Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Bao (US-20220244344-A1).
Regarding claims 1, 19-20, Bao discloses an apparatus (see Fig 8), method (see Fig. 6-7) for wireless communication at a first user equipment (UE), comprising:
a user interface (UI)(UE 800 may further include additional items, which are not shown, such as a user interface that may include e.g., a display, a keypad or other input device, such as virtual keypad on the display, paragraph 0132);
at least one memory (memory 804, Fig. 8); and
at least one processor (processing unit 802, Fig. 8) coupled to the at least one memory, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to:
provide, at the UI, a guidance for moving (UEs 105, 106 may correspond to a cellphone, smartphone, laptop, tablet, PDA, tracking device, navigation device, paragraph 0050) the first UE during a ranging session;
track a first set of displacements of the first UE relative to a first reference frame of the first UE when the UE is moving (orientation of the UE 800 may be used to convert the AoA of sidelink communication signals received from the target UE 106 to a local or global reference frame, paragraph 0134);
transmit, to a second UE, an indication to track a second set of displacements of the second UE relative to a second reference frame of the second UE during the ranging session (sidelink PRS, paragraph 0138);
receive, from the second UE based on the indication, the second set of displacements of the second UE or raw sensor information associated with the second set of displacements of the second UE (from at least one other UE, configuration information for DL PRS, UL-PRS, RTT, SL-PRS, or combination thereof, that is available for measurement and that may be included in the common set of PRS and to determine which DL PRS, UL-PRS, RTT, SL-PRS, or combination thereof are included in the common set of PRS accordingly, paragraph 0138); and
compute a relative location of the second UE with respect to the first UE based on (1) the first set of displacements, (2) the second set of displacements or the raw sensor information associated with the second set of displacements, and (3) a set of ranging measurements associated with the ranging session (sensor unit 816 may be used in relative location measurements, relative location determination, motion determination, etc. Information detected by the sensor unit 816 may be used for motion detection, relative displacement, dead reckoning, sensor-based location determination, and/or sensor-assisted location determination, paragraph 0134).
Regarding claim 2, Bao discloses wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to: initiate the ranging session for the computation of the relative location of the second UE (joint positioning measurement and response, Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 3, Bao discloses wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to:
perform the set of ranging measurements using at least one of:
ultra wide band (UWB) ranging,
Wi-Fi ® ranging, or
Bluetooth® channel sounding (BT CS) (use of RF sensors, paragraph 0134)(RF sensors includes Wifi, BT or UWB transceivers).
Regarding claim 4, Bao discloses apparatus of claim 1, wherein the set of ranging measurements corresponds to a set of time-related measurements (RTT, paragraph 0138) or a set of phase-related measurements for a set of signals transmitted between the first UE and the second UE periodically during the ranging session.
Regarding claim 5, Bao discloses apparatus wherein to compute the relative location of the second UE with respect to the first UE based on (1) the first set of displacements, (2) the second set of displacements or the raw sensor information associated with the second set of displacements, and (3) the set of ranging measurements associated with the ranging session, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to:
estimate a position and an orientation of the second reference frame of the second UE based on (1) the first set of displacements, (2) the second set of displacements or the raw sensor information associated with the second set of displacements, and (3) the set of ranging measurements using a loss function; and
compute the relative location of the second UE with respect to the first UE based on the estimated position and the orientation of the second reference frame. (orientation of the UE 800 may be used to convert the AoA of sidelink communication signals received from the target UE 106 to a local or global reference frame, paragraph 0134).
Regarding claims 9-10, Bao discloses wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to:
detect that the second UE is in mobility, wherein the transmission of the indication is based on the detection that the second UE is in mobility (motion detection , paragraph 0134).
Regarding claim 11, Bao discloses apparatus wherein to track the first set of displacements of the first UE, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to:
track the first set of displacements of the first UE using at least one of a camera or an inertial measurement unit (IMU)(inertial sensors, paragraph 0134).
Regarding claim 12, Bao discloses wherein the first reference frame is different from the second reference frame (UE1 and UE2 are different UE at different location).
Regarding claim 13, Bao discloses wherein the first UE is a single-antenna UE or is configured to use one antenna in multiple antennas for the ranging session (In a UE 800 with an antenna 811 that includes multiple antennas or an antenna array, paragraph 0133).
Regarding claim 14, Bao discloses wherein information associated with the second reference frame of the second UE is below a certainty threshold or unavailable at the first UE prior to the transmission of the indication (joint positioning implies the distance between UEs is nearby).
Regarding claim 15, Bao discloses wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to: output an indication of the computed relative location of the second UE with respect to the first UE (sensor unit 816 may be used in relative location measurements, relative location determination, motion determination, etc, paragraph 0134).
Regarding claims 16-18, Bao discloses wherein to output the indication of the computed relative location of the second UE with respect to the first UE, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to:
transmit the indication of the computed relative location of the second UE with respect to the first UE; display the indication via a screen, or store the indication of the computed relative location of the second UE with respect to the first UE (the UEs are used in navigation application, a display implies the relative location and a direction/ destination is indicated).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/HARRY K LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645 Tel: (571) 270-1338
Fax: (571) 270-2338
Email: harry.liu@uspto.gov