DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I in the reply filed on 05/26/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 26 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 26 recites the limitation "the wireless communication link". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is not clear whether this is the same as recited elsewhere “the direct wireless communication link”. For further examination, it is interpreted as being different.
Claim 27 is also rejected as being dependent from the rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 3, 10 – 13 and 21 – 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20150053144 (Bianchi).
Regarding claim 1, Bianchi teaches “A tracking device (paragraph 0045: combination of dog collar 24 with wireless communication module 52 that couples to a training module 54) operable with an electronic device (paragraph 0044: Mobile telephone 14 is a smartphone presenting information as visual images at a touchscreen display 34. Paragraph 0049: in FIG. 3, an adapter 82 is depicted to accept a mobile telephone 14 for interacting with a dog collar 24. Adapter 82 forms an opening to accept mobile telephone 14 with a connector 84 aligned to couple with a port 86. Paragraph 0051 discloses an alternative embodiment: in FIG. 5, a side view depicts an example embodiment of adapter 82 for providing UHF and VHF frequencies and that interacts with a wireless telephone 14 through a WPAN for relaying information to and from a dog collar 14. Summarizing, recited “electronic device” maps to the combination of the wireless telephone 14 and adapter 82. Alternatively, as disclosed in paragraph 0068, Mobile telephone 14 may have adapter 82 integrated within its housing to provide a mobile telephone 14 with integrated adapter functionality.) that provides user output indicative of a location of the tracking device (paragraph 0051: Wireless telephone 14 includes a training application, such as to present a GPS position at a display that is provided from a collar 24.), the tracking device comprising:
satellite navigation circuitry configured to obtain location information of the tracking device (paragraph 0056: Training module 54 may include a GPS receiver 56, which determines the position of collar 24 from a GPS signal and provides the position information to mobile telephone 14 through wireless communication module 52.); and
non-cellular wireless communication circuitry (paragraph 0045: wireless communication module 52 may have plural types of receivers or transceivers for supporting different types of communications selected by an end user with different frequency bands and communication protocols. It may include receiver, transmitter or transceiver radio in the amateur UHF or VHF radio bands that communicates with an adapter for the mobile telephone 14 as set forth in FIG. 3. In another example embodiment, wireless communication module 52 is a WWAN or WLAN receiver, transmitter or transceiver) configured to:
establish, based on the tracking device being outside of a geographical area, a direct wireless communication link with the electronic device, and provide, over the direct wireless communication link, the obtained location information of the tracking device to the electronic device (paragraph 0054: in FIG. 6, an example is depicted of a mobile telephone 14 interacting with an adapter 82 and a collar 24 through plural radio frequencies. Paragraph 0055: Once dog collar 24 reaches the limit of Bluetooth communication directly with mobile telephone 14 (thus “being outside of a geographical area” in which direct the Bluetooth communication is possible), such as when a dog ranges out to start hunting, mobile telephone 14 and adapter 82 utilize a mid-frequency to communicate with the collar 24, such as communication with a 900 MHz radio. Adapter 82 initiates communication with dog collar 24 through the mid-frequency to retrieve GPS coordinates from dog collar 24 and provides the GPS coordinates to mobile telephone 14. If the signal strength of the mid-frequency transceiver communications between dog collar 24 and adapter 82 becomes weak or the GPS coordinates of collar 24 relative to adapter 82 indicate a range at the outside of the mid-frequency range (thus being “based on the tracking device being outside of a geographical area” in which mid-frequency range communication is possible), then mobile telephone 14 initiates the use of a low-frequency, such as 150 MHZ, by adapter 82 to dog collar 24.
In other words, upon reaching the limit beyond which mid-frequency range communication is not possible, the combination of the mobile telephone and adapter, together being “the electronic device”, establishes “a direct wireless communication link with the” collar 24 using low-frequency transceiver, and the collar 24 provides “over the direct wireless communication link, the obtained location information of the tracking device”.).”
