DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS’s) submitted on 06/04/2024 and 10/23/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5,10-14,19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Coles et al. (US 20230047487).
Regarding claim 1, Coles et al. disclose:
A motor assembly (abstract) comprising:
a mounting bracket (72, Fig 2) and a housing (20), the mounting bracket coupled to the housing, the housing defining a first compartment (inside 20);
a motor (12) positioned within the first compartment (Fig 4);
a shroud (18) coupled to the housing (20), the shroud defining a second compartment (Fig 5);
a shaft (50) coupled to the motor (12) and configured to rotate about an axis (56), the shaft (50) extends axially through an opening in the shroud (18) into the second compartment;
a heatsink (118) and a cover (98), the heatsink coupled to the shroud (18) relative to the second compartment (Fig 5), and
the cover (98) coupled to the heatsink (118), the heatsink defining a plurality of protrusions (128) circumferentially positioned around the axis (Fig 5, paras 54,55),
the protrusions (128) configured to introduce airflow into the second compartment (implicit due to their shape and fan 138 blowing air – better seen in Fig 7); and
a fan (138) coupled to the shaft (50) and positioned between the second compartment of the shroud (18) and the heatsink (118), the fan (138) configured to draw airflow (172, para 72) from the heatsink (118, Fig 7).
Regarding claim 2/1, Coles et al. disclose wherein the fan (138, Figs 7-10) comprises a fan shroud (142) positioned relative to the heatsink (118) and a plurality of fins that extend outwardly from the fan shroud in the direction of the shroud, the plurality of fins being circumferentially positioned around the axis (para 61).
Regarding claim 3/2, Coles et al. disclose wherein the fan shroud defines an opening (140) that enables fluid communication between the heatsink and the second compartment of the shroud (para 61).
Regarding claim 4/1, Coles et al. disclose wherein the heatsink (118) includes a heatsink body that defines an outer edge, the plurality of protrusions extend a distance between the outer edge and the axis (Fig 7, paras 50-51).
Regarding claim 5/4, Coles et al. disclose wherein the plurality of protrusions comprise a first protrusion (118a) and a second protrusion (118b), the second protrusion (by 118a, Fig 7) being positioned between adjacent first protrusions, wherein the first protrusion is longer than the second protrusion (by 118b).
Regarding claim 10/1, Coles et al. disclose wherein the shroud (18, Fig 4) further comprises a plurality of openings (162) circumferentially spaced around the axis and positioned outwardly relative to an outer surface of the housing (20), the plurality of openings (162) in fluid communication with the second compartment, wherein the plurality of openings are configured to direct the airflow along an exterior of the housing (paras 63-67).
Regarding claim 11/10, Coles et al. disclose wherein each of the plurality of openings (162, Fig 4) defines a cross-sectional shape including a first edge positioned in proximity to the periphery of the shroud (18) and a second opposing edge positioned in proximity to the housing (20), both the first and second edge positioned relative to the axis, a pair of angled features extending between the first and second edges, wherein the pair of angled features flare outwardly relative to each other (162, Fig 4).
Regarding claim 12, Coles et al. disclose:
A motor assembly (abstract) comprising:
a mounting bracket (72, Fig 2) and a housing (20), the mounting bracket coupled to the housing, the housing defining a first compartment (inside 20);
a motor (12) positioned within the first compartment (Fig 4);
a shroud (18) coupled to the housing (20), the shroud defining a second compartment (Fig 5);
a shaft (50) coupled to the motor (12) and configured to rotate about an axis (56), the shaft (50) extends axially through an opening in the shroud (18) into the second compartment;
a heatsink (118) and a cover (98), the heat sink comprising a body (by 166, Fig 5) coupled to the shroud (18) relative to the second compartment (Fig 5),
the cover (98) coupled to the heatsink (118), the heatsink defining a plurality of protrusions (128) circumferentially positioned around the axis (Fig 5, paras 54,55),
wherein the plurality of protrusions (128) extend outwardly from the heatsink body (by 166) in the direction of the shroud (18),
wherein each of the plurality of protrusions (128, Fig 7) defines a first sidewall and a second opposing sidewall (para 54),
a pair of adjacent protrusions of the plurality of protrusions defines a channel that includes the first sidewall of a first adjacent protrusion, the second sidewall of the second adjacent protrusion, and the heatsink body (para 54, Fig 7),
wherein the channel is configured to direct airflow towards the axis and into the second compartment (paras 54-56),
wherein a plurality of channels are spaced circumferentially around the axis relative to the pairs of adjacent protrusions (paras 54-56, Fig 7); and
a fan (138) coupled to the shaft (50) and positioned between the second compartment of the shroud (18) and the heatsink (118), the fan (138) configured to draw airflow (172, para 72) from the heatsink (118, Fig 7).
