DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the magnetic quick connect" in lines 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 2-19 are further depend on the claim 1 so they are also reject for the same reason.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the shoulder strap" in lines 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 9 lines 3 recite “the minimum diameter” is indefinite because there is previous reference range for a circular shape or similar that would the diameter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Horito et al. US 20070181616.
Regarding claim 20, Horito et al. disclose A magnetic connector rest for a coupling member of a magnetic quick connect that is connected to a drink tube of a portable hydration system, (Horito et al. US 20070181616 abstract; paragraphs [0006]-[0017]; [0029]; [0033]-[0035]; [0037]-[0041]; [0046]-[0050]; figures 1-14)
FIGS. 1 and 2 depict a hydration system 10 which includes a support system which is here shown as a pack 12, container means which is here depicted as a bladder 14 for containing a liquid 16 therein, transmission means here shown as a discharge tube 18 which is threaded through the pack 12 and a bite valve 20 (Horito et al. par. 29). The buckle 140 has two side members 150 and 152 with an upper and lower threshold 154 and 156 forming in effect a race to receive the belt or strap there through. A magnet 160 is shown attached to the buckle 140 which magnet functions as a first magnet to interface and connect to a magnet attached to the bite valve 20 so that a user is not required to manually make the connection (Horito et al. par. 47).
the magnetic connector rest comprising: a landing pad; a first magnetic material supported by the landing pad, the landing pad and/or first magnetic material defining a mating surface configured to mate with a mating end of a coupling member of a magnetic quick connect comprising two coupling members that are detachably coupled together by a magnetic force;
In FIG. 2A, buckle 82 is located at various positions on hydration system 10. In a preferred configuration, buckle 82 is located and mounted on right strap 42. In an illustrated alternate configuration, buckle 82 my be removably connected to the right return strap 30. In another illustrated alternate configuration, buckle 82 may be slidably engaged to the optional chest strap 45. It should be appreciated that any position of buckle 82 may be used, even those not illustrated, so long as the buckle 82 is positioned in a location to receive the bite valve 20 so as to place the bite valve in a stored or fixed position and the user is not required to use his/her hands to effect the engagement (Horito et al. par. 43). FIG. 3, a bladder 14 is depicted removed from the pack 12. The bladder 14 has an inlet port over which cap 62 is installed. The discharge tube 18 is connected to the discharge port 64 with a bite valve 20 attached at the distal end 72 and with the second magnet 84 attached to the housing 86 of the bite valve 20 (Horito et al. par. 44). Turning to FIGS. 13 and 14, a bite valve 170 has a housing 172 from which an inlet 174 extends for connection to the distal end 176 of a discharge tube 178. The inlet is a barbed fitting sized to snugly receive the tube 178 thereover. The housing 172 has a sleeve 180 snuggly and rotatingly positioned in the housing with the discharge 182 connected to the valve portion 184 operable by the user. In the preferred embodiment, the magnet 186 is attached to bite valve 170 by firmly pressing it into a recess 190 in the housing 172. In some embodiments (not shown), the use of an adhesive may be necessary to connect the magnet 186 with a portion of the bite valve 170 (Horito et al. par. 48). As show in the figures 7-11, the magnet 160 protrusion outward for receiving a second connect portion.
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets buckle 82 at a landing pad for a magnetic connector.
and a base coupled to the landing pad and configured to be secured to a desired structure; wherein: the first magnetic material is disposed on the landing pad so that when the coupling member is brought into proximity with the landing pad, an attractive force between the first magnetic material and a second magnetic material included in the coupling member will cause the mating end of the coupling member to mate with the mating surface of the landing pad and detachably hold the coupling member against the mating surface.
the upstream coupling member against the mating surface.
