Drawings
The drawings filed on 5/28/2024 are accepted by the examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/27/24, 7/15/25, and 7/21/25 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims of instant application
Claims of USPAT 12031639
1. A circuit for a use with a hydraulic valve actuator in a control system, comprising:
an input channel to receive an operational command;
a motor output channel to provide a signal to operate a motor in the control system;
a valve output channel to provide a signal to control a flow of hydraulic fluid in the control system by opening or closing a valve;
an input mechanism to receive a user input and to provide a signal representative of a configuration of the hydraulic valve actuator based on the user input, wherein the user input indicates at least one of whether the hydraulic valve actuator is configured as spring-to-open or spring-to-close, whether the hydraulic valve actuator is configured to operate the motor when the operational command comprises an emergency shutdown command, whether the control system comprises an accumulator, or a time period associated with opening or closing of the valve; and
a plurality of physical logic gates to process the operational command and the signal representative of the configuration of the hydraulic valve actuator to control the motor output channel and the valve output channel.
2. The circuit of claim 1, wherein the user input indicates whether the hydraulic valve actuator is configured as spring-to-open or spring-to-close.
1. Control circuitry for a system that comprises a hydraulic valve actuator, comprising:
one or more input channels that are each configured to receive an operational command;
a motor output that is configured to cause a motor that is coupled to a hydraulic fluid pump to run;
one or more valve outputs that are each configured to control an open or closed state of an associated valve, wherein each of the one or more valves is configured to control a flow of hydraulic fluid within the system; and
one or more user-selectable inputs that are representative of a configuration of the hydraulic valve actuator, the one or more user-selectable inputs comprising one or more inputs to indicate whether the hydraulic valve actuator is configured as spring-to-open or spring-to-close;
a plurality of physical logic gates that are responsive to at least signals received at the one or more input channels and the one or more user-selectable inputs to determine a state of the motor output and the one or more valve outputs.
3. The circuit of claim 1, wherein the user input indicates whether the hydraulic valve actuator is configured to operate the motor when the operational command comprises the emergency shutdown command.
4. The control circuitry of claim 1, wherein the one or more input channels comprise an emergency shutdown input channel configured to receive an emergency shut down command.
4. The circuit of claim 1, wherein the user input indicates whether the control system comprises the accumulator.
5. The control circuitry of claim 1, wherein the one or more user-selectable inputs comprise a user-selectable input to indicate whether or not the system includes an accumulator.
7. The circuit of claim 6, wherein:
the input mechanism comprises the potentiometer;
an output of a first one of the plurality of physical logic gates is coupled to an input of a second one of the plurality of physical logic gates via a first path through the variable resistor and a second path through a diode; and
the first path and the second path are in parallel.
7. The control circuitry of claim 6, wherein:
one of the one or more user-selectable inputs is a resistance of a variable resistor; and
an output of a first one of the plurality of physical logic gates is coupled to an input of a second one of the plurality of physical logic gates via a first path through the variable resistor and a second path through a diode, wherein the first path and the second path are in parallel.
8. The circuit of claim 7, wherein:
the circuit comprises a capacitor that is charged by a control voltage via the first path and the second path when an output of the first one of the physical logic gates is in a first state;
the capacitor discharges through the first path and not the second path when the output of the first one of the physical logic gates is in a second state; and
the potentiometer controls a rate of discharge of the capacitor.
9. The control circuitry of claim 8, wherein the capacitor discharges through the first path and not the second path when the output of the first one of the physical logic gates is in a second state, and wherein the resistance of the variable resistor determines a rate of discharge of the capacitor.
9. A hydraulic valve actuator for use in a control system, comprising:
a plurality of input channels to receive operational commands;
a motor output channel to provide a signal to operate a motor in the control system;
a valve output channel to provide a signal to control a flow of hydraulic fluid in the control system by opening or closing a valve;
an input mechanism to receive a user input and to provide a signal representative of a configuration of the hydraulic valve actuator based on the user input, wherein the user input indicates at least one of whether the hydraulic valve actuator is configured as spring-to-open or spring-to-close, whether the hydraulic valve actuator is configured for emergency shutdown functionality, whether the control system comprises an accumulator, or a time period associated with opening or closing of the valve; and
a plurality of physical logic gates to process the operational command and the signal representative of the configuration of the hydraulic valve actuator to control the motor output channel and the valve output channel.
11. The hydraulic valve actuator of claim 9, wherein:
the input mechanism comprises a dip switch; and
the user input indicates whether the hydraulic valve actuator is configured as spring-to-open or spring-to-close.
1. Control circuitry for a system that comprises a hydraulic valve actuator, comprising:
one or more input channels that are each configured to receive an operational command;
a motor output that is configured to cause a motor that is coupled to a hydraulic fluid pump to run;
one or more valve outputs that are each configured to control an open or closed state of an associated valve, wherein each of the one or more valves is configured to control a flow of hydraulic fluid within the system; and
one or more user-selectable inputs that are representative of a configuration of the hydraulic valve actuator, the one or more user-selectable inputs comprising one or more inputs to indicate whether the hydraulic valve actuator is configured as spring-to-open or spring-to-close;
a plurality of physical logic gates that are responsive to at least signals received at the one or more input channels and the one or more user-selectable inputs to determine a state of the motor output and the one or more valve outputs.
