DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s response filed 29 April 2026 has been considered and entered. Accordingly, claims 1-6, 8-16, and 18-20 are pending in this application. Claims 7 and 17 are cancelled; claims 1, 9, 11, and 19 are currently amended; claims 2-6, 8, 10, 12-16, 18, and 20 are as previously presented.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6, 8-16, and 18-20 are is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,995,060 B2, in view of Mosko et al. (previously presented)(US 9,473,405 B2), hereinafter Mosko.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,995,060 B2, as modified with Mosko, renders obvious the features of claims 1-20 of the instant application as set forth in the table below.
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 11,995,060 B2
1. A computer-implemented method, comprising:
identifying a data set to hash, the data set comprising a set of data blocks;
generating, by a first hash engine, a first hash for each data block in the set of data blocks within the data set at a start position; and
concurrently generating, by a second hash engine, a second hash for each data block in the set of data blocks within the data set at a first non-zero offset relative to the start position.
deduplicating a particular data block in the data set based on either the first hash or the second hash by replacing the particular data block with pointer data to another electronic storage location that stores the same data as the particular data block; and
compressing non-duplicate data of the data set based on a compression block size that is different from a hash block size used to generate the first hash and the second hash
1. A method, comprising:
identifying a data set to hash based on a first hash block size, the data set comprising a set of data blocks;
generating, by a first hash engine, a first hash for each data block in the set of data blocks within the data set, wherein the first hash engine is configured to generate the first hash based on the first hash block size;
(A hash must start somewhere and thus generating in the patent inherently includes a start position)
generating, by a second hash engine, a second hash for each data block in the set of data blocks within the data set, wherein the second hash engine is configured to generate the second hash based on a second hash block size, the first hash block size being different than the second hash block size;
(The instant application does not state what the relative offset is from the start for the start of the second hash. As such, they can be at any position such as what can be done by the patent so long as some non-zero offset from the start of the first hash is also hashed in the second hash.)
deduplicating the data set is based on the first hash and the second hash; and
compressing the data set based on a compression block size, the first hash block size being a different block size than the compression block size.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the first hash engine is configured to generate the first hash starting at a first bit of the data set, wherein the second hash engine is configured to generate the second hash at a second bit of the data set.
6. The method of claim 5, wherein the first bit of the data set is bit zero, wherein the second bit of the data set is determined based on an offset from the first bit.
(Claims 5-6, though not required, further clarify the non-zero offset)
Claim 1 does not explicitly disclose concurrently generating the second hash. However, Mosko discloses concurrently generating, by a second hash engine, a second hash for within the data set at a first non-zero offset relative to the start position (Figs. 7A-7C; Col. 5, Lines 1-15; Col. 6, Lines 5-20 and 38-56; Col. 7, Lines 56-63, A plurality of hashers, i.e. hash engines, are fed replicated incoming data to hash concurrently at differing start offsets. E.g. a first hash engine uses SHA-256 hashing on an entire message body (e.g. starting at offset 20), while concurrently/in parallel, a second hash engine will start hashing the body at offset 24 using SipHash.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of US Pat No. 11,995,060 with the teachings of Mosko by modifying US Pat No. 11,995,060 such that the multiple hashes of the data set are performed concurrently/in parallel like Mosko. Said artisan would have been motivated to do so in order to more efficiently use available resources so as to obtain hashing results more quickly by utilizing parallel processing as is a common practice in the art while also hashing desired different portions of the same dataset like is done in US Pat No. 11,995,060.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the data set is associated with a data transform pipeline.
A method…
deduplicating the data set is based on the first hash and the second hash; and
compressing the data set based on a compression block size, the first hash block size being a different block size than the compression block size.
(The data set is deduplicated and compressed, i.e. transformed.)
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the first hash and the second hash are computed before a compression operation is performed in an encode pipeline.
1. A method, comprising:
identifying a data set to hash based on a first hash block size, the data set comprising a set of data blocks;
generating, by a first hash engine, a first hash for each data block in the set of data blocks within the data set, wherein the first hash engine is configured to generate the first hash based on the first hash block size;
generating, by a second hash engine, a second hash for each data block in the set of data blocks within the data set, wherein the second hash engine is configured to generate the second hash based on a second hash block size, the first hash block size being different than the second hash block size;
deduplicating the data set is based on the first hash and the second hash; and
compressing the data set based on a compression block size, the first hash block size being a different block size than the compression block size.
4. The method of claim 3, wherein the compression operation includes an operation to slice the data set.
A method…
compressing the data set based on a compression block size, the first hash block size being a different block size than the compression block size.