The first element is here shown to be a first magnet 80 attached to a buckle 82. The buckle 82 is mounted to the right shoulder support 24 and more particularly the right shoulder strap 42. The second element is also a magnet 84 mounted to the housing 86 of the bite valve 20. With the bite valve 20 removed from the user's mouth and in a free position, it should fall toward the user's waist retainer 44 and proximate the buckle 82. The first magnet 80 and the second magnet 84 are selected to have a magnetic force of attraction so that the second magnet 84, when proximate the first magnet 80, moves toward and attaches to the first magnet 80 thereby placing the bite valve 20 in a stored or fixed condition and keeping the discharge tube 18 from becoming entangled with an impediment. Accordingly, a user's hands are free to concentrate on and engage in an activity, and not placing the bite valve in a stored or fixed condition when not in the user's mouth (Horito et al. par. 39). The magnetic force of the magnets 80 and 84 may be selected in different magnitudes (gauss) such that the magnetic force is sufficient to attract one to the other when the magnets are a pre-selected distance from each other such as 1 inch, 2 inches, 3 inches and 4 inches (Horito et al. par. 40). Turning to FIGS. 13 and 14, a bite valve 170 has a housing 172 from which an inlet 174 extends for connection to the distal end 176 of a discharge tube 178. The inlet is a barbed fitting sized to snugly receive the tube 178 thereover. The housing 172 has a sleeve 180 snuggly and rotatingly positioned in the housing with the discharge 182 connected to the valve portion 184 operable by the user. In the preferred embodiment, the magnet 186 is attached to bite valve 170 by firmly pressing it into a recess 190 in the housing 172. In some embodiments (not shown), the use of an adhesive may be necessary to connect the magnet 186 with a portion of the bite valve 170 (Horito et al. par. 48).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets buckle 82 at a landing pad for a magnetic connector.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 12-13, 15-16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horito et al. US 20070181616 in view of Bradley US 6283344.
Regarding claim 1, Horito et al. teach A magnetic connector rest for a portable hydration system including a fluid reservoir, (Horito et al. US 20070181616 abstract; paragraphs [0006]-[0017]; [0029]; [0033]-[0035]; [0037]-[0041]; [0046]-[0050]; figures 1-14)
FIGS. 1 and 2 depict a hydration system 10 which includes a support system which is here shown as a pack 12, container means which is here depicted as a bladder 14 for containing a liquid 16 therein, transmission means here shown as a discharge tube 18 which is threaded through the pack 12 and a bite valve 20 (Horito et al. par. 29). The buckle 140 has two side members 150 and 152 with an upper and lower threshold 154 and 156 forming in effect a race to receive the belt or strap there through. A magnet 160 is shown attached to the buckle 140 which magnet functions as a first magnet to interface and connect to a magnet attached to the bite valve 20 so that a user is not required to manually make the connection (Horito et al. par. 47).
and a drink tube that is in fluid communication with the fluid reservoir at a proximal end of the drink tube and a fluid path extending through the headset at a distal end of the drink tube,
FIGS. 1 and 2 depict a hydration system 10 which includes a support system which is here shown as a pack 12, container means which is here depicted as a bladder 14 for containing a liquid 16 therein, transmission means here shown as a discharge tube 18 which is threaded through the pack 12 and a bite valve 20 (Horito et al. par. 29).
where the magnetic quick connect comprises an upstream coupling member that includes a hose connector at a proximal end, a downstream coupling member that detachably couples with the upstream coupling member through a magnetic force,
The first element is here shown to be a first magnet 80 attached to a buckle 82. The buckle 82 is mounted to the right shoulder support 24 and more particularly the right shoulder strap 42. The second element is also a magnet 84 mounted to the housing 86 of the bite valve 20. With the bite valve 20 removed from the user's mouth and in a free position, it should fall toward the user's waist retainer 44 and proximate the buckle 82. The first magnet 80 and the second magnet 84 are selected to have a magnetic force of attraction so that the second magnet 84, when proximate the first magnet 80, moves toward and attaches to the first magnet 80 thereby placing the bite valve 20 in a stored or fixed condition and keeping the discharge tube 18 from becoming entangled with an impediment. Accordingly, a user's hands are free to concentrate on and engage in an activity, and not placing the bite valve in a stored or fixed condition when not in the user's mouth (Horito et al. par. 39).