12. The hydraulic valve actuator of claim 9, wherein:
the input mechanism comprises a dip switch; and
the user input indicates whether the control system comprises the accumulator.
5. The control circuitry of claim 1, wherein the one or more user-selectable inputs comprise a user-selectable input to indicate whether or not the system includes an accumulator.
13. The hydraulic valve actuator of claim 9, wherein:
the input mechanism comprises a dip switch; and
the user input indicates whether the hydraulic valve actuator is configured for emergency shutdown functionality.
4. The control circuitry of claim 1, wherein the one or more input channels comprise an emergency shutdown input channel configured to receive an emergency shut down command.
14. The hydraulic valve actuator of claim 9, wherein:
the plurality of input channels comprises a local input channel, a remote input channel, and a mode selector input channel;
the mode selector input channel is to receive a signal that indicates whether the control system is to be controlled via local inputs or remote inputs; and
the hydraulic valve actuator comprises a multiplexer to pass the operational commands received via either the local input channel of the remote input channel to the plurality of physical logic gates based on the signal that indicates whether the control system is to be controlled via local inputs or remote inputs.
2. The control circuitry of claim 1, wherein the one or more input channels comprise one or more local input channels and one or more remote input channels.
3. The control circuitry of claim 2, further comprising:
a mode selector input channel that is configured to receive a signal that indicates whether the system is controlled via local signals at the one or more local input channels or remote signals at the one or more remote input channels; and
a multiplexer that is configured to pass either the local signals or the remote signals to the plurality of physical logic gates based upon a state of a mode selector signal at the mode selector input channel.
15. The hydraulic valve actuator of claim 9, wherein:
the plurality of input channels comprises a system status input channel to receive a status signal indicating that the valve is open, that the valve is closed, or that a pressure within a hydraulic chamber of the hydraulic valve actuator is above a threshold
the plurality of physical logic gates is to process the status signal to control the motor output channel and the valve output channel.
6. The control circuitry of claim 1, further comprising one or more system status input channels, wherein each of at least one system status input channels of the one or more system status input channels is configured to receive a signal that is representative of at least one of an indication that a valve that is coupled to the hydraulic valve actuator is open, an indication that the valve that is coupled to the hydraulic valve actuator is closed, or an indication that a pressure within a hydraulic chamber of the hydraulic valve actuator is above a threshold.
16. A hydraulic valve actuator for use in a control system, comprising:
an input channel to receive an operational command;
a motor output channel to provide a signal to operate a motor in the control system;
a valve output channel to provide a signal to control a flow of hydraulic fluid in the control system by opening or closing a valve;
an input mechanism to receive a user input and to provide a signal representative of a configuration of the hydraulic valve actuator based on the user input, wherein the user input indicates at least one of whether the hydraulic valve actuator is configured as spring-to-open or spring-to-close, whether the hydraulic valve actuator is configured for emergency shutdown functionality, whether the control system comprises an accumulator, or a time period associated with opening or closing of the valve; and
a plurality of physical logic gates to process the operational command and the signal representative of the configuration of the hydraulic valve actuator to control the motor output channel and the valve output channel.
1. Control circuitry for a system that comprises a hydraulic valve actuator, comprising:
one or more input channels that are each configured to receive an operational command;
a motor output that is configured to cause a motor that is coupled to a hydraulic fluid pump to run;
one or more valve outputs that are each configured to control an open or closed state of an associated valve, wherein each of the one or more valves is configured to control a flow of hydraulic fluid within the system; and
one or more user-selectable inputs that are representative of a configuration of the hydraulic valve actuator, the one or more user-selectable inputs comprising one or more inputs to indicate whether the hydraulic valve actuator is configured as spring-to-open or spring-to-close;
a plurality of physical logic gates that are responsive to at least signals received at the one or more input channels and the one or more user-selectable inputs to determine a state of the motor output and the one or more valve outputs.
17. The hydraulic valve actuator of claim 16, wherein the user input indicates whether the hydraulic valve actuator is configured for emergency shutdown functionality.
4. The control circuitry of claim 1, wherein the one or more input channels comprise an emergency shutdown input channel configured to receive an emergency shut down command.
18. The hydraulic valve actuator of claim 16, wherein the user input indicates whether the control system comprises the accumulator.
5. The control circuitry of claim 1, wherein the one or more user-selectable inputs comprise a user-selectable input to indicate whether or not the system includes an accumulator.
19. The hydraulic valve actuator of claim 16, wherein:
the input mechanism comprises a variable resistor; and
the user input indicates the time period associated with opening or closing of the valve.
7. The control circuitry of claim 6, wherein:
one of the one or more user-selectable inputs is a resistance of a variable resistor; and
an output of a first one of the plurality of physical logic gates is coupled to an input of a second one of the plurality of physical logic gates via a first path through the variable resistor and a second path through a diode, wherein the first path and the second path are in parallel.
