DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgements
The amendment filed on 01/05/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-22 are pending.
Claims 19-22 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-18 have been examined.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A in the reply filed on 01/05/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 19-22 are directed to Species B: Represented by the second preferred embodiment in FIG. 7. Since Species A is elected, therefore, Claims 19-22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §101
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Analysis
In the instant case, claims 1-10 are directed to a method, claims 11-18 are directed to a system. Therefore, these claims fall within the four statutory categories of invention.
The claim(s) recite(s) processing loyalty points. Specifically, the claims recite “storing, in a [blockchain node] of a [blockchain network], a [blockchain] comprised of a plurality of blocks, where each block includes one or more blockchain data entries; receiving, by a receiver of the [blockchain node], first transaction data for a first transaction between a first [user] and a [merchant system], the first transaction data including at least a first recipient address associated with a first [blockchain wallet], a first transaction amount, and a positive loyalty point amount; processing, by a processor of the [blockchain node], the received first transaction data for the first transaction to add a first new block to the [blockchain] that includes at least a first blockchain data entry corresponding to the first transaction that includes at least the first recipient address and the positive loyalty point amount; receiving, by the receiver of the [blockchain node] after a predetermined period of time, second transaction data for a second transaction, the second transaction data including at least a second recipient address associated with the [blockchain wallet], a second transaction amount and a negative loyalty point amount; and processing, by the processor of the blockchain node, the received second transaction data for the second transaction to add a second new block to the [blockchain] that includes at least a second blockchain data entry corresponding to the second transaction that includes at least the second recipient address and the negative loyalty point amount.”, which is “commercial or legal interactions” within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas in prong one of step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test (See MPEP 2106) because the claims involve a series of steps for processing loyalty points. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because, when analyzed under prong two of step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test (See MPEP 2106), the additional element(s) of the claim(s) such as the use of blockchain node, blockchain network, blockchain wallet, merchant system, memory and processor merely use(s) a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. The processors and memories are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function of processing loyalty points based on transaction data) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer components. Accordingly, the additional elements do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using blockchain node, blockchain network, blockchain wallet, merchant system, memory and processor to process loyalty points steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 2 and 12 describe negative loyalty point. Dependent claims 5 and 15 describe processing server. Dependent claims 8 and 18 describe predetermined period of time. These claims further recite the abstract idea of certain methods of organizing human activity. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional element(s) of the claim(s) such as the use of blockchain node, blockchain network, blockchain wallet, merchant system, memory and processor merely use(s) a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claims are not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 3 and 14 describe block of blockchain. Dependent claims 4, 9 and 13 describe loyalty point calculation. Dependent claims 6 and 16 describe transaction data. Dependent claims 7 and 17 describe smart contract. Dependent claim 9 describe negative loyalty point. These claims further recite the abstract idea of certain methods of organizing human activity. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional element(s) of the claim(s) such as the use of blockchain node, blockchain network, blockchain wallet, smart contract, merchant system, memory and processor merely use(s) a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claims are not patent eligible.
Dependent claim 10 describe a coin exchange platform. These claims further recite the abstract idea of certain methods of organizing human activity. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional element(s) of the claim(s) such as the use of blockchain node, blockchain network, blockchain wallet, coin exchange platform, merchant system, memory and processor merely use(s) a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claims are not patent eligible.
Viewed as a whole, the combination of elements recited in the claims simply recite the concept of processing loyalty points. The claims do not, for example, purport to improve the functioning of the computer itself. Nor do they effect an improvement in any other technology or technical field.
The use of a blockchain node, blockchain network, blockchain wallet, smart contract, coin exchange platform, merchant system, memory and processor as tools to implement the abstract idea does not render the claim patent eligible because it does not provide meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment and requires no more than a computer performing functions that correspond to acts required to carry out the abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §102
Claims 1-7 and 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by US Application Publication US20240037593a1 (“Navon et al.”).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Navon et al. discloses:
storing, in a blockchain node of a blockchain network, a blockchain comprised of a plurality of blocks, where each block includes one or more blockchain data entries; (Fig. 3; ¶0002, ¶0042)
receiving, by a receiver of the blockchain node, first transaction data for a first transaction between a first user and a merchant system, (¶0053) the first transaction data including at least a first recipient address associated with a first blockchain wallet, a first transaction amount, and a positive loyalty point amount; (Fig.4 items 460, 470 and 475; ¶0022, ¶0032, ¶0048, ¶0109 and ¶0151)
processing, by a processor of the blockchain node, the received first transaction data for the first transaction to add a first new block to the blockchain that includes at least a first blockchain data entry corresponding to the first transaction that includes at least the first recipient address and the positive loyalty point amount; (Fig.4 items 460, 470 and 475; ¶0032, ¶¶0053-55, ¶0109 and ¶0151)
