DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong (US 2023/0217366; Cited in PTO-892 Part of Paper No. 20260516) in view of Li et al. (US 2025/0293942).
Regarding claims 1, 7, 13, and 17, Hong discloses a wireless communication method, a first wireless device, and a second wireless device, the method comprising:
transmitting, by a first wireless device to a second device located in a network, a first message that requests a model information (Fig. 6 step S52; Fig. 7 step S62; e.g., paragraphs [0070], [0073], [0080]; e.g., the network device sends a request signaling to the terminal with the AI capability. The request signaling is configured to request to acquire the AI model type supported by the terminal); and
receiving, by the first wireless device, a second message in response to the transmitting the first message (paragraph [0080]; e.g., In response to determining that the request signaling sent by a network device is received, the terminal sent an AI model type supported by the terminal to the network device),
wherein the second message includes a model description information that describes one or more characteristics of a model to be used by the first wireless device (Fig. 6 step S54; paragraphs [0059], [0062], [0069], [0075]; e.g., , an AI model type matching the AI model type supported by the terminal is configured as an AI model type supported by the network device based on the received AI model type supported by the terminal).
Hong fails to specifically disclose wherein the first message includes one or more of:
an expected number of time occasions used for model input for beam prediction in time domain or channel state information, CSI, prediction in time domain,
an expected number of time occasions used for model output for beam prediction in time domain or CSI prediction in time domain, or
a resource mapping pattern in frequency domain indicating resource element that will transmit reference signal, resource elements used for channel estimation or resource elements for CSI prediction.
However, Li discloses the first message includes an expected number of time occasions used for model input for beam prediction in time domain or channel state information, CSI, prediction in time domain (paragraphs [0022], [0084], [0089]; see a ML model may correspond to a function receiving as input the measurement of a reference signal X (e.g., transmitted in beam-x), such as a synchronization signal block (SSB) with index ‘x’, and provide as output the prediction of other reference signals transmitted in different beams). It is noted that limitations “n the first message includes an expected number of time occasions used for model output for beam prediction in time domain or CSI prediction in time domain, or a resource mapping pattern in frequency domain indicating resource element that will transmit reference signal, resource elements used for channel estimation or resource elements for CSI prediction” is omitted to address due to alternative claims such as “or”.
Therefore, taking the teachings of Hong in combination of Li as a whole, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention by applicant to have an expected number of time occasions used for model input for beam prediction in time domain or channel state information, CSI, prediction in time domain in order to challenge currently exist with machine learning fallback model for a wireless device and provide solutions to these or other challenges (Li: paragraph [0028]).
Regarding claims 2, 8, 14, and 18 , Hong in combination with Li discloses the method, the first wireless device and the second wireless device of claims 1, 7, 13, and 17, wherein the model description information includes an identifier of the model (Hong: paragraph [0048]; e.g., the AI model type supported by the network device may be indicated by an integer value defined in advance, that is, it is negotiated in advance which integer value represents which model type).
Regarding claims 3, 9, 15, and 19 , Hong in combination with Li discloses the method, the first wireless device and the second wireless device of claims 1, 7, 13, and 17, wherein the first message includes a field that identifies a purpose for requesting the model information (Hong: paragraphs [0070], [0115]).
Regarding claims 4, 10, 16, and 20 , Hong in combination with Li discloses the method, the first wireless device and the second wireless device of claims 1, 7, 13, and 17, further comprising: transmitting, by the first wireless device to the second device in the network, a third message that request a model deployment information, wherein the third message includes the identifier of the model (Hong: Fig. 6 step S55; paragraphs [0076], [0079]); and
receiving, in response to the transmitting the third message, a fourth message comprising the model deployment information that includes one or more values corresponding to one or more parameters to be used by the model (Hong: paragraphs [0049], [0092], [0108]).
Regarding claims 5 and 11, Hong in combination with Li discloses the method and the first wireless device of claims 1 and 7, wherein the second message includes a model deployment information that includes one or more values corresponding to one or more parameters to be used by the model (Hong: paragraphs [0048]-[0049], [0092]; e.g., the AI model type is represented by an integer value, where different integer values correspond to different AI model types).
Regarding claims 6 and 12, Hong in combination with Li discloses the method and the first wireless device of claims 1 and 7, further comprising: receiving, by the first wireless device, a failure message in response to the transmitting the first message, wherein the failure message indicates that the second device in the network does not have the model information (Hong: paragraphs [0052]-[0053]; e.g., when the terminal does not determine the AI model type matching the AI model type supported by the terminal itself from the AI model types sent by one or more network devices).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TIMOTHY X PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648