DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of copending Application No. 18/638,333 (reference application) (hereinafter “the ‘333 application”), in view of Iwashita et al. (US PGP 2022/0100110 A1).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim sets recite sufficiently similar electrophotographic image forming apparatuses that fall within the same scope of one another.
For instance, both claim sets recite an electrophotographic image forming apparatus comprising an image bearing member, a charger, a light exposure device, a development device, and a transfer device, wherein the image bearing member is an electrophotographic photosensitive member comprising a conductive substrate, an intermediate layer provided on the conductive substrate and a photosensitive layer provided on the intermediate layer.
In both claim sets, the intermediate layer contains a polyamide resin and inorganic particles each including a metal oxide particle, like titanium oxide, and a surface treatment layer covering at least part of a surface of the metal oxide particle. In both claim sets, the surface treatment layer includes at least one of aluminum oxide, silica, and zirconia, and the polyamide resin includes a first repeating unit derived from an aliphatic dicarboxylic acid having a carbon number of from 8 to 20, and a second repeating unit derived from a diamine compound having a cycloalkane structure.
In both claim sets, a total percentage of the first repeating unit and the second repeating unit is 80% mol or more with respect to all repeating units in the polyamide resin.
The ‘333 application appears to be silent to recite that the image forming apparatus includes a controller that controls voltage to be applied to the cleaning member, or that the controller causes a first voltage with negative polarity to be applied to the cleaning member in a printing mode. The ‘333 application also appears to be silent to recite that the controller causes a second voltage with positive polarity to be applied to the cleaning member in a cleaning mode.
However, such configuration was known before the effective filing date of the ‘333 application. Iwashita teaches an image forming apparatus including an image bearing member, a charger, a light exposure device, a development device, a transfer device, a cleaning member, and a static eliminator ([0008]-[0009]). The image forming apparatus is taught to further include a controller including a central processing unit (CPU), random-access memory (RAM), read-only memory (ROM), and an input and output interface ([0197]). The controller is taught to control the voltage applicator to control voltage applied to the cleaning member ([0217]).
Specifically, the controller is taught to cause positive voltage application by the charger in printing mode by charging the surface of the image bearing member to the positive polarity. As such, a positively charged toner is collected by being electrostatically moved from the positively charged surface of the image bearing member into the cleaning member, to which a first negative voltage is applied ([0224]). In the cleaning mode after separation of the development device, the controller is taught to control the voltage applicator to apply a second positive voltage to the cleaning member ([0231]).
The photosensitive layer is taught to be a single layer and contains a charge generating material, an electron transport material, a binder resin, and a hole transport material ([0029]). The charge generating material is taught to include titanyl phthalocyanine having a Y-form crystal structure ([0031]-[0035]). The electron transport material is taught to include compounds represented by formulas (ETM1) to (ETM31), and the hole transport material is taught to include compounds represented by formulas (HTM1) to (HTM10) ([0051], [0122]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the controller of Iwashita in the claims of the ‘333 application, in view of improving cleaning of the toner.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of copending Application No. 18/638,286 (reference application) (hereinafter “the ‘286 application”), in view of Iwashita et al. (US PGP 2022/0100110 A1).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim sets recite sufficiently similar electrophotographic image forming apparatuses that fall within the same scope of one another.
For instance, both claim sets recite an electrophotographic image forming apparatus comprising an image bearing member, a charger, a light exposure device, a development device, and a transfer device, wherein the image bearing member is an electrophotographic photosensitive member comprising a conductive substrate, an intermediate layer provided on the conductive substrate and a photosensitive layer provided on the intermediate layer.
In both claim sets, the intermediate layer contains a polyamide resin and inorganic particles each including a metal oxide particle, like titanium oxide, and a surface treatment layer covering at least part of a surface of the metal oxide particle. In both claim sets, the surface treatment layer includes at least one of aluminum oxide, silica, and zirconia, and the polyamide resin includes a first repeating unit derived from an aliphatic dicarboxylic acid having a carbon number of from 8 to 20, and a second repeating unit derived from a diamine compound having a cycloalkane structure.