Regarding claim 2, Bianchi teaches “wherein the non-cellular wireless communication circuitry comprises sub-GHz non-cellular wireless communication circuitry (paragraph 0045: wireless communication module 52 may have plural types of receivers or transceivers for supporting different types of communications selected by an end user with different frequency bands and communication protocols. It may include receiver, transmitter or transceiver radio in the amateur UHF or VHF radio bands that communicates with an adapter for the mobile telephone 14 as set forth in FIG. 3. Communication at either of these frequencies involves “sub-GHz non-cellular wireless communication circuitry”. Explicit “sub-GHz non-cellular wireless communication” frequencies are given in par. 0055).”
Regarding claim 3, Bianchi teaches “further comprising: additional non-cellular wireless communication circuitry configured to convey tag data indicative of the location of the tracking device prior to the establishment of the direct wireless communication link (if the “non-cellular wireless communication circuitry” of claims 1 and 2 is mapped to Bianchi’s a low-frequency (such as 150 MHZ) transceiver, then recited by current claim “additional non-cellular wireless communication circuitry” is mapped to mid-frequency (such as 900 MHz) transceiver. As disclosed in paragraph 0055, “prior to establishment of the direct wireless communication link” using low-frequency communication (using “non-cellular wireless communication circuitry”), the “tag data indicative of the location of the tracking device” is transmitted using mid-frequency transceiver, representing “additional non-cellular wireless communication circuitry”).”
Regarding claim 10, Bianchi teaches “wherein the sub-GHz non-cellular wireless communication circuitry is configured to detect radio-frequency signals at a frequency less than 1 GHz transmitted by the electronic device prior to the establishment of the direct wireless communication link (as was explained in the rejection of claim 1 above, “the establishment of the direct wireless communication link” was mapped to the collar 24 establishing low-frequency communication in the range of 150 MHz upon moving away from the combination of the mobile telephone and adapter (“the electronic device”). Paragraph 0056: During pairing, configuration information is provided between the devices to enable communication of GPS position from collar 24 to adapter 82 and then to mobile telephone 14 for presentation at a display of mobile telephone 14. During pairing at step 124, a test may be performed to confirm operation of wireless communication module 52 for communication between adapter 82 and collar 24 to ensure that the desired frequencies are operational, such as frequencies selected for use by the hunter that day. In other words, the low-frequency circuitry within the collar 24 is tested at the initial pairing stage to make sure that it may “detect radio-frequency signals at a frequency less than 1 GHz transmitted by the electronic device”, which is done prior to the actual usage of the device and thus “prior to the establishment of the direct wireless communication link” when the distance between the collar and the combination of the mobile telephone and adapter exceeds the range for mid-frequency communication. Additionally or alternatively, detection of a signal from a counterpart communication apparatus is implicit/inherent prior to establishment of any communication links with that apparatus).”
Regarding claim 11, Bianchi teaches “further comprising: control circuitry configured to determine whether a criterion has been met and configured to enable the sub-GHz non-cellular wireless communication circuitry to detect the radio-frequency signals based on the criterion being met (paragraph 0055: If the signal strength of the mid-frequency transceiver communications between dog collar 24 and adapter 82 becomes weak or the GPS coordinates of collar 24 relative to adapter 82 indicate a range at the outside of the mid-frequency range, then mobile telephone 14 initiates the use of a low-frequency, such as 150 MHZ, by adapter 82 to dog collar 24. Adapter 82 sends a frequency change command in the mid-frequency range to dog collar 24 so that dog collar 24 can reset the frequency with a matching transceiver. In other words, reception of the frequency change command acts as “a criterion has been met” which enables corresponding “sub-GHz non-cellular wireless communication circuitry to detect the radio-frequency signals” for establishment of a low-frequency range communication).”
Regarding claim 12, Bianchi teaches “wherein the criterion is indicative of the tracking device being outside of the geographical area (indeed, transmission of the frequency change command happens when the GPS coordinates of collar 24 relative to adapter 82 indicate a range at the outside of the mid-frequency range, thus “indicative of the tracking device being outside of the geographical area” for the mid-frequency range communication).”