Claims 1-4, 9 and 14-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 4-6 of USPAT 12031639.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scopes of both claim sets are extremely similar (for example, a valve output channel to provide a signal to control a flow of hydraulic fluid in the control system by opening or closing a valve is practically the same as “one or more valve outputs that are each configured to control an open or closed state of an associated valve, wherein each of the one or more valves is configured to control a flow of hydraulic fluid within the system”), the difference in the independent claim 1 of the instant application and the independent claim 1 of USPAT 12031639 is that the independent claim 1 of the instant application is broader than the independent claim 1 of USPAT 12031639, the independent claim 1 of the instant application recite “wherein the user input indicates at least one of whether the hydraulic valve actuator is configured as spring-to-open or spring-to-close, whether the hydraulic valve actuator is configured to operate the motor when the operational command comprises an emergency shutdown command, whether the control system comprises an accumulator, or a time period associated with opening or closing of the valve” while claim 1 of USPAT 12031639 recite “one or more inputs to indicate whether the hydraulic valve actuator is configured as spring-to-open or spring-to-close”, therefore, claim 1 of USPAT 12031639 directly reads on claims 1 of the instant application.
For similar reasons, claims 2-4, 9, 14-18 of the instant application are patentably indistinct from claims 1 and 4-6 of USPAT 12031639.
Claims 5 and 19-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 7 of USPAT 12031639, in view of US5097857 to Mayhew.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scopes of both claim sets are extremely similar, the difference in claim 5 of the instant application and claim 1 of USPAT 12031639is that claim 5 of the instant application further recites “user input indicates the time period associated with opening or closing of the valve”. Mayhew in an analogous art discloses user input indicates the time period associated with opening or closing of the valve (Mayhew, see col. 7 lines 20-26 for “closing and opening resettable timers 90 and 92 can be adjusted…” and see col. 5 lines 29-34 for the timers being SSAC model:#TDS 120AL-D, it is noted that to adjust SSAC model:#TDS 120AL-D timer require manual (i.e. user) input).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to incorporate the teaching of Mayhew of into the system of USPAT 12031639. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to adjust the timer to operate various-size valves at various speed (Mayhew, see col. 7 lines 20-26).
For similar reasons, claims 19 of the instant application is patentably indistinct from claim 7 of USPAT 12031639.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scopes of both claim sets are extremely similar, the difference in the claim 20 of the instant application and the claim 1 of USPAT 12031639 is that claim 20 of the instant application recites the hydraulic valve actuator does not comprise a microcontroller. However, Mayhew discloses the hydraulic valve actuator does not comprise a microcontroller (Mayhew, see Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to incorporate the teaching of Mayhew of into the system of USPAT 12031639. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to adjust the timer to operate various-size valves at various speed (Mayhew, see col. 7 lines 20-26).
Claims 6-8 and 11-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-5, 7 and 9 of USPAT 12031639, in view of US5043892 to Brekkestran et al. (hereinafter “Brekkestran”).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scopes of both claim sets are extremely similar, the difference in the claim 6 of the instant application and the claim 1 of USPAT 12031639 is that claim 6 of the instant application recites the input mechanism comprises a potentiometer or a dip switch. Brekkestran in an analogous art discloses the input mechanism comprises a potentiometer or a dip switch (Brekkestran, see col. 27 lines 51-52 “potentiometer or dip switch”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to incorporate the teaching of Brekkestran of into the system of USPAT 12031639. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to achieve the predictable outcome of providing inexpensive hardware-level configuration for electronic devices by using potentiometer or dip switch.
For similar reasons, claims 7-8 of the instant application are patentably indistinct from claims 11-13 of USPAT 12031639.
Claim 10 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of USPAT 12031639, in view of Mayhew, in view of Brekkestran.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scopes of both claim sets are extremely similar, the difference in the claim 10 of the instant application and the claim 1 of USPAT 12031639 is that claim 10 of the instant application recites the input mechanism comprises a potentiometer or a dip switch. Brekkestran in an analogous art discloses the input mechanism comprises a potentiometer or a dip switch (Brekkestran, see col. 27 lines 51-52 “potentiometer or dip switch”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to incorporate the teaching of Brekkestran of into the system of USPAT 12031639. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to achieve the predictable outcome of providing inexpensive hardware-level configuration for electronic devices by using potentiometer or dip switch.
Another difference is that claim 10 further recites “user input indicates the time period associated with opening or closing of the valve”. Mayhew in an analogous art discloses user input indicates the time period associated with opening or closing of the valve (Mayhew, see col. 7 lines 20-26 for “closing and opening resettable timers 90 and 92 can be adjusted…” and see col. 5 lines 29-34 for the timers being SSAC model:#TDS 120AL-D, it is noted that to adjust SSAC model:#TDS 120AL-D timer require manual (i.e. user) input).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to incorporate the teaching of Mayhew of into the system of USPAT 12031639. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to adjust the timer to operate various-size valves at various speed (Mayhew, see col. 7 lines 20-26).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the variable resistor" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8, included in the statement of rejection but not specifically addressed in the body of the rejection have inherited the deficiency of their parent claim and have not resolved the deficiencies. Therefore, they are rejected based on the same rationale as applied to their parent claim above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 9 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US5422808 to Cantanese Jr. et al. (hereinafter “Cantanese”).
