DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakanishi (US 2020/0309858) in view of Kumar et al. (US 2019/0176639).
Regarding claims 1, 9, 17, Nakanishi discloses an apparatus for predicting a state of health (SOH) of a battery (page 4, [0066]), the apparatus comprising: a storage configured to store a SOH prediction model (page 3, [0053]); and a controller operatively connected to the storage and configured to predict a first SOH of the battery provided in a target vehicle based on the SOH prediction model (page 3, [0053]); wherein the controller is further configured to predict the first SOH by use of at least one of a speed and an accumulated mileage of the target vehicle (page 2, [0039]; page 3, [0053]), and a voltage, a current, a temperature (page 3, [0053]).
Nakanishi discloses all the limitations set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose a number of charging times of the battery in the target vehicle.
However, Kumar discloses a number of charging times of the battery in the target vehicle (page 1, [0007]; page 5, [0047-0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was first filed to incorporate the features of Kumar within the system of Nakanishi in order to accurately predict the state of the battery thereby increasing the safety of the system.
Regarding claims 2, 10, Nakanishi discloses wherein the controller is further configured to
train the SOH prediction model by use of a training dataset including battery information
of a battery in a probe vehicle, driving information of the probe vehicle, and an SOH of
the battery in the probe vehicle (page 3, [0053-0054]).
Regarding claims 3, 11, 18, Nakanishi discloses wherein the battery information includes at least
one of a voltage, a current, a temperature, a number of fast charging, a number of slow
charging, or a combination thereof in the battery of the probe vehicle (page 3, [0053-0054]).
Regarding claims 4, 12, 19, Nakanishi discloses wherein the driving information includes at least
one of a vehicle speed, an accumulated mileage, a driving time, or a combination thereof
in the probe vehicle (page 2, [0039]).
Regarding claims 5, 13, 20, Nakanishi discloses wherein the controller is further configured to
obtain a second SOH of the battery provided in the target vehicle from a battery
management system (BMS) through a vehicle network, and correct the first SOH by use of
the second SOH (page 3, [0053]).
Regarding claims 6, 14, Nakanishi discloses wherein the controller is further configured to
obtain the second SOH of the battery provided in the target vehicle from the BMS in
response that the first SOH of the battery provided in the target vehicle is out of a
threshold range (page 3, [0053-0054]).
Regarding claims 7, 15, Nakanishi discloses wherein the controller is further configured to
determine reliability for the first SOH based on a degree to which the first SOH of the
battery provided in the target vehicle deviates from a threshold range, and obtain the
second SOH of the battery provided in the target vehicle from the BMS in response that
the reliability does not exceed a threshold (page 3, [0053-0054]).
Regarding claims 8, 16, Nakanishi discloses wherein the controller is further configured to
determine a reflection rate of the second SOH based on the reliability in correcting the first
SOH by use of the second SOH (page 3, [0053-0054]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Holme (US 2020/0164763) discloses predictive model for estimating battery states.
Gu et al. (US 2020/0218270) discloses using machine learning……for vehicles.
Sarwat et al. (US 2021/0123975) discloses systems….state of charge.
Fasching et al. (US 2022/0057455) discloses methods….battery packs.
Chopra et al. (US 2023/0137357) discloses battery….vehicles.
DP
October 26, 2026
/DANIEL PREVIL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685