Regarding claim 13, Bianchi teaches “wherein the criterion is indicative of whether the tracking device is wirelessly paired with the electronic device (paragraph 0056: The process starts at step 124 with a pairing of Bluetooth transceivers located in mobile telephone 14, adapter 82 and collar 24. During pairing, configuration information is provided between the devices to enable communication of GPS position from collar 24 to adapter 82 and then to mobile telephone 14 for presentation at a display of mobile telephone 14. For example, an identifier for each device is provided to the other devices so that mobile telephone 14 can track GPS positions for the desired collar or collars 24. Therefore, subsequent reception of the frequency change command (“the criterion”) is only possible when the devices are paired with each other. Therefore, successful reception of the frequency change command indicates indirectly that all devices are paired with each other).”
Regarding claim 21, Bianchi teaches “further comprising: a motion sensor configured to gather sensor data (paragraph 0046: Training module 54 may include an accelerometer 60, which detects movement of collar 24), wherein the direct wireless communication link is established based on the gathered sensor data (paragraph 0057: At step 128, a determination is made of the frequency that adapter 82 will use to establish communications with dog collar 24. For example, upon initially leaving Bluetooth range, a mid-frequency is selected for adapter 82. As range between adapter 82 and collar 24 increases, a transition to a low-frequency is performed based upon a number of factors, including: distance determined from GPS coordinates, signal strength, vector (speed and direction) of collar relative to frequency range capabilities. In other words, usage of low-frequency range to establish communication (“the direct wireless communication link is established”) is thus based on vector (speed and direction) of collar relative to frequency range capabilities, which represents “the gathered sensor data”. Paragraph 0063: accelerometer 60 provides acceleration and orientation information to an integrator 134, which analyzes the acceleration and orientation information to determine a velocity vector at collar 24.).”
Regarding claim 22, Bianchi teaches “wherein the gathered sensor data is indicative of the tracking device crossing a geographical boundary associated with the geographical area (paragraph 0057: At step 128, a determination is made of the frequency that adapter 82 will use to establish communications with dog collar 24. For example, while using a mid-frequency for communication, as range between adapter 82 and collar 24 increases, a transition to a low-frequency is performed based upon a number of factors, including vector (speed and direction) of collar relative to frequency range capabilities. In other words, the data representing speed and direction collected by the accelerometer indicate that the dog is crossing the boundary of the area suitable for mid-frequency range communication, or “crossing a geographical boundary associated with the geographical area”).”
Regarding claim 23, Bianchi teaches “wherein the location information provided over the direct wireless communication link to the electronic device comprises a real- time location of the tracking device (paragraph 0059: Accurate position data is maintained at the mobile phone 14 by providing updates at minimum intervals, such as every minute. Paragraph 0060: Collars 24 transmit in an assigned time slot if position updates have at least a minimum change. This represents “a real- time location of the tracking device” as opposed to historical location).”
Regarding claim 24, Bianchi teaches “wherein the satellite navigation circuitry is configured to obtain the real-time location of the tracking device and updates to the real-time location of the tracking device (paragraph 0044: a GPS receiver 48 that determines a position of the device from GPS signals which is inherently “real-time”, whether initial or updates.) and wherein the non-cellular wireless communication circuitry is configured to provide the updates to the real-time location of the tracking device to the electronic device over the direct wireless communication link (paragraph 0046: a GPS receiver 56, which determines the position of collar 24 from a GPS signal and provides the position information to mobile telephone 14 through wireless communication module 52. Training application 50 presents the GPS position of collar 24 at display 34 on a map 58 along with the position of mobile telephone 14 so that the end user can determine the relative position of collar 24 by looking at display 34. Paragraph 0055: Adapter 82 initiates communication with dog collar 24 through the mid-frequency to retrieve GPS coordinates from dog collar 24 and provides the GPS coordinates to mobile telephone 14. The same applies to low-frequency range communication.).”