As for claim 1, Cantanese discloses a circuit for a use with a hydraulic valve actuator in a control system (Catanese, see Fig. 1 element 34), comprising:
an input channel to receive an operational command (Catanese, see Fig. 1 and col. 4 lines 39-67 for the PLC receiving operational command through input);
a motor output channel to provide a signal to operate a motor in the control system (Catanese, see Fig. 1 and col. 5 lines 37-51 for motor output channel to provide a signal to operate a motor);
a valve output channel to provide a signal to control a flow of hydraulic fluid in the control system by opening or closing a valve (Catanese, see Fig. 1, Fig. 7 and col. 11 lines 15-32 for valve output channel to provide a signal to control a flow of hydraulic fluid in the control system by opening or closing a valve);
an input mechanism to receive a user input and to provide a signal representative of a configuration of the hydraulic valve actuator based on the user input (Cantanese, see Fig. 1 and col. 5 lines 37-51 for PLC receiving user-selectable inputs 22 that are representative of manual/automatic modes of operation of system valve (i.e. a configuration of the hydraulic valve actuator),
wherein the user input indicates at least one of whether the hydraulic valve actuator is configured as spring-to-open or spring-to-close, whether the hydraulic valve actuator is configured to operate the motor when the operational command comprises an emergency shutdown command, whether the control system comprises an accumulator, or a time period associated with opening or closing of the valve (Cantanese, see col. 12 line 51-col. 13 line 15 for the user input indicates whether the hydraulic valve actuator is configured to operate the motor when the operational command comprises an emergency shutdown command (i.e. power loss), it is further noted that “at least one of whether the hydraulic valve actuator is configured as spring-to-open or spring-to-close, whether the hydraulic valve actuator is configured to operate the motor when the operational command comprises an emergency shutdown command, whether the control system comprises an accumulator, or a time period associated with opening or closing of the valve” can be interpreted as “whether the hydraulic valve actuator is configured to operate the motor when the operational command comprises an emergency shutdown command“ because the usage of “at least one”), and
a plurality of physical logic gates to process the operational command and the signal representative of the configuration of the hydraulic valve actuator to control the motor output channel and the valve output channel (Cantanese, see Fig. 7 and col. 8 lines 28-64 for plurality of physical logic gates to process the operational command and the signal representative of the configuration of the hydraulic valve actuator to control the motor output channel and the valve output channel).
As per claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Cantanese further discloses the user input indicates whether the hydraulic valve actuator is configured to operate the motor when the operational command comprises an emergency shutdown command (Cantanese, see col. 12 line 51-col. 13 line 15 for the user input indicates whether the hydraulic valve actuator is configured to operate the motor when the operational command comprises an emergency shutdown command (i.e. power loss)).
As per claim 9, Cantanese discloses a hydraulic valve actuator for use in a control system (Cantanese, see Fig. 1), comprising:
a plurality of input channels to receive operational commands (Catanese, see Fig. 1 and col. 4 lines 39-67 for the PLC receiving operational command through input);
a motor output channel to provide a signal to operate a motor in the control system (Catanese, see Fig. 1 and col. 5 lines 37-51 for motor output channel to provide a signal to operate a motor);
a valve output channel to provide a signal to control a flow of hydraulic fluid in the control system by opening or closing a valve (Catanese, see Fig. 1, Fig. 7 and col. 11 lines 15-32 for valve output channel to provide a signal to control a flow of hydraulic fluid in the control system by opening or closing a valve);
an input mechanism to receive a user input and to provide a signal representative of a configuration of the hydraulic valve actuator based on the user input, wherein the user input indicates at least one of whether the hydraulic valve actuator is configured as spring-to-open or spring-to-close, whether the hydraulic valve actuator is configured for emergency shutdown functionality, whether the control system comprises an accumulator, or a time period associated with opening or closing of the valve (Cantanese, see col. 12 line 51-col. 13 line 15 for the user input indicates whether the hydraulic valve actuator is configured for emergency shutdown functionality); and
a plurality of physical logic gates to process the operational command and the signal representative of the configuration of the hydraulic valve actuator to control the motor output channel and the valve output channel (Cantanese, see Fig. 7 and col. 8 lines 28-64 for plurality of physical logic gates to process the operational command and the signal representative of the configuration of the hydraulic valve actuator to control the motor output channel and the valve output channel).
As per claim 15, the rejection of claim 9 is incorporated, Cantanese further discloses the plurality of input channels comprises a system status input channel to receive a status signal indicating that the valve is open or that the valve is closed (Cantanese, see Fig. 7 for the plurality of input channels comprises a system status input channel to receive a status signal indicating that the valve is open, that the valve is closed), the plurality of physical logic gates is to process the status signal to control the motor output channel and the valve output channel (Cantanese, see Fig. 7 for the PLC (i.e. plurality of physical logic gates) is to process the status signal to control the motor output channel and the valve output channel).