and the drink tube is in selective fluid communication with the fluid path extending through the headset by being connected to the hose connector provided at the proximal end of the upstream coupling member, the magnetic connector rest comprising: a landing pad;
In FIG. 2A, buckle 82 is located at various positions on hydration system 10. In a preferred configuration, buckle 82 is located and mounted on right strap 42. In an illustrated alternate configuration, buckle 82 my be removably connected to the right return strap 30. In another illustrated alternate configuration, buckle 82 may be slidably engaged to the optional chest strap 45. It should be appreciated that any position of buckle 82 may be used, even those not illustrated, so long as the buckle 82 is positioned in a location to receive the bite valve 20 so as to place the bite valve in a stored or fixed position and the user is not required to use his/her hands to effect the engagement (Horito et al. par. 43). FIG. 3, a bladder 14 is depicted removed from the pack 12. The bladder 14 has an inlet port over which cap 62 is installed. The discharge tube 18 is connected to the discharge port 64 with a bite valve 20 attached at the distal end 72 and with the second magnet 84 attached to the housing 86 of the bite valve 20 (Horito et al. par. 44).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets buckle 82 at a landing pad for a magnetic connector.
a first magnetic material supported by the landing pad, the landing pad and/or first magnetic material defining a mating surface configured to mate with a mating end of the upstream coupling member;
An alternate buckle 140 is depicted in FIGS. 7-12. FIG. 7 shows a front view along with FIG. 12 showing the front in perspective. FIG. 8 is a side view with FIG. 9 being a cross section along section lines 9-9. FIG. 10 is a back view with FIG. 11 being a cross section along lines 11-11 in FIG. 7. A top belt receptacle 142 and a bottom belt receptacle 144 are shown with a top slot 146 and a bottom slot 148 all configured to receive a belt or strap like the left should belt and right shoulder belt 42 and 44 respectively (FIG. 2). The buckle 140 has two side members 150 and 152 with an upper and lower threshold 154 and 156 forming in effect a race to receive the belt or strap there through. A magnet 160 is shown attached to the buckle 140 which magnet functions as a first magnet to interface and connect to a magnet attached to the bite valve 20 so that a user is not required to manually make the connection (Horito et al. par. 47).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets buckle 140 at a landing pad for a magnetic connector.
and a base coupled to the landing pad and configured to be secured to a desired structure; wherein: the first magnetic material is disposed on the landing pad so that when the upstream coupling member is brought into proximity with the landing pad, an attractive force between the first magnetic material and a second magnetic material included in the upstream coupling member will cause the mating end of the upstream coupling member to mate with the mating surface of the landing pad and detachably hold the upstream coupling member against the mating surface.
The first element is here shown to be a first magnet 80 attached to a buckle 82. The buckle 82 is mounted to the right shoulder support 24 and more particularly the right shoulder strap 42. The second element is also a magnet 84 mounted to the housing 86 of the bite valve 20. With the bite valve 20 removed from the user's mouth and in a free position, it should fall toward the user's waist retainer 44 and proximate the buckle 82. The first magnet 80 and the second magnet 84 are selected to have a magnetic force of attraction so that the second magnet 84, when proximate the first magnet 80, moves toward and attaches to the first magnet 80 thereby placing the bite valve 20 in a stored or fixed condition and keeping the discharge tube 18 from becoming entangled with an impediment. Accordingly, a user's hands are free to concentrate on and engage in an activity, and not placing the bite valve in a stored or fixed condition when not in the user's mouth (Horito et al. par. 39). The magnetic force of the magnets 80 and 84 may be selected in different magnitudes (gauss) such that the magnetic force is sufficient to attract one to the other when the magnets are a pre-selected distance from each other such as 1 inch, 2 inches, 3 inches and 4 inches (Horito et al. par. 40). Turning to FIGS. 13 and 14, a bite valve 170 has a housing 172 from which an inlet 174 extends for connection to the distal end 176 of a discharge tube 178. The inlet is a barbed fitting sized to snugly receive the tube 178 thereover. The housing 172 has a sleeve 180 snuggly and rotatingly positioned in the housing with the discharge 182 connected to the valve portion 184 operable by the user. In the preferred embodiment, the magnet 186 is attached to bite valve 170 by firmly pressing it into a recess 190 in the housing 172. In some embodiments (not shown), the use of an adhesive may be necessary to connect the magnet 186 with a portion of the bite valve 170 (Horito et al. par. 48).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets buckle 82 at a landing pad for a magnetic connector.
Horito et al. do not explicitly teach a headset including the magnetic quick connect at a proximal end of the headset.
