DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “proximity” in claims 1 and 17 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “proximity” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. As such, it is not clear as to how near/proximal the transmission device must be relative to the calibration phantom in order to be determined to be “in proximity” to the calibration phantom. For examination purposes, Examiner assumes “in proximity” means that the transmission device is in the same room as the calibration phantom.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wen et al. (“A Novel Ultrasound Probe Spatial Calibration Method Using a Combined Phantom and Stylus”, 2020) in view of Verard et al. (US Pub No. 2004/0097805) and Fichtinger et al. (US Pub No. 2014/0121501), as evidenced by “Optical Navigation Technology” (online: https://www.ndigital.com/optical-navigation-technology/, Accessed on 5/9/25).
With regards to claims 1, 12 and 17, Wen et al. disclose a method and system comprising:
an imaging system comprising an imaging device (i.e. US probe) (pg. 2081, left column, 2nd paragraph – right column, 2nd paragraph, referring to the 4.5 MHz abdominal curvilinear transducer/”US probe” and the corresponding US scanner; Figures 1-2);
a tracking system (i.e. “optical tracking system”, pg. 2081, left column, 2nd paragraph, referring to the real-time tracking being performed by the optical tracking system; pg. 2083, right column, 2nd paragraph, referring to the tracking system which tracks a position/orientation sensor that is attached to the stylus) comprising:
a transmission device (pg. 2081, left column, 2nd paragraph, referring to the use of the optical tracking system “Polaris Spectra, NDI”, which, as evidenced by Optical Navigation Technology comprises using NIR light to detect and track navigation markers); and
a tracked device (“tracked stylus”) (pg. 2081, right column, 2nd-3rd paragraphs, pg. 2083, right column, 2nd paragraph, referring to the stylus which is referred to as the pointer or 3D localizer, wherein on one end, the stylus is attached to a position/orientation sensor that can be tracked by the tracking system; Figures 2, 4-5);
a calibration phantom (pg. 2081, right column, 2nd paragraph, pg. 2083, left column, 2nd paragraph, referring to the calibration phantom);
a processor (“Data acquisiton and processing system”) (pg. 2083, left column, 1st paragraph; Figures 3 and 6-7); and
a memory storing data that, when processed by the processor (pg. 2083, left column, 1st paragraph; Figures 3 and 6-7, referring to the “data acquisition and processing system”, which would inherently include a memory for executing the functions), cause the processor to:
generate a navigation space (“world coordinate system W” or “position/orientation sensor coordinate system S”) based on one or more tracking signals (pg. 2081, right column, 3rd paragraph, referring to the position/orientation sensor coordinate system S and the world coordinate system (W) (i.e. the optical tracking system); Figures 2, 5;
generate a virtual space (i.e. “image coordinate system I”) comprising at least a portion of the calibration phantom based on one or more images generated by the imaging system, wherein the one or more images (i.e. US B-scan image planes) are generated in response to one or more signals transmitted by the imaging device (pg. 2081, right column, last paragraph-pg. 2083, left column, 1st paragraph, referring to B-scan image coordinate system (I), wherein the stylus tip coincides with the center of the phantom slot, and thus coincides with the US B-scan image plane; Figures 2-4);
track, based on electromagnetic signals, the tracked device moving within the calibration phantom (pg. 2081, right column, 2nd-3rd paragraphs, pg. 2083, left column, 2nd paragraph-right column, 2nd paragraph, pg. 2084, right column, last paragraph, referring to the stylus being attached to a position/orientation sensor that can be tracked by the tracking system, wherein the stylus is placed in the calibration phantom; pg. 2081, left column, 2nd paragraph, referring to the use of the optical tracking system “Polaris Spectra, NDI”, which, as evidenced by Optical Navigation Technology comprises using NIR light to detect and track navigation markers, and thus electromagnetic (i.e. NIR is within the electromagnetic range) signals are used to track the tracked device; Figures 2, 4-5);
detect an event when a portion of the tracked device intersects with a point within a field of view of the imaging device (pg. 2084, left column, last paragraph-right column, last paragraph, referring to the “intersection point” which is between the virtual plane and the stylus tip and yields a strong echo spot in the B-scan image, wherein a user draws a circle around the echo spot of the feature point as the region of interest, which acts as the initial search window for the CAMSHIFT algorithm which is used to semi-automatically extract and continuously track the pixel location of the feature point, wherein for each extraction of a feature point, a simple circle drawing of the echo spot is only required and the tracking algorithm is capable of reporting the accurate pixel location of the feature point continuously, and therefore the “circle drawing” serves as the detected event when a portion of the tracked device intersects with a point (i.e. “feature point”) within a field of view of the imaging device);
