DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the application filed 05/28/2024.
Claims 1-48 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The Applicants’ Information Disclosure Statements (filed 08/27/2024 and 06/25/2025) have been received, entered into the record, and considered.
Drawings
3. The drawings filed 05/28/2024 are acceptable for examination purposes.
Specification
4. The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
5. Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
the abbreviation used in the claim should be defined.
“the local program database” should read “a local program database”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
The use of “operable to” (claims 1, 2, 22, 23, 29, 31-34, 36, 38-40, and 43-46) renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the functions in the claims are actually performed.
The dependent claims are rejected for fully incorporating the deficiencies of their respective base claims.
To expedite a complete examination of the instant application, the claim rejected under 35 U.S.C. §112 above is examined in anticipation of Applicant amending the claim so the claimed functions are executed by a computer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Cohen et al. (US 20210067146) in view of Kanazawa et al. (US 20220253737).
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, paragraphs, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
As to claim 1:
Cohen teaches a system (Abstract: A system) comprising:
a pulse processor operable to produce a pulse according to a quantum program (Figs.1, 2a-2c; [0023]: The programming subsystem 252 comprises circuitry operable to generate pulse program description 256 which configures the pulse controller 260 and includes instructions the pulse controller 260 can execute to carry out the pulse program (i.e., generate the necessary outbound pulse(s) 253, process feedback generated in response to the pulse(s) and received via channel 208, and/or process inbound pulses 215) with little or no human intervention during runtime… the programming subsystem 252 is a personal computer comprising a processor, memory, and other associated circuitry (e.g., an x86 or x64 chipset) having installed on it a pulse orchestration software development kit (SDK) that enables creation (e.g., by a user via a text editor, integrated development environment (IDE), and/or by automated pulse program description generation circuitry) of a high-level (as opposed to binary or “machine code”) pulse program description 256; [0028]: the pulse target 258 is a quantum processor);
a pulse processor memory operable to store a plurality of elements of the quantum program (Figs.1, 2a-2c; [0023]: The programming subsystem 252 comprises circuitry operable to generate pulse program description 256 which configures the pulse controller 260 and includes instructions the pulse controller 260 can execute to carry out the pulse … the programming subsystem 252 is a personal computer comprising a processor, memory, and other associated circuitry (e.g., an x86 or x64 chipset) having installed on it a pulse orchestration software development kit (SDK) that enables creation (e.g., by a user via a text editor, integrated development environment (IDE), and/or by automated pulse program description generation circuitry) of a high-level (as opposed to binary or “machine code”) pulse program description 256; [0035]: Quantum computers operate by storing information in the form of quantum bits (“qubits”); [0043]: The quantum processor 218 comprises K (an integer) quantum elements 122, which includes qubits (which could be of any type such as superconducting, spin qubits, ion trapped, etc.), and, where applicable, any other element(s) for processing quantum information, storing quantum information (e.g. storage resonator), and/or coupling the outbound quantum control pulses 213 and inbound quantum control pulses 215 between interconnect 212 and the quantum element(s) 122 (e.g., readout resonator(s)));
a program loading component operable to load the plurality of elements of the quantum program from an external RAM ([0064]: Machine code quantum pulse program descriptions may be received via the I/O manager 368. Accordingly, the I/O manager 368 may comprise circuitry for loading the machine code into the necessary registers/memory (including any SRAM, DRAM, FPGA BRAM, flash memory, programmable read only memory, etc.) of the quantum controller 210 as well as for reading contents of the registers/memory of the quantum controller 210 and conveying the contents to the quantum programming subsystem 202; [0066]: The memories 402, 404, 406 may comprise one or more be any type of suitable storage elements (e.g., DRAM, SRAM, Flash, etc.). The instructions stored in memory 402 are instructions to be executed out by the pulser 302.sub.l for carrying out its role in a quantum algorithm. Because different pulsers 302.sub.0-302.sub.L−1 have different roles to play in any particular quantum algorithm (e.g., generating different pulses at different times), the instructions memory 402 for each pulser 302.sub.l may be specific to that pulser); and
digital circuitry operable to execute a list of transactions associated with an operation of the program loading component ([0067]: The control circuitry 408 is operable to execute the instructions stored in memory 402 to process inbound signal AI.sub.l, generate raw outbound pulses CP′.sub.l, and generate digital control signals in_slct.sub.l, out_slct.sub.l, D_port.sub.l, D.sub.l, IF.sub.l, F.sub.l, ops_slct.sub.l, ops_ctrl.sub.l, results.sub.l, dmod_slct.sub.l and pair.sub.l.; see also, [0040-0041], [0069]).