(Compressing based on a compression block size different from hash block sizes is interpreted as slicing the data set into blocks of the block size.)
5. The method of claim 4 further comprising generating, by a third hash engine, a third hash for the data set at a second offset relative to the start position.
8. The method of claim 1, wherein the first hash block size is independent of a second hash block size of the second hash engine and of a third hash block size of a third hash engine.
(Because the second offset is not specified, it is interpreted as covering any offset, including zero. The third hash of the patent must be done at some offset, which may be zero.)
6. The method of claim 1, wherein a first hash record is created in a hash buffer for the first hash engine, wherein a second hash record is created in the hash buffer for the second hash engine.
1. A method, comprising:
identifying a data set to hash based on a first hash block size, the data set comprising a set of data blocks;
generating, by a first hash engine, a first hash for each data block in the set of data blocks within the data set, wherein the first hash engine is configured to generate the first hash based on the first hash block size;
generating, by a second hash engine, a second hash for each data block in the set of data blocks within the data set, wherein the second hash engine is configured to generate the second hash based on a second hash block size, the first hash block size being different than the second hash block size;
…
(The instant application does not place any limitations on the structure of the buffer being claimed. It is nothing more than a storage location for holding the hash being generated. Because the hashes of the patent must be stored in some entity, and because the claimed buffer merely stored the information in the same manner, the patent inherently includes an analogous hash buffer as claimed to store the hash records being generated.)
8. The method of claim 1, wherein the start position is not aligned with a first frame of the data set.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the first hash engine is configured to generate the first hash starting at a first bit of the data set, wherein the second hash engine is configured to generate the second hash at a second bit of the data set.
6. The method of claim 5, wherein the first bit of the data set is bit zero, wherein the second bit of the data set is determined based on an offset from the first bit.
9. The method of claim 1, wherein the first hash and the second hash are generated in parallel.
Mosko discloses wherein first hash and the second hash are generated in parallel. (Figs. 7A-7C; Col. 5, Lines 1-15; Col. 6, Lines 5-20 and 38-56; Col. 7, Lines 56-63, A plurality of hashers, i.e. hash engines, are fed replicated incoming data to hash concurrently at differing start offsets. E.g. a first hash engine uses SHA-256 hashing on an entire message body (e.g. starting at offset 20), while concurrently/in parallel, a second hash engine will start hashing the body at offset 24 using SipHash.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of US Pat No. 11,995,060 with the teachings of Mosko by modifying US Pat No. 11,995,060 such that the multiple hashes of the data set are performed concurrently/in parallel like Mosko. Said artisan would have been motivated to do so in order to more efficiently use available resources so as to obtain hashing results more quickly by utilizing parallel processing as is a common practice in the art while also hashing desired different portions of the same dataset like is done in US Pat No. 11,995,060.
10. The method of claim 1 further comprising identifying a first skip region prior to generating the first hash, and identifying a second skip region prior to generating the second hash.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the first hash engine is configured to generate the first hash starting at a first bit of the data set, wherein the second hash engine is configured to generate the second hash at a second bit of the data set.
6. The method of claim 5, wherein the first bit of the data set is bit zero, wherein the second bit of the data set is determined based on an offset from the first bit.
(The bit determined establishes a skip region of the bits prior to it that are not hashed.)
11. A system, comprising:
a memory; and
one or more processors coupled to the memory, the one or more processors configured to:
identify a data set to hash, the data set comprising a set of data blocks;
generate, at a first hash engine, a first hash for the data set at a start position; and
concurrently generate, at a second hash engine, a second hash for the data set at a non-zero first offset relative to the start position.
16. A system, comprising:
one or more processors and a memory, the one or more processors configured to:
identify a data set to hash based on a first hash block size, the data set comprising a set of data blocks;
implement a deduplication manager to receive the data set to deduplicate;
implement a first hash engine to generate, based on a first hash block size, a first hash for each data block in a set of data blocks within the data set based on a first hash block configuration;
(A hash must start somewhere and thus generating in the patent inherently includes a start position)
implement a second hash engine to generate a second hash for each data block in the set of data blocks within the data set based on a second hash block configuration, wherein the deduplication manager is configured to deduplicate the data set based on the first hash and the second hash; and
(The instant application does not state what the relative offset is from the start for the start of the second hash. As such, they can be at any position such as what can be done by the patent so long as some non-zero offset from the start of the first hash is also hashed in the second hash.)
implement a compression manager to compress the data set based on a compression block size without compressing duplicate data in the data set, the first hash block size being a different block size than the compression block size.