As per claim 16, Cantanese discloses a hydraulic valve actuator for use in a control system (Cantanese, see Fig. 1), comprising:
an input channel to receive an operational command (Catanese, see Fig. 1 and col. 4 lines 39-67 for the PLC receiving operational command through input);
a motor output channel to provide a signal to operate a motor in the control system (Catanese, see Fig. 1 and col. 4 lines 39-67 for the PLC receiving operational command through input);
a valve output channel to provide a signal to control a flow of hydraulic fluid in the control system by opening or closing a valve (Catanese, see Fig. 1, Fig. 7 and col. 11 lines 15-32 for valve output channel to provide a signal to control a flow of hydraulic fluid in the control system by opening or closing a valve);
an input mechanism to receive a user input and to provide a signal representative of a configuration of the hydraulic valve actuator based on the user input, wherein the user input indicates at least one of whether the hydraulic valve actuator is configured as spring-to-open or spring-to-close, whether the hydraulic valve actuator is configured for emergency shutdown functionality, whether the control system comprises an accumulator, or a time period associated with opening or closing of the valve (Cantanese, see col. 12 line 51-col. 13 line 15 for the user input indicates whether the hydraulic valve actuator is configured for emergency shutdown functionality); and
a plurality of physical logic gates to process the operational command and the signal representative of the configuration of the hydraulic valve actuator to control the motor output channel and the valve output channel (Cantanese, see Fig. 7 and col. 8 lines 28-64 for plurality of physical logic gates to process the operational command and the signal representative of the configuration of the hydraulic valve actuator to control the motor output channel and the valve output channel).
As per claim 17, the rejection of claim 16 is incorporated, Cantanese further discloses the user input indicates whether hydraulic valve actuator is configured for emergency shutdown functionality (Cantanese, see col. 12 line 51-col. 13 line 15 for the user input indicates whether the hydraulic valve actuator is configured for emergency shutdown functionality).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cantanese, in view of US5097857 to Mayhew.
As per claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Cantanese does not explicitly disclose wherein the user input indicates the time period associated with opening or closing of the valve. However, Mayhew in an analogous art discloses wherein the user input indicates the time period associated with opening or closing of the valve (Mayhew, see col. 7 lines 20-26 for “closing and opening resettable timers 90 and 92 can be adjusted…” and see col. 5 lines 29-34 for the timers being SSAC model:#TDS 120AL-D, it is noted that to adjust SSAC model:#TDS 120AL-D timer require manual (i.e. user) input).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to incorporate the teaching of Mayhew of into the system of Cantanese. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to adjust the timer to operate various-size valves at various speed (Mayhew, see col. 7 lines 20-26).
As per claim 20, the rejection of claim 17 is incorporated, Cantanese does not explicitly disclose the hydraulic valve actuator does not comprise a microcontroller.
However, Mayhew in an analogous art discloses the hydraulic valve actuator does not comprise a microcontroller (Mayhew, see Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to incorporate the teaching of Mayhew of into the system of Cantanese. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to adjust the timer to operate various-size valves at various speed (Mayhew, see col. 7 lines 20-26).
Claim(s) 6 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cantanese, in view of US5043892 to Brekkestran et al. (hereinafter “Brekkestran”).
As per claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Cantanese does not explicitly disclose the input mechanism comprises a potentiometer or a dip switch. However, Brekkestran in an analogous art discloses the input mechanism comprises a potentiometer or a dip switch (Brekkestran, see col. 27 lines 51-52 “potentiometer or dip switch”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to incorporate the teaching of Brekkestran of into the system of Cantanese. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to achieve the predictable outcome of providing inexpensive hardware-level configuration for electronic devices by using potentiometer or dip switch.
As per claim 13, the rejection of claim 9 is incorporated, Cantanese further discloses the user input indicates whether the hydraulic valve actuator is configured for emergency shutdown functionality (Cantanese, see col. 12 line 51-col. 13 line 15 for the user input indicates whether the hydraulic valve actuator is configured for emergency shutdown functionality). Cantanese does not explicitly disclose the input mechanism comprises a dip switch. However, Brekkestran in an analogous art discloses the input mechanism comprises a dip switch (Brekkestran, see col. 27 lines 51-52 “potentiometer or dip switch”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to incorporate the teaching of Brekkestran of into the system of Cantanese. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to achieve the predictable outcome of providing inexpensive hardware-level configuration for electronic devices by using potentiometer or dip switch.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cantanese, in view of Brekkestran, further in view of US4017056 to Schwalenstocker et al. (hereinafter “Schwalenstocker”).
As per claim 7, the rejection of claim 6 is incorporated, Brekkestran further discloses the input mechanism comprises the potentiometer (Brekkestran, see col. 27 lines 51-52 “potentiometer or dip switch”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to incorporate the teaching of Brekkestran of into the system of Cantanese. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to achieve the predictable outcome of providing inexpensive hardware-level configuration for electronic devices by using potentiometer or dip switch.
