Lines 6-15) as the wireline is raised and lowered to convey the wireline tool within the subterranean wellbore (see Fig. 1, the device is capable of being issued in the claimed intended use).
Re. Cl. 24, Burr discloses: the first adjustment feature and the second adjustment feature comprise complementary mating threads (see Fig. 1-3, 22 and 35).
Re. Cl. 25, Burr discloses: the first enclosure portion and the second enclosure portion are configured to be rotatably coupled to each other using the complementary mating threads without use of a tool (see Fig. 1-3, the device is configured to be threaded together using hands for instance).
Re. Cl. 27, Burr discloses: the collet, the first body of the first enclosure portion and the second body of the second enclosure portion are further configured to hold the wireline in tension during a wireline operation (see Fig. 1-2, the body portions are configured to be used as claimed as seen in the figures so long as the wire was used in tension).
Re. Cl. 29, Burr discloses: the collet further comprises a collet channel (see 30, Fig. 1) that traverses a thickness of the collet body along its length between the collet bore and an outer perimeter of the collet body (see Fig. 1), wherein the wirelione has a diameter within a range of diameters that is less than a width of the collet channel when the collet is in the default state (see Fig. 1-3, the device is capable of being used in the claimed intended use by having a cable less than a width of 30), and wherein the width of the collet channel is less than the diameter of the wireline when the collet is in the compressed state (Col. 3, Lines 6-15, by compressing onto the cable).
Re. Cl. 30, Burr discloses: the width of the collet channel, after the collet is no longer maintained in the compressed state by the enclosure, returns to being greater than the range of diameters (see Fig. 1-3, in the default state shown in Fig. 2, the collet is capable of being used with a cable that is less than the collet channel).
Re. Cl. 31, Burr discloses: the enclosure stops maintaining the collet in the compressed state when the first adjustment feature of the first enclosure portion and the second adjustment feature of the second enclosure portion disengage from each other (see Fig. 2).
Re. Cl. 32, Burr discloses: the collet comprises a first collet piece and a second collet piece (see Fig. 1, pieces of 26 on opposite sides of 30) that are configured to abut against each other to form the collet bore (see Fig. 1, when compressed, the sides opposite of 30 are configured to abut each other and form the bore where the cable fits).
Re. Cl. 35, Burr discloses: the first adjustment feature and the second adjustment feature, once engaged with each other and reducing the size of the receiving chamber to maintain the collet in the compressed state (see Fig. 3 and Col. 3, Lines 6-15), are configured to remain engaged with each other until the first adjustment feature and the second adjustment feature are purposely acted upon by a user to disengage with respect to each other (see Fig. 1-3, the threads are configured to remain engaged with one another unless a user unthreads them).
Re. Cl. 36, Burr discloses: A cable protection apparatus assembly (Fig. 1-3) used during a wireline operation in a subterranean wellbore (see Fig. 1, the device is capable of being used in the claimed intended use in the same manner as shown), the cable protecting apparatus comprising: a wireline having a wireline thickness (see 45 and 49, Fig. 2); and a cable protection apparatus (see Fig. 1) encasing a segment of the wireline (see Fig. 1-3), the cable protection apparatus comprising: a first enclosure portion (14, Fig. 1) of an enclosure (14, 34, Fig. 1-2), wherein the first enclosure portion comprises a first body (see 14, Fig. 1), a first bore (see Fig. 1-2, bore through 14, where 45 passes), a first channel (18, Fig. 1), and a first adjustment feature (22, Fig. 1), wherein the first bore traverses through the first body along its length (see Fig. 1-2), wherein the first channel traverses a thickness of the first body along its length between the first bore and an outer perimeter of the first body (see Fig. 1-2), wherein the first bore further traverses a first receiving chamber portion formed within part of the first body (see Fig. 1-2), and wherein the first bore is configured to receive the segment of the wireline after the segment of the wireline traverses the first channel from the outer perimeter of the first body to the first bore (see Fig. 1-2); a second enclosure portion of the enclosure (34, Fig. 1-2), wherein the second enclosure portion is detachably coupled to the first enclosure portion (see Fig. 1-3, via 22 and 35), wherein the second enclosure portion comprises a second body (see 34, Fig. 1), a second bore (38, Fig. 1), and a second adjustment feature (35, Fig. 1), wherein the second bore traverses through the second body along its length (see Fig. 1-3), wherein the second bore further traverses a second receiving chamber portion formed within part of the second body (see Fig. 1-3), wherein the first receiving chamber portion and the second receiving chamber portion form a receiving chamber when the second