Bradley teaches a headset including the magnetic quick connect at a proximal end of the headset, (Bradley US 6283344 abstract; col. 3 lines 34-67; col. 4 lines 1-26; figures 1-8)
The attached length 14 of tubing has an intermediate portion 14a which is mounted to a part of the user's body at a position of higher elevation than the user's mouth. In the embodiment of FIG. 1, the intermediate portion 14a is mounted through a tube mounting 18 attached to the lower rim of a helmet 20. In this embodiment, the tube mounting is in the form of a series of retainer loops having their ends attached to the helmet by attachment pads 22, such as adhesive or hook-and-fastener type pads. The pads 22 can be retrofitted to a helmet by applying a base adhesive layer (of epoxy or resin adhesive) in contact with the plastic surface of the helmet. Alternatively, the tube mounting may be any other suitable type of fastener, such as snap clips, or a molded construction formed with the helmet (Bradley col. 3 lines 47-60).
According to the cited passages and figures examiner interprets the helmet 20 as a headset that hold the tube that deliver water with plurality of connector to connect different segment of the tube.
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply a helmet as a headset as taught by Bradley reference into Horito et al. reference and the result would be predictable of holding a tube for delivery water from a personal hydration system to user mouth.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Horito et al. and Bradley disclose A magnetic connector rest for a portable hydration system according to claim 1, wherein the mating surface is configured to protect the mating end of the upstream coupling member from dirt and other debris when mated with the mating surface.
Turning to FIGS. 13 and 14, a bite valve 170 has a housing 172 from which an inlet 174 extends for connection to the distal end 176 of a discharge tube 178. The inlet is a barbed fitting sized to snugly receive the tube 178 thereover. The housing 172 has a sleeve 180 snuggly and rotatingly positioned in the housing with the discharge 182 connected to the valve portion 184 operable by the user. In the preferred embodiment, the magnet 186 is attached to bite valve 170 by firmly pressing it into a recess 190 in the housing 172. In some embodiments (not shown), the use of an adhesive may be necessary to connect the magnet 186 with a portion of the bite valve 170 (Horito et al. par. 48).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the magnet 186 couple to the recess 190 as show in the figure 13 and 14 to protect the end from dirt.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Horito et al. and Bradley disclose A magnetic connector rest for a portable hydration system according to claim 1, wherein the mating surface comprises a shelf with a recess defining a protrusion receiving area, and the first magnetic material is disposed about the recess.
An alternate buckle 140 is depicted in FIGS. 7-12. FIG. 7 shows a front view along with FIG. 12 showing the front in perspective. FIG. 8 is a side view with FIG. 9 being a cross section along section lines 9-9. FIG. 10 is a back view with FIG. 11 being a cross section along lines 11-11 in FIG. 7. A top belt receptacle 142 and a bottom belt receptacle 144 are shown with a top slot 146 and a bottom slot 148 all configured to receive a belt or strap like the left should belt and right shoulder belt 42 and 44 respectively (FIG. 2). The buckle 140 has two side members 150 and 152 with an upper and lower threshold 154 and 156 forming in effect a race to receive the belt or strap there through. A magnet 160 is shown attached to the buckle 140 which magnet functions as a first magnet to interface and connect to a magnet attached to the bite valve 20 so that a user is not required to manually make the connection (Horito et al. par. 47). As show in the figure 6 the magnet 160 protrusion outward for receiving a second connect portion.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Horito et al. and Bradley disclose A magnetic connector rest for a portable hydration system according to claim 1, wherein the base comprises a mounting bracket.
As show in the figure 4-5 and 7-12 of Horito et al. reference, a buckle 100 or 140 include a mounting to secure a strap or belt.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Horito et al. and Bradley disclose A magnetic connector rest for a portable hydration system according to claim 12, wherein the mounting bracket comprises a clip.
The pack 12 also includes a chest strap 45 that is optional but preferred, which attaches by suitable clips or connectors to and extends between the left strap 40 and the right strap 42 to hold the left shoulder support 22 and the right shoulder support 44 in alignment and hold them in place (Horito et al. par. 34).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Horito et al. and Bradley disclose A magnetic connector rest for a portable hydration system according to claim 1, wherein the mating surface comprises a shelf with a mating male or female structural feature for mating with a corresponding female or male structural feature, respectively, on the mating end of the upstream coupling member.
