DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is responsive to amendments and remarks filed 08 July 2026. Claims 1-5, 7-14 and 16-20 are pending in the application.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e), 120, 121, 365(c) or 386(c) as follows:
Examiner has thoroughly reviewed applicant’s provisional application and cannot find adequate written description for the claim features, “wherein the NAS message includes…a source Internet Protocol (IP) address associated with the multicast/broadcast service” in provisional application seria number 62/613,199 filed on 03 January 2018. The disclosure is silent with respect to such features; accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would not have reached the conclusion that applicant possessed, at the time of filing said provisional application, the claimed invention. Accordingly, applicant is not entitled to the priority date of 62/613,199.
It is noted that adequate support is found in provisional application serial number 62/741,792 filed on 05 October 2018. (Fig. 17A, step 1 [0146], disclosing the request may include the fields of Fig. 16 step 1; [0120]-[0128]). Accordingly, the claims are given the priority date of 05 October 2018.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8, 10-14 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Navratil et al. (US 2021/0076164) as evidenced by 3GPP TS 23.502 V15.3.0 (2018-09) in view of Zhu (WO 2016/112678 A1), citations correspond to the attached machine translation.
Regarding claim 1, Navratil discloses a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) comprising a processor configured to ([0234]):
send a non-access stratum (NAS) message to a network, the NAS message indicating a request to establish a session for receiving a multicast/broadcast service, the NAS message indicating a data network and network slice information associated with the session for receiving the multicast/broadcast service, wherein the NAS message includes at least one of a Temporary Mobile Group Identity (TMGI) associated with the multicast/broadcast service or a source Internet Protocol (IP) address associated with the multicast/broadcast service ([0152]-[0153] disclosing a PDU session modification procedure to establish a context in response to a request to transmit a multicast listener’s report (MLR) with a multicast address for which the UE does not have a context yet for delivering the multicast traffic; Fig. 8a, 800, [0170], [0172] disclosing a procedure for multicast context establishment at step 800 “the UE sends a session modification request to the AMF…message may be a NAS (non-access stratum) message containing N1 SM (session management) container (PDU Session Modification Request, PDU Session ID, multicast group information) The multicast group information may be entire MLR” (e.g., including the multicast address disclosed at [0152]; [0227] an IP multicast address; [0135] disclosing the field of endeavor is 3GPP release 15; See TS 23.502 disclosing inherent features of release 15, Section 4.3.2.1 “PDU session handover”, Section 4.3.2.2 “UE Requested PDU session establishment, Figure 4.3.2.2.1-1 step 1, and description of said step on pg. 62 lines 1-2 disclosing the NAS message comprising for carrying the N1 SM container includes: DNN (data network name), S-NSSAI(s) (i.e., network slice information), lines 8-9 disclosing the request indicating an “Existing PDU Session” if the request refers to an existing PDU session switching between 3GPP access and non-3GPP access or to a PDU Session handover from an existing PDN connection in EPC, while these features appear to be inherent in the field of endeavor of Navratil, a prima facie case of obviousness exists to combine these features given the in-kind architecture of the prior art);
receive a response indicating that the session for receiving the multicast/broadcast service has been established for the WTRU and information regarding a service area for the multicast/broadcast service (See TS 23.502 disclosing inherent features of release 15, Section 4.2.2.2, 4.2.2.1 disclosing for Initial registration to the network; Figure 4.2.2.2.2-1 Registration Procedure, Steps 1-3 registration request and 21 registration accept (i.e., response), pg. 25 description of step 21 first paragraph disclosing the registration accept message indicates the LADN information (i.e., service area) and lines 20-21 disclosing the AMF indicates the established PDU sessions to the UE in the PDU session status; i.e., the PDU session established during registration corresponding to the existing PDU session in Figure 4.3.2.2.1-1 step 1);
receive, from a radio access network node, an indication of radio resources for receiving transmissions associated with the multicast/broadcast service; and receive multicast/broadcast data via the indicated radio resources (Fig. 8c, 844, [0213] disclosing in step 844, an RRC Connection Reconfiguration may take place with the UE modifying the necessary RAN resources related to the PDU Session. In the case when the PDU session is updated due to the multicast context addition/creation, the (R)AN configures the UE with a set of unicast and multicast bearers used to transfer data over the air for the multicast context. Multicast bearers may be received by multiple UEs.).