receiving, by the receiver of the blockchain node after a predetermined period of time, second transaction data for a second transaction, the second transaction data including at least a second recipient address associated with the blockchain wallet, a second transaction amount and a negative loyalty point amount; and (¶0133 and ¶0151)
processing, by the processor of the blockchain node, the received second transaction data for the second transaction to add a second new block to the blockchain that includes at least a second blockchain data entry corresponding to the second transaction that includes at least the second recipient address and the negative loyalty point amount. (¶0133 and ¶0151)
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Navon et al. discloses all limitations as described above. Navon et al. further discloses:
wherein the negative loyalty point amount is equivalent to the positive loyalty point amount subtracted by a spending point amount for any subsequent transactions involving the blockchain wallet. (¶0131 and ¶0151)
Regarding claims 3 and 14, Navon et al. discloses all limitations as described above. Navon et al. further discloses:
wherein a block of the plurality of blocks comprising the blockchain includes a smart contract. (Fig. 6B step 676; ¶0091, ¶0095, ¶0118 and ¶0125)
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Navon et al. discloses all limitations as described above. Navon et al. further discloses:
calculating, by a processing device of a processing server, via execution of a smart contract, the positive loyalty point amount based on the first transaction amount, a merchant identifier associated with the first merchant system and a transaction history associated with the first user. (Fig. 11, ¶0023, ¶0108, ¶0118, ¶0133 and ¶¶0155-156)
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Navon et al. discloses all limitations as described above. Navon et al. further discloses:
wherein the processing server is a blockchain node in the blockchain network. (¶0033 and ¶0037)
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Navon et al. discloses all limitations as described above. Navon et al. further discloses:
wherein the first transaction data for the first transaction and the second transaction data for the second transaction are received from the smart contract. (Fig. 11 steps 1106, 1108 and 1110; ¶0023 and ¶¶0092-93)
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Navon et al. discloses all limitations as described above. Navon et al. further discloses:
wherein the smart contract is configured to automatically self-execute after the predetermined period of time. (¶0092)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-10 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Application Publication US20240037593a1 (“Navon et al.”) in view of US Application Publication US20190325473A1 (“Swamidurai”).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Navon et al. discloses all limitations as described above. Navon et al. does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the predetermined period of time is based on time elapsed since receiving the transaction data for the first transaction.
However, Swamidurai discloses:
wherein the predetermined period of time is based on time elapsed since receiving the transaction data for the first transaction. (¶0055)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the On-Chain Loyalty Program Management of Navon et al. by including a predetermined period of time before smart contract execution in accordance with the teaching of Swamidurai. This modification enables the combined system to associate reward with a user in a predetermined period of time. With this built-in delay in associating reward with a user, it gives the time for the transactions to settle and reduces potential error.
Regarding claim 9, Navon et al. discloses all limitations as described above. Navon et al. does not explicitly disclose:
calculating, by a processing device of a processing server, via execution of a smart contract, the negative loyalty point amount based on at least the second transaction amount and the merchant identifier included in the second transaction data.
However, Swamidurai discloses:
calculating, by a processing device of a processing server, via execution of a smart contract, the negative loyalty point amount based on at least the second transaction amount and the merchant identifier included in the second transaction data. (¶0027 and ¶0045)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the On-Chain Loyalty Program Management of Navon et al. by including rewards calculation in accordance with the teaching of Swamidurai. This modification provides transparency in calculating rewards.
Regarding claim 10, Navon et al. discloses all limitations as described above. Navon et al. does not explicitly disclose:
providing a coin exchange platform enabling transfer, trade, purchase and/or sell of loyalty coins based on supply and demand.
However, Swamidurai discloses:
providing a coin exchange platform enabling transfer, trade, purchase and/or sell of loyalty coins based on supply and demand. (Fig. 1 item 130; abs)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the On-Chain Loyalty Program Management of Navon et al. by including a coin exchange platform in accordance with the teaching of Swamidurai. This modification enables the combined system to provide coin exchange service. This exchange service allows users to trade and exchange loyalty reward token. Hence, it allows users to maximize the benefit of the loyalty program.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US201/0140408A1 (“Wuehler”) discloses a system and method that enables a transparent self-managing rewards program using a smart contract block chain distributed network by receiving a transaction record associated with a smart contract, wherein the transaction record comprises input data indicating one or more actions taken by a user; accessing a distributed ledger stored in the memory device, wherein the distributed ledger is updated based on communications from a block chain distributed network; using smart contract logic associated with the smart contract, determining whether the indicated one or more actions meets a condition of the smart contract, thereby validating the transaction record, and in some embodiments, in response to determining the one or more actions meets the condition of the smart contract, thereby validating the transaction record, initiating rewarding the user with rewards corresponding to the condition.
US20190108542A1 (“Durvasula et al.”) discloses A blockchain-based loyalty point system may include a blockchain API host that receives a request to transfer an amount of loyalty points from a first customer account to a second customer account. The system may validate the request by performing a cryptographic operation on the request using a public key associated with the first customer account. The system may also propagate a proposal to consensus participants for writing to a blockchain, wherein the proposal comprises the first customer account, the second customer account, and the amount of loyalty points. The system may also receive an exchange request from a loyalty wallet associated with the second customer account, validate the exchange request by performing the cryptographic operation on the exchange request using a public key, and propagate an exchange proposal to the consensus participants for writing to the blockchain.
/YINGYING ZHOU/Examiner, Art Unit 3697