DETAILED ACTION
The Amendment filed on 08/28/2026 has been entered. Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-11, have been amended, claim(s) 4, 12-16, 18, and 20 have been cancelled, claim(s) 17, 19, and 21 have been withdrawn, and claim(s) 22-28 have been added. Therefore, claims 1-3, 5-11, 17, 19, and 21-28 are now pending in the application.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 1 is allowed. In particular, the limitation “thermal and moisture barriers applied to the penetration regions between the refrigeration components and the roof, wherein the vertical components support a static load of the refrigeration components, thereby reducing a need for structural reinforcement in a frame and the roof of the refrigerated facility” when considered in combination with the structural elements recited, defines a configuration that is neither taught nor rendered obvious by the prior art of record. No reference, either alone or in combination, discloses or suggests this specific arrangement without relying on hindsight reconstruction. Claim(s) 2, 3, 5-11, and 22 depend from claim 1, and are therefore allowed as well.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23-28, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allen et al. (US 10812011 B2) in view of Klysen (US 20080178616 A1).
Regarding claim 23, Allen et al. teaches a support system (support structure 220), the system comprising: components (230; figure 5) disposed on or above a roof of a facility (figure 2); vertical components (528; figure 5) coupled to (i) a floor or a foundation of the facility (431; figure 5) and (ii) at least one of the roof (434; figure 5); and horizontal components (422) coupled to the vertical components (figure 5), the vertical components and the horizontal components together forming storage spaces (it is understood that the space between the vertical components and the horizontal components is capable of functioning as a storage space), wherein the vertical components support a static load of the components (figure 5), thereby reducing a need for structural reinforcement of at least one of a frame or the roof of the facility (figure 5).
Allen et al. does not specifically disclose pallet racking, and refrigeration components.
Klysen discloses a storage facility (abstract) including pallet racking (para 22), and refrigeration components (52).
Therefore, from the teaching of Klysen, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the rooftop assembly of Allen et al. to include pallet racking, and refrigeration components, as taught by Klysen, in order to foundational support to the rooftop components to meet the load demand of the structure for optimal support and stability per the structural design requirements of the facility.
Regarding claim 24, Klysen in the combination discloses the facility is a refrigerated facility (temperature controlled facility; abstract).
Regarding claim 25, Allen as modified teaches the refrigerated components are disposed above the roof (in the combination, it is understood that the refrigerated components would be disposed above the roof), and wherein the vertical components extend through penetration regions of the roof (figure 5) and are coupled to the refrigerated components (in the combination, it is understood that ultimately the vertical components would ultimately be coupled to the refrigerated components).
Regarding claim 26, Allen as modified teaches the vertical components are coupled to the components with mounting brackets (321; it is understood that the purlins are capable of functioning as brackets).
Regarding claim 27, Allen as modified teaches the refrigeration components are disposed on the roof (figure 5), and wherein the vertical components at least partially support the roof (it is understood that the vertical components would at least partially support the roof in the lateral direction).
Regarding claim 28, Allen teaches the components are mounted to the roof (as illustrated, the components 230 are ultimately mounted to the roof; figure 5).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments and amendments have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
New reference(s) Allen et al. (US 10812011 B2) and Klysen (US 20080178616 A1) have been added to overcome the newly added limitations. Applicant’s amendment and arguments in light of the claim 1 amendment were carefully considered and have been found persuasive, and the previous rejection in view of Keck and Badenhorst et al. has been withdrawn.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OMAR F HIJAZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3633