Zhu suggests the response comprising the TMGI (Fig. 2, steps 208, 210, pg. 5, lines 3-9 disclosing the remote YE registers with the cluster server which returns a registration response including the TMGI; Fig. 14, S1404, pg. 27, line 17 – pg. 28 line 2 disclosing the remote UE registers and obtains the TMGI).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the techniques of Navratil to be performed by the remote terminal of Zhu because this allows a remote terminal to receive enhanced multicast broadcast (eMBMS) data via a relay terminal (pg. 27, lines 4-12).
Regarding claim 2, Navratil discloses the WTRU of claim 1, wherein the NAS message corresponds to NAS session management (SM) signaling ([0172]).
Regarding claim 3, Navratil appears to disclose the WTRU of claim 2, wherein the NAS message is forwarded to a network function [sic] establishes multicast/broadcast sessions for the WTRU via an access and mobility management function (AMF) (Fig. 8a, 802; [0175] the AMF sends a message to the SMF to cause an update; Fig. 8b, 830, [0195], [0199] the SMF finds an existing context or creates the multicast broadcast context).
Regarding claim 4, Navratil appears to disclose the WTRU of claim 3, wherein the network function comprises a Multicast/Broadcast Network Function (MBNF) (Fig. 8b, 830, [0195], [0199] the SMF finds an existing context or creates the multicast broadcast context).
Regarding claim 5, Navratil appears to disclose the WTRU of claim 1, wherein the slice information comprises Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI) ([0135] disclosing the field of endeavor is 3GPP release 15; See TS 23.502 disclosing inherent features of release 15, Section 4.3.2.2 “UE Requested PDU session establishment, Figure 4.3.2.2.1-1 step 1, and description of said step on pg. 62 lines 1-2 disclosing the NAS message comprising for carrying the N1 SM container includes S-NSSAI(s)).
Regarding claim 8, Navratil does not expressly disclose the follow; however, Zhu suggests the WTRU of claim 1, wherein the response indicates security information for the multicast/broadcast service (Fig. 2, steps 208, 210, pg. 5, lines 3-9 disclosing the remote YE registers with the cluster server which returns a registration response including the group security-related parameters; Fig. 14, S1404, pg. 27, line 17 – pg. 28 line 2 disclosing the remote UE registers and obtains the group security-related parameters).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the techniques of Navratil to be performed by the remote terminal of Zhu because this allows a remote terminal to securely receive enhanced multicast broadcast (eMBMS) data via a relay terminal with encryption (pg. 27, lines 4-12).
Regarding claims 10-14 and 17, the claims are directed towards the method implemented by the WTRU of claims 1-5 and 8; accordingly, claims 10-14 and 17 are rejected on the grounds presented above for claims 1-5 and 8.
Claim(s) 7 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Navratil et al. (US 2021/0076164) as evidenced by 3GPP TS 23.502 V15.3.0 (2018-09) in view of Le Thierry D’Ennequin et al. (US 2016/0234806 A1) in view of Shan et al. (US 2019/0174270 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Navratil does not expressly disclose the following; however, Shan discloses the WTRU of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to:
receive a paging message ([0155]-[0157]); and
connect to the network to receive the multicast/broadcast data after receiving the paging message ([0158]-[0159] the network device sends a specified service in multicast mode; [0160]-[0172]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the techniques of Navratil with the invention of Shan because this can reduce the wasting of radio resources ([0005])/
Regarding claim 16, the claim is directed towards the method implemented by the WTRU of claim 7; accordingly, claim 16 is rejected on the grounds presented above for claim 7.
Claim(s) 9 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Navratil et al. (US 2021/0076164) as evidenced by 3GPP TS 23.502 V15.3.0 (2018-09) in view of Zhu (WO 2016/112678 A1) in view of Le Thierry D’Ennequin et al. (US 2016/0234806 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Navratil appears to disclose the WTRU of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to:
send a request to modify the session for receiving the multicast/broadcast service, the request to modify the session for receiving the multicast/broadcast service comprising at least one of a new TMGI associated with the modified multicast/broadcast service or a new source IP address associated with the modified multicast/broadcast service (Fig. 8a, 800, [0170], [0172] disclosing a procedure for multicast context establishment at step 800 “the UE sends a session modification request to the AMF…message may be a NAS (non-access stratum) message containing N1 SM (session management) container (PDU Session Modification Request, PDU Session ID, multicast group information) The multicast group information may be entire MLR” (e.g., including the multicast address disclosed at [0152]; [0227] an IP multicast address); and
receive a second response indicating that the session for receiving the multicast/broadcast service has been modified for the WTRU (Fig. 8c, 844 disclosing the RAN may issue AN-Specific signalling to configure resources associated with the multicast context addition/creation”).