Regarding claim 25, Bianchi teaches “wherein the non-cellular wireless communication circuitry is configured to provide the location information of the tracking device over the direct wireless communication link to the electronic device by transmitting a radio-frequency signal at one or more frequencies less than 1 GHz (Paragraph 0055: Adapter 82 initiates communication with dog collar 24 through the mid-frequency to retrieve GPS coordinates from dog collar 24 and provides the GPS coordinates to mobile telephone 14. The same applies to low-frequency range communication (such as 150 MHZ, which is “a radio-frequency signal at one or more frequencies less than 1 GHz”) which was mapped in claim 1 to “the direct wireless communication link”.).”
Regarding claim 26, Bianchi teaches “further comprising: additional non-cellular wireless communication circuitry configured to convey tag data indicative of the location of the tracking device prior to the establishment of the direct wireless communication link (in the rejection of claim 1 above, “the direct wireless communication link” was mapped to the link using low-frequency range transceiver at 150 MHz. In view of this, “additional non-cellular wireless communication circuitry” is mapped to the mid-frequency range transceiver communicating at 900 MHz, see paragraph 0055. If the signal strength of the mid-frequency transceiver communications between dog collar 24 and adapter 82 becomes weak or the GPS coordinates of collar 24 relative to adapter 82 indicate a range at the outside of the mid-frequency range, then mobile telephone 14 initiates the use of a low-frequency, such as 150 MHZ, by adapter 82 to dog collar 24. Thus, usage of mid-frequency range transceiver with 900 MHz precedes usage of the low-frequency range transceiver with 150 MHz or, using the language of the claim, “prior to the establishment of the direct wireless communication link”), wherein updates to the tag data indicative of the location of the tracking device are provided, using the additional non-cellular wireless communication circuitry, at a first frequency (mid-frequency range operates at 900 MHz) and wherein updates to the location information of the tracking device are provided, over the wireless communication link, at a second frequency greater than the first frequency (paragraph 0055: As range decreases between adapter 82 and dog collar 24, mobile telephone 14 returns adapter 82 and collar 24 to the use of the mid-frequency (“using the additional non-cellular wireless communication circuitry”) followed by the Bluetooth communications (mapped to “the wireless communication link”) for obtaining GPS coordinates from dog collar 24. It is well-known that Bluetooth frequencies are in the range of 2.4 GHz, which is “a second frequency greater than the first frequency” of 900 MHz ).”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20150053144 (Bianchi).
Regarding claim 5, Bianchi teaches “wherein the additional non-cellular wireless communication circuitry comprises wireless personal area network communication circuitry (paragraph 0054: mobile telephone 14 pairs with Bluetooth to both adapter 82 and dog collar 24. Thus, collar 24 has “wireless personal area network communication”, such as Bluetooth) configured to convey the tag data indicative of the location of the tracking device (paragraph 0054: Initially, dog collar 24 provides GPS information to both adapter 82 and mobile telephone 14 with the Bluetooth pairing. Paragraph 0055: As range decreases between adapter 82 and dog collar 24, mobile telephone 14 returns adapter 82 and collar 24 to the use of the mid-frequency followed by the Bluetooth communications for obtaining GPS coordinates from dog collar 24.) to a neighboring electronic device other than the electronic device (although not disclosed explicitly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application that this may be inferred from FIG 9 with corresponding description. Indeed, as disclosed in paragraph 0060, a first set of collars 24 labeled (1-n) is controlled by a first adapter 82 and first mobile telephone 14 and a second set of collars 24 labeled (a-n) is controlled by a second adapter 82 and a second mobile telephone 14 (representing “a neighboring electronic device other than the electronic device”). Paragraph 0061: second mobile telephone 14 can independently track collars 24 assigned to first mobile telephone 14. Therefore, for any collar from a first set of collars 24 labeled (1-n) controlled by first mobile telephone 14, transmitting its location information to the second mobile telephone 14 while being within the Bluetooth range, would meet this limitation) prior to the establishment of the direct wireless communication link (this is met at least during initial pairing and/or during initial stage of separation before switching to mid-frequency range communication and then to low-frequency range as the distance between the hunter and the dog increases enough so that “the direct wireless communication link” using low-frequency range is established).”