19. The system of claim 16, wherein the first hash engine is configured to generate the first hash starting at a first bit of the data set, wherein the second hash engine is configured to generate the second hash at a second bit of the data set.
(Claim 19, though not required, further clarify the non-zero offset)
Claim 16 does not explicitly disclose concurrently generating the second hash. However, Mosko discloses concurrently generating, by a second hash engine, a second hash for within the data set at a first non-zero offset relative to the start position (Figs. 7A-7C; Col. 5, Lines 1-15; Col. 6, Lines 5-20 and 38-56; Col. 7, Lines 56-63, A plurality of hashers, i.e. hash engines, are fed replicated incoming data to hash concurrently at differing start offsets. E.g. a first hash engine uses SHA-256 hashing on an entire message body (e.g. starting at offset 20), while concurrently/in parallel, a second hash engine will start hashing the body at offset 24 using SipHash.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of US Pat No. 11,995,060 with the teachings of Mosko by modifying US Pat No. 11,995,060 such that the multiple hashes of the data set are performed concurrently/in parallel like Mosko. Said artisan would have been motivated to do so in order to more efficiently use available resources so as to obtain hashing results more quickly by utilizing parallel processing as is a common practice in the art while also hashing desired different portions of the same dataset like is done in US Pat No. 11,995,060.
12. The system of claim 11, wherein the data set is associated with a data transform pipeline.
16. A system, comprising:
…
wherein the deduplication manager is configured to deduplicate the data set based on the first hash and the second hash; and
implement a compression manager to compress the data set based on a compression block size without compressing duplicate data in the data set, the first hash block size being a different block size than the compression block size.
(The data set is deduplicated and compressed, i.e. transformed.)
13. The system of claim 11, wherein the first hash and the second hash are computed before a compression operation is performed in an encode pipeline.
16. A system, comprising:
one or more processors and a memory, the one or more processors configured to:
identify a data set to hash based on a first hash block size, the data set comprising a set of data blocks;
implement a deduplication manager to receive the data set to deduplicate;
implement a first hash engine to generate, based on a first hash block size, a first hash for each data block in a set of data blocks within the data set based on a first hash block configuration;
implement a second hash engine to generate a second hash for each data block in the set of data blocks within the data set based on a second hash block configuration, wherein the deduplication manager is configured to deduplicate the data set based on the first hash and the second hash; and
implement a compression manager to compress the data set based on a compression block size without compressing duplicate data in the data set, the first hash block size being a different block size than the compression block size.
14. The system of claim 13, wherein the compression operation includes an operation to slice the data set.
16. A system, comprising:
…
implement a compression manager to compress the data set based on a compression block size without compressing duplicate data in the data set, the first hash block size being a different block size than the compression block size.
(Compressing based on a compression block size different from hash block sizes is interpreted as slicing the data set into blocks of the block size.)
15. The system of claim 14, the one or more processors configured to generate, at a third hash engine, a third hash for the data set at a second offset relative to the start position.
8. The method of claim 1, wherein the first hash block size is independent of a second hash block size of the second hash engine and of a third hash block size of a third hash engine.
(Because the second offset is not specified, it is interpreted as covering any offset, including zero. The third hash of the patent must be done at some offset, which may be zero.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art that the method steps performed in claims 1-9 could readily be performed by the system of claim 16, and to therefore modify claim 16 to implement any or all of the method steps of claims 1-9 in the system of claim 16. Said artisan would have been motivated to do so in order to implement the method steps in a system as is commonly done in the art.
16. The system of claim 11, wherein a first hash record is created in a hash buffer for the first hash engine, wherein a second hash record is created in the hash buffer for the second hash engine.
16. A system, comprising:
…
implement a first hash engine to generate, based on a first hash block size, a first hash for each data block in a set of data blocks within the data set based on a first hash block configuration;
implement a second hash engine to generate a second hash for each data block in the set of data blocks within the data set based on a second hash block configuration, wherein the deduplication manager is configured to deduplicate the data set based on the first hash and the second hash; …
(The instant application does not place any limitations on the structure of the buffer being claimed. It is nothing more than a storage location for holding the hash being generated. Because the hashes of the patent must be stored in some entity, and because the claimed buffer merely stored the information in the same manner, the patent inherently includes an analogous hash buffer as claimed to store the hash records being generated.)
18. The system of claim 11, wherein the start position is not aligned with a first frame of the data set.
19. The system of claim 16, wherein the first hash engine is configured to generate the first hash starting at a first bit of the data set, wherein the second hash engine is configured to generate the second hash at a second bit of the data set.