The combination of Cantanese and Brekkestran does not explicitly disclose wherein an output of a first one of the plurality of physical logic gates is coupled to an input of a second one of the plurality of physical logic gates via a first path through the variable resistor and a second path through a diode, wherein the first path and the second path are in parallel. However, Schwalenstocker in an analogous art discloses wherein an output of a first one of the plurality of physical logic gates is coupled to an input of a second one of the plurality of physical logic gates via a first path through the variable resistor and a second path through a diode, wherein the first path and the second path are in parallel (Schwalenstocker, see Fig. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Schwalenstocker into the above combination of Cantanese and Brekkestran. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to provide an improved valve position servo system, the operation of which does not cause undesirable valve movement (Schwalenstocker, see col. 2 lines 44-46).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cantanese, in view of Brekkestran, in view of Schwalenstocker, further in view of US4925156 to Stoll et al. (hereinafter “Stoll”).
As per claim 8, the rejection of claim 7 is incorporated, Brekkestran further discloses using the potentiometer to control a parameter (Brekkestran, see col. 27 lines 51-52 “potentiometer or dip switch”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to incorporate the teaching of Brekkestran of into the system of Cantanese. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to achieve the predictable outcome of providing inexpensive hardware-level configuration for electronic devices by using potentiometer or dip switch.
Schwalenstocker further discloses the circuit comprises a capacitor that is charged by a control voltage via the first path and the second path when an output of the first one of the physical logic gates is in a first state (Schwalenstocker, see Fig. 5 and Fig. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Schwalenstocker into the above combination of Cantanese and Brekkestran. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to provide an improved valve position servo system, the operation of which does not cause undesirable valve movement (Schwalenstocker, see col. 2 lines 44-46).
The combination of Cantanese, Brekkestran and Schwalenstocker does not explicitly disclose the capacitor discharges through the first path and not the second path when the output of the first one of the physical logic gates is in a second state, controls a rate of discharge of the capacitor. However, Stoll in an analogous art discloses the capacitor discharges through the first path and not the second path when the output of the first one of the physical logic gates is in a second state (Stoll, see Fig. 4); controls a rate of discharge of the capacitor (Stoll, see Fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Stoll into the above combination of Cantanese, Brekkestran and Schwalenstocker. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to devise a control circuit arrangement for solenoid valves of the initially specified type which while having a low control power makes possible a larger control voltage range (Stoll, see col. 1 lines 35-38).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cantanese, in view of Mayhew, further in view of Brekkestran.
As per claim 10, the rejection of claim 9 is incorporated, Cantanese does not explicitly disclose the input mechanism comprises a potentiometer; and the user input indicates the time period associated with opening or closing of the valve.
However, Mayhew in an analogous art discloses the user input indicates the time period associated with opening or closing of the valve (Mayhew, see col. 7 lines 20-26 for “closing and opening resettable timers 90 and 92 can be adjusted…” and see col. 5 lines 29-34 for the timers being SSAC model:#TDS 120AL-D, it is noted that to adjust SSAC model:#TDS 120AL-D timer require manual (i.e. user) input).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to incorporate the teaching of Mayhew of into the system of Cantanese. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to adjust the timer to operate various-size valves at various speed (Mayhew, see col. 7 lines 20-26).
The combination of Cantanese and Mayhew does not explicitly disclose the input mechanism comprises a potentiometer. However, Brekkestran further discloses the input mechanism comprises a potentiometer (Brekkestran, see col. 27 lines 51-52 “potentiometer or dip switch”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to incorporate the teaching of Brekkestran of into the above combination of Cantanese and Mayhew. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to achieve the predictable outcome of providing inexpensive hardware-level configuration for electronic devices by using potentiometer or dip switch.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cantanese, in view of EP0402018 to Lynch et al. (hereinafter “Lynch”).
As per claim 14, the rejection of claim 9 is incorporated, Cantanese further discloses the plurality of input channels comprises a local input channel (Cantanese, see Fig. 4 and col. 8 lines 31-34), a remote input channel (Cantanese, see Fig. 1, and col. 6 lines 16-20 for the PLC receiving input from the controller 18, and controller 18 is spaced remotely from the PLC), and a mode selector input channel (Cantanese, see Fig. 1 elements 22, 24 and 34); the mode selector input channel is to receive a signal that indicates whether the control system is to be controlled via signals (Cantanese, see Fig. 1 elements 22, 24 and 34). Cantanese does not explicitly disclose indicates selector that indicates whether the system is controlled via local signals or remote signals, the hydraulic valve actuator comprises a multiplexer that is configured to pass either the local signals or the remote signals to the plurality of physical logic gates based on the signal that indicates whether the control system is to be controlled via local input or remote inputs.
However, Lynch in an analogous art discloses indicates selector that indicates whether the system is controlled via local signals or remote signals (Lynch, see col. 5 lines 27-33), the hydraulic valve actuator comprises a multiplexer that is configured to pass either the local signals or the remote signals to the plurality of physical logic gates based on the signal that indicates whether the control system is to be controlled via local input or remote inputs (Lynch, see abstract, Fig. 1 and Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Lynch into the device of Cantanese. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to more efficiently multiplex autoclaves to the pressurizing circuit and to more efficiently implement different pressure schedules for the autoclaves (Lynch, see abstract).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cantanese, in view of Mayhew, further in view of Schwalenstocker.