identify, in response to detecting the event (i.e. “circle drawing” initiates the identification of set of coordinates, registration, etc.) (pg. 2084, left column, last paragraph-right column, last paragraph):
a set of coordinates (i.e. 2D pixel coordinate (u, v) in the B-scan image coordinate system) in a first coordinate system of the virtual space (pg. 2081, right column, last paragraph-pg. 2082, right column, first full paragraph; pg. 2084, left column, last paragraph-right column, 3rd paragraph, referring to the identification of the feature point/pixel location pI in the B-mode image; Figures 2-6); and
register the first coordinate system (i.e. image coordinate system) associated with the virtual space with a second coordinate system (i.e. world coordinate system) associated with the tracked device based on the set of coordinates (pg. 2081, right column, last paragraph-pg.2086, right column, 1st paragraph, referring to the pixel location of the feature point corresponding to the stylus tip in the B-scan being extracted and continuously tracked, wherein during the acquisition of the pixel location of the feature point, the spatial position of the stylus tip in the world coordinate is recorded simultaneously, and wherein, once the corresponding data sets are obtained, a solution for the probe calibration is found by mapping/registering one set to the other; Figures 2-6).
However, Wen et al. do not specifically disclose that the transmission device includes an array of transmission coils configured to generate an electromagnetic field, that the tracked device includes an electromagnetic sensor configured to generate electromagnetic signals reflecting a measurement of the electromagnetic field, wherein the tracking is based on electromagnetic measurements of an electromagnetic field generated by the transmission device in proximity to the calibration phantom.
However, Wen et al. do not specifically disclose that the registration is further based on “temporal information”, wherein the temporal information indicates when the portion of the tracked device intersected with the point.
Verard et al. disclose a navigation system (10) including an electromagnetic navigation or tracking system (44) that includes a transmitter coil array (46), wherein the transmitter coil array (46) is positioned in proximity to the region being navigated/tracked (Abstract; paragraphs [0069]-[0070], Figure 1). The transmitter coil array (46) includes a plurality of coils that are each operable to generate distinct electromagnetic fields into the navigation region (paragraphs [0070]-[0071]; Figure 1). Upon driving the coils in the transmitter coil array (46), electromagnetic fields are generated in the patient space, wherein the electromagnetic fields generated in the patient space induces currents (i.e. electromagnetic signals reflecting a measurement of the electromagnetic field) in sensors (58) positioned in the tracked instrument (i.e. catheter (52)) (paragraph [0071]; Figure 1). The catheter is equipped with multiple localization sensors (58), wherein the localization sensors (58) are generally formed as electromagnetic receiver coils, such that the electromagnetic field generated by the transmitter coil array (46) induces current in the electromagnetic receiver coils or sensors (58) (paragraph [0072]; Figure 1). The change in energy, from the emitter to the receiver, is used to determine the location of the receiver relative to the emitter (paragraph [0073]). Other types of tracking systems include optical, acoustic, electrical field, RF and accelerometers (paragraph [0073]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the tracking system of Wen et al. with a tracking system comprising a transmission device including an array of transmission coils configured to generate an electromagnetic field and an electromagnetic sensor, included with the tracked device, which is configured to generate electromagnetic signals reflecting a measurement of the electromagnetic field, wherein the tracking is based on electromagnetic measurements of an electromagnetic field generated by the transmission device in proximity to the tracked region (i.e. calibration phantom of Wen et al.), as taught by Verard et al., as the substitution of one known tracking system for another yields predictable results (i.e. tracking of a device/instrument desired to be tracked) to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out such a substitution and the results are reasonably predictable.
