DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-10, 12-16, 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. (US# 2023/0179293 hereinafter referred to as Hwang) in view of NPL “Discussion on mobility requirements for NTN” (hereinafter referred to as CATT).
RE Claim 1, Hwang discloses A communication method, wherein the method comprises:
receiving, by a terminal device, a first parameter sent by a network device (See Hwang [0194]-[0195] – UE receives service start/end time from NTN cell), wherein the first parameter is used to indicate a time at which a first non-terrestrial network (NTN) cell stops serving a current coverage area (See Hwang [0194]-[0195] – UE receives service start/end time from NTN cell) when the terminal device is in an RRC connected state (See Hwang [0069], [0194] – can be for connected state or non connected state (i.e. IDLE, Inactive, etc…)), and the first NTN cell is a special cell (SpCell) of the terminal device (See Hwang [0108], Table 7 – applicable to SpCells); and
in a case in which the terminal device is in the RRC connected state and before the time indicated by the first parameter, starting, by the terminal device, measurement for a neighboring cell (See Hwang [0194]-[0195] – before service end time, UE starts neighbor cell measurements);
wherein the first parameter is indicated by a system broadcast (See Hwang [0195] – can be broadcasted to UEs) and/or dedicated signaling of the terminal device (See Hwang [0203] – can be dedicated signaling to UE),
wherein the method further comprises:
obtaining, by the terminal device, a second parameter, wherein the second parameter is used to indicate a time at which a second NTN cell starts to serve the current coverage area, and the second NTN cell is a neighboring cell of the terminal device (See Hwang Figs 17a-17b; [0241]-[0251] – UE receiving parameters for neighbor cell; UE uses neighbor cell parameters to determine time at which the neighbor NTN cell starts to serve the current coverage area (i.e. handover); See also CATT Section 2, pg. 2, Box 1 – two UTC time to indicate the start (T1) and end time (T2) of the candidate cell).
Hwang does not specifically disclose the UE performing radio resource management (RRM) measurement of the neighboring cell; or
if the terminal device has started the RRM measurement for a neighboring cell before the time indicated by the second parameter, starting, by the terminal device, to execute RRM measurement for the second NTN cell at the time indicated by the second parameter or after the time indicated by the second parameter; or
if the terminal device does not start the RRM measurement for a neighboring cell before the time indicated by the second parameter, starting, by the terminal device, to execute RRM measurement for the second NTN cell at a time when the terminal device starts the RRM measurement for a neighboring cell.
However, CATT teaches of performing radio resource management (RRM) measurement of the neighboring cell (See CATT Section 1, Section 2 – RRM requirements for NTN measurement); and
if the terminal device has started the RRM measurement for a neighboring cell before the time indicated by the second parameter, starting, by the terminal device, to execute RRM measurement for the second NTN cell at the time indicated by the second parameter or after the time indicated by the second parameter; or
if the terminal device does not start the RRM measurement for a neighboring cell before the time indicated by the second parameter, starting, by the terminal device (CATT Section 2, pg. 2, Box 1 – two UTC time to indicate the start (T1) and end time (T2) of the candidate cell; if UE does not start RRM measurement before candidate cell start time (up to UE implementation – pg 1. Box 1)), to execute RRM measurement for the second NTN cell at a time when the terminal device starts the RRM measurement for a neighboring cell (See CATT Section 2, pg. 1, Box 1 – exact time to start measurements is up to UE implementation; second NTN is a neighboring cell so whenever it is decided to start RRM measurements for second NTN cell is same time when UE starts RRM measurements for a neighboring cell).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the NTN coverage and measurement system, as disclosed in Hwang, comprising performing radio resource management (RRM) measurement of the neighboring cell, and if the terminal device has started the RRM measurement for a neighboring cell before the time indicated by the second parameter, starting, by the terminal device, to execute RRM measurement for the second NTN cell at the time indicated by the second parameter or after the time indicated by the second parameter; or if the terminal device does not start the RRM measurement for a neighboring cell before the time indicated by the second parameter, starting, by the terminal device, to execute RRM measurement for the second NTN cell at a time when the terminal device starts the RRM measurement for a neighboring cell, as taught in CATT. One is motivated as such in order to better handle cell selection and reselection and handover cases in an NTN environment (See CATT Section 1).
RE Claim 2, Hwang, modified by CATT, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 1 above, wherein the first parameter is further used to indicate a time at which the first NTN cell stops serving the current coverage area when the terminal device is in an RRC non-connected state (See Hwang [0194]-[0195] – applicable to RRC non-connected state (i.e. IDLE, INACTIVE, etc…)).