Additionally, this follows from embodiment of FIG 8 described in paragraph 0058. Indeed, the collar 24 shown in the upper right corner of FIG 8 communicates its location information using Bluetooth with another collar 24 shown in the middle upper portion of FIG 8, representing “a neighboring electronic device other than the electronic device”. Additionally, the collar 24 shown in the upper right corner of FIG 8 appears to be within the distance of low-frequency range communication (representing “the direct wireless communication link”). However, there is no low-frequency range communication is established by that collar. If the distance between these two collars becomes excessive for Bluetooth communication, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to initiate the low-frequency range communication directly with the mobile telephone 14 with corresponding adapter 82 (“the establishment of the direct wireless communication link”) shown at the bottom right of FIG 8. Thus, transmission of location information using Bluetooth between the two collars prior to establishment of the low-frequency ridge communication meets the requirement of instant claim.
Claims 4 and 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20150053144 (Bianchi) as applied to claims 3 and 26 above, and further in view of US 20220200519 (Biffert).
Regarding claim 4, Bianchi teaches “wherein the tag data indicative of the location of the tracking device comprises the location information of the tracking device (abstract and elsewhere in the disclosure: The dog collar includes a GPS receiver to provide position information to the mobile telephone)…”
Bianchi does not teach “wherein the additional non-cellular wireless communication circuitry comprises satellite wireless communication circuitry configured to provide the obtained location information to the electronic device prior to the establishment of the direct wireless communication link.”
Biffert also teaches tags attached to animals. Each tag receives, processes and maintains data regarding the location of the animal to which it is attached. The tag communicates with the management platform and remote computer system via longer range wireless networks. See abstract. Paragraph 0008: Each tag is capable of communicating its data with the management system platform and/or the remote computer system, e.g., with the cloud, via one or more long range wireless networks which can include cellular, satellite, and/or IP-based networks, and/or LPWAN's. Paragraph 0098: The communications interface 62 of each tag 20 can include a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) receiver 82, and one or more of a Bluetooth transceiver 84, a cellular network transceiver 86, a satellite data network transceiver, one or more LPWAN transceivers 88, and an RFID transceiver 92. Paragraph 0104: the satellite data network transceiver is in addition to the GNSS receiver 82. The satellite data network transceiver is operative to wirelessly transmit and receive data to and from the tag 20 over relatively long distances (longer than Bluetooth or Wi-Fi). As further disclosed in paragraph 0187, in connection with the communication of data, the tag 20 can first try to communicate with the management system platform 140 and/or the remote computer system 220 via a local communications channel such as the Bluetooth transceiver 84 or the LPWAN transceiver 88 if it is within signal range of a corresponding transceiver. However, if a tag 20 determines that a suitable Bluetooth or LPWAN connection is not available, for example when the animal to which the tag 20 is attached is on the open range and far removed from the management system platform 140, then the tag 20 has the option to communicate over a long range communications channel such a satellite data network via the satellite data network transceiver. The tag 20 thus is able to autonomously select the fastest and least expensive communications channel to communicate data depending on the location.
In other words, Biffert teaches “wherein the additional non-cellular wireless communication circuitry comprises satellite wireless communication circuitry (satellite data network transceiver) configured to provide the obtained location information to the electronic device (paragraphs 0177 – 0183: providing GPS coordinates)…”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to include, in the system of Bianchi, an additional satellite transceiver capable of providing GPS coordinates, as disclosed by Biffert, when the distance between the devices exceeds the distance suitable for direct communication. Doing so would have provided additional functionality and capability of receiving location data even when the separation between the devices is such that direct wireless communication link is not feasible.
