1DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-4, 6-10, and 12-14 and 16-20 remain pending in the application.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the rejection of claims 1-4, 6-10 and 12-20 under 35 USC 112(a) have been fully considered, and are persuasive. The rejection is withdrawn.
The rejection of claims 1-2, 7-8, 13, 15-17 and 19 under 35 USC 103 as unpatentable over Murdock in view of Garosshen and Zafiris is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments and persuasive arguments.
Specification
The amendment filed 11/13/25 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows: newly submitted Figure 3 and specification paragraph [0037] contain new references to two anodes 314 and a sacrificial layer 316. The original drawings only broadly point to an element 314 (now designated as the sacrificial layer) as an anode. Therefore, the two anodes 314 and sacrificial layer 316 are new matter not supported by the specification as originally filed.
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-8, 13, 15-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murdock et al. (US2018/0202299) in view of Garosshen (US2015/0354376), Zafiris (US2016/0208813) and George (US3441491).
Regarding claim 1, Murdock teaches a turbine protection system for reducing the effects of corrosion and turbine damage by reducing corrosion of at least one component (70), wherein the at least one component comprises an airfoil (72), a dovetail (74), and a base (generally 82), the turbine protection system comprising: one or more anodes (86) comprising a first sacrificial material detachably attached to the component.
Murdock fails to explicitly teach the component is engaged with a compressor of the turbine.
In an analogous art, Garosshen teaches a corrosion protection system for turbine blades. Garosshen teaches that anodes can be used to protect blades in the compressor (see paragraph [0043]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the turbine protection system of Murdock and change the component to a compressor blade as taught by Garosshen because compressor blades are subject to corrosive environments.
Murdock as modified fails to teach a platform that defines a radially inner boundary of a gas path through the compressor.
In an analogous art, Zafiris teaches a turbine blade. Zafiris teaches the blade includes a platform (46) to guide flow at the base of the turbine blade.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the turbine protection system of Murdock as modified and add a platform to the component as taught by Zafiris as a common compressor blade feature known in the art for guiding flow at the base of blades.
Murdock as modified fails to teach at least one sacrificial layer comprising a second sacrificial material disposed between the one or more anodes and the component configured to provide galvanic protection against corrosion.
In an analogous art, George teaches a galvanic anode. George teaches layers formed of first (10) and second (12) materials set in a conductive material (15). George teaches this arrangement allows for the use of high and low potential anodes (Col. 3 lines 24-40).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the turbine protection system of Murdock as modified and change it to have at least one sacrificial layer comprising a second sacrificial material disposed between the one or more anodes and the component configured to provide galvanic protection against corrosion as taught by George to allow for the use of high and low potential anode materials.
Regarding claim 2, Murdock as modified teaches the first sacrificial material comprises aluminum, zinc, magnesium, lithium, or a combination thereof (zinc, see Murdock paragraph [0042]).
Regarding claim 3, Murdock as modified teaches a conductive material coated on the second sacrificial material (see George element 15).
Regarding claim 4, Murdock as modified teaches a conductive material disposed between the at least one sacrificial layer and at least one of the one or more anodes (see George element 15).
Regarding claim 7, Murdock as modified teaches the turbine protection system of claim 1, but fails to explicitly teach an adhesive for attaching the anode to the component.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Murdock and use an adhesive for attaching the anode to the component because Murdock teaches an epoxy adhesive for securing a sheath (80) to the blade (see paragraph [0041]), and thus teaches the use of adhesives for securing turbine components.
Regarding claim 8, Murdock as modified teaches the anode further comprises a protrusion and the component further comprises a groove, wherein the protrusion is configured to mate with the groove to secure the anode to the component (see Fig. 3A and paragraph [0044] where Murdock teaches the anode is located in an under root spacer 88).
Regarding claim 13, Murdock as modified teaches the turbine protection system comprises two or more anodes, and wherein at least one anode is attached to the base (see Fig. 3B showing anode 86 attached to the blade base and paragraph [0044] teaching multiple anodes).
Regarding claim 15, Murdock as modified teaches the sacrificial material is disposed between the anode and the component (see Fig. 3A where the anode is disposed discretely. See 112(b) section for interpretation of the claim).
Regarding claim 16, Murdock as modified teaches the sacrificial material comprises aluminum, zinc, magnesium, or a combination thereof (zinc, see Murdock paragraph [0042]).
Regarding claim 17, Murdock as modified teaches the anode is attached to a distal end of the airfoil (see Murdock Fig. 3C where the edge of the blade base is considered distal).