As per claim 19, the rejection of claim 16 is incorporated, Cantanese does not explicitly disclose the input mechanism comprises a variable resistor; and the user input indicates the time period associated with opening or closing of the valve. However, Mayhew in an analogous art discloses the user input indicates the time period associated with opening or closing of the valve (Mayhew, see col. 7 lines 20-26 for “closing and opening resettable timers 90 and 92 can be adjusted…” and see col. 5 lines 29-34 for the timers being SSAC model:#TDS 120AL-D, it is noted that to adjust SSAC model:#TDS 120AL-D timer require manual (i.e. user) input).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to incorporate the teaching of Mayhew of into the system of Cantanese. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to adjust the timer to operate various-size valves at various speed (Mayhew, see col. 7 lines 20-26).
The combination of Cantanese and Mayhew does not explicitly disclose the input mechanism comprises a variable resistor. However, Schwalenstocker in an analogous art discloses the input mechanism comprises a variable resistor (Schwalenstocker, see Fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Schwalenstocker into the above combination of Cantanese and Mayhew. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to provide an improved valve position servo system, the operation of which does not cause undesirable valve movement (Schwalenstocker, see col. 2 lines 44-46).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4, 11, 12 and 18 would be allowable if the double patenting rejection, set forth in this Office action, is overcome and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claims 2 and 11
Regarding claims 2 and 11, US5422808 discloses a fault management apparatus and method are described for a system that includes at least one electro-mechanical or electro-hydraulic component, such as a system valve or main discharge pump in a process plant or water transmission line. An actuator is electrically coupled to the component for application of control signals to selectively actuate or de-actuate the component. A standby power supply, in the form of a uninterruptible power supply (UPS) stores sufficient electrical energy to energize the valve and/or the discharge pump to change the states thereof from one operational state to another. The UPS has sufficient electrical capacity to close a system valve to its fail-safe condition. The actuator can be actuated in a number of different ways, including sensing of failure of main power, manual activation or sensing of some emergency condition. Logic circuit, which may be in the form of relay or other logic, and preferably a programmable logic circuit (PLC) is used and programmed to sense the external conditions which require shutdown of the system, in which case the energy stored in the standby power supply is applied to the actuator and the component. The PLC is advantageously programmed to shutdown the system, when necessary, in accordance with a timed sequence, checking or monitoring a system at each step of the sequence as to the continued existence of the condition which required shutdown. Similarly, when the system is automatically returned on line, the PLC is advantageously programmed to check the system along each step of the sequence to ensure that all of the conditions are acceptable for return of the system to the on-line condition. US5111383 discloses an automatic operation recovery system for automatically removing an operational failure caused in an apparatus whose complete operation is controlled by actuators operated in a predetermined sequence, thereby recovering the apparatus to its normal operating condition, comprises an actuator driver for controllably driving the actuators in a sequence suitable for a type of operational failure so as to remove the operational failure, a memory for accumulatively storing data of a type of operational failure and a sequence taken to remove the type of operational failure through the actuator driver and an automatic recovery controller for, when an operational failure is detected, assigning an order of priority to sequences available for removing the same type of operational failure accumulatively stored in the memory and automatically actuating the actuator driver to operate the actuators in a sequence assigned the first order of priority. US5993039 discloses a latching interface is provided between a machine and a monitoring or control system for the machine to latch the machine in a mode that is safe for the machine and for operating personnel upon power loss. The interface includes one or more latching relay switches, connected into one or more input signal circuits, that may be selectively set and reset by an interface microprocessor to actuate or deactuate the machine from performing certain functions. The interface microprocessor is programmable to set or reset the latching relay switches in response to a signal from a power loss sensor indicating that power to a monitor/controller device, that monitors and controls the functions of the machine, has been interrupted. The interface system further includes a power feed circuit to provide a back-up power supply to power the interface microprocessor during setting and resetting of the latching relay switches to the safe mode upon loss of normal power. Alternately, a solid state switch in series with an additional latching relay switch is connected into the input signal circuit in parallel with one or more of the latching relay switches. During normal operations, the interface microprocessor may operate these solid state switches in response to signals from the monitor/controller to control normal operating modes or functions of the machine. Upon power loss, the interface microprocessor opens the latching relay switch in series with each solid state switch and operates the parallel latching relay switch to place and keep the machine in a safe operating mode.
However, regarding claims 2 and 11, the combination of prior arts does not describe: the user input indicates whether the hydraulic valve actuator is configured as spring-to-open or spring-to-close.