Turning to FIGS. 13 and 14, a bite valve 170 has a housing 172 from which an inlet 174 extends for connection to the distal end 176 of a discharge tube 178. The inlet is a barbed fitting sized to snugly receive the tube 178 thereover. The housing 172 has a sleeve 180 snuggly and rotatingly positioned in the housing with the discharge 182 connected to the valve portion 184 operable by the user. In the preferred embodiment, the magnet 186 is attached to bite valve 170 by firmly pressing it into a recess 190 in the housing 172. In some embodiments (not shown), the use of an adhesive may be necessary to connect the magnet 186 with a portion of the bite valve 170 (Horito et al. par. 48).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the magnet 186 couple to the recess 190 as show in the figure 13 and 14 include a male and female connector that couple two portions together.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Horito et al. and Bradley disclose A magnetic connector rest for a portable hydration system according to claim 15, wherein the mating surface is configured to protect the mating end of the upstream coupling member from dirt and other debris when mated with the mating surface.
Turning to FIGS. 13 and 14, a bite valve 170 has a housing 172 from which an inlet 174 extends for connection to the distal end 176 of a discharge tube 178. The inlet is a barbed fitting sized to snugly receive the tube 178 thereover. The housing 172 has a sleeve 180 snuggly and rotatingly positioned in the housing with the discharge 182 connected to the valve portion 184 operable by the user. In the preferred embodiment, the magnet 186 is attached to bite valve 170 by firmly pressing it into a recess 190 in the housing 172. In some embodiments (not shown), the use of an adhesive may be necessary to connect the magnet 186 with a portion of the bite valve 170 (Horito et al. par. 48).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the magnet 186 couple to the recess 190 as show in the figure 13 and 14 to protect the end from dirt.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Horito et al. and Bradley disclose A magnetic connector rest for a portable hydration system according to claim 1, wherein the base comprises a hook or loop fastener strip disposed on the back side of the base for mounting on a corresponding fastener strip disposed on the shoulder strap.
The pack 12 also includes a chest strap 45 that is optional but preferred, which attaches by suitable clips or connectors to and extends between the left strap 40 and the right strap 42 to hold the left shoulder support 22 and the right shoulder support 44 in alignment and hold them in place (Horito et al. par. 34).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Horito et al. and Bradley disclose A magnetic connector rest for a portable hydration system according to claim 1, wherein the base comprises a hook or loop fastener attached to the base for securing the base to the desired structure.
Thus it is desirable that systems be available to hold the bite valve when not in use. Schemes to effect such restraint have been ineffective in holding the bite valve. Clips, clamps, hook and pile connectors and the like have been suggested which all require user manipulation of something mechanical to effect connection or disconnection. However, taking the time and attention to refasten a bite valve to its securing means can have disastrous consequences for activities that require utilizing both hands at all times (e.g. rock climbing, extreme downhill skiing, motocross, kayaking, etc.) (Horito et al. par. 6). The pack 12 of FIGS. 1 and 2 also has a handle 52 positioned for grasping by the user and as a ring for the user to hang the pack 12 on a hook or similar protrusion. That is, the user may wish to hang the pack 12 in a closet or, when in use, on a convenient tree limb or outcropping for storage or to suspend at a height to assist in use by providing a better height to increase the discharge pressure of the liquid 16. The pack 12 also has straps 54 secured to the back surface 56 which can be used to affix other accessories as desired by the user (Horito et al. par. 33). The pack 12 also includes a chest strap 45 that is optional but preferred, which attaches by suitable clips or connectors to and extends between the left strap 40 and the right strap 42 to hold the left shoulder support 22 and the right shoulder support 44 in alignment and hold them in place (Horito et al. par. 34). As show in the figure 4-5 and 7-12 of Horito et al. reference, a buckle 100 or 140 include a mounting or clip to secure a strap or belt.
Claims 4 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horito et al. US 20070181616 in view of Bradley US 6283344 and further in view of Lee US 20130105379.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Horito et al. and Bradley teach A magnetic connector rest for a portable hydration system according to claim 3, wherein the first magnetic material is ring-shaped
As show in the figures 7-12, the magnet 160 protrusion outward with a circular shape like ring shape.
The combination of Horito et al. and Bradley do not explicitly teach and the protrusion receiving area extends coaxially through the first magnetic material.