With respect to the requirement that the location information is provided “prior to the establishment of the direct wireless communication link”, this simply arises from the obvious situation when, in the system of Bianchi, the dog moves beyond the distance at which the low-frequency range direct communication link is possible. In this case, as suggested by Biffert, satellite communication would take over and provide collar location information to the mobile telephone. Further, when the distance between the hunter and the dog decreases, as described in Bianchi’s paragraph 0055, to the point where the low-frequency range direct communication link may be reestablished, this situation of switching from providing location information through the satellite communication to providing location information through the low-frequency range direct communication link would meet the limitation of the claim that the satellite communication circuitry provides location information “prior to the establishment of the direct wireless communication link”.
Regarding claim 27, Bianchi teaches “wherein the non-cellular wireless communication circuitry comprises sub-GHz wireless communication circuitry (paragraph 0045: wireless communication module 52 may have plural types of receivers or transceivers for supporting different types of communications selected by an end user with different frequency bands and communication protocols. It may include receiver, transmitter or transceiver radio in the amateur UHF or VHF radio bands that communicates with an adapter for the mobile telephone 14 as set forth in FIG. 3. Communication at either of these frequencies involves “sub-GHz non-cellular wireless communication circuitry”.)…”
Bianchi does not disclose “wherein the additional non-cellular wireless communication circuitry comprises satellite wireless communication circuitry.”
Biffert also teaches tags attached to animals. Each tag receives, processes and maintains data regarding the location of the animal to which it is attached. The tag communicates with the management platform and remote computer system via longer range wireless networks. See abstract. Paragraph 0008: Each tag is capable of communicating its data with the management system platform and/or the remote computer system, e.g., with the cloud, via one or more long range wireless networks which can include cellular, satellite, and/or IP-based networks, and/or LPWAN's. Paragraph 0098: The communications interface 62 of each tag 20 can include a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) receiver 82, and one or more of a Bluetooth transceiver 84, a cellular network transceiver 86, a satellite data network transceiver, one or more LPWAN transceivers 88. Paragraph 0104: the satellite data network transceiver is in addition to the GNSS receiver 82. The satellite data network transceiver is operative to wirelessly transmit and receive data to and from the tag 20 over relatively long distances (longer than Bluetooth or Wi-Fi). As further disclosed in paragraph 0187, in connection with the communication of data, the tag 20 can first try to communicate with the management system platform 140 and/or the remote computer system 220 via a local communications channel such as the Bluetooth transceiver 84 or the LPWAN transceiver 88 if it is within signal range of a corresponding transceiver. However, if a tag 20 determines that a suitable Bluetooth or LPWAN connection is not available, for example when the animal to which the tag 20 is attached is on the open range and far removed from the management system platform 140, then the tag 20 has the option to communicate over a long range communications channel such as a satellite data network via the satellite data network transceiver. The tag 20 thus is able to autonomously select the fastest and least expensive communications channel to communicate data depending on the location.
In other words, Biffert teaches “wherein the additional non-cellular wireless communication circuitry comprises satellite wireless communication circuitry.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to include, in the system of Bianchi, an additional satellite transceiver capable of providing GPS coordinates, as disclosed by Biffert, when the distance between the devices exceeds the distance suitable for direct communication. Doing so would have provided additional functionality and capability of receiving location data even when the separation between the devices is such that direct wireless communication link is not feasible.
With respect to the requirement of parent claim 26 that the frequency of the satellite wireless communication circuitry is lower than the frequency of “the wireless communication link”, in the rejection of parent claim 26 above, “the wireless communication link” was mapped to Bluetooth link operating at 2.4 GHz. The Examiner takes an official notice that among the satellite communication frequencies there are frequencies as low as 30–300 MHz, which are used mainly for Low Earth Orbit (LEO) missions and basic ground communication. They offer robust propagation and simple antennas but limited data rates.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to select a specific satellite communication frequency based on design choice with predictable results including the frequency of 30–300 MHz, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claims 6, 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20150053144 (Bianchi) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of US 12412465 (Daoura).
