Claims 1, 2, and 4-12 are rejected. Claim 3 has been cancelled.
The rejections over Quesnel alone and further in view of other references have been withdrawn in view of the present amendment and response. None of the applied references disclose or suggest the first layer comprising a plurality of filler particles including wood flour and wherein a density of the plurality of filler particles is lower than a density of the first thermoplastic polymer component.
New ground of rejection is made in view of newly discovered reference to Nikkola et al. (FI 20195613).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 7-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 102018113888 to Quesnel et al. (hereinafter “Quesnel”) in view of FI 20195613 to Nikkola et al. (hereinafter “Nikkola”).
As to claim 1, Quesnel discloses a composite panel for a vehicle interior, comprising: a first composite layer 4 comprising first fibers and a first thermoplastic polymer, a second composite layer 6 comprising second fibers and a second thermoplastic polymer, and a third composite layer 8 comprising third fibers and a third thermoplastic polymer (figure 1, and paragraphs 6 and 7). The second fibers are natural fibers and so are the third fibers (paragraph 6). The second natural fibers are shorter in length than the third natural fibers (paragraph 6). The second thermoplastic polymer comprises polypropylene (paragraph 7).
The second composite layer reads on the claimed first layer while the third composite layer reads on the claimed second layer.
Quesnel does not explicitly disclose the second composite layer comprising (i) a plurality of filler particles including wood flour embedded therein, and wherein a density of the filler particles is lower than a density of the first thermoplastic polymer component.
Nikkola, however, discloses a natural fiber plastic composite product obtained from a composition comprising recycled polyethylene, recycled label material, wood powder, inorganic filler and coupling agent (p 2, lines 1-10). The recycled label material comprises recycled cellulosic fibers (p 1, lines 10-15). The wood powder has a bulk density of from 0.15 to 0.2 g/cc (p 12, lines 20-25). The wood powder increases flexural strength and durability of the composite product (p 12, lines 20-25).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wood powder disclosed in Nikkola in the second composite sheet of Quesnel motivated by the desire to obtained improved flexural strength and durability.
The combined disclosures of Quesnel and Nikkola result in a second composite sheet comprising polypropylene resin, natural fibers and wood powder. It appears that the second composite sheet of Quesnel in view of Nikkola is made of the same materials as the first layer of the claimed invention. Therefore, the examiner takes the position that the density of the wood powder is lower than that of the polypropylene resin.
As to claim 2, Quesnel discloses that the second fibers are oriented in a substantially random orientation with respect to one another (figures 1 and 2).
As to claim 7, the first composite layer of the composite panel reads on the claimed support layer.
As to claim 8, the second composite layer comprises polypropylene and natural fibers including bast fibers, wood fibers, hemp fibers, flax fibers, kenaf fibers and jute fibers (paragraphs 23 and 24).
As to claim 9, the second composite layer comprises a recycled thermoplastic polymer (paragraph 23).
As to claim 10, Quesnel discloses a method for producing a composite panel for a vehicle interior, the method comprising:
providing a first composite layer;
providing a second composite layer comprising second natural fibers and a second thermoplastic polymer; and
providing a third composite layer comprising third natural fibers and a third thermoplastic polymer;
wherein the second natural fibers are shorter in length than the third natural fibers (paragraphs 6, 7, and 44).
Quesnel discloses the method further including: grinding or milling a recycled composite material into ground composite material wherein the recycled composite material is made of a thermoplastic polymer and natural fibers (paragraph 26). The thermoplastic polymer of the ground composite material is equated to the second thermoplastic polymer while the natural fibers of the ground composite material are equated to the second natural fibers. The average length of the ground composite material’s second natural fibers is smaller than the average length of the recycled composite material’s natural fibers due to recycling process.
The second composite layer is formed from a composition comprising second natural fibers, the second thermoplastic polymer, and the ground composite material which is made of recycled natural fibers and recycled thermoplastic polymer.
As to claim 12, the method comprises: joining the first composite layer, the second composite layer and the third composite layer by a calendaring process (paragraph 49).
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quesnel in view of Nikkola as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of US 2020/0385905 to Good et al. (hereinafter “Good”).
As to claims 4-6, Quesnel does not explicitly disclose the second composite layer further comprising (i) glass beads and (ii) one or more gas bubbles embedded in the second thermoplastic polymer.
Good, however, discloses a composite sheet for an automotive interior component, comprising a porous fiber-reinforced thermoplastic resin; and one or more skin layer materials (abstract). The porous fiber-reinforced thermoplastic resin comprises a thermoplastic polymer and reinforcing fibers dispersed therein (paragraph 16). The reinforcing fibers include mineral fibers and natural fibers (paragraph 16). The porous fiber-reinforced thermoplastic resin also includes glass microspheres, polymeric expandable microspheres, and each of which having a low bulk density of from 0.1 to 0.5 g/cc (paragraphs 22-25). The microspheres reduce weight and production cost while providing dimensional stability (paragraph 23). The microspheres provide a means of introducing controlled, small voids in a closed-cell configuration (paragraph 22).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include glass microspheres and polymeric expandable microspheres disclosed in Good in the second composite sheet of Quesnel motivated by the desire to reduce weight and production cost while providing dimensional stability for the composite panel.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quesnel in view of Nikkola as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of US 2006/0270762 to Noel. III (hereinafter “Noel”).
Quesnel in view of Nikkola does not explicitly disclose the second composite layer formed by extrusion.
Noel, however, discloses a plastic composite reinforced by cellulosic material and talc, obtained using extrusion process (abstract). The cellulosic talc-filled plastic composite is useful as an automotive panel (paragraph 15). Noel discloses a method for extruding a composite comprising: (i) introducing the composite into an extruder wherein the composite comprises 20-40% by weight of the talc, 10-60 % by weight of cellulosic material, and 20-70% by weight of a thermoplastic polymer (abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the second composite layer disclosed in Quesnel using extrusion process because calendaring and extruding processes have been shown in the art to be recognized equivalent processes for forming a fiber-reinforced polymer materials and the selection of these known equivalents to be used as the method for forming a fiber-reinforced polymer materials will be within the level of the ordinary skill in the art.
Response to Arguments
The rejections over Quesnel alone and further in view of other references have been withdrawn in view of the present amendment and response. None of the applied references disclose or suggest the first layer comprising a plurality of filler particles including wood flour and wherein a density of the plurality of filler particles is lower than a density of the first thermoplastic polymer component.
Quesnel does not teach the first layer comprising a plurality of filler particles including wood flour and wherein a density of the plurality of filler particles is lower than a density of the first thermoplastic polymer component. However, new combination of Quesnel and Nikkola suggests the claimed invention.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Hai Vo/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1788