In both claim sets, a total percentage of the first repeating unit and the second repeating unit is 80% mol or more with respect to all repeating units in the polyamide resin, and the inorganic particles have a number average primary particle diameter of at least 5 nm and no greater than 100 nm and content of at least 50 parts by mass and no greater than 1000 parts by mass relative to 100 parts by mass of the specific polyamide resin in the intermediate layer.
The ‘286 application appears to be silent to recite that the image forming apparatus includes a controller that controls voltage to be applied to the cleaning member, or that the controller causes a first voltage with negative polarity to be applied to the cleaning member in a printing mode. The ‘286 application also appears to be silent to recite that the controller causes a second voltage with positive polarity to be applied to the cleaning member in a cleaning mode.
However, such configuration was known before the effective filing date of the ‘286 application. Iwashita teaches an image forming apparatus including an image bearing member, a charger, a light exposure device, a development device, a transfer device, a cleaning member, and a static eliminator ([0008]-[0009]). The image forming apparatus is taught to further include a controller including a central processing unit (CPU), random-access memory (RAM), read-only memory (ROM), and an input and output interface ([0197]). The controller is taught to control the voltage applicator to control voltage applied to the cleaning member ([0217]).
Specifically, the controller is taught to cause positive voltage application by the charger in printing mode by charging the surface of the image bearing member to the positive polarity. As such, a positively charged toner is collected by being electrostatically moved from the positively charged surface of the image bearing member into the cleaning member, to which a first negative voltage is applied ([0224]). In the cleaning mode after separation of the development device, the controller is taught to control the voltage applicator to apply a second positive voltage to the cleaning member ([0231]).
The photosensitive layer is taught to be a single layer and contains a charge generating material, an electron transport material, a binder resin, and a hole transport material ([0029]). The charge generating material is taught to include titanyl phthalocyanine having a Y-form crystal structure ([0031]-[0035]). The electron transport material is taught to include compounds represented by formulas (ETM1) to (ETM31), and the hole transport material is taught to include compounds represented by formulas (HTM1) to (HTM10) ([0051], [0122]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the controller of Iwashita in the claims of the ‘286 application, in view of improving cleaning of the toner.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 18/676,137 (reference application) (hereinafter “the ‘137 application”), in view of Iwashita et al. (US PGP 2022/0100110 A1).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim sets recite sufficiently similar electrophotographic image forming apparatuses that fall within the same scope of one another.
For instance, both claim sets recite an electrophotographic image forming apparatus comprising an image bearing member, a charger, a light exposure device, a development device, and a transfer device, wherein the image bearing member is an electrophotographic photosensitive member comprising a conductive substrate, an intermediate layer provided on the conductive substrate and a photosensitive layer provided on the intermediate layer.
In both claim sets, the intermediate layer contains a polyamide resin and inorganic particles each including a metal oxide particle, like titanium oxide, and a surface treatment layer covering at least part of a surface of the metal oxide particle. In both claim sets, the surface treatment layer includes at least one of aluminum oxide, silica, and zirconia, and the polyamide resin includes a first repeating unit derived from an aliphatic dicarboxylic acid having a carbon number of from 8 to 20, and a second repeating unit derived from a diamine compound having a cycloalkane structure.
In both claim sets, a total percentage of the first repeating unit and the second repeating unit is 80% mol or more with respect to all repeating units in the polyamide resin, and the inorganic particles have a number average primary particle diameter of at least 5 nm and no greater than 100 nm and content of at least 50 parts by mass and no greater than 1000 parts by mass relative to 100 parts by mass of the specific polyamide resin in the intermediate layer.
The ‘137 application appears to be silent to recite that the image forming apparatus includes a controller that controls voltage to be applied to the cleaning member, or that the controller causes a first voltage with negative polarity to be applied to the cleaning member in a printing mode. The ‘137 application also appears to be silent to recite that the controller causes a second voltage with positive polarity to be applied to the cleaning member in a cleaning mode.