Cohen, however, does not explicitly teach the following additional limitations:
Kanazawa teaches management software operable to preload the element of the quantum program into the local program database (Fig. 3; [0030]: system 300 includes a database 310, a host processor 320, a calibration controller 330 for a quantum computing device, a quantum processor 340, and a readout unit 350. In operation, host processor 320 can call (or retrieve) an entire calibration program from database 310 and load (or preload) that program into an instruction buffer 332 of calibration controller 330).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Cohen with Kanazawa because it would have provided the enhanced capability for facilitating hardware-efficient calibration protocols for quantum computing devices.
As to claim 2:
Cohen teaches a look-up table operable to store a list of transactions associated with an operation of the program loading component ([0035-0036] and [0066-0068]).
As to claim 3:
Cohen teaches the quantum program is pre-compiled ([0106-0109]).
As to claim 4:
Cohen teaches the element of the quantum program is one of a plurality of program execution elements, and the plurality of program execution elements comprises waveform data, instructions, commands and program variables data ([0038], [0104], and [0113-0116]).
As to claim 5:
Cohen teaches the element of the quantum program is one of a plurality of scatter-gather descriptors ([0023-0025], [0040-0043], and [0050]).
As to claim 6:
Cohen teaches the element of the quantum program is a memory-copy routine ([0047] and [0060]).
As to claim 7:
Cohen teaches the memory-copy routine comprises a source address in the external RAM and a destination address in the pulse processor memory ([0064] and [0066]).
As to claim 8:
Cohen teaches the memory-copy routine comprises a transaction length and a transaction type ([0049], [0113-0115], and [0122-0125]).As to claim 9:
Cohen teaches the element of the quantum program is a register-write routine ([0063-0064] and [0113]).
As to claim 10:
Cohen teaches the register-write routine comprises a hardware register initialization sequence to be executed before the quantum program starts ([0063-0064] and [0113]).
As to claim 11:
Cohen teaches the system comprises a plurality of pulse processors that are programmable in parallel ([0028], [0041-0045], [0113], and [0201]).
As to claim 12:
Cohen teaches a control unit configured to time an access to one or more of the digital circuitry, the pulse processor memory and the external memory ([0025-0027], [0041-0043], and [0061-0064]).
As to claim 13:
Cohen teaches a control unit configured to manage external requests to one or more of the digital circuitry, the pulse processor memory and the external memory ([0025-0027], [0041-0043], and [0061-0064]).As to claim 14:
Cohen teaches the quantum program is one of a plurality of programs that is scheduled with one or more parameters ([0113], [0155-0158], and [0166]).
As to claim 15:
Cohen teaches the one or more parameters are acquired by a previous program of the plurality of programs according to a look-up table ([0113], [0155-0158], and [0166]).
As to claim 16:
Cohen teaches the one or more parameters are streamed from an external device according to the digital circuitry, thereby harvesting compute power of the external device to generate a next program according to one or more historical programs ([0113], [0155-0158], and [0166]).
As to claim 17:
Cohen teaches the one or more parameters are streamed before the quantum program executes ([0113], [0155-0158], and [0166]).
As to claim 18:
Cohen teaches the one or more parameters are streamed while the quantum program is running ([0113], [0155-0158], and [0166]).
As to claim 19:
Cohen teaches the one or more parameters are determined according to measurements performed by the quantum program ([0113], [0128-0129], and [0132-0134]).
As to claim 20:
Cohen teaches output from one or more programs, of the plurality of programs, is processed by an external processor and streamed back into the system ([0049-0051] and [0113]).
As to claim 21:
Cohen teaches the one or more parameters are obtained from a static database ([0113] and [0137]).As to claim 22:
Cohen teaches the external RAM is operable to extend the pulse processor memory accessible by the quantum program ([0064-0066]).
As to claim 23:
Cohen teaches the external RAM is operable to load one or more of waveform data, a pulse parameter and a quantum program instruction ([0038], [0104], and [0113-0116]).As to claim 24:
Cohen teaches data selected to be loaded from the external RAM is based on one or more results from the quantum program ([0023-0025] and [0064-0066]).As to claim 25:
Cohen teaches the quantum program is executable while data is loaded from the external RAM ([0023-0025] and [0064-0066]).
As to claim 26:
Cohen teaches the system is a quantum controller ([0038-0040] and [0047]).As to claim 27:
Cohen teaches the look-up table is organized according to a graph ([0107]).