Lee teaches and the protrusion receiving area extends coaxially through the first magnetic material. (Lee US 20130105379 paragraphs [0033]-[0037]; figures 1-7;)
FIGS. 5(A), 5(B), and 5(C) show another embodiment of the present invention. Here, the upper end cap 110 includes a pocket 160 on the top surface 111 of the upper end cap 110 to receive the magnet therein in that the pocket 160 is a recess recessed from the top surface 111 of the upper end cap 110, having an inner wall 161, an outer wall 162 and a pocket bottom 163, and the magnet 140 is attached to the pocket bottom 163. The magnet 140 is annular or ring-shaped and substantially coaxially located with respect to the aperture 112 (Lee par. 37).
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to substitute the coaxially structure as taught by Lee reference in to the modify combination of Horito et al. and Bradley reference and the result would be predictable of connect two portion of segments together.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Horito et al., Bradley and Lee disclose A magnetic connector rest for a portable hydration system according to claim 16, wherein the first magnetic material is ring-shaped
As show in the figures 7-12, the magnet 160 protrusion outward with a circular shape like ring shape.
and the mating feature is arranged coaxial with the first magnetic material.
(Lee US 20130105379 paragraphs [0033]-[0037]; figures 1-7;)
FIGS. 5(A), 5(B), and 5(C) show another embodiment of the present invention. Here, the upper end cap 110 includes a pocket 160 on the top surface 111 of the upper end cap 110 to receive the magnet therein in that the pocket 160 is a recess recessed from the top surface 111 of the upper end cap 110, having an inner wall 161, an outer wall 162 and a pocket bottom 163, and the magnet 140 is attached to the pocket bottom 163. The magnet 140 is annular or ring-shaped and substantially coaxially located with respect to the aperture 112 (Lee par. 37).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horito et al. US 20070181616 in view of Bradley US 6283344 and further in view of Breslin US 5944490.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Horito et al. and Bradley teach all the limitation in the claim 1.
The combination of Horito et al. and Bradley do not explicitly teach A magnetic connector rest for a portable hydration system according to claim 1, wherein the first magnetic material comprises a permanent magnet.
Breslin teach A magnetic connector rest for a portable hydration system according to claim 1, wherein the first magnetic material comprises a permanent magnet. (Breslin US 5944490 col. 6 lines 52-67; figures 1-4;)
The rising liquid level causes the float 89 to rise against the upper control rod stop 88 with sufficient force to push the sliding valve member 79 away from the lower magnet 85, causing the valve member to shift to its upper position, where it is again held in place by the upper magnet 73. This cycle repeats as long as there is fluid 66 to fill the pump and Naturally, the value member 79 can itself be a permanent 20 magnet, with structures 73 and 85 being formed from magnetically responsive material instead. Further, a similar arrangement of magnets can be used with the embodiment of FIGS. 1 and 2, with the arm 34 of the valve means 24 being either a magnet or magnetic, and the structures 38 and 42 being magnetic or magnets, respectively (Breslin col. 6 lines 54-67).
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to substitute the permanent magnet material as taught by Breslin reference in to the modify combination of Horito et al. and Bradley reference and the result would be predictable of connect two portion of segments together.
Claims 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horito et al. US 20070181616 in view of Bradley US 6283344 and further in view of Davis US 20120319313.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Horito et al. and Bradley teach all the limitation in the claim 1.
The combination of Horito et al. and Bradley do not explicitly teach A magnetic connector rest for a portable hydration system according to claim 1, wherein the first magnetic material comprise a material selected from the group consisting of a ferromagnetic material and ferrimagnetic material.
Davis teach A magnetic connector rest for a portable hydration system according to claim 1, wherein the first magnetic material comprise a material selected from the group consisting of a ferromagnetic material and ferrimagnetic material. (Davis US 20120319313 paragraphs [0031]-[0034]; figures 1-12;)
The terms "piece of metal," "metal piece," and "metal pieces" generally refer to compositions or alloys containing temporary (or soft) ferromagnetic (or ferrimagnetic) materials that are capable of becoming magnetized when placed in a magnetic field, such as when placed within close proximity of a permanent magnet, but generally lose their magnetism when removed from a magnetic field. Examples of temporary magnets may include compositions or alloys containing iron, steel, nickel, and/or cobalt. In appropriate circumstances, however, the terms "piece of metal," "metal piece," and "metal pieces" may also refer to compositions or alloys containing paramagnetic materials (Davis par. 34).