RE Claim 3, Hwang, modified by CATT, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 1 above, wherein the starting, by the terminal device, RRM measurement for a neighboring cell comprises:
in a case in which the first NTN cell meets an S-measure criterion, starting, by the terminal device, the RRM measurement for a neighboring cell (See Hwang [0123], [0125] – if S criterion is met (i.e. current cell does not fulfill the requirement), starting measurement of neighbor cell).
RE Claim 4, Hwang, modified by CATT, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 1 above, wherein the method further comprises: determining, by the terminal device according to the first parameter, a time at which the RRM measurement for a neighboring cell is started (See Hwang [0195]-[0196] – UE can determine the measurement start time based on the indicated service stop time (i.e. certain amount of time X before stop time)).
RE Claim 6, Hwang, modified by CATT, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 1 above, wherein the obtaining, by the terminal device, the second parameter comprises:
receiving, by the terminal device, the second parameter sent by the network device (See Hwang Figs 17a-17b; [0241]-[0251] – UE receiving parameters for neighbor cell; See also CATT Section 2, pg. 2, Box 1 – receiving start time/end time for candidate cell via RRC Reconfiguration);
wherein the second parameter is indicated by a system broadcast (See Hwang Figs 17a-17b; [0241]-[0251] – configuration parameters can be broadcasted; See also CATT Section 2, pg. 1 – RRC configuration can be broadcasted) and/or dedicated signaling of the terminal device (See Hwang [0203] – configuration can be dedicated signaling to UE).
RE Claim 7, Hwang, modified by CATT, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 1 above, wherein the obtaining, by the terminal device, the second parameter comprises: determining, by the terminal device, the second parameter according to ephemeris information of the second NTN cell (See Hwang Figs 17a-17b; [0241]-[0251] – UE determines neighbor cell start time (i.e. handover) based on location/position information; See also CATT Section 2, pg. 2, Box 2 – Option C: location and RRM).
RE Claim 9, Hwang discloses a network device (See Hwang FIGs 1-2 – network device), comprising a memory and a processor (See Hwang FIG 2 – device comprising memory and processor), wherein the memory is configured to store a program, and the processor is configured to invoke the program in the memory to execute:
sending a first parameter to a terminal device (See Hwang [0194]-[0195] – network device sends service start/end time to UE), wherein the first parameter is used to indicate a time at which a first non-terrestrial network (NTN) cell stops serving a current coverage area (See Hwang [0194]-[0195] – NTN cell sends service start/end time to UE) when the terminal device is in an RRC connected state (See Hwang [0069], [0194] – can be for connected state or non connected state (i.e. IDLE, Inactive, etc…)), and the first NTN cell is a special cell (SpCell) of the terminal device (See Hwang [0108], Table 7 – applicable to SpCells);
wherein the first parameter is indicated by a system broadcast (See Hwang [0195] – can be broadcasted to UEs) and/or dedicated signaling of the terminal device (See Hwang [0203] – can be dedicated signaling to UE);
wherein the processor is configured to invoke the program in the memory to further execute:
sending a second parameter to the terminal device, wherein the second parameter is used to indicate a time at which a second NTN cell starts to serve the current coverage area, and the second NTN cell is a neighboring cell of the terminal device (See Hwang Figs 17a-17b; [0241]-[0251] – UE receiving parameters for neighbor cell; UE uses neighbor cell parameters to determine time at which the neighbor NTN cell starts to serve the current coverage area (i.e. handover); See also CATT Section 2, pg. 2, Box 1 – two UTC time to indicate the start (T1) and end time (T2) of the candidate cell).
Hwang does not specifically
Wherein if the terminal device has started the RRM measurement for a neighboring cell before the time indicated by the second parameter, the terminal device starts to execute RRM measurement for the second NTN cell at the time indicated by the second parameter or after the time indicated by the second parameter; or
if the terminal device does not start the RRM measurement for a neighboring cell before the time indicated by the second parameter, the terminal device starts to execute RRM measurement for the second NTN cell at a time when the terminal device starts the RRM measurement for a neighboring cell.