Regarding claim 13/12, Coles et al. disclose wherein the fan (138, Figs 7-10) comprises a fan shroud (142) positioned relative to the pairs of adjacent protrusions (128) of the plurality of protrusions, the fan shroud defining a portion of each channel (Fig 7).
Regarding claim 14/13, Coles et al. disclose wherein the fan (138, Figs 7-10) comprises a fan shroud (142) wherein the shroud (142) further comprises a plurality of openings (140) circumferentially spaced around the axis and positioned outwardly relative to an outer surface of the housing (20), the plurality of openings in fluid communication with the second compartment, wherein the plurality of openings are configured to direct the airflow along an exterior of the housing (Figs 5-7).
Regarding claim 17/16, Coles et al. disclose wherein the plurality of protrusions comprise a first protrusion (118a) and a second protrusion (118b), the second protrusion (by 118a, Fig 7) being positioned between adjacent first protrusions, wherein the first protrusion is longer than the second protrusion (by 118b).
Regarding claim 19, Coles et al. disclose:
A method of operating a motor assembly (abstract),
the motor assembly includes a mounting bracket (72, Fig 2) coupled to a housing (20),
the housing defining a first compartment (inside 20), and
a motor (12) positioned within the first compartment;
a shroud (18) coupled to the housing (20), the shroud defining a second compartment (Fig 5);
a shaft (50) coupled to the motor (12) and configured to rotate about an axis (56), the shaft (50) extends axially through an opening in the shroud (18) into the second compartment;
a heatsink (118) coupled to the shroud (18) relative to the second compartment, and
the cover (98) coupled to the heatsink (118), the heatsink defining a plurality of protrusions (128) circumferentially positioned around the axis (Fig 5, paras 54,55),
wherein the plurality of protrusions (128) extend outwardly from the heatsink body (by 166) in the direction of the shroud (18),
wherein each of the plurality of protrusions (128, Fig 7) defines a first sidewall and a second opposing sidewall (para 54),
a pair of adjacent protrusions of the plurality of protrusions defines a channel that includes the first sidewall of a first adjacent protrusion, the second sidewall of the second adjacent protrusion, and the heatsink body (para 54, Fig 7),
wherein the channel is configured to direct airflow towards the axis and into the second compartment (paras 54-56),
wherein a plurality of channels are spaced circumferentially around the axis relative to the pairs of adjacent protrusions (paras 54-56, Fig 7); and
a fan (138) coupled to the shaft (50) and positioned between the second compartment of the shroud (18) and the heatsink (118), the fan (138) configured to draw airflow from the heatsink (172, para 72), the method comprising:
drawing airflow from outside the motor assembly (inlets 140) through the plurality of channels of the heatsink (118, paras 60-65);
introducing the airflow into the second compartment of the shroud through an opening (140, 158, para 59), Figs 4-7) in the fan;
circulating the airflow within the second compartment of the shroud (Figs 4-7); and
directing the airflow along an exterior of the housing (20) through a plurality of openings (162, space between 18 & 20,24,90) that are circumferentially spaced around the periphery of the shroud (paras 65,68,69).
Regarding claim 20/19, Coles et al. disclose wherein introducing the airflow into the second compartment of the shroud (18) through an opening in the fan (138) further comprises introducing the airflow through an opening in a fan shroud of the fan (para 58), the fan shroud being positioned in proximity to the plurality of protrusions (paras 58-61, Figs 4-7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coles et al. (US 20230047487) in view of Sato (US 20190140520).
Regarding claim 6/5, Coles et al. disclose the invention as discussed above, except wherein the plurality of protrusions further comprises a third protrusion, the third protrusion being positioned between the first protrusion and the second protrusion, wherein the second protrusion is longer than the third protrusion.
Sato teaches a device wherein the plurality of protrusions (46,47, Fig 2, para 39) further comprises a third protrusion, the third protrusion being positioned between the first protrusion and the second protrusion, wherein the second protrusion is longer than the third protrusion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Coles et al. wherein the plurality of protrusions further comprises a third protrusion, the third protrusion being positioned between the first protrusion and the second protrusion, wherein the second protrusion is longer than the third protrusion, as Sato teaches.