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to substitute the ferromagnetic or ferrimagnetic material as taught by David reference in to the modify combination of Horito et al. and Bradley reference and the result would be predictable of connect two portion of segments together.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Horito et al., Bradley and Davis do not explicitly teach A magnetic connector rest for a portable hydration system according to claim 6, wherein the first magnetic material is sized so that an axial pull force that is greater than 32 ounce-force and less than 128 ounce-force between the landing pad and the upstream coupling member is required to decouple the upstream coupling member from the mating surface of the landing pad in the axial direction.
However, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to size the effect range parameter of axial pull force of a magnet as claim accordance to the MPEP 2144.05 (II) (A) Optimization within prior art conditions of through routine experimentation. For example, the pulling force to break the magnet connector is an experimentation for user desire design.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Horito et al., Bradley and Davis do not explicitly teach A magnetic connector rest for a portable hydration system according to claim 6, wherein the first magnetic material is sized so that an axial pull force that is greater than 64 ounce-force and less than 96 ounce-force between the landing pad and the upstream coupling member is required to decouple the upstream coupling member from the mating surface of the landing pad in the axial direction.
However, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to size the effect range parameter of axial pull force of a magnet as claim accordance to the MPEP 2144.05 (II) (A) Optimization within prior art conditions of through routine experimentation. For example, the pulling force to break the magnet connector is an experimentation for user desire design.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Horito et al., Bradley and Davis do not explicitly teach A magnetic connector rest for a portable hydration system according to claim 8, wherein the mating surface is configured so that the distance that the protrusion extends into the protrusion receiving area is less than the minimum diameter of the portion of the protrusion receiving area that receives the protrusion.
However, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to size the effect range parameter of axial pull force of a magnet as claim accordance to the MPEP 2144.04 (IV) (A) Change in size/proportion. For example, the figures 9-11 of Horito et al. reference show the protrusion of the receiving area.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Horito et al., Bradley and Davis do not explicitly teach A magnetic connector rest for a portable hydration system according to claim 9, wherein the first magnetic material is sized so that the upstream coupling member may also be decoupled by pivoting the upstream coupling member relative to the landing pad through the application of a torque that is in the range of about 16 ounce-inches to 72 ounce-inches to the upstream coupling member.
However, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to size the effect range parameter of decoupling of a magnet as claim accordance to the MPEP 2144.05 (II) (A) Optimization within prior art conditions of through routine experimentation. For example, the pulling force to break the magnet connector is an experimentation for user desire design.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Horito et al., Bradley and Davis disclose A magnetic connector rest for a portable hydration system according to claim 8, wherein the mating surface comprises a shelf with a recess defining a protrusion receiving area, and the first magnetic material is disposed about the recess.
An alternate buckle 140 is depicted in FIGS. 7-12. FIG. 7 shows a front view along with FIG. 12 showing the front in perspective. FIG. 8 is a side view with FIG. 9 being a cross section along section lines 9-9. FIG. 10 is a back view with FIG. 11 being a cross section along lines 11-11 in FIG. 7. A top belt receptacle 142 and a bottom belt receptacle 144 are shown with a top slot 146 and a bottom slot 148 all configured to receive a belt or strap like the left should belt and right shoulder belt 42 and 44 respectively (FIG. 2). The buckle 140 has two side members 150 and 152 with an upper and lower threshold 154 and 156 forming in effect a race to receive the belt or strap there through. A magnet 160 is shown attached to the buckle 140 which magnet functions as a first magnet to interface and connect to a magnet attached to the bite valve 20 so that a user is not required to manually make the connection (Horito et al. par. 47). Turning to FIGS. 13 and 14, a bite valve 170 has a housing 172 from which an inlet 174 extends for connection to the distal end 176 of a discharge tube 178. The inlet is a barbed fitting sized to snugly receive the tube 178 thereover. The housing 172 has a sleeve 180 snuggly and rotatingly positioned in the housing with the discharge 182 connected to the valve portion 184 operable by the user. In the preferred embodiment, the magnet 186 is attached to bite valve 170 by firmly pressing it into a recess 190 in the housing 172. In some embodiments (not shown), the use of an adhesive may be necessary to connect the magnet 186 with a portion of the bite valve 170 (Horito et al. par. 48). As show in the figures 7-11, the magnet 160 protrusion outward for receiving a second connect portion.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horito et al. US 20070181616 in view of Bradley US 6283344 and further in view of Anscher US 6695269.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Horito et al. and Bradley teach all the limitation in the claim 13.