However, CATT teaches of performing radio resource management (RRM) measurement of the neighboring cell (See CATT Section 1, Section 2 – RRM requirements for NTN measurement); and
Wherein if the terminal device has started the RRM measurement for a neighboring cell before the time indicated by the second parameter, the terminal device starts to execute RRM measurement for the second NTN cell at the time indicated by the second parameter or after the time indicated by the second parameter; or
if the terminal device does not start the RRM measurement for a neighboring cell before the time indicated by the second parameter, the terminal device starts (CATT Section 2, pg. 2, Box 1 – two UTC time to indicate the start (T1) and end time (T2) of the candidate cell; if UE does not start RRM measurement before candidate cell start time (up to UE implementation – pg 1. Box 1)) to execute RRM measurement for the second NTN cell at a time when the terminal device starts the RRM measurement for a neighboring cell (See CATT Section 2, pg. 1, Box 1 – exact time to start measurements is up to UE implementation; second NTN is a neighboring cell so whenever it is decided to start RRM measurements for second NTN cell is same time when UE starts RRM measurements for a neighboring cell).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the NTN coverage and measurement system, as disclosed in Hwang, Wherein if the terminal device has started the RRM measurement for a neighboring cell before the time indicated by the second parameter, the terminal device starts to execute RRM measurement for the second NTN cell at the time indicated by the second parameter or after the time indicated by the second parameter; or
if the terminal device does not start the RRM measurement for a neighboring cell before the time indicated by the second parameter, the terminal device starts to execute RRM measurement for the second NTN cell at a time when the terminal device starts the RRM measurement for a neighboring cell, as taught in CATT. One is motivated as such in order to better handle cell selection and reselection and handover cases in an NTN environment (See CATT Section 1).
RE Claim 10, Hwang, modified by CATT, discloses a network device, as set forth in claim 9 above, wherein the first parameter is further used to indicate a time at which the first NTN cell stops serving the current coverage area when the terminal device is in an RRC non-connected state (See Hwang [0194]-[0195] – applicable to RRC non-connected state (i.e. IDLE, INACTIVE, etc…)).
RE Claim 12, Hwang, modified by CATT, discloses a network device, as set forth in claim 9 above, wherein the second parameter is indicated by a system broadcast (See Hwang [0195] – can be broadcasted to UEs) and/or dedicated signalling of the terminal device (See Hwang [0203] – can be dedicated signaling to UE).
RE Claim 13, Hwang discloses terminal device, comprising a memory (See Hwang FIGs 1-2 – terminal device), comprising a memory and a processor (See Hwang FIG 2 – device comprising memory and processor), wherein the memory is configured to store a program, and the processor is configured to invoke the program in the memory to execute:
receiving a first parameter sent by a network device (See Hwang [0194]-[0195] – UE receives service start/end time from NTN cell), wherein the first parameter is used to indicate a time at which a first non-terrestrial network (NTN) cell stops serving a current coverage area (See Hwang [0194]-[0195] – UE receives service start/end time from NTN cell) when the terminal device is in an RRC connected state (See Hwang [0069], [0194] – can be for connected state or non connected state (i.e. IDLE, Inactive, etc…)), and the first NTN cell is a special cell (SpCell) of the terminal device (See Hwang [0108], Table 7 – applicable to SpCells); and
in a case in which the terminal device is in the RRC connected state and before the time indicated by the first parameter, starting, by the terminal device, measurement for a neighboring cell (See Hwang [0194]-[0195] – before service end time, UE starts neighbor cell measurements);
wherein the first parameter is indicated by a system broadcast (See Hwang [0195] – can be broadcasted to UEs) and/or dedicated signaling of the terminal device (See Hwang [0203] – can be dedicated signaling to UE),
wherein the processor is configured to invoke the program in the memory to further execute:
obtaining, by the terminal device, a second parameter, wherein the second parameter is used to indicate a time at which a second NTN cell starts to serve the current coverage area, and the second NTN cell is a neighboring cell of the terminal device (See Hwang Figs 17a-17b; [0241]-[0251] – UE receiving parameters for neighbor cell; UE uses neighbor cell parameters to determine time at which the neighbor NTN cell starts to serve the current coverage area (i.e. handover); See also CATT Section 2, pg. 2, Box 1 – two UTC time to indicate the start (T1) and end time (T2) of the candidate cell).
Hwang does not specifically disclose the UE performing radio resource management (RRM) measurement of the neighboring cell; or
if the terminal device has started the RRM measurement for a neighboring cell before the time indicated by the second parameter, starting to execute RRM measurement for the second NTN cell at the time indicated by the second parameter or after the time indicated by the second parameter; or
if the terminal device does not start the RRM measurement for a neighboring cell before the time indicated by the second parameter, starting to execute RRM measurement for the second NTN cell at a time when the terminal device starts the RRM measurement for a neighboring cell.