Regarding claim 19, Murdock teaches a method for reducing corrosion on gas turbine components, the method comprising: attaching a sacrificial layer (86) to a surface of a component (70) of the gas turbine, wherein the component comprises an airfoil (72), a dovetail (74), and a base (generally 82), and attaching an anode to the sacrificial layer, wherein the anode is detachable.
Murdock fails to explicitly teach the component is engaged with a compressor of the turbine.
In an analogous art, Garosshen teaches a corrosion protection system for turbine blades. Garosshen teaches that anodes can be used to protect blades in the compressor (see paragraph [0043]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Murdock and change the component to a compressor blade as taught by Garosshen because compressor blades are subject to corrosive environments.
Murdock as modified fails to teach a platform that defines a radially inner boundary of a gas path through the compressor.
In an analogous art, Zafiris teaches a turbine blade. Zafiris teaches the blade includes a platform (46) to guide flow at the base of the turbine blade.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Murdock as modified and add a platform to the component as taught by Zafiris as a common compressor blade feature known in the art for guiding flow at the base of blades.
Murdock as modified fails to teach the anode comprises a first sacrificial material, and the sacrificial layer comprises a second sacrificial material.
In an analogous art, George teaches a galvanic anode. George teaches layers formed of first (10) and second (12) materials set in a conductive material (15). George teaches this arrangement allows for the use of high and low potential anodes (Col. 3 lines 24-40).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Murdock as modified and change it to have at least one sacrificial layer comprising a second sacrificial material disposed between the one or more anodes and the component configured to provide galvanic protection against corrosion as taught by George to allow for the use of high and low potential anode materials.
Regarding claim 20, Murdock as modified teaches the sacrificial layer and anode are attached to the platform in the gas path.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murdock in view of Garosshen, Zafiris and George and further in view of Simpson et al. (US20170121828).
Regarding claim 6, Murdock as modified teaches the turbine protection system of claim 3, but fails to teach the conductive material comprises bronze, iron, brass, or an alloy thereof.
Simpson teaches a method for protecting a metal section with a sacrificial anode. Simpson teaches the anode is connected to terminal 42 and wire 43 so that electrons can flow between the anode and protected metal section (paragraph [0130]). The conductive wire and terminal can be formed from brass (paragraph [0130]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the turbine protection system of Murdock as modified and change it so that the conductive material comprises bronze, iron, brass, or an alloy thereof as taught by Simpson to enable electrons to flow from the anode and protected metal.
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murdock in view of Garosshen, Zafiris and George, and further in view of Preiser et al. (US3081252).
Regarding claim 9, Murdock as modified teaches the turbine protection system of claim 1, but fails to teach the anode further comprises a first threaded portion and the component further comprises a second threaded portion, wherein the first and second threaded portions are configured to mate to secure the anode to the component.
In an analogous art, Preiser teaches a bladed pump. Preiser teaches an anode (22) incorporated into a threaded plug (10) for securely attaching to a threaded casing (44).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Murdock as modified and change the anode to further comprise a first threaded portion and the component to further comprise a second threaded portion, wherein the first and second threaded portions are configured to mate to secure the anode to the component as taught by Preiser to securely attach the anode.
Regarding claim 18, Murdock as modified teaches the turbine protection system of claim 1, but fails to teach one or more anodes attached to an inside surface of a compressor casing.
Preiser further teaches the anodes (22) are attached to an inside surface of the pump casing (44) to prevent corrosion to the pump casing (Col. 1 lines 10-25).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Murdock as modified and add one or more anodes attached to an inside surface of a compressor casing to prevent corrosion to the compressor casing.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murdock in view of Garosshen, Zafiris and George, and further in view of Harvey (US2015/0180145).
Regarding claim 10, Murdock as modified teaches the turbine protection system of claim 1, but fails to teach the anode further comprises a magnet configured to secure the anode to the component.
In an analogous art, Harvey teaches a connector for an anode. Harvey teaches magnets (10) for attaching anode components (C) to a structure (S).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Murdock as modified and use a magnet configured to secure the anode to the component as taught by Harvey as a known prior art anode attachment structure.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murdock in view of Garosshen, Zafiri and George, and further in view of Zhang et al. (US2015/0060273).
Regarding claim 14, Murdock as modified teaches the turbine protection system of claim 1, but fails to teach the anode further comprises a textured surface configured to corrode in a predictable and precise pattern.
In an analogous art, Zhang teaches a coated anode. Zhang teaches the anode coating is provided with predetermined and standardized defects to accelerate corrosion in a predictable and repeatable manner (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Murdock as modified and change the anode to further comprise a textured surface configured to corrode in a predictable and precise pattern as taught by Zhang to provide predictable corrosion patterns.
Conclusion
/CAMERON A CORDAY/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/COURTNEY D HEINLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745