adjustment feature is engaged with the first adjustment feature (see Fig. 2-3), and wherein movement between the first adjustment feature and the second adjustment feature while the first adjustment feature and the second adjustment feature are engaged with each other changes a size of the receiving chamber (Col. 3, Lines 6-9); and a collet (26, Fig. 1) disposed within the receiving chamber (see Fig. 1-3), wherein the collet comprises a collet body (see 26, Fig. 1) and a collet bore (see Fig. 2-3, where 45/49 passes through) that traverses through the collet body along its length (see Fig. 1-3), wherein the collet body is radially compressible along its length (Col. 3, Lines 9-15), wherein the collet body has a compressed state (see Fig. 3 and Col. 3, Lines 9-15) and a default state (see Fig. 2), wherein the collet bore has a reduced diameter when the collet body is in the compressed state (Col. 3, Lines 9-15), wherein the collet bore has a default collet diameter that is greater than the wireline thickness to receive the segment of the cable when the collet body is in the default state (see Fig. 2), wherein the collet body transitions from the default state to the compressed state when the size of the receiving chamber is reduced such that the first body and the second body of the enclosure apply a compressive force to the collet body (Col. 3, Lines 9-15), and wherein the collet body, when in the compressed state, is configured to prevent movement of the segment of the cable relative to the collet body (Col. 3, Lines 9-15) as the wireline is raised and lowered to convey a wireline tool at a distal end of the wireline within a subterranean wellbore (see Fig. 1, the device is capable of being used in the claimed intended use by using the line to raise/lower a tool within a wellbore).
Re. Cl. 37, Burr discloses: the wireline is held in tension throughout the wireline operation within the subterranean wellbore (see 45, Fig. 1-3, the cable 45 and protector 10 is capable of being used in the claimed intended use environment).
Re. Cls. 21, 26, 28, and 36, Burr does not disclose the second enclosure portion including a second channel; wherein the second channel traverses a thickness of the second body along its length between the second bore and an outer perimeter of the second body, wherein the second bore is configured to receive the segment of the wireline after the segment of the wireline traverses the second channel from the outer perimeter of the second body to the second bore (Cls. 21, 36), each of the first body of the first enclosure portion and the second body of the second enclosure portion is conically shaped at an end opposite the complementary mating threads (Cl. 26) or the first body of the first enclosure portion further comprises a tightening feature disposed on its outer surface, and wherein the tightening feature is configured to be engaged by a tool to secure the enclosure in an engaged position, thereby keeping the collet in the compressed state (Cl. 28). Robbins discloses a cable protection apparatus (Fig. 4) which includes a first enclosure (1, Fig. 4) adjustably connected to a second enclosure portion (2, Fig. 4), wherein the second enclosure portion including a second channel (216, Fig. 6); wherein the second channel traverses a thickness of the second body along its length between the second bore (220, Fig. 6) and an outer perimeter of the second body (see Fig. 6), wherein the second bore is configured to receive the segment of the cable after the segment of the cable traverses the second channel from the outer perimeter of the second body to the second bore (see Fig. 9); each of the first body of the first enclosure and the second body of the second enclosure portion is conically shaped at an end opposite the complimentary mating threads (see Fig. 5-6, the terminal ends of 1 and 2, opposite 124, 126 and 6, 10); the first body of the first enclosure portion comprises a tightening feature (fins 24, Fig. 5) disposed on its outer surface (see Fig. 5 and 7), and wherein the tightening feature is configured engaged by a tool to secure the enclosure in an engaged position, thereby keeping the collet in the compressed state (see Fig. 5 and 7, the fins project outward and are therefore configured to be grasped or engaged by a tool (i.e. pliers) to secure the first portion to the second portion if so desired by a user).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Burr device to include the second channel as disclosed by Robbins with reasonable expectation of success since Robbins states that such a modification would enable the user to introduce the cord into the device using the channel (Col. 7, Lines 29-34). Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Burr device to include the conical end surface as disclosed by Ross with reasonable expectation of success since Ross states that such a modification allows the device to ride generally unimpeded over the edges of furniture or other such obstructions while pulling the device around the workplace (Col. 9, Lines 53-58).
Claims 22-23 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burr in view of Robbins as applied above, and in further view of Ross US 3464893 (hereinafter Ross).