However, such configuration was known before the effective filing date of the ‘137 application. Iwashita teaches an image forming apparatus including an image bearing member, a charger, a light exposure device, a development device, a transfer device, a cleaning member, and a static eliminator ([0008]-[0009]). The image forming apparatus is taught to further include a controller including a central processing unit (CPU), random-access memory (RAM), read-only memory (ROM), and an input and output interface ([0197]). The controller is taught to control the voltage applicator to control voltage applied to the cleaning member ([0217]).
Specifically, the controller is taught to cause positive voltage application by the charger in printing mode by charging the surface of the image bearing member to the positive polarity. As such, a positively charged toner is collected by being electrostatically moved from the positively charged surface of the image bearing member into the cleaning member, to which a first negative voltage is applied ([0224]). In the cleaning mode after separation of the development device, the controller is taught to control the voltage applicator to apply a second positive voltage to the cleaning member ([0231]).
The photosensitive layer is taught to be a single layer and contains a charge generating material, an electron transport material, a binder resin, and a hole transport material ([0029]). The charge generating material is taught to include titanyl phthalocyanine having a Y-form crystal structure ([0031]-[0035]). The electron transport material is taught to include compounds represented by formulas (ETM1) to (ETM31), and the hole transport material is taught to include compounds represented by formulas (HTM1) to (HTM10) ([0051], [0122]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the controller of Iwashita in the claims of the ‘137 application, in view of improving cleaning of the toner.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,468,255 B2 (hereinafter “the ‘255 patent”).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim sets recite sufficiently similar electrophotographic image forming apparatuses that fall within the same scope of one another.
For instance, both claim sets recite an electrophotographic image forming apparatus comprising an image bearing member, a charger, a light exposure device, a development device, and a transfer device, wherein the image bearing member is an electrophotographic photosensitive member comprising a conductive substrate, an intermediate layer provided on the conductive substrate and a photosensitive layer provided on the intermediate layer.
In both claim sets, the intermediate layer contains a polyamide resin and inorganic particles each including a metal oxide particle, like titanium oxide, and a surface treatment layer covering at least part of a surface of the metal oxide particle. In both claim sets, the surface treatment layer includes at least one of aluminum oxide, silica, and zirconia, and the polyamide resin includes a first repeating unit derived from an aliphatic dicarboxylic acid having a carbon number of from 8 to 20, and a second repeating unit derived from a diamine compound having a cycloalkane structure.
In both claim sets, a total percentage of the first repeating unit and the second repeating unit is 80% mol or more with respect to all repeating units in the polyamide resin, and the inorganic particles have a number average primary particle diameter of at least 5 nm and no greater than 100 nm and content of at least 50 parts by mass and no greater than 1000 parts by mass relative to 100 parts by mass of the specific polyamide resin in the intermediate layer.
The ‘255 patent appears to be silent to recite that the image forming apparatus includes a controller that controls voltage to be applied to the cleaning member, or that the controller causes a first voltage with negative polarity to be applied to the cleaning member in a printing mode. The ‘255 patent also appears to be silent to recite that the controller causes a second voltage with positive polarity to be applied to the cleaning member in a cleaning mode.
However, such configuration was known before the effective filing date of the ‘255 patent. Iwashita teaches an image forming apparatus including an image bearing member, a charger, a light exposure device, a development device, a transfer device, a cleaning member, and a static eliminator ([0008]-[0009]). The image forming apparatus is taught to further include a controller including a central processing unit (CPU), random-access memory (RAM), read-only memory (ROM), and an input and output interface ([0197]). The controller is taught to control the voltage applicator to control voltage applied to the cleaning member ([0217]).