Le Thierry D’Ennequin discloses the response comprising the new TMGI (Fig. 8, S811, [0157] disclosing the UE-R 32 receives a RRC Connection reconfiguration message including the TMGI and/or IP multicast address that allow the UE-R 3-2 to relay the group service communications to the UE 3-1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the techniques of Navratil as suggested by Le Thierry D’Ennequin because this allows a user that is not within the network’s coverage to receive the same services as if it were in the coverage area to enhance the user’s experience ([0006]).
Regarding claim 18, the claim is directed towards the metho performed by the WTRU of claim 9, accordingly, claim 18 is rejected on the grounds presented above for claim 9.
Regarding claim 19, Navratil discloses a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) comprising a processor configured to ([0234]):
send a non-access stratum (NAS) message to a network, the NAS message indicating a request to establish a session for receiving a multicast/broadcast service, the NAS message indicating a data network and network slice information associated with the session for receiving the multicast/broadcast service ([0152]-[0153] disclosing a PDU session modification procedure to establish a context in response to a request to transmit a multicast listener’s report (MLR) with a multicast address for which the UE does not have a context yet for delivering the multicast traffic; Fig. 8a, 800, [0170], [0172] disclosing a procedure for multicast context establishment at step 800 “the UE sends a session modification request to the AMF…message may be a NAS (non-access stratum) message containing N1 SM (session management) container (PDU Session Modification Request, PDU Session ID, multicast group information) The multicast group information may be entire MLR” (e.g., including the multicast address disclosed at [0152]; [0227] an IP multicast address; [0135] disclosing the field of endeavor is 3GPP release 15; See TS 23.502 disclosing inherent features of release 15, Section 4.3.2.1 “PDU session handover”, Section 4.3.2.2 “UE Requested PDU session establishment, Figure 4.3.2.2.1-1 step 1, and description of said step on pg. 62 lines 1-2 disclosing the NAS message comprising for carrying the N1 SM container includes: DNN (data network name), S-NSSAI(s) (i.e., network slice information), while these features appear to be inherent in the field of endeavor of Navratil, a prima facie case of obviousness exists to combine these features given the in-kind architecture of the prior art);
receive, from a radio access network node, an indication of radio resources for receiving transmissions associated with the multicast/broadcast service; and receive multicast/broadcast data via the indicated radio resources (Fig. 8c, 844, [0213] disclosing in step 844, an RRC Connection Reconfiguration may take place with the UE modifying the necessary RAN resources related to the PDU Session. In the case when the PDU session is updated due to the multicast context addition/creation, the (R)AN configures the UE with a set of unicast and multicast bearers used to transfer data over the air for the multicast context. Multicast bearers may be received by multiple UEs.).
Zhu suggests receive the TMGI and security information for the multicast/broadcast service (Fig. 2, steps 208, 210, pg. 5, lines 3-9 disclosing the remote UE registers with the cluster server which returns a registration response including the TMGI and group security-related parameters; Fig. 14, S1404, pg. 27, line 17 – pg. 28 line 2 disclosing the remote UE registers and obtains the TMGI and group-security related parameters).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the techniques of Navratil with the disclosure in Zhu because this allows a remote terminal to securely receive enhanced multicast broadcast (eMBMS) data via a relay terminal (pg. 27, lines 4-12).
Le Thierry D’Ennequin suggests wherein the NAS message includes at least one of a Temporary Mobile Group Identity (TMGI) associated with the multicast/broadcast service (Fig. 8, s807, [0149], [0154]-[0155] disclosing UE 3-1 sends a request via UE-R 3-2 to join a multicast broadcast service, the message relayed by UE-R 3-2 includes TMGI and/or IP multicast address associated with the service).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the techniques of Navratil as suggested by Le Thierry D’Ennequin because this allows a user that is not within the network’s coverage to receive the same services as if it were in the coverage area to enhance the user’s experience ([0006]).
Regarding claim 20, Navratil discloses the WTRU of claim 1, wherein the NAS message corresponds to NAS session management (SM) signaling ([0172]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 10 and 19 have been considered but are moot based on the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Zhu et al. (US 2020/0267513 A1) discloses features in applicant’s disclosure comprising techniques for establishing a multicast/broadcast sessions.
/JOSEPH A BEDNASH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461