Regarding claim 6, Bianchi teaches “further comprising: input-output circuitry (paragraph 0046: Training module 54, associated with the collar 24, may include a speaker 64, which provides audible commands, such as either recorded voice or whistle tweets stored in memory of collar 24, that a dog wearing collar 24 can hear.)…” “…after the establishment of the direct wireless communication link (paragraph 0055: If the signal strength of the mid-frequency transceiver communications between dog collar 24 and adapter 82 becomes weak or the GPS coordinates of collar 24 relative to adapter 82 indicate a range at the outside of the mid-frequency range, then mobile telephone 14 initiates the use of a low-frequency, such as 150 MHZ, by adapter 82 to dog collar 24 (which was mapped to “the establishment of the direct wireless communication link”). As range decreases between adapter 82 and dog collar 24, mobile telephone 14 returns adapter 82 and collar 24 to the use of the mid-frequency followed by the Bluetooth communications for obtaining GPS coordinates from dog collar 24. In other words, in this scenario, when the distance between the mobile telephone and the collar 24 initially increases resulting in “establishment of the direct wireless communication link” using low-frequency range communication, and then decreases to the point where Bluetooth communication becomes feasible again, establishment of Bluetooth communication happens “after” and is subsequent to “the establishment of the direct wireless communication link”).”
Bianchi does not teach that this circuitry is “configured to output additional location information of the tracking device after the establishment of the direct wireless communication link.”
Daoura teaches a XCB radiotag 10 shown at least in FIG 6C and also an example of use with respect to tracking a dog in FIG 13A-B with corresponding description. Similar to Bianchi, the XCB radiotag 10 includes GPS circuitry (see FIG 6C and col. 31 line 23: GPS chip 688 is shown with a separate antenna 688a. Col. 33 lines 43 – 47: the device 10 may supply GPS coordinates or data. The device may include a Satnav radio 688 and antenna 688a with specialized processing module for calculating position from the timed signals of satellites in low earth orbit.). Col. 46 lines 41 – 43: FIGS. 13A and 13B illustrate discovery and tracking system features in a “lost dog” scenario over an extended distance.
As further stated in col. 47 line 59 – col. 48 line 4, When closing in so that Bluetooth communication is reestablished (dashed circle 1311), the owner can send a command from the handset 30 to the radiotag 10 to launch an alarm state, causing a buzzer to go off. The radiotag is configured to emit a dog whistle alternating with an audible tone that the dog has learned to obey. Even though the dog is in an alleyway, the owner can readily find it (or the dog can find the owner) using the audible tone and the approximate position of the cellular location fix as shown on a streetmap of the area displayed on smartphone 30. On command from the Toolkit, an LED on the radiotag may also be illuminated to improve visibility if the alley is dark. Therefore, “input-output circuitry configured to output additional location information of the tracking device” corresponds to the buzzer and LED.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to utilize disclosed by Daoura capability of directing the device to emit sounds providing additional whereabouts for the dog, in the system of Bianchi. Doing so would have allowed the owner to easier find the dog even when it is dark.
Regarding claim 7, Bianchi in combination with Daoura teaches “wherein the input-output circuitry is configured to output the additional location information of the tracking device responsive to a command from the electronic device (Daoura, col. 47 line 59 – col. 48 line 4: When closing in (dashed circle 1311), using the Bluetooth Proximity Locator Services Toolkit, the owner can send a command from the handset 30 to the radiotag 10 to launch an alarm state, causing a buzzer to go off. On command from the Toolkit, an LED on the radiotag may also be illuminated to improve visibility if the alley is dark.).”
Regarding claim 9, Bianchi in combination with Daoura teaches “wherein the input-output circuitry comprises an audio output device configured to produce audio output indicative of the location of the tracking device (Daoura, col. 47 line 59 – col. 48 line 4: When closing in (dashed circle 1311), using the Bluetooth Proximity Locator Services Toolkit, the owner can send a command from the handset 30 to the radiotag 10 to launch an alarm state, causing a buzzer to go off (“to produce audio output indicative of the location of the tracking device”). The radiotag is configured to emit a dog whistle alternating with an audible tone that the dog has learned to obey.).”