As to claim 28:
Cohen teaches the look-up table is configured to calibrate a quantum processor (Figs. 12A, 12B, [0078], and [0081]).As to claim 29:
Cohen teaches the stored list of transactions is operable to serve a scalable quantum computer without having to scale the digital circuitry ([0051-0054]).As to claim 30:
Cohen teaches the quantum program pulls data from the local program database according to a consumer index maintained in a lookup table ([0196-0199]).As to claim 31:
Cohen teaches the management software is operable to control an execution by the memory loading engine ([0023-0025] and [0064-0066]).As to claim 32:
Cohen teaches a client device is operable to push data to the management software ([0062] and [0077]).
As to claim 33:
Cohen teaches the management software is operable to load a data item into the local program database ([0023-0025] and [0064-0066]).
As to claim 34:
Cohen teaches the management software is operable to maintain a producer index in the memory loading engine ([0063-0064] and [0155]).
As to claim 35:
Cohen teaches the producer index is stored in a lookup table ([0063-0064] and [0155]).
As to claim 36:
Cohen teaches the pulse processor memory is operable to pop a data item from the memory loading engine ([0023-0025] and [0200]).
As to claim 37:
Cohen teaches the data item is stored in a lookup table ([0063-0064] and [0155]).As to claim 38:
Cohen teaches the management software is operable to load extended data memory into the local program database ([0023-0025] and [0064-0066]).
As to claim 39:
Cohen teaches the pulse processor memory is operable to request a data item from a lookup table ([0023-0025], [0041], [0053], and [0064-0066]).
As to claim 40:
Cohen teaches the management software is operable to indicate, to the memory loading engine, when data has been copied to the local program database ([0023-0025] and [0064-0066]).As to claim 41:
Cohen teaches the indication comprises metadata ([0040-0041]).
As to claim 42:
Cohen teaches the metadata is maintained in a lookup table associated with the memory loading engine ([0023-0025], [0060], and [0066]).As to claim 43:
Cohen teaches the pulse processor memory is operable to update a parameter of the quantum program while the quantum program is running ([0026], [0074], and [0113]).
As to claim 44:
Cohen teaches the pulse processor memory is operable to update a parameter of the quantum program via a memory-copy routine ([0026], [0074], and [0113]).As to claim 45:
Cohen teaches the pulse processor memory is operable to update a parameter of the quantum program via a register-copy routine ([0026], [0074], and [0113]).As to claim 46:
Cohen teaches a client device is operable to stream data to the management software, and the data is calculated independently from previous results ([0025], [0041], [0057], and [0077]).
As to claim 47:
Cohen teaches the data is loaded according to one or more pulses ([0025], [0041], [0053], [0060], and [0066]).As to claim 48:
Cohen teaches the data is loaded according to one or more parameters ([0025], [0041], [0140], and [0200]).
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record, listed on PTO 892 provided to Applicant is considered to have relevancy to the claimed invention. Applicant should review each identified reference carefully before responding to this office action to properly advance the case in light of the prior art.
US 11671180 discloses “A channel between quantum controller modules (e.g., pulse processors) is operable to communicate high speed data required for processing qubit states that may be distributed across a quantum computer. The latency of the communication channel is deterministic and controllable according to a system clock domain”.
US 12242406 discloses “A set of quantum controllers are operable to transmit quantum state data to a quantum control switch. The quantum control switch comprises vector processors that operate on the quantum state data from the set of quantum controllers. Each vector processor transmits a result of the operation to a corresponding quantum controller in the set of quantum controllers”.
US 12450513 discloses “Quantum algorithms are performed via a quantum computer, by generating a quantum control pulse in a quantum controller and transmitting the quantum control pulse to a quantum processor. The quantum control pulse interacts with a qubit in the quantum processor. Within the quantum controller, a pulse processor generates a plurality of raw pulses that are modified by a front end hardware module. During the normal operation of the quantum controller, samples of the raw and/or modified pulses may be selected and saved to memory”.
US 12761919 discloses “The QC comprises circuitry operable to load the machine code quantum algorithm description from the programming subsystem via the interconnect. Then, execution of the machine code by the QC causes the QC to generate the necessary outbound quantum control pulse(s) that correspond to the desired operations to be performed on the quantum processor (e.g., sent to qubit(s) for manipulating a state of the qubit(s) or to readout resonator(s) for reading the state of the qubit(s), etc.). Depending on the quantum algorithm to be performed, outbound pulse(s) for carrying out the algorithm may be predetermined at design time and/or may need to be determined during runtime. The runtime determination of the pulses may comprise performance of classical calculations and processing in the QC during runtime of the algorithm (e.g., runtime analysis of inbound pulses received from the quantum processor”.
Contact Information
/VAN H NGUYEN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2199