However, the above combined references do not specifically disclose that the registration is further based on “temporal information”, wherein the temporal information indicates when the portion of the tracked device intersected with the point.
Fichtinger et al. disclose a calibration method that uses a calibration phantom and provides automatic, intraoperative calibration of ultrasound imaging systems, wherein a temporal calibration is performed to synchronize individual ultrasound image frames with their respective positions prior to using a closed-form formula or an iterative solver to calculate calibration parameters (Abstract; paragraph [0026], [0066]; Figure 4). Since the images and the tracked probe positions are generated by separate hardware (i.e. TRUS scanner and the stepper tracking system), proper synchronization between the two must be established to correctly associate each acquired TRUS image with its corresponding positional data, wherein this process is referred to as the “temporal calibration”) (paragraph [0084]). When the TRUS image is acquired and its corresponding stepper position are recorded, both data can be time-stamped, wherein the time-stamping process itself introduces some delay, and therefore the goal of temporal calibration is to determine this delay (“latency”) (paragraphs [0084]-[0085]; note that the “temporal information” (i.e. time-stamp information and/or determined delay/latency) in Wen et al. would also serve as an indication of when the portion of the tracked device intersected with the point as stylus/tracked device position in Wen et al. is acquired due to the detection of the event when a portion of the tracked device intersect with the point within the field of view of the imaging device (i.e. see pg. 2084, detection of the “bright echo spot/feature point which is due to the intersection).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the registration of the above combined references to be further based on “temporal information”, wherein the temporal information indicates when the portion of the tracked device intersected with the point, as taught by Fichtinger et al., in order to synchronize individual ultrasound image frames with their respective positions and thus correctly associate each acquired TRUS image with its corresponding positional data (paragraphs [0026], [0066]; [0084]).
With regards to claims 2, 13 and 18, Wen et al. disclose that the point is within a plane that correspond to the field of view of the imaging device (pg. 2081, right column, 2nd-3rd paragraphs, referring to “…verifying the intersection point between the needle tip and stylus tip in the B-scan image…We use the stylus tip to directly measure the spatial position of intersection point in 3-D space by pointing the stylus at the target in our calibration system” and pg. 2084, left column, bottom paragraph-right column, top paragraph, referring to “ The intersection point between the virtual plane and the stylus tip yields a strong echo spot in the B-scan image..The position p1 of stylus tip in the B-scan is extracted…”, and thus, if the point is in the “B-scan image”, the point is within a plane that corresponds to the field of view of the imaging devce).
With regards to claims 3, 14 and 19, Wen et al. disclose re-registering the first coordinate system with the second coordinate system in response to one or more additional occurrences of the event (pg. 2084, right column, 2nd paragraph and 4th paragraph; pg. 2086, right column, 2nd paragraph, referring to the continuous tracking which would thus encompass one or more occurrences of the event); and calibrating the first coordinate system with respect to the second coordinate system is absent pausing a surgical procedure (pg. 2084, right column, 2nd paragraph and 4th paragraph; pg. 2086, right column, 2nd paragraph, wherein the calibration occurs when intra-operative US images are acquired, and thus calibration would be absent when the intraoperative US images are not being acquired, which would occur when a surgical procedure/operation is paused).