19. The system of claim 11, wherein the first hash and the second hash are generated in parallel.
Mosko discloses wherein first hash and the second hash are generated in parallel. (Figs. 7A-7C; Col. 5, Lines 1-15; Col. 6, Lines 5-20 and 38-56; Col. 7, Lines 56-63, A plurality of hashers, i.e. hash engines, are fed replicated incoming data to hash concurrently at differing start offsets. E.g. a first hash engine uses SHA-256 hashing on an entire message body (e.g. starting at offset 20), while concurrently/in parallel, a second hash engine will start hashing the body at offset 24 using SipHash.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of US Pat No. 11,995,060 with the teachings of Mosko by modifying US Pat No. 11,995,060 such that the multiple hashes of the data set are performed concurrently/in parallel like Mosko. Said artisan would have been motivated to do so in order to more efficiently use available resources so as to obtain hashing results more quickly by utilizing parallel processing as is a common practice in the art while also hashing desired different portions of the same dataset like is done in US Pat No. 11,995,060.
20. The system of claim 11, the one or more processors configured to:
identify a first skip region prior to generating the first hash; and
identify a second skip region prior to generating the second hash.
19. The system of claim 16, wherein the first hash engine is configured to generate the first hash starting at a first bit of the data set, wherein the second hash engine is configured to generate the second hash at a second bit of the data set.
(The bit determined establishes a skip region of the bits prior to it that are not hashed.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6, 8-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claims 1 and 11, the claims recite concurrently generating, by a second hash engine, a second hash. However, claims 9 and 19 similarly recite wherein first hash and the second hash are generated in parallel. The plain meanings of performing an operation concurrently and in parallel are both to perform the operation at the same time as another. Because Applicant has chosen to use two terms to describe what appears to be the same thing, and because Applicant’s specification is silent as to what any difference may intended to be, it is unclear what, if any, difference between concurrently generating a hash, and generating the hashes in parallel is supposed to be. Accordingly, the scope of the claims cannot be properly ascertained, rendering them indefinite.
As to claims 2-6, 8-10, 12-16, and 18-20, the claims inherit the deficiencies of claims 1 and 11 without curing them and are therefore rejected under 35 USC §112(b) for the same reasons as claims 1 and 11 above.
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
As to claims 9 and 19, the claims recite wherein the first hash and the second hash are generated in parallel. However, claims 1 and 11 already recite “concurrently generating, by a second hash engine, a second hash.” Performing an action “concurrently”, given its plain meaning to one of ordinary skill in the art, is synonymous with doing so “in parallel.” Since the only other step performed in the claim after identifying the data set to hash is generating the first hash, the step of generating the second hash is already recited as being performed concurrently, i.e. in parallel, with generating the first hash. Accordingly, claims 9 and 19 fail to further limit the features of claims 1 and 11 as they merely recite subject matter already claimed with different, but equivalent, terminology. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moorhead (previously presented)(GB 2493832 A) in view of O’Hare et al. (previously presented)(US 2021/0064659 A1), hereinafter O’Hare, and further in view of Mosko et al. (previously presented)(US 9,473,405 B2), hereinafter Mosko.
As to claim 1, Moorhead discloses a computer-implemented method, comprising:
identifying a data set to hash, the data set comprising a set of data blocks (Pg. 12, Lines 27-31; Pg. 13, Lines 16-26, A data block is received, and a data set therein is identified based on the current state of the rolling hash being performed.);
generating, by a first hash engine, a first hash within the data set at a start position (Pg. 9, Line 13; Pg. 12, Lines 27-31; Pg. 13, Lines 16-26; A first hash function, i.e. by first hash engine, is performed on each byte, i.e. the claimed data blocks. The first hash must start at some start position.); and
generating, by a second hash engine, a second hash within the data set at a first non-zero offset relative to the start position (Pg. 9, Lines 20-22, A second hash function is also performed on each byte of the data set, i.e. each claimed block, as well as with the first hash function. I.e. by a second hash engine. Hashing is performed via rolling hash for the data set identified by the hash block size determined from the current iteration of the rolling hash, Pg. 12, Lines 27-31; Pg. 13, Lines 16-26. I.e. for each data set of a given hash block size, e.g. 4079 bytes or 4069 bytes, both a corresponding hash from the first hash function and the second hash function will be determined. Any location will read on the claimed feature. The claim does not state or limit what the offset to start the second hash relative to the start position of the first hash is, and as such it does not explicitly exclude hashing on any blocks prior to the non-zero offset, but merely states that those after are to be hashed. I.e. if both hash blocks 1, 2, and 3 of a file, with block 2 being a first non-zero offset, then so long as the second hash is performed using block 2 (even in addition to block 1) it is still generating a second hash at a first non-zero offset as claimed. Thus, Moorhead reads on the claimed feature except for concurrency.);
Moorhead does not disclose concurrently generating the second hash;
deduplicating a particular data block in the data set based on either the first hash or the second hash by replacing the particular data block with pointer data to another electronic storage location that stores the same data as the particular data block; and
compressing non-duplicate data of the data set based on a compression block size that is different from a hash block size used to generate the first hash and the second hash.