However, the combination of Horito et al. and Bradley do teach clip but the combination of Horito et al. and Bradley do not explicitly teach A magnetic connector rest for a portable hydration system according to claim 13, wherein: the clip is generally C-shaped with two opposing resilient arms that are anchored at a common end and include opposing extensions that extend toward one another at their opposite ends; the opposing resilient arms define a backpack strap receiving area therebetween that can be accessed through an adjustable gap provided between the opposing extensions; when the opposing resilient arms are in an unbiased state the adjustable gap between the opposing extensions being sized to prevent straps of a predetermined size from accessing the strap receiving area; and when the opposing resilient arms are pulled away from one another, a biasing force tends to bias the opposing resilient arms in a direction toward one another, and the adjustable gap can be made to be of sufficient width to allow straps of the predetermined size to access the strap receiving area so that once a strap of the predetermined size is inserted in the strap receiving area and the opposing arms are no longer pulled away from one another they will clamp onto the strap of the predetermined size.
Anscher teaches A magnetic connector rest for a portable hydration system according to claim 13, wherein: the clip is generally C-shaped with two opposing resilient arms that are anchored at a common end and include opposing extensions that extend toward one another at their opposite ends; the opposing resilient arms define a backpack strap receiving area therebetween that can be accessed through an adjustable gap provided between the opposing extensions; when the opposing resilient arms are in an unbiased state the adjustable gap between the opposing extensions being sized to prevent straps of a predetermined size from accessing the strap receiving area; and when the opposing resilient arms are pulled away from one another, a biasing force tends to bias the opposing resilient arms in a direction toward one another, and the adjustable gap can be made to be of sufficient width to allow straps of the predetermined size to access the strap receiving area so that once a strap of the predetermined size is inserted in the strap receiving area and the opposing arms are no longer pulled away from one another they will clamp onto the strap of the predetermined size. (Anscher US 6695269 abstract; col. 3 lines 30-67; col. 4 lines 1-29; figures 1-15;)
Referring now in detail to the drawings and, in particular, FIG. 1, there is shown the base 10 according to the invention, to which a variety of implement holders can be attached. Base 10 is an integrally molded one-piece design having four bars 11, 12, 13 and 14 for attaching base 10 to one or more straps. Each of bars 11, 12, 13, 14 has a transverse slit 15 therein to allow straps 16, 17 of a backpack 18 or other item to be easily threaded through base 10, as shown in FIG. 2 (Anscher col. 3 lines 30-39). One example of a suitable implement holder is a hydration tube clip 25, which is shown in FIG. 3. Tube clip 25 comprises a plate 26 with a resilient S-shaped arm 27 mounted above plate 26. A hydration tube (not shown) is slid in between plate 26 and arm 27. The tube is preferably wider than the lower end of arm 27 so that it cannot escape once it is mounted between plate 26 and arm 27. Clip 25 is secured to base 10 via a hexagonal flange 28, which extends outwardly beneath plate 26 (Anscher col. 3 lines 59-67). Other suitable implement holders are a flashlight holder 30 or a D-ring 31, as shown in FIGS. 6-8. Flashlight holder 30 is held in place by a flange 32, similar to flange 28 on clip 25. Flashlight holder 30 has a C-shaped holding element 38 which functionally retains a flashlight therein. D-ring 31 is locked into base 10 is locked in a similar manner via flange 32. D-ring 31 is comprised of a ring portion 36 that is pivotally attached to flange 32 via a hinge 35 mounted in side brackets 34 (Anscher col. 4 lines 7-14).
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to incorporate the clip with a C-shape and strap mounting as taught by Anscher reference into the modify structure of Horito et al. and Bradley reference and the result would be predictable for user to have a portable hydration system secure with strap and clips holding hydration tube.
Conclusion
/THANG D TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2686
/BRIAN A ZIMMERMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2686