Specifically, the controller is taught to cause positive voltage application by the charger in printing mode by charging the surface of the image bearing member to the positive polarity. As such, a positively charged toner is collected by being electrostatically moved from the positively charged surface of the image bearing member into the cleaning member, to which a first negative voltage is applied ([0224]). In the cleaning mode after separation of the development device, the controller is taught to control the voltage applicator to apply a second positive voltage to the cleaning member ([0231]).
The photosensitive layer is taught to be a single layer and contains a charge generating material, an electron transport material, a binder resin, and a hole transport material ([0029]). The charge generating material is taught to include titanyl phthalocyanine having a Y-form crystal structure ([0031]-[0035]). The electron transport material is taught to include compounds represented by formulas (ETM1) to (ETM31), and the hole transport material is taught to include compounds represented by formulas (HTM1) to (HTM10) ([0051], [0122]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the controller of Iwashita in the claims of the ‘255 patent, in view of improving cleaning of the toner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites that “the hole transport material includes at least one of compounds represented by formulas (HTM-1) to (HTM-8) below”. However, formulas (ETM-1) to (ETM-8) are then subsequently shown. According to pg. 27-28 of the instant specification, formulas (ETM-1) to (ETM-8) depict examples of electron transport materials, not hole transport materials (see pg. 21-22 of the instant specification). Moreover, formulas (HTM-1) to (HTM-8) are absent from the claim.
For purposes of examination, claim 11 will be interpreted as rereferring to electron transport materials including at least one of compounds represented by the formulas (ETM-1) to (ETM-8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwashita et al. (US PGP 2022/0100110 A1), in view of Sakimura (JP 4288949 B2) (references herein made with respect to English machine translation attached).
Iwashita teaches an image forming apparatus including an image bearing member, a charger, a light exposure device, a development device, a transfer device, a cleaning member, and a static eliminator ([0008]-[0009]) (which reads on the corresponding limitations recited in instant claim 1 and claim 8). The image forming apparatus is taught to further include a controller including a central processing unit (CPU), random-access memory (RAM), read-only memory (ROM), and an input and output interface ([0197]). The controller is taught to control the voltage applicator to control voltage applied to the cleaning member ([0217]) (which reads on the corresponding limitations recited in instant claim 1).
Specifically, the controller is taught to cause positive voltage application by the charger in printing mode by charging the surface of the image bearing member to the positive polarity. As such, a positively charged toner is collected by being electrostatically moved from the positively charged surface of the image bearing member into the cleaning member, to which a first negative voltage is applied ([0224]) (which reads on the corresponding limitation recited in instant claim 1). In the cleaning mode after separation of the development device, the controller is taught to control the voltage applicator to apply a second positive voltage to the cleaning member ([0231]) (which reads on the corresponding limitation recited in instant claim 7).
The image bearing member is taught to be an electrophotographic photosensitive member including a conductive substrate and a photosensitive layer ([0025]). An intermediate layer is taught to be present between the conductive substrate and the photosensitive layer ([0026]) (which reads on the corresponding limitation recited in instant claim 1).
The intermediate layer is taught to contain inorganic particles and a resin. The presence of the intermediate layer is taught to facilitate flow of current generated when the photosensitive member is exposed to light and inhibit increasing resistance, while also maintaining insulation to inhibit charge leakage ([0185]). The inorganic particles are taught to include particles of metals and metal oxides, such as titanium oxide ([0186]) (which reads on the corresponding limitation recited in instant claim 2).
The photosensitive layer is taught to be a single layer and contains a charge generating material, an electron transport material, a binder resin, and a hole transport material ([0029]) (which reads on the corresponding limitation recited in instant claim 9). The charge generating material is taught to include titanyl phthalocyanine having a Y-form crystal structure ([0031]-[0035]) (which reads on the corresponding limitation recited in instant claim 10). The electron transport material is taught to include compounds represented by formulas (ETM1) to (ETM31), and the hole transport material is taught to include compounds represented by formulas (HTM1) to (HTM10) ([0051], [0122]) (which reads on the corresponding limitations recited in instant claim 11 and claim 12).