However, O’Hare discloses concurrently generating, by a hash engine, a second hash within the data set at a first offset relative to the start position (Figs. 6, 10, and 11; [0019], [0028]; [0033]-[0034]; Multiple hashes are performed on a set of data with the second and later hashes being performed at variable offsets from a starting location of the first hash. The hashes are then used in generating compressed buffers. As shown in Fig. 11, #412; all hashes are performed in the same step, and as such are performed ‘concurrently’ as claimed. Because Applicant has claimed performing in parallel separately in claim 9, concurrent is interpreted as being different, though not disclosed how by Applicant’s specification. As such, performing in the same step, like in 412, is analogous to the claimed concurrent operation.);
deduplicating a particular data block in the data set based on either the first hash or the second hash by replacing the particular data block with pointer data to another electronic storage location that stores the same data as the particular data block ([0003], [0017], [0033], The hashing described is to support SAN deduplication. The described SAN deduplication involves replacing duplicate blocks with a pointer to a previously hashed block, i.e. to another storage location storing the same data.); and
compressing non-duplicate data of the data set based on a compression block size that is different from a hash block size used to generate the first hash and the second hash (Figs. 8 and 10; [0031], [0033], The hashes are performed using 32.25KB chunks of a 130KB source. The entire 130KB, which includes the non-duplicate data, can be compressed as a whole forming compressed buffer 108. Thus a different compression block size, e.g. 130KB, is used from the hash block size of 32.25KB. The claim does not require compressing only non-duplicate data, and thus allows for compressing both so long as non-duplicate data is compressed.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Moorhead with the teachings of O’Hare by modifying Moorhead such that the data blocks hashed by Moorhead and are determined to be stored by Moorhead are compressed as selected chunks that were hashed concurrently as in O’Hare by the first and second hash engines of Morrhead such that a deduplicated dataset of Moorhead is compressed for storage. Said artisan would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce storage requirements of data received for storage in Moorhead by compressing the data (O’Hare, [0003]).
Additionally, solely for compact prosecution, should concurrent to be interpreted as in parallel and differing start offsets for both the first and second hashes, Mosko more explicitly discloses generating, by a first hash engine, a first hash for the data set at a start position (Figs. 7A-7C; Col. 5, Lines 1-15; Col. 6, Lines 5-20 and 38-56; Col. 7, Lines 56-63, A plurality of hashers, i.e. hash engines, are fed replicated incoming data to hash concurrently at differing start offsets. E.g. a first hash engine uses SHA-256 hashing on an entire message body (e.g. starting at offset 20), while concurrently/in parallel, a second hash engine will start hashing the body at offset 24 using SipHash.); and
concurrently generating, by a second hash engine, a second hash for within the data set at a first non-zero offset relative to the start position (Figs. 7A-7C; Col. 5, Lines 1-15; Col. 6, Lines 5-20 and 38-56; Col. 7, Lines 56-63, A plurality of hashers, i.e. hash engines, are fed replicated incoming data to hash concurrently at differing start offsets. E.g. a first hash engine uses SHA-256 hashing on an entire message body (e.g. starting at offset 20), while concurrently/in parallel, a second hash engine will start hashing the body at offset 24 using SipHash.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Moorhead, as previously modified with O’Hare, with the teachings of Mosko by modifying Moorhead such that the multiple hashes of the data set are performed concurrently/in parallel like Mosko. Said artisan would have been motivated to do so in order to more efficiently use available resources so as to obtain hashing results more quickly by utilizing parallel processing as is a common practice in the art while also hashing desired different portions of the same dataset like is done in both O’Hare, e.g. to more efficiently determine duplicate and to deduplicate data from the multiple hashes in Moorhead and O’Hare.