Claims 4, 12 and 18
Regarding claims 4, 12 and 18, US5422808 discloses a fault management apparatus and method are described for a system that includes at least one electro-mechanical or electro-hydraulic component, such as a system valve or main discharge pump in a process plant or water transmission line. An actuator is electrically coupled to the component for application of control signals to selectively actuate or de-actuate the component. A standby power supply, in the form of a uninterruptible power supply (UPS) stores sufficient electrical energy to energize the valve and/or the discharge pump to change the states thereof from one operational state to another. The UPS has sufficient electrical capacity to close a system valve to its fail-safe condition. The actuator can be actuated in a number of different ways, including sensing of failure of main power, manual activation or sensing of some emergency condition. Logic circuit, which may be in the form of relay or other logic, and preferably a programmable logic circuit (PLC) is used and programmed to sense the external conditions which require shutdown of the system, in which case the energy stored in the standby power supply is applied to the actuator and the component. The PLC is advantageously programmed to shutdown the system, when necessary, in accordance with a timed sequence, checking or monitoring a system at each step of the sequence as to the continued existence of the condition which required shutdown. Similarly, when the system is automatically returned on line, the PLC is advantageously programmed to check the system along each step of the sequence to ensure that all of the conditions are acceptable for return of the system to the on-line condition. US5111383 discloses an automatic operation recovery system for automatically removing an operational failure caused in an apparatus whose complete operation is controlled by actuators operated in a predetermined sequence, thereby recovering the apparatus to its normal operating condition, comprises an actuator driver for controllably driving the actuators in a sequence suitable for a type of operational failure so as to remove the operational failure, a memory for accumulatively storing data of a type of operational failure and a sequence taken to remove the type of operational failure through the actuator driver and an automatic recovery controller for, when an operational failure is detected, assigning an order of priority to sequences available for removing the same type of operational failure accumulatively stored in the memory and automatically actuating the actuator driver to operate the actuators in a sequence assigned the first order of priority. US5993039 discloses a latching interface is provided between a machine and a monitoring or control system for the machine to latch the machine in a mode that is safe for the machine and for operating personnel upon power loss. The interface includes one or more latching relay switches, connected into one or more input signal circuits, that may be selectively set and reset by an interface microprocessor to actuate or deactuate the machine from performing certain functions. The interface microprocessor is programmable to set or reset the latching relay switches in response to a signal from a power loss sensor indicating that power to a monitor/controller device, that monitors and controls the functions of the machine, has been interrupted. The interface system further includes a power feed circuit to provide a back-up power supply to power the interface microprocessor during setting and resetting of the latching relay switches to the safe mode upon loss of normal power. Alternately, a solid state switch in series with an additional latching relay switch is connected into the input signal circuit in parallel with one or more of the latching relay switches. During normal operations, the interface microprocessor may operate these solid state switches in response to signals from the monitor/controller to control normal operating modes or functions of the machine. Upon power loss, the interface microprocessor opens the latching relay switch in series with each solid state switch and operates the parallel latching relay switch to place and keep the machine in a safe operating mode.
However, regarding claims 4, 12 and 18, the combination of prior arts does not describe:
the user input indicates whether the control system comprises the accumulator.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
US20070009365 discloses an apparatus and method for dispensing a discrete volume of fluid. The apparatus includes a pump operable in discrete cycles, a power source connected to the pump, and a controller connected to at least one of the pump and the power source. The controller is configured to vary the power provided from the power source to the pump during at least a portion of each discrete cycle based on characteristics of the pump and the fluid. For example, the controller may vary power by controlling the duration of the provision of power, or by controlling the amplitude of the power. Varying the power is intended to improve the accuracy of the discrete volume of fluid dispensed. Correspondingly, the method of dispensing a discrete volume of fluid includes receiving information pertaining to the fluid to be dispensed, and adjusting a provision of power to a pump based on the information. The method may include adjusting the duration of the provision of power, or adjusting the amplitude of the provision of power.
US5790419 discloses a system is provided to automatically terminate a fail-safe state. When an abnormality detection signal of Lo and a pulse having a frequency outside a specified range are input to set and reset terminals S, R of an R-S Flip-Flop (R-SFF) 24, respectively, a microcomputer 14 is determined to be in its abnormal state and an output of Hi is output from a Q output terminal of the R-SFF 24 to stop the operation of a motor 20. In this way, a so-called fail-safe state is established. When the abnormality detection signal of Hi and the pulse having a frequency within the specified range are input to the set and reset terminals S, R of the R-SFF 24, respectively, the microcomputer 14 is determined to have returned to its normal state and an output of Lo is output from the Q output terminal of the R-SFF 24 to resume the operation of the motor 20. Thus, the operation of the motor 20 can be controlled according to the operation of a power window switch 16.
US5111383 discloses an automatic operation recovery system for automatically removing an operational failure caused in an apparatus whose complete operation is controlled by actuators operated in a predetermined sequence, thereby recovering the apparatus to its normal operating condition, comprises an actuator driver for controllably driving the actuators in a sequence suitable for a type of operational failure so as to remove the operational failure, a memory for accumulatively storing data of a type of operational failure and a sequence taken to remove the type of operational failure through the actuator driver and an automatic recovery controller for, when an operational failure is detected, assigning an order of priority to sequences available for removing the same type of operational failure accumulatively stored in the memory and automatically actuating the actuator driver to operate the actuators in a sequence assigned the first order of priority.
/JASON LIN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2117