DETAILED ACTION
The pending claims are new claims 21-40.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shin et al., US 2019/0139714.
Regarding claim 21, Shin et al., teaches a solventless (solvent-free) (0026) method for manufacturing an electrode (abstract), the method comprising: mixing a first plurality of active material particles (0041) with a first binder (0007; 0012) to form a first dry electrode mixture (0026; 0034); mixing a first plurality of electrochemically inactive ceramic particles (0051) with a second binder (0007; 0010) to form a second dry electrode mixture (0045; 0050); compressing the first dry electrode mixture (0037) to form a first stand-alone electrode film (free-standing; 0007; 0010); compressing the second dry electrode mixture to form a second stand-alone electrode film (0010; 0025); forming an electrode stack by stacking the first stand-alone electrode film onto a current collector and the second stand-alone electrode film onto the first stand-alone electrode film (0034); and compressing the electrode stack (0034; 0037; 0083).
Regarding claim 22, Shin et al., teaches further comprising heating (0066; 0071) the first stand- alone electrode film (0007; 0010) and the second stand-alone electrode film (0012), thereby adhering the first plurality of active material particles (0095-0096) and the first binder together (0010; 0012), and thereby adhering the first plurality of electrochemically inactive ceramic particles (0006; 0095-0096) and the second binder together (0007; 0010; 0012).
Regarding claim 23, Shin et al., teaches further comprising heating the electrode stack (0066; 0071; 0082), thereby adhering (0095-0096) the first stand-alone electrode film (0010; 0012) and the second stand-alone electrode film to each other (claim 26).
Regarding claim 24, Shin et al., teaches further comprising: mixing a first plurality of electrically conductive carbon particles (0038) with a third binder to form a third dry electrode mixture (claim 6); compressing the third dry electrode mixture to form a third stand-alone electrode film (0096); and stacking the third stand-alone electrode film (0010) between the current collector (0006; 0012) and the first stand-alone electrode film (0007; 0010; 0025).
Regarding claim 25, Shin et al., teaches wherein the electrode is an anode (0026; 0046; 0054).
Regarding claim 26, Shin et al., teaches wherein the first binder (0007; 0010) and the second binder (0007; 0010; 0012) each comprise a mixture of polytetrafluoroethylene (0034; 0038) and a polyolefin (0038; 0058).
Regarding claim 27, Shin et al., teaches wherein the polyolefin comprises polyvinylidene difluoride (0038; 0055).
Regarding claim 28, Shin et al., teaches wherein compressing (0018) the first dry electrode mixture (0037) and compressing the second dry electrode mixture includes pressing each dry electrode mixture between a pair of rollers (0034; 0089).
Regarding claim 29, Shin et al., teaches wherein at least one roller of the pair of rollers (0034; 0089) includes a pattern disposed on an external surface (surface morphology) (0020), wherein the at least one roller is configured to increase a surface roughness of an electrode film (0089) compressed between the pair of rollers (0025; 0089).
Regarding claim 30, Shin et al., teaches further comprising increasing adhesion between the first stand-alone electrode film (0010) and the second stand-alone electrode film (0010) by applying a solvent spray to one or more surfaces of the first stand-alone electrode film (0030) and the second stand-alone electrode film (0025; claim 17).
Regarding claim 31, Shin et al., teaches further comprising increasing adhesion between the first stand-alone electrode film and the second stand-alone electrode film (0006) by applying an adhesive spray comprising solvated binder molecules to one or more surfaces of the first stand-alone electrode film and the second stand-alone electrode film (0031; 0096).
Regarding claim 32, Shin et al., teaches further comprising increasing adhesion (0006) between the first stand-alone electrode film (0030) and the second stand-alone electrode film (0025) by applying a spray (0030) including a solvated conductive carbon material (0038; 0048; 0061) to one or more surfaces of the first stand-alone electrode film (0007) and the second stand-alone electrode film (0010).
Regarding claim 33, Shin et al., teaches further comprising increasing adhesion (0006; 0029; 0031) between the first stand-alone electrode film and the second stand-alone electrode film by pressing the electrode stack (0018; 0034) between a pair of calendering rollers (0088; 0090; 0095).
Regarding claim 34, Shin et al., teaches further comprising compressing the current collector (0034; 0083; 0088) between a pair of patterned rollers (0025; 0089), such that the patterned rollers (“surface morphology”; 0020) increase a surface roughness of the current collector (0097).
Regarding claim 35, Shin et al., teaches the method comprising: compressing (0034; 0088) a first dry electrode mixture (0026; 0034) between a first pair of rollers to form a first stand-alone electrode film (0025; 0089); compressing a second dry electrode mixture (0034; 0083; 0088) between a second pair of rollers (0088; 0090; 0095) to form a second stand-alone electrode film (0010; claim 17); stacking the first stand-alone electrode film onto a current collector (0006; 0012); forming an electrode stack by stacking the second stand-alone electrode film onto the first stand-alone electrode film (0006; 0012; claim 17), such that a first surface of the first stand-alone electrode film is adjacent to a second surface of the second stand-alone electrode film (0010; claim 17) ; and compressing the electrode stack (0034; 0083; 0088); wherein the first dry electrode mixture (0035) comprises a first plurality of active material particles (0007; 0010) and a first binder mixture (0007; 0010; 0012); and wherein the second dry electrode mixture (0007; 0010) comprises a plurality of electrochemically inactive ceramic particles (0051) and a second binder mixture (0007; 0010; 0012).
Regarding claim 36, Shin et al., teaches wherein the first binder mixture (0007; 0010; 0012) comprises a fibrilizable polymer material (0034; 0038) mixed with a non-fibrilizable polymer material (0038; 0055).
Regarding claim 37, Shin et al., teaches, wherein the fibrilizable polymer material comprises polytetrafluorethylene (0034; 0038; 0055), and wherein the non-fibrilizable polymer material comprises a polyolefin (0038; 0055).
Regarding claim 38, Shin et al., teaches further comprising heating the first stand- alone electrode film and the second stand-alone electrode film (0066; 0071), thereby adhering the first plurality of active material particles (0006; 0028; 0077) and the first binder mixture together (0007; 0010; 0012), and thereby adhering the plurality of electrochemically inactive ceramic particles and the second binder mixture together (0007; 0010; 0012).
Regarding claim 39, Shin et al., teaches further comprising heating the electrode stack (0066; 0071), thereby adhering the first stand-alone electrode film and the second stand-alone electrode film to each other (0006; 0029; 0031).
Regarding claim 40, Shin et al., teaches the method comprising: compressing (0018; 0034; 0088) a first dry electrode mixture (0026; 0034-0035) between a first pair of rollers to form a first stand-alone electrode film (0051); compressing a second dry electrode mixture between a second pair of rollers (0025; 0089) to form a second stand-alone electrode film (0007; 0010); stacking the first stand-alone electrode film onto a current collector (0012); forming an electrode stack (0012) by stacking the second stand-alone electrode film onto the first standalone electrode film (0010), such that a first surface of the first stand-alone electrode film is adjacent to a second surface of the second stand-alone electrode film (0032; 0045); and compressing the electrode stack (0018; 0034; 0037).
Thus, the claims are anticipated.
Conclusion
ANGELA J. MARTIN
Examiner
Art Unit 1727
/ANGELA J MARTIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1727