As to claim 11, Moorhead discloses a system, comprising:
a memory (Pg. 7, Lines 1-15); and
one or more processors coupled to the memory, the one or more processors configured to (Pg. 7, Lines 1-15):
identify a data set to hash, the data set comprising a set of data blocks (Pg. 12, Lines 27-31; Pg. 13, Lines 16-26, A data block is received, and a data set therein is identified based on the current state of the rolling hash being performed.);
generate, at a first hash engine, a first hash for the data set at a start position (Pg. 9, Lines 13-22; Pg. 12, Lines 27-31; Pg. 13, Lines 16-26; A first hash function, i.e. by first hash engine, is performed on each byte, i.e. the claimed data blocks. The first hash must start at some start position.); and
generate, at a second hash engine, a second hash for the data set at a first offset relative to the start position (Pg. 9, Lines 20-22, A second hash function is also performed on each byte of the data set, i.e. each claimed block, as well as with the first hash function. I.e. by a second hash engine. Hashing is performed via rolling hash for the data set identified by the hash block size determined from the current iteration of the rolling hash, Pg. 12, Lines 27-31; Pg. 13, Lines 16-26. I.e. for each data set of a given hash block size, e.g. 4079 bytes or 4069 bytes, both a corresponding hash from the first hash function and the second hash function will be determined. Any location will read on the claimed feature. The claim does not state or limit what the offset to start the second hash relative to the start position of the first hash is, and as such it does not explicitly exclude hashing on any blocks prior to the non-zero offset, but merely states that those after are to be hashed. I.e. if both hash blocks 1, 2, and 3 of a file, with block 2 being a first non-zero offset, then so long as the second hash is performed using block 2 (even in addition to block 1) it is still generating a second hash at a first non-zero offset as claimed. Thus, Moorhead reads on the claimed feature except for concurrency.);
deduplicate a particular data block in the data set based on either the first hash or the second hash (Pg. 9, Lines 22-29, Based on matches from the first and second hashes, the data block currently being processed can be determined to already be stored, and if so, the current block is not stored and thus deduplicated.);
hash.
Moorhead does not disclose concurrently generating the second hash; and
compress non-duplicate data of the data set based on a compression block size that is different from a hash block size used to generate the first hash and the second.
However, O’Hare discloses concurrently generating, by a hash engine, a second hash within the data set at a first offset relative to the start position (Figs. 6, 10, and 11; [0019], [0028]; [0033]-[0034]; Multiple hashes are performed on a set of data with the second and later hashes being performed at variable offsets from a starting location of the first hash. The hashes are then used in generating compressed buffers. As shown in Fig. 11, #412; all hashes are performed in the same step, and as such are performed ‘concurrently’ as claimed. Because Applicant has claimed performing in parallel separately in claim 9, concurrent is interpreted as being different, though not disclosed how by Applicant’s specification. As such, performing in the same step, like in 412, is analogous to the claimed concurrent operation.);
deduplicate a particular data block in the data set based on either the first hash or the second hash ([0003], [0017], [0033], The hashing described is to support SAN deduplication. The described SAN deduplication involves replacing duplicate blocks with a pointer to a previously hashed block, i.e. to another storage location storing the same data.); and
compress non-duplicate data of the data set based on a compression block size that is different from a hash block size used to generate the first hash and the second hash(Figs. 8 and 10; [0031], [0033], The hashes are performed using 32.25KB chunks of a 130KB source. The entire 130KB, which includes the non-duplicate data, can be compressed as a whole forming compressed buffer 108. Thus a different compression block size, e.g. 130KB, is used from the hash block size of 32.25KB. The claim does not require compressing only non-duplicate data, and thus allows for compressing both so long as non-duplicate data is compressed.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Moorhead with the teachings of O’Hare by modifying Moorhead such that the data blocks hashed by Moorhead and are determined to be stored by Moorhead are compressed as selected chunks that were hashed concurrently as in O’Hare by the first and second hash engines of Morrhead such that a deduplicated dataset of Moorhead is compressed for storage. Said artisan would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce storage requirements of data received for storage in Moorhead by compressing the data (O’Hare, [0003]).
