DETAILED ACTION
The amendment submitted on June 15, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 5-6, 15, 33-35, and 43-45 are pending in the application and are rejected for the reasons set forth below. No claim is allowed.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the Leahy-Smith America Invents Act (AIA ), Public Law 112-29, 125 Stat. 284. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, drawn to a method to prevent cisplatin-induced hearing loss, in the reply filed on June 15, 2026 is acknowledged. All of the pending claims correspond to the elected invention, with claims drawn to the other inventions having been cancelled by amendment.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-6, 33-35, and 44-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2018/204226 A1 by Zuo et al. in view of Breglio et al., Nat. Commun. 2017;8(1):1654.
Zuo (cited in applicant’s IDS2) discloses “a method for the treatment or prevention of hearing loss by administering to an animal in need thereof … a cell cycle-associated protein kinase inhibitor,” such as an inhibitor of “B-Raf” (para. 0005). These inhibitors are administered orally (para. 00126) and “protect hair cells damaged by cisplatin” (para. 0010). The method described in the reference therefore includes treating or preventing “hearing impairment [that] is drug-induced,” wherein “the drug is a … platinum-based chemotherapeutic agent [such as] cisplatin” (para. 0073). The reference identifies dabrafenib as an example of an “inhibitor[] that protect[s] against cisplatin-induced hair cell loss” (para. 00153). Another example is vemurafenib (para. 0035), which meets the limitations of instant claim 35.
The difference between the prior art and the claims at issue is that Zuo does not specifi-cally disclose administering the B-raf inhibitor “in a multi-cycle cisplatin treatment protocol” or the claimed details thereof.
Breglio, however, discloses that that it was known in the prior art that cisplatin is admin-istered in a multi-cycle treatment protocol (see, e.g., Fig. 1 and the discussion thereof). Note that this reference discloses (see Fig. 1) up to three separate injections of cisplatin, which suggests the “first cycle,” “second cycle,” “third cycle,” and “rest period” referred to in claims 33-34 and 44. Hearing loss associated with cisplatin use causes a “decrease in quality of life,” among other undesirable outcomes (p. 2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary still in the art as of the effective filing date to administer dabrafenib as taught by Zuo when practicing the cisplatin therapy of Breglio in order to prevent cisplatin-induced hearing loss. Because cisplatin causes hearing loss and decreases quality of life, the skilled artisan would have been motivated to look to the prior art for a way of reducing this well-known side effect of cisplatin therapy. Zuo suggests an answer to this problem, namely, co-administering dabrafenib.
With respect to the time limitations of the instant claims, Zuo discloses that “timing” “frequency of administration” depend on the “drug and the desired physiological effect,” and “[i]t will be appreciated by one of ordinary skill in the art that various conditions or disease states, in particular, chronic conditions or disease states, may require prolonged treatment involving multiple administrations” (para. 00129). This may include “different overlapping schedules” (para. 0079). It is implicit in the reference that determining these parameters would have been a matter of routine experimentation and therefore prima facie obvious. It is for this reason that the reference does not specifically disclose administration “forty-five minutes prior to cisplatin treatment” (instant claim 5) or administration “twice daily” (instant claims 33-34 and 45); figuring out this information would have been within the ordinary skill in the art.
With respect to the claimed dosage amount, Zuo similarly discloses that “[t]he dose of a drug … should be sufficient to affect the desired response in the animal over a reasonable time frame. One skilled in the art will recognize that dosage will depend upon a variety of factors, including the age … and condition or disease state. Dosage also depends on the … protein kinase inhibitor” and “will be determined by the route, timing, and frequency of administration as well as the existence, nature, and extent of any adverse side effects that might accompany the administration” (para. 00129). Absent evidence to the contrary, the examiner therefore concludes that a dosage of 0.6-15 mg/kg (see instant claims 33 and 44-45) is prima facie obvious.
Applicant is reminded that differences in things like dose amount, timing and frequency of administration, and so forth are generally considered to be prima facie obvious. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A) (Optimiza-tion Within Prior Art Conditions or Through Routine Experimentation). Indeed, applicant’s own specification admits that figuring out the particular dosage regimen would have been a matter of routine experimentation. See applicant’s specification, submitted May 28, 2024, at pp. 30-31 (especially para. 00139).
Claims 1, 5-6, 15, 33-35, and 43-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatent-able over Zuo and Breglio as applied above, and further in view of Byth et al., Mol. Cancer Ther. 2009 Jul;8(7):1856- 66.
The disclosures of Zuo and Breglio are relied upon as set forth above. The difference between the prior art and the claims at issue (see instant claims 15 and 43) is that neither of these references specifically discloses administration of AZD5438. Zuo, however, generally discloses using "a small organic molecule that inhibits cell cycle associated kinase" (para. 00138), it being implicit that one of skill in the art would be aware of such compounds. Byth discloses that AZD5438 was known before the date of invention as being such a cell cycle associated kinase. It therefore would have been prima facie obvious to use AZD5438 in the compositions of Zuo. See MPEP 2144.06.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 5-6, 15, 33-35, and 43-45 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,427,149 B2 in view of Breglio. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Claim 1 of the ‘149 Patent is directed to a “[a] pharmaceutical composition comprising a synergistic combination of … dabrafenib and a CDK2 inhibitor comprising AZD5438, wherein said synergistic combination protects against cisplatin induced … hearing loss in a mammal.” Although the ‘149 Patent does not specifically claim administration within a multi-cycle cisplatin treatment protocol, it nevertheless would have been prima facie obvious for substantially the same reasons discussed above, mutatis mutandis. The examiner therefore concludes that the instant claims are prima facie obvious over the claims of the ‘149 Patent.
Claims 1, 5-6, 15, 33-35, and 43-45 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,883,491 B2 in view of Breglio. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the same reasons discussed above.
Claims 1, 5-6, 33-35, and 44-45 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 18/823,927 (reference application) in view of Breglio. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The ‘927 Application claims a meth od to prevent cisplatin-induced hearing loss by administering a B-raf inhibitor. This is a provi-sional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not, in fact, been patented.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Theodore R. Howell whose telephone number is (571)270-5993. The exam-iner can normally be reached Monday - Thursday, 8:00 am - 7:00 pm (Eastern Time). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Amy L. Clark can be reached at (571)272-1310. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
THEODORE R. HOWELL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1628
/THEODORE R. HOWELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628
September 23, 2026
1 Manual of Patent Examining Procedure (MPEP), Latest Revision November 2024 [R-01.2024]
2 See the information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 10, 2024.