However, CATT teaches of performing radio resource management (RRM) measurement of the neighboring cell (See CATT Section 1, Section 2 – RRM requirements for NTN measurement); and
if the terminal device has started the RRM measurement for a neighboring cell before the time indicated by the second parameter, starting to execute RRM measurement for the second NTN cell at the time indicated by the second parameter or after the time indicated by the second parameter; or
if the terminal device does not start the RRM measurement for a neighboring cell before the time indicated by the second parameter, starting (CATT Section 2, pg. 2, Box 1 – two UTC time to indicate the start (T1) and end time (T2) of the candidate cell; if UE does not start RRM measurement before candidate cell start time (up to UE implementation – pg 1. Box 1)), to execute RRM measurement for the second NTN cell at a time when the terminal device starts the RRM measurement for a neighboring cell (See CATT Section 2, pg. 1, Box 1 – exact time to start measurements is up to UE implementation; second NTN is a neighboring cell so whenever it is decided to start RRM measurements for second NTN cell is same time when UE starts RRM measurements for a neighboring cell).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the NTN coverage and measurement system, as disclosed in Hwang, comprising performing radio resource management (RRM) measurement of the neighboring cell, and if the terminal device has started the RRM measurement for a neighboring cell before the time indicated by the second parameter, starting to execute RRM measurement for the second NTN cell at the time indicated by the second parameter or after the time indicated by the second parameter; or if the terminal device does not start the RRM measurement for a neighboring cell before the time indicated by the second parameter, starting to execute RRM measurement for the second NTN cell at a time when the terminal device starts the RRM measurement for a neighboring cell, as taught in CATT. One is motivated as such in order to better handle cell selection and reselection and handover cases in an NTN environment (See CATT Section 1).
RE Claim 14, Hwang, modified by CATT, discloses a terminal device, as set forth in claim 13 above, wherein the first parameter is further used to indicate a time at which the first NTN cell stops serving the current coverage area when the terminal device is in an RRC non-connected state (See Hwang [0194]-[0195] – applicable to RRC non-connected state (i.e. IDLE, INACTIVE, etc…)).
RE Claim 15, Hwang, modified by CATT, discloses a terminal device, as set forth in claim 13 above, wherein the starting RRM measurement for a neighboring cell comprises:
in a case in which the first NTN cell meets an S-measure criterion, starting, by the terminal device, the RRM measurement for a neighboring cell (See Hwang [0123], [0125] – if S criterion is met (i.e. current cell does not fulfill the requirement), starting measurement of neighbor cell).
RE Claim 16, Hwang, modified by CATT, discloses a terminal device, as set forth in claim 13 above, wherein the processor is configured to invoke the program in the memory to further execute:
determining according to the first parameter, a time at which the RRM measurement for a neighboring cell is started (See Hwang [0195]-[0196] – UE can determine the measurement start time based on the indicated service stop time (i.e. certain amount of time X before stop time)).
RE Claim 18, Hwang, modified by CATT, discloses a terminal device, as set forth in claim 13 above, wherein the obtaining the second parameter comprises:
receiving the second parameter sent by the network device (See Hwang Figs 17a-17b; [0241]-[0251] – UE receiving parameters for neighbor cell; See also CATT Section 2, pg. 2, Box 1 – receiving start time/end time for candidate cell via RRC Reconfiguration);
wherein the second parameter is indicated by a system broadcast (See Hwang Figs 17a-17b; [0241]-[0251] – configuration parameters can be broadcasted; See also CATT Section 2, pg. 1 – RRC configuration can be broadcasted) and/or dedicated signaling of the terminal device (See Hwang [0203] – configuration can be dedicated signaling to UE).
RE Claim 19, Hwang, modified by CATT, discloses a terminal device, as set forth in claim 13 above, wherein the obtaining the second parameter comprises: determining the second parameter according to ephemeris information of the second NTN cell (See Hwang Figs 17a-17b; [0241]-[0251] – UE determines neighbor cell start time (i.e. handover) based on location/position information; See also CATT Section 2, pg. 2, Box 2 – Option C: location and RRM).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/07/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant's argument that the cited references do not teach the elements of the claim language, specifically, that Hwang nor CATT discloses “claimed two-branch logic based on whether the terminal device has already started neighboring-cell RRM measurement before the time indicated by the second parameter”, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Examiner submits that the claim language does not require a “two-branch logic” as the last two limitations are presented as an “OR” clause. That is, broadly construed, the claim language only requires one of the “two branches”, not necessarily both. In the case of the cited references, CATT teaches the second scenario (i.e. if the terminal device does not start the RRM measurement for the neighboring cell before the time…See Claims above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Sun et al. (US# 2023/0040380 – which teaches of determining RRM measurement behavior and starting RRM measurement).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVE R YOUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477