Additionally, solely for compact prosecution, should concurrent to be interpreted as in parallel and differing start offsets for both the first and second hashes, Mosko more explicitly discloses generating, by a first hash engine, a first hash for the data set at a start position (Figs. 7A-7C; Col. 5, Lines 1-15; Col. 6, Lines 5-20 and 38-56; Col. 7, Lines 56-63, A plurality of hashers, i.e. hash engines, are fed replicated incoming data to hash concurrently at differing start offsets. E.g. a first hash engine uses SHA-256 hashing on an entire message body (e.g. starting at offset 20), while concurrently/in parallel, a second hash engine will start hashing the body at offset 24 using SipHash.); and
concurrently generating, by a second hash engine, a second hash for within the data set at a first non-zero offset relative to the start position (Figs. 7A-7C; Col. 5, Lines 1-15; Col. 6, Lines 5-20 and 38-56; Col. 7, Lines 56-63, A plurality of hashers, i.e. hash engines, are fed replicated incoming data to hash concurrently at differing start offsets. E.g. a first hash engine uses SHA-256 hashing on an entire message body (e.g. starting at offset 20), while concurrently/in parallel, a second hash engine will start hashing the body at offset 24 using SipHash.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Moorhead, as previously modified with O’Hare, with the teachings of Mosko by modifying Moorhead such that the multiple hashes of the data set are performed concurrently/in parallel like Mosko. Said artisan would have been motivated to do so in order to more efficiently use available resources so as to obtain hashing results more quickly by utilizing parallel processing as is a common practice in the art while also hashing desired different portions of the same dataset like is done in both O’Hare, e.g. to more efficiently determine duplicate and to deduplicate data from the multiple hashes in Moorhead and O’Hare.
As to claims 2 and 12, the claims are rejected for the same reasons as claims 1 and 11 above. In addition, Moorhead, as previously modified with O’Hare and Mosko, discloses wherein the data set is associated with a data transform pipeline (Moorhead, Pg. 4, Lines 27-34, E.g. as part of a deduplication data transform pipeline.).
Additionally, the features of claims 2 and 12 merely describe the type of data of dataset and do not recite any function being performed. The fact that the data set has some generic association with a data transform pipeline is not used to do any specific function, let alone any function that would not otherwise be done with any other data inputted into the process. As such, the merely recite non-functional descriptive material, and do not carry patentable weight and need not be taught by the prior art in rejecting the claims. See MPEP §2111.05.
As to claims 3 and 13, the claims are rejected for the same reasons as claims 1 and 11 above. In addition, Moorhead, as previously combined with O’Hare and Mosko, discloses wherein the first hash and the second hash are computed before a compression operation is performed in an encode pipeline (Moorhead, Pg. 9, Lines 13-22; Pg. 12, Lines 27-31; Pg. 13, Lines 16-26, The first and second hashes are computed without any compression operations being performed first. Additionally, the claims do not require actually performing a compression operation, merely that one is not done prior to computing the hashes. As such Moorhead discloses the claims. Actually performing the compression is not required by the claims and the operation itself does not carry patentable weight. See MPEP §2111.04.).
Although Moorhead discloses the claim as set forth above, solely for more compact prosecution, O’Hare also discloses wherein the first hash and the second hash are computed before a compression operation is performed in an encode pipeline (Figs. 6, 10, and 11; [0033]-[0034]; Multiple hashes are performed on a set of data with the second and later hashes being performed at offsets from a starting location of the first hash. The hashes are then used in generating compressed buffers.).
As to claims 4 and 14, the claims are rejected for the same reasons as claims 3 and 13 above. In addition, Moorhead, as previously modified with O’Hare and Mosko, discloses wherein the compression operation includes an operation to slice the data set (O’Hare, Figs. 8, 9 and 11; [0031]-[0034], E.g. organizing the input buffer into logical chunks.).
Additionally, while the prior art discloses wherein the compression operation includes an operation to slice the data set, as set forth in the rejections of claims 3 and 13 above, the claims do not actually require performing a step of compression. The claims also do not used any compressed data to perform any claimed function. As such, the fact that the non-claimed performed compression operation incudes an operation to slice the data set does not limit the claims to performing any required step. Therefore, the features of claims 4 and 14 do not carry patentable weight and need not be disclosed by the prior art in rejecting the claims. See MPEP §2111.04.
As to claims 5 and 15, the claims are rejected for the same reasons as claims 4 and 14 above. In addition, Moorhead, as previously modified with O’Hare and Mosko, discloses generating, by a third hash engine, a third hash for the data set at a second offset relative to the start position (O’Hare, Figs. 6, 10, and 11; [0033]-[0034]; Multiple hashes are performed on a set of data with the second and later hashes being performed at offsets from a starting location of each previous hash. The hashes are then used in generating compressed buffers. Mosko, Figs. 7A-7C; Col. 6, Lines 38-56, E.g. hash performed by third hash engine SipHash Unit #2).