Re. Cls. 22-23 and 38, the combination discussed above does not disclose a sleeve disposed over a portion of the enclosure after the first adjustment feature and the second adjustment feature are engaged with each other (Cls. 22 and 38), the sleeve has an outer surface that is configured to be exposed to elements within a wellbore in a subterranean formation (Cl. 23). Ross discloses a cable protection apparatus (Fig. 1) which includes an enclosure (10, Fig. 2) which encompasses a collet (15, Fig. 2) and supports a cable therein (see d, Fig. 3). Re. Cls. 22-23, Ross discloses a sleeve disposed (20, Fig. 1) over a portion of the enclosure (see 10, Fig. 1) after the first adjustment feature and the second adjustment feature are engaged with each other (see Fig. 3, after f is threaded onto S), the sleeve has an outer surface that is configured to be exposed to elements within a wellbore in a subterranean formation (see Fig. 1-3, 20 has an outer surface which is configured to be exposed to elements within a wellbore as claimed in the intended use limitation by merely putting the sleeve in a wellbore).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Burr device to have the sleeve as disclosed by Ross with reasonable expectation of success since Ross states that such a modification tightens about the housing (enclosure) drawing the parts inwardly and thereby effective retaining the abutment blocks (collet) from any releasing movement (Col. 3, Lines 59-66). Such a modification would prevent the collet (26) in Burr from sliding within the housing and potentially loosening on the cable as a result.
Claims 33-34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burr in view of Robertson US 3980325 (hereinafter Robertson).
Re. Cl. 33-34, Burr discloses that the collet (compressible plug 26) may be made from various material that will compress under sufficient pressure (Col. 3, Lines 17-20) but does not the collet further comprises a plurality of slots, wherein each slot of the plurality of slots traverses a thickness of the collet body and has length that is less than the length of the collet body (Cl. 33) or the plurality of slots alternate between starting at a proximal end of the collet body and starting at a distal end of the collect body (Cl. 34). Robertson discloses a fitting for a pipe (Fig. 1) which includes a compressible collet (12, Fig. 3) that is compressed by tightening of two parts of an enclosure (see 22 and 14, Fig. 1). Robertson employs the collet with a plurality of slots (36, 38 Fig. 3, 4 and 6), wherein each slot of the plurality of slots traverses a thickness of the collet body and has length that is less than the collet length of the collet (see Fig. 6), wherein the slots alternate between starting at a proximal and distal end of the body (see Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Burr to have the slots as disclosed by Robertson with reasonable expectation of success since Robertson states that such a modification ensures that radial compression occurs over the entire axial length which provides firm engagement of the collet to improve the sealing action (Col. 3, Lines 50-57).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Re. Applicant’s argument that the combination of Burr in view of Robbins does not disclose the limitations “used to protect a wireline conveying a wireline tool within a subterranean wellbore” and “as the wireline is raised and lowered to convey the wireline tool within the subterranean” distinguish over the prior art of record, the Examiner disagrees. As set forth above, it is the Examiner’s position that these limitations are intended use recitations since they refer to how the device is intended to be used rather than what the device is comprised of. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case, the prior art of record meets Applicant’s claimed structure and the is capable of performing the intended use and therefore meets the claim. Applicant’s argument has been considered but is not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., supporting specific weights for specific periods of time) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Re. Applicant’s argument that the presented declaration support the Applicant’s position as to why the combination of Burr and Robbins would fail, the Examiner wishes to point out that the declaration is not commensurate in scope with the current claims. Applicant’s declaration refers specifically to particular weights in which the wireline supports, particular distances the wireline extends, particular tensile forces the wireline experiences and particular durations of time the wireline is used. These particular scenarios are not required by the claims and are therefore not persuasive in overcoming the rejection at hand. Since Applicant’s declaration is not commensurate in scope with the claimed invention, the declaration has been considered but is not persuasive.
Re. Applicant’s argument that the power cord coupling device of Burr would break apart, the Examiner disagrees. Applicant’s claims require no particular weight of a tool, time duration, or tensile force and therefore there is no evidence to support Applicant’s assertion. It is the Examiner’s position that a power cord is capable of supporting a lightweight tool so long as the force between the two parts of the power cord are sufficient to hold the weight of the tool. Since the limitation is functional in nature and does not require particular values, Applicant’s assertion is not persuasive since they have no submitted evidence underlying their position that the Burr device would fail. Applicant’s argument has been considered but is not persuasive.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Jackson US 2020/0018429, Oswald US 6478601, McMills US 5415065, Blaetz US 5299951, Starkey US 5137288, Ryan US 4784612, and Trager US 3281755 disclose other known cable supports which are presented to the Applicant for their consideration.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER GARFT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632