DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 4,-6, 12-15 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 4, 9-11 and 13-14 of copending Application No. 18/638,333 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims recite the same subject matter.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 3, 4,-6, 12-15 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 5, 8-10 and 12-13 of copending Application No. 18/636,961 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims recite the same subject matter.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2003-287914 (henceforth JP ‘914).
JP ‘914 teaches an electrophotographic photoreceptor comprising an intermediate layer comprising a polyamide resin and an inorganic particle dispersed therein ([0016-17] and [0019-22]). The photoreceptor further comprises a conductive substrate and a photosensitive layer disposed on the intermediate layer ([0018]). The polyamide resin is taught to comprise a first repeating unit derived from an aliphatic dicarboxylic acid and a second repeating unit derived from a diamine compound ([0029-30]). The amide repeating units are taught to comprise a first and second repeating unit wherein the second repeating unit accounts for only 10 mol% of the total amide repeating units and therefore the first amide repeating unit and the carboxylic acid repeating units will account for greater than 80 mol% of the entire repeating units ([0029]). The photosensitive layer is taught to comprise a charge transport material and a charge generating material wherein the charge generating material is a titanyl phthalocyanine ([0025]).
JP ‘914 teaches that the inorganic particles are preferably surface treated titanium oxide particles ([0071]). The titanium oxide particles are taught to be surface treated with multiple layers of surface treatment agents including alumina, silica and an organosilicon compound ([0068-70]). The organosilicon compound is further taught to be an organic siloxane compound ([0088-89]). It is further taught that the charge generating compound may be an n-type pigment selected from an azo pigment and a perylene pigment ([0113]). The content of the charge generating compound (CGC) in the charge generating layer alone to the binder resin of the charge generating layer alone is as low as 20 parts CGC: 100 parts binder resin ([0114]). However, in embodiments the content of the CGC to the total binder resin of the photosensitive layer (charge generating and charge transporting layers combined) the content of the CGC is 18.2 parts per 100 parts binder resin (20 g CGC / 110 g combined binder resins x 100 parts = 18.2 parts per 100; [0141-142]).
Regarding the polyamide resin of the intermediate layer, JP ‘914 teaches that the amine monomer may be a diamine monomer with a cyclic alkane between the amine groups and that the dicarboxylic acid monomer may be an aliphatic dicarboxylic acid with a carbon number between 8 and 20 ([0029-55]). Examples of said monomers taught by JP ‘914 as monomers used in the polyamide resin are given below:
.
The content of the inorganic particles to the polyamide resin in the intermediate layer is taught to be 300 parts inorganic particles to 100 parts polyamide resin in embodiments ([0137]). The diameter of the inorganic particles is taught to be 10 to 400 nm ([0058]).
JP ‘914 further teaches an image forming apparatus comprising the photoreceptor described above as well as a charging device, an exposure device, a development device, a transfer member and a fixing device ([0124-133]). Additionally, the photoreceptor described above may also be used in a detachable process cartridge further comprising a charging device, a transfer unit and a cleaning unit ([0134]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2003-287914 in view of Iwashita et al. (US PGP 2022/0100111).
The complete discussion of JP ‘914 above is included herein. While JP ‘914 teaches a photosensitive layer comprising charge generating compounds and charge transporting compounds, JP ‘914 does no teach specific examples of said compounds rather teaches suitable classes of compounds that may impart the desired function (for example azo compounds for the n-type pigments in the charge generating layer). As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to look to the prior art for suitable specific compounds to impart said functions.
Iwashita teaches an electrophotographic photosensitive member comprising a conductive substrate and a photosensitive layer (Abstract). The photosensitive layer is taught to contain a charge generating material, an electron transport material, a binder resin and a hole transport material (Abstract). Suitable electron transport compounds are taught to include the following specific formulas, which read on some of the specific compounds recited by the Applicant in the instant claims (for the sake of brevity, the cited formulas are not meant to be exhaustive of the compounds taught by Iwashita that read on the Applicant’s recited formulas):
.
Additionally, Iwashita teaches the following specific hole transport compounds (for the sake of brevity, the cited formulas are not meant to be exhaustive of the compounds taught by Iwashita that read on the Applicant’s recited formulas):
.
As suitable n-type pigments for use as charge generating compounds Iwashita teaches the following specific compounds that read on the compounds recited by the Applicant in the instant claims (for the sake of brevity, the cited formulas are not meant to be exhaustive of the compounds taught by Iwashita that read on the Applicant’s recited formulas):
.
Iwashita teaches that the combination of the above cited compounds increases the positive chargeability and photosensitivity of the photoreceptor ([0117-123]). Furthermore, the above compounds are further taught to be used with a phthalocyanine based charge generating material, specifically a y-type titanyl phthalocyanine that is present in amount of 0.1 to 100 parts by mass relative to 100 parts of the binder resin ([0028-36]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to any person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the instant application to have utilized the photosensitive layer of Iwashita in the photoreceptor of JP ‘914 in order to optimize the positive chargeability and photosensitivity.
Conclusion
/PETER L VAJDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737 09/22/2026