As to claims 6 and 16, the claims are rejected for the same reasons as claims 1 and 11 above. In addition, Moorhead, as previously modified with O’Hare and Mosko, discloses wherein a first hash record is created in a hash buffer for the first hash engine, wherein a second hash record is created in the hash buffer for the second hash engine (Moorhead, Pg. 9, Lines 14-23, The first first-hash starts at the beginning of the buffer and first block, i.e. at a first bit 0, and also covers and is at additional bits up to the end of the block. Accordingly, the second hash produced by the second hash engine is generated “at a second bit” since it covers at least the second bit in the block of the first hash. Mosko, Col. 6, Lines 5-13, Each hasher has an output buffer to hold results).
As to claims 8 and 18, the claims are rejected for the same reasons as claims 1 and 11 above. In addition, Moorhead, as previously modified with O’Hare and Mosko, discloses wherein the start position is not aligned with a first frame of the data set (O’Hare, Figs. 6, 10; [0033], The claim does not place any limitation on what a first hash is, or where a start position is, as such, any hash value 106 can be considered a first hash with a start position that is not aligned with the first frame of the previous hash. Additionally, each hash has a variable offset relative to others, e.g. as visually shown in Fig. 6, #106. Mosko, Col. 6, Lines 38-56, Demonstrating further explicit bit offset start positions between different hashes.).
As to claims 9 and 19, the claims are rejected for the same reasons as claims 1 and 11 above. In addition, Moorhead, as previously modified with O’Hare and Mosko, discloses wherein the first hash and the second hash are generated in parallel (Mosko, Figs. 7A-7C; Col. 5, Lines 1-15; Col. 6, Lines 5-20 and 38-56; Col. 7, Lines 56-63, A plurality of hashers, i.e. hash engines, are fed replicated incoming data to hash concurrently at differing start offsets. E.g. a first hash engine uses SHA-256 hashing on an entire message body (e.g. starting at offset 20), while concurrently/in parallel, a second hash engine will start hashing the body at offset 24 using SipHash.).
As to claims 10 and 20, the claims are rejected for the same reasons as claims 1 and 11 above. In addition, Moorhead, as previously modified with O’Hare and Mosko, discloses identifying a first skip region prior to generating the first hash, and identifying a second skip region prior to generating the second hash (O’Hare, Figs. 6 and 10; [0028], [0029], [0033], I.e. calculating offsets for hashing from any previous hashes thus determining skip regions. Mosko, Fig. 2; Col. 5, Lines 1-5; Col. 6, Lines 43-47, headers are indicated as being skipped for hashing by the first engine, and second engine skips until identified start at offset 24.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 29 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not fully persuasive. For Examiner’s response, see discussion below:
(a) Applicant’s arguments, see page 6, with respect to the objections to claims 9 and 19 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objections to claims 9 and 19 have been withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments to the claims.
(b) At pages 6-7, with respect to the double patenting rejections of claims 1-20, Applicant requests the rejections be held in abeyance.
As to (b), double patenting rejections cannot be held in abeyance. As no other arguments were made, the rejections are maintained as set forth above.
(c) At page 7, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-20 under 35 USC §112(b), Applicant argues that at least in view of the cancellation of claims 9 and 19 the rejections are moot.
As to (c), Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered, but are not persuasive. Claims 9 and 19 have not been cancelled. Although they have been amended, the amendments do not affect the rationale for the rejections made under 35 USC §112(b). Applicant has not addressed the rationale set forth in the rejections above. Accordingly, the rejections are maintained as previously set forth above.
(d) At page 7, with respect to the rejections of claims 9 and 19 under 35 USC §112(d), Applicant argues that at least in view of the amendments to claims 9 and 19 the rejections are moot.
As to (c), Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered, but are not persuasive. Although they have been amended, the amendments merely address an antecedent basis objection and do not affect the rationale for the rejections made under 35 USC §112(b). Applicant has not addressed the rationale set forth in the rejections above. Accordingly, the rejections are maintained as previously set forth above.
(e) Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-8, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-20 under 35 USC §101 have been fully considered and are persuasive. rejections of claims 1-20 under 35 USC §101 have been withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments to the claims
(f) At pages 8-9, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-20 under 35 USC §103, Applicant argues that the rejections are moot in view of Applicant’s amendments which Applicant argues are allowable.
As to (f), Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive for at least the reasons set forth in the updated rejections of independent claims 1 and 11 under 35 USC §103 as set forth above as necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Armangau et al. (US 10,614,038 B1) discloses using pointers to refer to duplicate data of compressed data.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/James E Richardson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2169