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20150053144 (Bianchi) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of US 20220390586 (Ye).
Regarding claim 8, it depends from claim 6 and is, therefore, rewritten to include the limitations of claim 6 in the following manner: “further comprising: input-output circuitry configured to output additional location information of the tracking device after the establishment of the direct wireless communication link; wherein the input-output circuitry comprises ultra-wideband wireless communication circuitry configured to convey radio-frequency signals indicative of the location of the tracking device.”
Ye in FIG 14B and paragraphs 0081 – 0085 teaches a process for determining location data between mobile devices. Mobile tag A can begin by transmitting an announcement wireless signal (ANNC) utilizing a Bluetooth transmitter. Upon receiving at mobile tag B the announcement signal utilizing Bluetooth receiver, mobile tag B can in response transmit via a wideband transmitter a range request (R-REQ) signal utilizing a ultra-wideband signal. Upon receiving the R-REQ signal, mobile tag A can be configured to enable a ultra-wideband transmitter to transmit a range response (R-RSP) signal. Mobile tag B can receive the R-RSP signal with a ultra-wideband receiver. Upon receiving the R-RSP signal, mobile tag B can determine the round-trip time between the R-REQ signal and the R-RSP signal and thereby determine a distance between mobile tag B and mobile tag. In addition, mobile tags B and A can be configured with multiple antennas to calculate an angle of arrival of the R-RSP signal to determine an angular orientation between mobile tag B and mobile tag A. Distance and angular orientation can be used by mobile tag B to also determine a trajectory of mobile tag A relative to mobile tag B. Mobile tag B can also be configured to report to mobile tag A location information such as the measured distance, angular orientation, position, and/or trajectory of mobile tag A and/or B via a range report (R-RPT) signal.
In other words, Ye teaches “further comprising: input-output circuitry (ultra-wideband transmitter/receiver) configured to output additional location information of the tracking device (such as disclosed reporting location information such as the measured distance, angular orientation, position, and/or trajectory of mobile tag A and/or B via a range report (R-RPT) signal)…” “…wherein the input-output circuitry comprises ultra-wideband wireless communication circuitry configured to convey radio-frequency signals indicative of the location of the tracking device (see explanation above with respect to operation of the system based on transmission of ultra-wideband signals that can be used to determine the distance and angular orientation).”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to utilize disclosed by Ye ultra-wideband ranging to determine the distance and angular orientation between the communicating devices, in the system of Bianchi. Doing so would have allowed to more accurately determine exact position of the dog wearing the collar 24.
With respect to the requirement that this is performed “after the establishment of the direct wireless communication link”, in Ye, the ultra-wideband ranging is performed in combination with operation of the Bluetooth transceiver. Going back to Bianchi, paragraph 0055: If the signal strength of the mid-frequency transceiver communications between dog collar 24 and adapter 82 becomes weak or the GPS coordinates of collar 24 relative to adapter 82 indicate a range at the outside of the mid-frequency range, then mobile telephone 14 initiates the use of a low-frequency, such as 150 MHZ, by adapter 82 to dog collar 24 (which was mapped to “the establishment of the direct wireless communication link”). As range decreases between adapter 82 and dog collar 24, mobile telephone 14 returns adapter 82 and collar 24 to the use of the mid-frequency followed by the Bluetooth communications for obtaining GPS coordinates from dog collar 24.
In other words, in this scenario, when the distance between the mobile telephone and the collar 24 initially increases resulting in “establishment of the direct wireless communication link” using low-frequency range communication, and then decreases to the point where Bluetooth communication becomes feasible again, in the device of Bianchi and Ye, establishment of Bluetooth communication and corresponding ultra-wideband ranging happens “after” and is subsequent to “the establishment of the direct wireless communication link”.
Conclusion
/GENNADIY TSVEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648