With regards to claims 4 and 16, Wen et al. disclose registering the first coordinate system with the second coordinate system is based on: beam thickness, beam shape, or both of the one or more signals transmitted by the imaging device [which provide the B-scan scans]; pose information (position/orientation) of the portion of the tracked device; and one or more properties (i.e. shape of the stylus) of the portion of the tracked device (pg. 2081, right column, last paragraph-pg.2086, right column, 1st paragraph, referring to the pixel location of the feature point corresponding to the stylus tip in the B-scan being extracted and continuously tracked, wherein during the acquisition of the pixel location of the feature point, the spatial position (i.e. pose information) of the stylus tip in the world coordinate is recorded simultaneously (i.e. temporal information), and wherein, once the corresponding data sets are obtained, a solution for the probe calibration is found by mapping one set to the other; further referring to the size of the holes in the phantom, which is used for the calibration, being designed according to the shape of the positioning stylus; Figures 2-6).
With regards to claims 5, 15 and 20, Wen et al. disclose that the calibration phantom comprises: ultrasound conductive material (i.e. water); or a tissue phantom comprised in a body of a subject, wherein the tissue phantom and the subject are associated with a surgical procedure (pg. 2083, left column, 2nd paragraph, referring to the slot in the center of the phantom is filled with water; Figure 2).
With regards to claim 6, Wen et al. disclose that the instructions are further executable by the processor to: output guidance information associated with positioning the imaging device, the tracked device, or both (pg. 2081, left column, 1st paragraph, referring to the integrated design of the needle-guide with the marker frame resulting in the B-scan image being capable of providing 3D image guidance for surgical procedures, Figures 2 and 7, wherein the B-scan images are output/displayed and provide a depiction of the puncture needle and intersection point between the needle tip and the stylus tip).
With regards to claim 7, Wen et al. disclose that the tracked device is comprised in at least a portion of surgical instrument (i.e. stylus/needle), and the instructions are further executable by the processor to: detect, in the one or more images, one or more landmarks (i.e. stylus tip) of the surgical instrument, wherein registering the first coordinate system with the second coordinate system is based on the one or more landmarks (pg. 2084, left column, last paragraph-right column, first paragraph, referring to the “The intersection point between the virtual plane and the stylus tip yields a strong echo spot in the B-scan image…”; Figure 2, in particular, see the image of Figure 2b, wherein the intersection point between the needle tip and the stylus tip are visible as a landmark in the image).
With regards to claim 8, Wen et al. disclose that the instructions are further executable by the processor to verify accuracy of the registration between the first coordinate system and the second coordinate system (pg. 2086, right column, 2nd paragraph -pg. 2087, right column, 2nd paragraph, referring to the evaluation of the calibration accuracy of the probe, wherein the index of point reconstruction accuracy (PRA) is used to estimate the calibration accuracy and is defined by Eq. 9).
With regards to claim 9, Wen et al. disclose that the instructions are further executable by the processor to: detect one or more discrepancies (i.e. see Equation 9 which finds the difference/discrepancy between the spatial position of the stylus tip and the transformed pixel location of the stylus tip in the B-scan image) between first tracking data of the tracked device generated based on the electromagnetic signals and second tracking data of the tracked device generated based on output of the imaging device; and generate a notification (see Tables 1, 2, 3 and Figure 7) associated with the one or more discrepancies, perform one or more operations associated with compensating for the one or more discrepancies, or both (pg. 2086, right column, 2nd paragraph -pg. 2087, right column, 2nd paragraph, referring to the evaluation of the calibration accuracy of the probe, wherein the index of point reconstruction accuracy (PRA) is used to estimate the calibration accuracy and is defined by Eq. 9; Tables 1-3, Figure 7).
With regards to claim 10, Wen et al. disclose that the imaging device comprise an ultrasound imaging device (pg. 2081, left column, 2nd paragraph, referring to the US probe; Figures 1-2).
With regards to claim 11, Wen et al. disclose that the system further comprises the imaging device (pg. 2081, left column, 2nd paragraph, referring to the US probe; Figures 1-2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Verard has been introduced to teach tracking is based on electromagnetic measurements of an electromagnetic field generated by a transmission device in proximity to the calibration phantom, wherein the transmission device includes an array of transmission coils, etc..
Conclusion
/KATHERINE L FERNANDEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798