Iwashita teaches that the resin of the intermediate layer includes polyamide resins ([0098], [0187]), but it silent to teach or suggest the composition of a suitable polyamide resin. Iwashita also appears to be silent to teach or suggest suitable surface treatments for the inorganic particles.
Sakimura teaches an image forming apparatus comprising a latent image forming means for forming an electrostatic latent image on an electrophotographic photoreceptor (image bearing member) having a repeating unit structure represented by a general formula (1), wherein the intermediate layer between a conductive support and a photosensitive layer contains a polyamide resin, the polyamide resin contains 60 to 100 mol% of a repeating unit amide structure having 7 to 30 carbon atoms between amide bonds and 10 mol% or more of a non-linear repeating unit amide structure ([0026]). The polyamide having the specific structure is taught to improve solvent solubility and reduce black spots and environmental memory ([0036]). The image forming apparatus is also taught to include a charger, a light exposure device, a development device, a transfer device, and a cleaning member (Fig. 1, [0160]).
The intermediate layer is taught to further contain metal oxide particles that are hydrophobized using hydrophobic treatment agents such as titanium coupling agents, silane coupling agents, high molecular weight fatty acids, or their metal salts ([0098]). Specific examples of the hydrophobic treatment agents include stearic acid and siloxane compounds ([0099]-[0100]) (which reads on the corresponding limitations recited in instant claim 5 and claim 6). The inclusion of the hydrophobized metal oxide particles into the polyamide resin is taught to improve the electrophotographic properties of the photoreceptor, particularly with respect to humidity dependence of the potential during repeated use ([0101]).
The primary particle diameter of the metal oxide particles dispersed and contained in the polyamide resin is taught to be 10 to 400 nm ([0058]) (which reads on the corresponding limitation recited in instant claim 14). Additionally, the amount of metal oxide particles dispersed in the polyamide resin is taught to be 10 to 10,000 parts by mass, preferably 50 to 1,000 parts by mass, with respect to the polyamide resin ([0094]) (which reads on the corresponding limitation recited in instant claim 13).
In the examples, a polyamide resin N-12 including 15 mol% of nylon 12, 75 mol% of isophoronediamine (IPDA), and 15 mol% of dodecanedioic acid (carbon number = 12) is mentioned as a suitable example of the polyamide of the intermediate layer
([0051]-[0053]). The polyamide resin N-12 is shown below:
In other words, a total percentage content of a repeating unit derived from an aliphatic dicarboxylic acid (dodecanedioic acid) and a repeating unit derived from a diamine compound (IPDA) was 90 mol% with respect to all repeating units included in the polyamide resin (which reads on the corresponding limitation recited in instant claim 1).
In the polyamide resin N-12, the diamine repeating unit has a cycloalkane structure and the aliphatic dicarboxylic acid has a carbon number of 12 (which reads on the corresponding limitations recited in instant claim 3 and claim 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the polyamide resin of Sakimura in the intermediate layer of Iwashita, in view of improving solvent solubility, reducing black spots and environmental memory, and improving the electrophotographic properties of the photoreceptor, particularly with respect to humidity dependence of the potential during repeated use.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
U.S. Pre-Grant Publication 2011/0085823 A1 to Katayama et al. teaches an electrophotographic photoreceptor comprising a conductive support, a photosensitive layer, and an intermediate layer interposed between the conductive support and the photosensitive layer. The intermediate layer is taught to contain metal oxide microparticles surface-treated with silicon dioxide anhydride and a binder resin, where the binder resin contains a polyamide resin containing a piperazine-based compound (Abstract).
The polyamide resin is taught to be obtained by polymerizing a piperazine-based compound with an aliphatic di- or tri-carboxylic acid compound ([0043]). The polyamide may contain other structural units so long as they are provided in an amount of 50 mol% or less ([0070]).
/BOONE ALEXANDER EVANS/Examiner, Art Unit 1737
08/19/2026