The motivation to do so would permit one to secure the heatsink as needed (para 39 of Sato).
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coles et al. (US 20230047487) in view of Koga et al. (DE 10296733).
Regarding claim 7/1, Coles et al. disclose the invention as discussed above, except wherein the plurality of protrusions extend outwardly from a heatsink body in the direction of the fan, wherein each of the plurality of protrusions defines a first sidewall and a second opposing sidewall, a pair of adjacent protrusions of the plurality of protrusions defines a channel that includes the first sidewall of a first adjacent protrusion, the second sidewall of the second adjacent protrusion, and the heatsink body, wherein the channel is configured to direct airflow towards the axis, wherein a plurality of channels are spaced circumferentially around the axis relative to the pairs of adjacent protrusions.
Koga et al. teaches a device wherein the plurality of protrusions (20a,b) extend outwardly from a heatsink body (H, Fig 1) in the direction of the fan (Koga et al. do not teach the use of a fan - albeit it is taught by Coles et al.), wherein each of the plurality of protrusions defines a first sidewall and a second opposing sidewall (by L), a pair of adjacent protrusions of the plurality of protrusions defines a channel that includes the first sidewall of a first adjacent protrusion, the second sidewall of the second adjacent protrusion, and the heatsink body, wherein the channel is configured to direct airflow towards the axis, wherein a plurality of channels are spaced circumferentially around the axis relative to the pairs of adjacent protrusions (Fig 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Coles et al. wherein the plurality of protrusions extend outwardly from a heatsink body in the direction of the fan, wherein each of the plurality of protrusions defines a first sidewall and a second opposing sidewall, a pair of adjacent protrusions of the plurality of protrusions defines a channel that includes the first sidewall of a first adjacent protrusion, the second sidewall of the second adjacent protrusion, and the heatsink body, wherein the channel is configured to direct airflow towards the axis, wherein a plurality of channels are spaced circumferentially around the axis relative to the pairs of adjacent protrusions, as Koga et al. teaches.
The motivation to do so would permit one to cooling device as needed (last para of “background of the invention” of Koga et al.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8,9,15-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: In claim 8/7 inter alia, the specific limitations of “…wherein the fan comprises a fan shroud positioned relative to the pairs of adjacent protrusions of the plurality of protrusions, the fan shroud defining a portion of each channel.”, in the combination as claimed are neither anticipated nor made obvious over the prior art made of record.
In claim 9/1 inter alia, the specific limitations of “…wherein the fan comprises a fan shroud positioned relative to the heatsink, the fan shroud defines an opening concentric with the shaft; wherein the plurality of protrusions extend outwardly from a heatsink body in the direction of the fan shroud, wherein each of the plurality of protrusions defines a first sidewall and a second opposing sidewall, a pair of adjacent protrusions of the plurality of protrusions defines a channel that includes the first sidewall of a first adjacent protrusion, the second sidewall of the second adjacent protrusion, the heatsink body, and the fan shroud of the fan, wherein a plurality of channels are spaced circumferentially around the axis relative to the pairs of adjacent protrusions; wherein the plurality of channels are configured to direct airflow towards the axis and through the opening in the fan shroud.”, in the combination as claimed are neither anticipated nor made obvious over the prior art made of record.
In claim 15/12 inter alia, the specific limitations of “…wherein the fan comprises a plurality of fins spaced circumferentially around the axis and extending outwardly from a fan shroud in the direction of the shroud, wherein the fan shroud is positioned relative to the plurality of protrusions, wherein the fan shroud is configured to introduce the airflow from the plurality of channels of the heatsink to the plurality of fins, wherein the plurality of fins of the fan are configured to move the airflow throughout the second compartment of the shroud; wherein the shroud further comprises a plurality of openings circumferentially spaced around the axis and positioned outwardly relative to an outer surface of the housing, the plurality of openings are in fluid communication with the second compartment and configured to direct the airflow from the second compartment along an exterior of the housing.”, in the combination as claimed are neither anticipated nor made obvious over the prior art made of record.
Claims 16/15 and 17/16 are also allowable for depending on claim 15.
In claim 18/17 inter alia, the specific limitations of “…wherein the plurality of protrusions further comprises a third protrusion, the third protrusion being positioned between the first protrusion and the second protrusion, wherein the second protrusion is longer than the third protrusion.”, in the combination as claimed are neither anticipated nor made obvious over the prior art made of record
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see PTO-892 for details.
NAISHADH N. DESAI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2834
/NAISHADH N DESAI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834